FB Twitter

Causeway Barn

Causeway Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 53 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


We would like to invite us to review your stay at Causeway Barn

Stunning Short Break

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is a real find and definately somewhere that will be due a return visit once the Lockdown restrictions are eased. We were so lucky to find Causeway Barn and we were so disappointed that the Government curtailed our stay. The owners could not have done any more to make us feel welcome and COVID secure in the property. There is so much in the local area that a return visit is an absolute must. We have learned from the owners that they have a very good concellation insurance policy which gives us the confidnece that we could book for the future in the knowledge that our money, along with ourselves, is very safe.

Robert from Elton stayed at Causeway Barn for 1 nights in November 2020


Feels like a home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay here, we love it! It feels like a home away from home - it’s immaculately clean with lots of lovely little touches, from the generous welcome hamper to the beautiful toiletries. The stresses of everyday life seem to melt away as soon as we arrive - even in these difficult times. Can’t wait to return for our third stay!

Karen from Carlisle stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in October 2020


Rosalind replied 126 days ago
Dear Karen, Delighted you enjoyed your half term break in Causeway Barn, it was a pleasure to have you return to stay and we look forward to hosting your next visit! Sincerely and with best wishes.

Causeway Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully presented property and well equipped for a visit
Beds really comfortable and showers powerful - one tiny criticism is bathrooms lack shelving and hard to shave (no shaving point, mirror over sink or sufficient light)
Every other comfort has been considered and felt very safe with COVID precautions in place
Thanks and hope to stay again in the future



Guest from Hitchin stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in October 2020


Rosalind replied 127 days ago
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to return in the future. Thank you for your comments that we take on board. In repsonse, the en-suite sink has a large Velux window directly above with two large deep drawers for storage plus enamel surface around the inset sink unit for toiletries. A mirror is provided adjacent to the sink. In the other bathroom a wall mirror 90cm x 60cm is provided under a bright wall light, a shelf and under counter storage cupboard. We acknowledge there are no electric shaver points in the bathrooms. The reason being that in both rooms the characterful coombed ceiling and Velux windows do not allow for such points to be electrically connected. Therefore shaver adaptor plugs are provided in close proximity to each dressing table, both of which have mirrors and good lighting. In all honesty we were slightly confused about the comment on insufficient light. There are bright 60 watt LED ceiling/wall lights in each bathroom in addition to the large Velux windows that enable natural light to flood in. Sincerely and with best wishes.

A lovely break away

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn is lovely and just a short walk from the coast. I didn't know what to expect given the restrictions and guidelines imposed as a result of the pandemic but all details had been thought of with no compromise on consideration and comfort. We had a lovely time finding a fabulous coffee shop in Berwick we could walk too along the coast in a couple of hours. Our booking had to be moved from March when we were unable to travel from Scotland so we were very much looking forward to the trip and were not disappointed. We will be back next year!

Louise from Nr Dunblane stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in October 2020


Rosalind replied 127 days ago
Dear Louise, So pleased you enjoyed your long awaited holiday at Causeway Barn and we look forwarding to hosting your Spring break, thank you for re-booking. Best wishes for now.

First Rate Property

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy to find property less than a minute from A1. Everything you need it’s just like a home from home. Due to Covid just the two of us stayed. Cottage was comfortable, warm and relaxing. Within easy reach of the beaches and Berwick-Upon-Tweed. Loved Eyemouth just up the coast and Spittal beach and promenade. Very quiet in the area with little traffic and few people. This time of year parking in town, villages and castles was easy. Would certainly stY again especially when/if Covid goes and we could safely take the train to Edinburgh

Geoff from Preston stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in October 2020


Rosalind replied 127 days ago
Dear Geoff, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, so pleased you enjoyed the Barn and some of the wonderful places to explore in our local area. Fingers crossed for a future trip where you will be able to also enjoy a day out in Edinburgh. All the best for now.

Peaceful Slice of Luxury

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the beautiful, luxurious, comfortable Causeway Barn set within a peaceful, quiet complex. The Barn is maintained to a very high standard and completely covid secure and safe. We had a relaxing, peaceful holiday in luxury!

