FB Twitter

Cockburn Street

Cockburn Street

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Cockburn is a second floor apartment which affords a long view over Princes Street, and is well proportioned, quiet and tastefully furnished. The street is busy with pedestrians as this is a great location for good restaurants, cafes and interesting shops. It is very close to Waverley Station and 2 minutes walk from the Royal Mile.
Full details >>

excellent base for old edinburgh

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is full of charm, painting and prints adorn the walls, all amenities that you need, comfortable bed ,couches, lovely shower, and great position overlooking Cockburn street, and so convenient to explore old Edinburgh. Would recommend to couples looking for a reasonably priced apartment in a great position within easy walking distance to airport buses and tram/trains etc.



Simply Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was perfect, it had everything we needed and more (board games...nailed it)
Excellent location, tourist points at walking distance. Couldn't be better !!!




Grest Flet and location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything good despite hiccup as flat not cleaned and ready from previous stay at 5pm. Things needed attention lightbulbs needed replacing - broken toilet seat all matters which should be checked after every rental. Dealt with well and happy with outcome.

Flat is comfortable and in great location and would consider on our next visit




Buena elección

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excelente apartamento con inmejorable ubicación. Cuenta con todo lo necesario para tener una buena estancia



Great flat, great location

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After several nights in B&Bs, it was great to have the flexibility of the ideally located Cockburn Street flat. Right off the Royal Mile, we were in walking distance to everything in the old and new towns. Plus we were near lots of cafes and pubs.

Katie was really responsive when the wifi went out. The kitchen had all we needed and they even started us out with a pint of fresh milk.




Convenient location, very cozy

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This apartment had plenty of room for my husband and I during our stay in Edinburgh. We did not spend much time in the flat so we didn't take advantage of the kitchen and living room spaces, but the bedroom was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The location was extremely convenient and is the best feature of this flat - very close to the train station and bus stop, lots of coffee shops and restaurants nearby, a short walk across the bridge to New Town and only a few minutes to The Royal Mile. The only drawback to note is the flat is on the third floor and it's a lot of steps on a spiral staircase to get up to the flat. This was no issue for myself and my husband, but may be a deterrent for some.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful location near the royal mile in Edinburgh. Cafe's next door, Little grocery across street. Close to waverly train station, 7 - 10 min. To flat. Restaurant & Shops 5 min walk away. It can be a bit noisey on weekends. Due to the great night life. Comfy bed, clean apt. Would suggest a fan to be available so windows can be shut if street noise is too loud



Cosy flat in an excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a lovely bank holiday weekend in Edinburgh. I would highly recommend this flat. It is in a superb location and has everything you may need. Nice touch from the owners to leave a pint of milk on the freeze for our arrival (there ready for a nice cup of tea on arrival :)). Thanks you!



Just Wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a perfect location. Only one little thing: The WIFI often makes Problems, was very slow or didnt run. But all other: Excellent!! We really enjoyed it there. We will come back :)



great location

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This location was perfect for us while visiting our daughter at the University of Edinburgh. Easy access to everything and the flat was very comfortable.



Great Apartment in Amazing Loaction

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned back this week from an amazing long weekend in Edinburgh. This was our 2nd time using GreatBase and decided to try out Cockburn Street - it did not disappoint! The apartment is very homely and has everything you need for your stay. It's on the 2nd floor so there are some spiral stairs you need to climb. The front (kitchen/living room) looks out onto the street and the bedroom at back has a lovely view across to Princes Street, but it is generally quite quiet. The shower is awesome! The location is incredible - you're 5 minutes walk from the train station and 2 minutes from the Royal Mile, and we do love the Old Town, it's so beautiful. There's a little shop across the street for some food, drink, household etc supplies or there are a couple of supermarkets up on South Bridge, about 10 minutes walk away. And many restaurants and pubs on your doorstep! The Museum is a must visit, as is a haunted tour (we went with Auld Reekie) and have a cocktail in The Dome! Katie and Jack were very friendly and helpful - the apartment stay made our anniversary weekend so lovely, thank you. We shall be back!



In the heart of Auld Reckie

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Mar 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Better than booking a boring Hotel... Wonderful apartment just in the middle of one of the prettiest streets in Edinburgh... perfect for a couple with kids, great bathroom, big kitchen full equipped with a cozy space for breakfast, and a warm living room with two big sofas, two kids can sleep there perfectly... Our Host Kattie was also lovely... I will use it again...



Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay at Cockburn Street. We will definitely be back in the near future. Efficient and easy booking system and friendly service.



Like home

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment is even better as it looks in pictures. It is very comfortable and furnished in a way that makes you feel in a real home. The location is excelent as it is very near to Royal Mile but also very near to the new town, so you can get easily to everywear walking. Also, the Bus stop from/to Airport it´s only about 200 metres away, really comfortable.



Awesome stay in Edinburgh!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at this flat in Old Town Edinburgh - the perfect location. Spacious and very quiet (a welcome surprise given the location). Great shower and amenities. Walking distance to everything and great cafe (Cafe Cockburn) and food shop right across the street. This is a small quiet street right off High Street. I would absolutely recommend this booking and would stay here again.



