FB Twitter

Castletown Round House

Castletown Round House

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 62 reviews
87% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.4
Location
4.6
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


Situated at the pedestrian entrance to Castletown House, the largest and most significant Palladian country house in Ireland. Prominently positioned at the top of the main street in Celbridge, the Round House is located across from the quaint Church of Ireland Christ Church, built in 1884, which retains the majestic tower of an earlier church.

  • Sleeps 6 people. 2 Double Bedrooms (one of which is accessed through the Twin Room) and 1 Twin Bedroom
  • Pets are not permitted.

Stylish

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Dec 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House beautiful very high standard the only downfall was extremely noisy at night emptype glasses on window ledge of children's room hence the noise would not recommend with children

Margaret from County Laois stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in December 2020


Family stay in Castletown Round House

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was good fun staying in a quirky, historical house, which was set up with everything needed for guests. The children loved it, and enjoyed being able to walk to shops. The beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much. It was great having lovely parkland for walks on our doorstep, and the location was also convenient to go into Dublin for the day.

Christine from Carryduff, Belfast stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in July 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 173 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay. We're so glad you enjoyed your time at the property as well as the local area. Glad you had a great experience at Castletown Round House!

Irish Landmark Trust gets top marks again!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed at a number of Irish Landmark Trust locations over the years ranging from Light houses to Gate lodges and each one brings its own mystery and splendour leaving our family with countless happy memories when we (sadly!) have to depart ...... until the next Irish Landmark Trust adventure!

Jirka from Dublin stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in July 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 185 days ago
We're so glad you enjoyed staying at Castletown Roundhouse! Thank you for your continued support, and for taking the time to review your recent stay. We hope to hear from you again for your next adventure! Irish Landmark Team.

Kildare 2020

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House clean and comfortable. Loved the open fire and cosy living room. Used it as a base to visit local attractions.

Sandra from Newry stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in March 2020


Fab Location @ edge of Park

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A vey special property in a great location, loved Castletown House & it’s grounds ,super walks. Our teenagers took bus to Dublin City Centre , great service directly outside the door while we visited the National Stud & Japanese Gardens. Also walked Arthur’s Way along the Grand Canal & stopped off @ Lyons Estate for coffee another Kildare Gem. Round House is very spacious & cosy. We enjoyed nice restaurants & takeaways in this busy & very charming town

Liz from Blackrock stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in February 2020


Irish Landmark Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to hear that the whole family enjoyed the experience of staying at the Round House and the surrounding areas. We look forward to welcoming you to stay with us again in the future

Very Enjoyable Stay !

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyable stay. House very clean warm and welcoming. Great walks and nearby restaurant. Great welcome to the house over the New Year.

Adrienne from stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in December 2019


Irish Landmark Team replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you had a warm and welcome stay at Castletown Round House, and that you enjoyed the surroundings of the property. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and Happy New Year!

Family stay in the heart of a wonderful village

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my family rented both Castletown Gate House and Round House so that everyone had their own space and bed. We all ended up in front of the fire each night in the Round House playing card games, laughing and chatting, catching up even though we see each other everyday, but without the distraction of TV or WiFi we actually talked to each other. It was really wonderful. The kids were delighted to have the full attention of the adults and vice versa. We all then retired to our own houses for the night and lazy morning breakfasts before gathering again later in the morning for wonderful walks through Castletown Park (right on our doorstep), the village shops (again right on our doorstep) and the best coffee and hot chocolates in a local cafe (about 3 minutes walk from our doorstep). Considering the location of the properties )it is busy with walkers and dogs as they head into the park for their walk) honestly, it was not in any way disturbing or intrusive. Really really lovely stay. Grace was so wonderful and gave us such a warm welcome. We felt like we were coming home!!

Guest from Blackrock stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in December 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you had such a lovely time at Castletown Gate House and Round House. It is a wonderfully location and the village is so warm and friendly. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Castletown Round House

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a charming property in a great location. Had a lovely stay here with my wife and some friends really enjoyed it. Our host Grace was fantastic in preparing the house for us and permitting us access.