The owner Ros was very attentive, efficient, professional and lovely - despite us not being able to meet in person due to covid 19 regulations!! We knew that she was there for us by phone or email if we needed anything.

We enjoyed visiting the local attractions and beaches all within 30 minutes drive such as, Bamburgh, The Hirsel Estate, Etal & Ford Villages, Berwick Upon Tweed, Spittal and the coastal path walk between Scremerston and Berwick Upon Tweed was very scenic.

A superb holiday!







Elizabeth from Wakefield stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in September 2020


Rosalind replied 127 days ago
Dear Elizabeth, it was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay and great to hear about some of the places you visited whilst on holiday. Thank you also for your comments on how pleased you were with all our Covid safety policies, having worked hard to ensure all our guests safety it is rewarding to receive your feeback. All the best for now and hope to see you again.

Beautiful cottage in rural location just two miles from Berwick upon Tweed

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location. This characterfull cottage is furnished beautifully and has everything you need for a relaxing Northumberland break.
Equipped with all the essentials including good WiFi the cottage sits in a small residential block overlooking open fields and a compact rear garden with furniture.
Beautiful beach in close proximity with a good choice of eating places within a short distance.
Ideally located for exploring the coast or the National park.
All Covid protection undertaken and the owner could not be more helpful.


Peter from Fleet stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in September 2020


Rosalind replied 127 days ago
Dear Peter, Thank you for your kind comments in your review. Delighted you enjoyed your holiday so much and hope to host you again in the future. Sincerely and with best wishes.

Another lovely visit to Causeway Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now stayed at Causeway Barn a number of times and always enjoy our stays very much. We can honestly say it is the best holiday cottage we have stayed in. A great deal of care has gone into designing and furnishing the barn and it is good to see some new additions. Everything was of the highest standard and we felt safe and secure in the knowledge that the property was spotless and we were protected from being infected with Covid. Ros was welcoming and ensured we were comfortable. It was good to pop down to the beach in the evening with it so close by and we managed some lovely walks in the beautiful Northumbrian countryside. Thank you to Ros for all your hard work.

Karen from Barnstaple stayed at Causeway Barn for 11 nights in August 2020


Rosalind replied 127 days ago
As ever Karen, it was a pleasure to host your holiday at Causeway Barn! Looking forward to seeing you in 2021. In the meantime, stay safe.

Lovely cottage in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As first time visitors to Northumberland, we found this cottage to be in a prime location to explore the numerous castles and beaches nearby. Berwick is just a few minutes’ drive away, and the delights of Holy Island, Bamburgh, Alnwick and Craster are all within easy reach. Marshall’s Cafe is a must for breakfast or lunch.

The cottage is spacious with a luxurious feel, and has both character and modern facilities. This was our first post-lockdown trip away, and we were fully assured of all the safety measures in place, and appreciate the lengths Ros and David have gone to in these difficult times. We would not hesitate to recommend this property and hopefully return ourselves in the near future.


Andrew from Ellesmere Port stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in August 2020


Rosalind replied 127 days ago
Dear Andy, So pleased you had such a great post lockdown holiday here in Northumberland! Thank you for your comments regarding our Covid safety -this is very important to us, to ensure our guests are safe. Look forward to hosting another holiday for you in the near future. Sincerely.

Summer Holiday in Scremerston

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely perfect place to stay! A beautiful cottage in a perfect location. A true gem. 100% recommend it.

Sharon and Zheen from Bedlington stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in August 2020


Rosalind replied 127 days ago
Thanks so much Sharon! Pleasure to have you stay. Fino alla prossima volta! R x

Russ from Little Sutton

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Causeway Barn is situated in a beautiful part of GB with easy travel distance to the whole of Northumberland and southern Scotland. We explored quite a lot of it using Rosalind’s information. Our intention was to visit the RHS gardens in Scotland as well as gardens in Northumberland. Covid19 put a stop to most of this. We loved the cottage and area and it is our intention to return should Covid19 be lifted.

Russell from South Wirral stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in July 2020


Rosalind replied 127 days ago
Dear Russ, So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again in the future. Sincerely.