A great base indeed

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super central, spacious, in very good condition, smooth check-in and check-out - what else can you ask for?



Great Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great location, close to the bus and train stations and Royal Mile. I had a hard time finding it at first because I didn't see the numbers but called Katie and she directed me. There were 3 of us staying there. The pullout couch was comfortable as was the bed in the bedroom. With the windows open you could hear street noise as I'm sure you could with any place in the city center. There were lots of restaurants and pubs in the area which was very convenient.



Central, comfortable and completely wonderful!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at a Greatbase apartment, and our first at the Cockburn St Apartment. It was absolutely perfect for us (a couple) as a central base to enjoy the last weekend of the Festival and explore Edinburgh for the week after too.

We've been to Edinburgh several times before, and knew that Cockburn Street was super central - one of the reasons we booked the apartment in the first place. The kitchen was wonderful and we cooked a few times throughout the week, aided with a supply of essentials in the cupboard and fresh fruit and milk for our arrival too. We also checked out a few local pubs and restaurants during our stay - in particular we can highly recommend the Mexican place downstairs - delicious!

The double bed was very comfortable and the two lounges in the loungeroom were perfect for relaxing after a long day of exploring too. We also appreciated the ability to open up all of the windows nice and wide to get a breeze through the flat - it was wonderful sunny weather for our stay and this kept the flat nice and cool.

The washer was very handy and whilst it was not a dryer, there was a clothes airer, plenty of coathangers and large cupboard that can be used as a drying room to dry your clothes (the fresh breeze also helped to quickly dry our clothes as we hung some by the windows too!)

The location on the second floor helped at night with noise - we didn't find it too noisy at all really- but it was a bit of an effort carrying our large suitcases up and down at the start and end of our trip - That's our fault though for having so much stuff with us! I loved peering out the window of the kitchen or lounge room at Cockburn Street and the cafe's across the street, and also enjoyed the view from the bedroom over the glass roof of Waverley station towards Princes Street too.

And finally, the star of the show - the shower! It was completely spectacular and something that always helps make a stay just that more luxurious. We would jump at the chance to stay here again on our next trip to Edinburgh, that's for sure!




Excellent location, perfect for our stay in Edinburgh!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was exactly what we wanted while visiting Edinburgh. Very close to Royal Mile, Waverly train station, 24x7 airport bus stop, plenty of restaurants very close (Viva Mexico right next door is best Mexican I have had in a long time!). We used the dishwasher and washing machine, which I was so grateful to have! The booking process was super easy, and we were able to check in early with no issues at all.




We loved it here

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable! Very nice! We love everything in this beautiful apartment. We stayed for 6days here. Cannot find any faults. Thank you for the many thoughtful and kind gestures & informations available for us.
(And we did booked the Rabbies Highland as recommended. Thanks!)
Truly a well equipped place. The location here is excellent, near to everything yet quiet. If we ever come to Edinburgh again, this will definitely be our choice. Thanks again so much Katie & Jack. Keep up the good job! thumbs up!!!*




Indeed a "Great Base" for a visit to Edinburgh

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat was well located, it was easy to arrive and leave (airport each time) and get around the city and get to the Rabbies Tour Office. The flat was clean, comfortable and cosy. It was well supplied and all needed information was provided.



Perfect location, cozy apartment!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I lived in Edinburgh for two years and knew the city well. When I saw the location of this property, I was shocked that it was so affordable. It's in the ideal spot, on a really fun street.

The property itself is fantastic, comfortable, and cozy. Highly recommended.




Long weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location only 5 minute walk from Waverley Station, and 10 minutes from Princes Street. There are loads of great places to eat if you search the internet and I advise booking as the city is buzzing. Camera Obscura is worth visiting but make sure you have a clear head, although you are allowed to go out and come back in,which is worth doing. We didn't have time to visit the Stockbridge market on Sunday which sounds really interesting.



Rugby weekend in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed a number of times at Greatbase properties in the Old Town, and Cockburn Street was up to the standard we've come to expect. Location is perfect. If you arrive by train, or by bus from the airport, the apartment is only a short walk away. The apartment itself is accessed via a street-level door, and up two flights of (for Old Town Edinburgh) easy stairs.

The apartment was cosy, with everything you need for a short stay. Katie provides a few essentials to get you started; there's a general store opposite, and both M&S and Sainsbury's outlets are a short walk away. A stroll up Cockburn Street takes you to North Bridge, The Royal Mile, High Street and Cannongate. Princes Street is about five minutes walk. For its location, it was very quiet; secondary double-glazing in the bedroom keeps out the noise of the trains at Waverley Station.

A great little apartment, which we highly recommend. We gave it an "OK" for condition as the decor seemed a little tired compared to other Greatbase places we've stayed. But for location, comfort and value for money, it's a great wee place. We're already looking forward to our next trip to try another Greatbase property.