A complete delight

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Causeway Barn is a delightful place to base yourself when visiting Northumberland. Beautifully maintained, stylishly appointed and spaciously proportioned, it's a place that makes you feel special. After a dramatic day on the coast with big beaches and even bigger skies, there's no better place to come 'home' to. It's a joy to self cater there and just spend quality time chilling.

Roz is a lovely host and goes out of her way to welcome you. We can unreservedly recommend Causeway Barn for any length of stay.


Louise and Steve from stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in January 2020


Rosalind replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Louise, Thank you so much for your wonderful review, so glad you both enjoyed your latest stay in Causeway Barn. Lovely to see you and hope to host you again very soon! All the best for 2020. R

Beautiful cottage in great location

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful comfortable cottage, lovely location, everything you need is provided. Wonderful area to visit, castles, beaches etc.

Richard from Pickering stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in November 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Causeway Barn, so pleased you had such a good holiday.

At the heart of the Borders

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An ideal spot for touring castles and beaches in Northumberland and the Scottish border towns. Apart from first class accommodation and comfortable beds, all our immediate needs were met -- milk, coffee, tea and biscuits all there upon our arrival as well as fresh washing up and cleaning products.
The cottage is only a few hundred metres from an A1 roundabout and therefore rapid access to most tourist spots in the north-east of England, yet at the same time exceptionally quiet.
Of note was the fact (advertised in the cottage) that Northumberland no longer provides glass bottle collection. We tried many supermarkets in Northumberland and Durham only to find that bottle banks are no longer provided, because of Government cuts. We carried our wine and beer bottles many a mile before finding a bottle bank in Lincolnshire.


David from Ringwood stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in October 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review and delighted you enjoyed your stay here in Northumberland. So sorry to read you took your glass on a long journey! It is true we do not have a glass doorstep collection with the waste provider, however, we do write in the cottage guest information that we are happy to recycle your glass. (You are on holiday after all!) I do not know if you saw the botte bags provided in the kitchen for this? We recycle at one of the supermarkets in Berwick as Tesco, Morrisons and ASDA all provide this facility. Kind regards. Ros

Again, another most enjoyable stay at Causeway Barn.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love everything about the Barn - location, the surroundings, comfort , facilities, easy access to coast and the Borders, and this time, the bonus of seeing dolphins at Cocklawburn beach. As ever, Ros was welcoming and helpful. Thank you Ros for another enjoyable stay.

Valerie from Middlesbrough stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in October 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
it was lovely to see you both again and I am so happy the dolphins were out playing during your stay! They are wonderful. Look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best for now. R

Causeway Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully furnished, well kept and cared for cottage.
Supermarket and Simply M & S within 5 min car journey.
Good location for a variety of places of interest to visit.


Ian from Chesterfield stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in October 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review your stay- so glad you enjoyed the cottage and the convenient location and attractions nearby. Sincerely, Ros.

Perfect cottage...

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage in perfect condition and close to wonderful countryside for great walks...........

Jane from Tillicoultry stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in September 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jane, so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Causeway Barn, you are very welcome here anytime. Sincerely. Ros.

Causeway Barn

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Causeway Barn was just what we expected; well equipped; comfortable; spacious and ideally located for exploring Northumberland and the eastern Scottish Border. It's location close to Berwick on Tweed was also a plus, as meals were sorted out easily.

Keith from Whitehaven stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in August 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Keith, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Causeway Barn. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we hope to host you again here in Northumberland. All the best for now.

Lovely cottage that has everything you need!

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautiful and well maintained. We stayed as family of four with 2 kids under 11 years old. There is lots to do in the warmer weather, particularly the nearby beaches. We also enjoyed visiting Bamburgh and Seahouses. There are lots of supermarkets nearby. Overall highly recommended staying here for a peaceful and relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle.

Guest from Leeds stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in August 2019


Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is absolutely beautiful, decorated to such a high standard and immaculately clean. It really is a luxurious place to stay and the perfect, cosy retreat after long days exploring the beautiful surrounding area. Ros was wonderful in her communication before we arrived and the place exceeded our expectations, we thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend there and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying there. We just hope to be back soon!

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in August 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review of Causeway Barn, it was a pleasure to host your holiday and we hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, R

Fantastic accommodation in a great location to explore Northumberland, Scottish Borders & Edinburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Strongly recommended for first class accommodation, efficient and friendly booking and arrival process, and a perfect location. We booked our stay to combine visiting the Edinburgh Fringe with exploring the stunning coastal scenery and beaches close by, and were not disappointed. The direct train service between Berwick Upon Tweed and Edinburgh takes only 45mins and there are also an abundance of places to visit close to The Barn, if you want to minimise long car journeys, as was our preference. Our particular highlights of our stay were the opportunity to experience the hustle and bustle of Edinburgh and The Fringe, and then escape the crowds, (despite it being school summer holidays), and explore the unspoilt beach and dunes at Cocklawburn Beach and the breathtaking views of the coastline at St Abb's.

Karen from Sandbach stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in August 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Karen, it was lovely to meet you and thank you so much for your review of your holiday at Causeway Barn. So pleased you enjoyed Edinburgh and the stunning local beaches here in Northumberland. You are always welcome here! Sincerely, R.

Holiday at the best cottage in Berwick on Tweed

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can't recommend this cottage and the owners highly enough. We have spent several holidays here and can't wait to come back!
Every comfort and every item supplied from bed linen to utensils has been thought about so carefully to enhance the comfort and enjoyment of your stay, it is amazing!
Not only the cottage but the surrounding area is breath-taking with beautiful walks, historical castles and sandy beaches mostly always deserted, it is just so beautiful. However should you not want to stray from the back garden of this wonderful cottage you would still have the holiday of your dreams.
Thank you Ros once again for everything!!


Graham from Troon stayed at Causeway Barn for 14 nights in July 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for reviewing Causeway Barn, it was, as ever a pleasure to have you all to stay! So pleased you enjoyed another holiday with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next booking. Until then, bye for now, R x

Wonderful holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We brought my elderly Aunt up to Northumberland for a holiday and had an amazing stay! The cottage was absolutely perfect and we could not fault it in anyway.
The surrounding area was amazing and we visited some wonderful places. Would definitely recommend this cottage to everyone!


Deborah from Poole stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in June 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Deborah, Thank you so much for your lovely review of Causeway Barn! It was a pleasure to host you and lovely to meet you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, R x

Great stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very tastefully furnished property, well equipped with all the comforts of home. Good location with easy access to the coast and A1 for venturing further afield. We would not hesitate to stay again. Highly recommended.



Barbara from Aldershot stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in May 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Barbara, Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Causeway Barn and we look forward to hosting you in the future, Kind regards, R.

beautifull

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
lovely scrupulously clean and tastfully furnished property.quiet location in lovely part of the counrty.would definetly stay again.

Vanessa and Andrew from King's Lynn stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in May 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Andrew, thank you for your review of Causeway Barn. Pleased to hear you would like to stay again, you are very welcome. Sincerely, R.

Quality cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent well equipped cottage in a quiet location close to Berwick on Tweed. Good location for visiting castles and beaches nearby or cycling on the coastal National Route 1 to Lindisfarne.

Jennifer from Macclesfield stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in May 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jen, It was a pleasure to host your holiday and so pleased to hear you enjoyed the barn and it's location. Hope to see you again. Kind regards.

A perfect break

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in Causeway Barn and once again it was perfect. It is a beautiful cottage, decorated and furnished with real sense of style. It is a real home from home equipped with everything you could possibly need and is spotlessly clean. There is so much to do in the area that a week is never long enough. We wanted to
change our original travel plans
and Ros could not have been more obliging. We’re booked to return in October.


Karen from Barnstaple stayed at Causeway Barn for 8 nights in April 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Karen, Thank you so much for your lovely review, we look forward to hosting your October stay at the Barn. All the best for now, R x

Beautiful cottage near Berwick on Tweed

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was absolutely beautiful, well presented, clean and everything you could possibly need in the way of fixtures and fittings. It was in a lovely area with great views and not too far from shops and places of interest e.g. Berwick on Tweed, Spittal Beach. The owner's were very helpful when needed. The outside space was also very nice but due to the weather we didn't use it .