Ideal Location

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Cockburn Street, and we hope to return. The apartment is ideally located. Close to the bus stop for the airport bus, and in December we were right beside the Christmas Markets and the Royal Mile Light Show, as well as convenient to shopping, restaurants and pubs. Always so much to see and do in Edinburgh, and a base in Cockburn Street makes it simpler!



Lovely central flat

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time in this lovely flat. It was perfect for us, and we much appreciated the homely feel, the fresh flowers, the milk for our tea in the morning, the very comfortable bed and the shower !
The flat was very clean and has everything you need- it is also very central and close to everything.




It says it on the tin

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The company is well named as the accommodation was in an excellent location and makes a great base for touring the sites of Edinburgh. Noise levels were similar to hotels in the area and although the décor may have been less perfect than a big brand hotel it was more personal and as clean. Kitchen well stocked; even had knives sharp enough to cut things up with!



Great location and lovely flat

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A charming apartment in the heart of the Old Town, in a typical street with all kinds of shops and restaurants. Special mention for Katie, with its recommendations and their perfect accommodation has helped make our stay in Edinburgh be unforgettable.



Wonderful, convenient flat in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just spent one week here for the Fringe Festival and it was VERY convenient in the heart of the old city. We had everything we needed and we could walk to all the sights very easily. I will recommend any friends who are going to Edinburgh to stay here.



A comfortable stay in central Edinburgh

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is in a great location, both to the Old Town and the New Town areas of Edinburgh and to the Central Station. The apartment is spacious, well supplied and has everything that you need. Cafes are close by. Our hostess was friendly and helpful.



Wonderful Apartment and Location!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cockburn Street apartment was perfect for our family. The apartment was in the heart of it all. Just a five minute walk to New Town, the train station, and anything in Old Town. 10 minute walk to Holyrood Park. It was surprisingly very quiet at night, considering how busy and thriving the street is during the day. Cockburn St. has great restaurants and shops, or you can head out to explore. We absolutely loved the convenience of the location. The apartment was very homey and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again for our next visit to Edinburgh. What an amazing city! Thanks to Katie and Jack also for making everything so easy for us! Highly recommend this apartment and Greatbase!



Fantastic traditional Edinburgh apartment, filled with everything we needed!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Cockburn street and would definitely book the apartment again when we visit Edinburgh again. The apartment had everything we needed and was is superb condition. The kitchen was well equipped, we didn't notice anything we needed was missing. Katie from Greatbase was very accommodating, holding luggage for us when we needed to be out of the apartment and meeting us early on the first day, we were really grateful, it made our stay in Edinburgh very special and relaxing.



Excellent stay on Cockburn Street

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay in the Cockburn Street flat and really enjoyed it very much. The service was excellent from booking through meeting us at the flat on our arrival. The flat was fun and in such a great location. Amazingly quiet for it's central location. The rooms were very comfortable and we would definitely come back and stay on our next visit to Edinburgh. Cheers and thank you for a wonderful holiday.



Fantastic flat, great value!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This Edinburgh flat was perfect. It's location could not have been better (<10 min walk from everything we wanted to see and do), and it provided more than enough space for two people to have their own sleeping areas while still leaving room for common areas for meals and the occasional cup of tea. The flat was clean, well stocked with all the amenities that you'd expect from a nice hotel, and Katie and Jack from Greatbase were fantastic to work with. Next time I'm in Edinburgh I will absolutely look to book this flat again!



Comfortable apartment, but a 3rd level walkup

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfully well equipped, comfortable apartment which was immaculately clean upon my arrival. Thoughful touches such as freshly cut flowers and snacks welcomed me. However, this lovely apartment is up two flights of circular staircase, difficult to navigate with luggage, which lies at the end of a poorly-lit, dirty entry hall.



the best location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
an idyllic flat in edinburgh - perfect location just off the royal mile. the apartment was wonderfully cozy, charming, clean, safe, quiet, convenient, and a good value. there was not one thing I didn't love about it!



Home Away From Home

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is fantastic. Just up the hill from the train station and if you continue up the hill you end up on the Royal Mile. There are many little shops and places to grab a bite or a drink. The flat itself was perfect. It was very clean and well serviced too. The linens were just so lovely. We also found it nice a quiet too. It truly felt like a home and we hope to return and stay in the flat again.



Location, location, location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The perfect staging base from which to enjoy Edinburgh, particularly during the Festival. On the doorstep (or within walking distance) of everything (venues, best restaurants, shopping, buses, train station, etc.). Was not as noisy as I had expected. The flat is very comfortable for a couple, and has modern amenities. Would definitely use again or recommend.



Thankyou Katie!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Truly a wonderful apartment & host. Excellently located, clean & tidy, comfortable and cute. We had everything we needed, even the little things were thought of - from milk to wifi to fresh flowers. Katie also helped us with some great recommendations. I'd definitely stay here again!



Cultural and Historical Hideaway

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This flat had everything to allow you to be completely immersed in the life of the city.Every utensil and book and picture on the wall is pure class and makes you feel cared for.



Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a perfect apartment in a perfect location. U had everything you needed. It was clean and very comfortable. This is the place I am going to stay at next time.