Eileen from West Yorks stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in April 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Really pleased you enjoy the cottage and it's location. Hope to see you again, you are very welcome. Kind regards.

A most enjoyable stay at Causeway Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Causeway Barn is a very well presented holiday cottage with great attention to detail and in a quiet and pleasant location. The owner Ros, was most helpful and made us feel very welcome. The clear starry sky was a bonus!

Valerie from Middlesbrough stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in March 2019


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of Causeway Barn. Great you hear you had such a lovely time and delighted you managed to see the wonderful stars! The night sky here in Northumberland is really amazing. Hope to see you again soon. Ros.

Lovely property very high standard

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely property for a short break, good quality accommodation furnished to a high standard with all amenities provided. In a quiet location with field surroundings and very relaxing. Ros is very helpful and easy to contact. Will definitely be renting again.

Morag from Edinburgh stayed at Causeway Barn for 2 nights in March 2019


Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at the Causeway Barn and found the cottage to be extremely well presented, the owners have thought of every little detail to make your stay a comfortable one with a luxurious and relaxing feel.
Superb location close to all Northumberland has to offer, a great find, will continue to recommend to friends and family.


Jeni from Belfast stayed at Causeway Barn for 2 nights in February 2019


Rosalind replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jeni, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Causeway Barn. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and that you liked the attention to detail that I hoped to have created in the Barn. I look forward to hosting you again and to welcoming your family and friends by way of your recommendations. All the best, R. x

A home away from home

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at the cottage. A real home away from home. Clean, spacious and great quality furnishings

Jamie from stayed at Causeway Barn for 14 nights in December 2018


Rosalind replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jamie, Thank you very much for submitting your review for Causeway Barn. It was a pleasure to host you and your family and pleased you enjoyed the Barn so much. Kindest regards, Ros.

Causeway Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super cottage with everything you could need for a relaxing and comfortable break. Causeway Barn is very spacious with beautiful decor and luxurious furnishings. It is spotlessly clean. The cottage is located with a rural outlook yet within easy access to a wealth of visitor attractions. We have already booked to return for a longer stay in the summer!

Karen from Barnstaple stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in October 2018


Rosalind replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Karen, Thank you so much for submitting your review of Causeway Barn. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and we look forward to seeing you next summer! All the best for the Festive Season. Best regards, Ros

Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd stay and everything perfect as usual, great location, close to shops ect , everything you need and more in the property to make your stay home from home

Sylvia from stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in October 2018


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sylvia, Thanks for your lovely review. It was, as ever, an absolute pleasure to have you all to stay at Causeway Barn. I look forward to hosting you again. Best wishes for now, R x

Short Break at Causeway Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned to the Causeway Barn for a relaxing weekend with friends. As the bar has been set so high on this accommodation - expectations are high and each time we have visited, expectations are exceeded.

The proof of a great holiday venue is wanting to return and we will be in 2019!

Can't rate this accommodation high enough.

Thanks!


Jeff from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in October 2018


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jeff, Thanks for submitting your review of the Causeway Barn. Delighted you enjoyed your recent break at the Barn and I look forward to hosting you all in 2019! Best wishes for the Festive Season ahead, R

Fantastic break

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have wished for better accommodation than Causeway Barn, it is spotlessly clean and every need is catered for.
Never having visited the area before we were amazed at such a beautiful coastline and the area is packed with places to visit.
We had one fantastic week.


Robert from Nuneaton stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in September 2018


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Robert, thanks so much for your review of Causeway Barn. So pleased you not only enjoyed the Barn but also beautiful Northumberland! You are very welcome any time you would like to return. Best Regards, Ros.

Absolutely perfect; home from home thank you.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing, relaxing break at Causeway Barn. We would really recommend it and will book here again when we next go up to beautiful Northumberland. Thank you Ros for sharing your fabulous property. John & Ali

Alison from Nottingham stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in September 2018


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Dear John and Ali, It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay at Causeway Barn, thank you for your review. We hope to host you again, you are always welcome here! Kind regards, Ros.

Luxury Home

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything and more than we expected. It is bright and airy. So much to do nearby and at the end of each excursion there is a beautiful house to return to.

Peter from Hurworth stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in September 2018


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Peter, Thank you so much for your recent review of Causeway Barn. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and the accommodation. Look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Ros.

Excellent good communication very clean with all required amenities great location would return

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent Barn conversion. Very nice top level furnishings and decor, exceptionally clean and maintained well located for the Northumberland tourist attractions and castles. Every attention to detail including appliances and equipment.

Would definitely return.


Christopher from Ashton Under Hill stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in September 2018


Ros replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Chris, Thank you for your recent review of Causeway Barn. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your compliments, greatly appreciated! You are welcome here anytime. All the best, Ros.

Stunning Barn near Berwick-upon-Tweed

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful barn, well worthy of it's 5 stars! Clean, fresh, beautifully decorated with style. Would highly recommend this barn, shame we only had 3 nights there, so hope to be back again sometime soon.

Lynn from Andover stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in August 2018


Lovely stay in a beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Causeway Barn for a relaxing family break - we couldn’t have chosen anywhere better. Absolutely beautiful cottage with a lovely garden and quality furnishings, we felt at home straight away. The owner Ros couldn’t have been more helpful. Some lovely walks and helpful information in the guide in the cottage - spent a great day on Cheswick beach where you can walk for miles. Can’t wait to return!

Karen from Carlisle stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in August 2018


A really comfortable barn

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is spacious, and very well equipped . The well chosen furniture is all very comfortable. The decor and soft furnishings are tasteful and all complementary making for a particularly relaxing stay. The only thing we found disturbing was the large number of small flies in the garden.

Guest from Gateshead stayed at Causeway Barn for 14 nights in July 2018


Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is truly beautiful and has everything you could possibly need.
Banburgh beach which is only a short distance away is now my husbands favourite beach with a lovely cafe nearby
We hope to return in the winter and see the whales


Guest from Warrington stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in August 2018


Great barn conversion - central for exploring Northumberland and the Scottish Borders

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is very well maintained and overall is one of the best we have stayed in over the last 10 years. A 'home from home' with all the comforts and luxuries you would expect and in a country setting near to local beaches and easy access to the A1 for exploring. Would absolutely not hesitate to stay again. A great holiday was had!

David from Palgrave, Diss stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in July 2018


Causeway barn

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
More towels in bedrooms, and towel for kitchen, cushions for outdoor recliners, some people might expect sky tv, also there was no mention that the property is located within similar properties so not on its own and not quite so private in the garden.

Derek from Tadley stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in June 2018


Rosalind replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for submitting your review, the high scores you gave Causeway Barn suggest you both enjoyed your holiday. I would have happily provided additional towels to the 2 hand towels, 2 bath towels, 2 bath mats and hand towel in the downstairs WC that were provided. If you mentioned you required further towels when I called to ask if all was well for you I could have organised this for you. In relation to the remark that, "...there was no mention that the property is located within similar properties." The description for Causeway Barn on the Premier Cottage website from where your booking was received reads, "Causeway Barn is one of ten Northumbrian stone and slate barn conversions that form a charming Victorian farm Steading surrounded by tranquil fields....To the rear of the Barn is a garden that is wonderfully sheltered by the larger courtyard formation."

A wonderful place for a break.

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Causeway Barn is a great well equipped and tastefully decorated retreat a credit to the owners, who have gone that extra mile to make your stay something to remember.
We made the most of our visit being a short distance from Lindisfarne and not too far away from Alnwick and Cragside at Rothbury. Well worth the 5 star rating.


Brian from High Peak stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in April 2018


A lovely stay in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a truly beautiful cottage in a lovely quiet location yet on the doorstep of many places to visit. Edinburgh is 40 mins in the train and we also visited Bamburgh Castle and Cragside. Everything in the cottage is of a high standard and it has an opulent feel to it. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could possibly need. There was lots of extras that you don’t normally get e.g. kitchen roll, tin foil, dishwasher tabs etc. I would definitely return here and highly recommend it

Lyn from Whitehaven stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in April 2018


Easter '18 Short Break at The Causeway Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned to The Causeway Barn for the 3rd in a year with a view to take future breaks at this beautiful property / location.
The level of detail and thought that has gone into ensuring guests have a perfect experience is second to none - little examples such as high quality tasteful Xmas décor then similar at Easter.
The property itself is immaculate and the location is perfect with the Northumberland Coastline (best in the world!) and the Scottish Borders (beautiful surroundings) easily accessible.
The communications to with the owner are excellent and they do whatever they can to provide excellent value for money.
The fact that I will rebook again (and again) is testament to the high standards and value for money this holiday location provide.
Thanks again to the owners (Ros and Dave) for making this fantastic holiday location available.


Jeff from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in March 2018


Escape the post Christmas blues

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After an incredibly busy Christmas it was a real tonic to spend three nights at the Causeway Barn. It was warm, cosy and close to everything we needed. Although the weather wasn’t great, it didn’t dampen our spirits as we explored some of our favourite places in Northumberland:Holy Island, Bamburgh and Alnwick. We would highly recommend Causeway Barn.

Nicola from Washington stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in January 2018


Causeway Barn - a real 'home from home' at Christmas

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the minute we drove up the hill to Causeway Barn for our Xmas break 2016, we knew we were in for a real treat. The Barn was lit with twinkling Christmas lights and looked so welcoming. Once inside, it certainly did not disappoint! After a long journey the whole house was cosy and warm and the owner had gone to great lengths to make us feel at home with Christmas treats and even a supply of candles to further enhance the cosy atmosphere. Every possible requirement was met - we stay away on a regular basis and always pack a supply of cooking and cleaning aids but we didn't use them as everything we needed was already there. The quality of all the fixtures and fittings was superb with no expense spared which made for a luxurious stay in one of our favourite locations and we were extremely sad to leave.

Needless to say, when we began to look for a location for our 2017 Xmas break, Causeway Barn was our obvious choice. Nothing else we found could compare in terms of comfort and amenities, the level of luxury and the price. The owners are very friendly and efficient, always responding to email enquiries within a very short time. We have just returned from our latest visit having enjoyed great hospitality once again and the chance to meet our hosts in person during our stay.

Causeway Barn is in an excellent location to explore all that the Northumbrian coast has to offer and the Scottish border is only a 5 minute drive away. It is possible to see the local beach from the Barn and it is only a short distance by car. We were lucky enough to spot a pod of 10+ whales in the sea on Christmas morning but have been less fortunate in witnessing the Aurora!


COLIN AND LYNNE from stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in December 2017


Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is excellent and the location even better, perfect for visiting the Northumberland Coast. There is a pleasant walk to Cocklawburn beach from the Barn with a pit stop for coffee at Pot-a-Doodle-Doo. Also from the Barn a short drive will take you to Holy Island with another pit stop at the beautiful ‘The Barn at Beal’ with outstanding views.The owners of the Barn were easy to deal with a quick response to availability and directions to the Barn. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Lynda from Darwen stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in December 2017


heathery tops heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
causeway barn is a credit to its owners ,the cottage is beautiful well kept and immacutely clean.the kitchen is very well equipped which makes cooking at the cottage more desirable.my partner and I would have preferred better exterior lighting however this did not stop us from enjoying a wonderful break in this fabulous property.

Garry and Tracey from stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in November 2017


Rosalind replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay at Causeway Barn. Thank you also for your feedback on the exterior lighting. We always appreciate feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. As a result we have fitted the exterior light by the front door of the Barn with a stronger -high wattage, instantly bright bulb. As I am sure you will recall this light is operated on a movement sensor to light the main entrance and exterior of the barn.

Home from Home

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed here and it wont be the last . It has everything you need and more from the huge comfy beds to the well equipped kitchen , the owner really has thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible, its also in a great location with the most amazing wee café 2 mins drive from the barn (marshalls) where they serve delicious home made meals and amazing cakes

from stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in October 2017