Kevin from Julianstown stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in November 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust and for taking the time to let Irish Landmark Trust know how your stay was at the charming Castletown Round House.

A weekend away with girlfriends

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect location (both house and town) for a great weekend away.
We visited Castletown (5 minute walk from the house) and completed a most informative and engaging tour of the house. The tour sparked our imaginations and going back to the Roundhouse was the perfect way to start our evening.
We indulged in some pre-dinner drinks in the cosy and atmospheric living room with a blazing peat fire (nothing beats a real fire). Thereafter we walked the great distance of 100 metres to Canteen restaurant in Celbridge town which was a fantastic culinary experience.
After our late night we came back to a warm cosy house for a digestif and headed to the cosiest beds imaginable. Despite being located at a major junction, the only thing that woke me up the follow morning were the birds; a lovely complaint!
A truly remarkable gem of a house and a superb location.


Emma from stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in October 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It is wonderful to hear you and your friends had such a wonderful stay at Castletown Round House. Thank you for leaving a review and informing potential guests of some of the great things Castletown has to offer visitors.

Convenient location to explore remarkable sites near Dublin

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Oct 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice place despite an incredible line of cars in the street corner around the house, but it’s not so noisy inside as the walls are very thick. Shops, restaurants, pharmacist ....are very conveniently located around. Easy to get from there to remarkable sites like Newgrange...
The hot water system is not strong enough to fit four to six people. We warmly recommend the visit of Castletown palace and its lovely park


Guest from Paris stayed at Castletown Round House for 5 nights in September 2019


Happy to Be Return Guests at Castletown Round House

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Castletown Round House, and we have enjoyed it more on each successive visit. The location is convenient at the end of the main street of Celbridge, a delightful village with wonderful restaurants, pubs, coffee shops, grocery, pharmacy, and points of historical interest all within a short walk. It's also but a few steps away from the stop for the Dublin Bus #67 that provide a short and scenic ride into the Dublin City Center. Because of its location at the entrance to the Castletown House, it's ideally located for a nature walk along the Liffey or a stroll to the manor house and gardens.
The house itself is a great mix of historic home with just enough modern conveniences in the kitchen and bathrooms to make your stay enjoyable. However, due to its historic nature, it does not provide accessibility for those with mobility issues.


Robert from Perrysburg stayed at Castletown Round House for 5 nights in September 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. As you said, the location of this property is just wonderful for easy access to everything you'd need and with Castletown Estate just on your doorstep, there's not shortage of history and nature. Thank you again for your repeat support of Irish Landmark Trust and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Wonderful.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location on the doorstep of castletown house . Lovely grounds and walks.. Beautiful house its like stepping back in time but with all the mod cons.


Marian from Paderborn stayed at Castletown Round House for 4 nights in September 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay at Castletown Round House. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Wonderful building, perfect location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful weekend in this historic building right on the Main Street in Celbridge. Would highly recommend to anyone- the town is beautiful with lots to do- we went from one historic activity to the next. Definitely go on a tour of the Main Castletown house, the roundhouse is next to the beautiful and biodiversity green walkway that leads to the manor. Only issue we had was hot water- there wasn’t any. When we turned it on it eventually got something less than Luke warm, but never warm or hot. It was fine as the weather was wonderful.

Dearbhla from Dublin stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in July 2019


What I thought of the Roundhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When I arrived at the house I was spoke to Grace who was friendly and showed me around the house was spotless and lovely.

Judith from Co. Londonderry stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in July 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Judith. Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Roundhouse.

Perfect spot for a friends get together

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a group of friends who did a post-grad together. We try to meet once a year but it had been two years since we last got together. Castletown Round House was the perfect place for us. The house is unique and we immediately gave ourselves over to its charms. On our first night, we lit the fire, ordered in a take away from the many on our doorstep, and proceeded to catch up. The location, right at the end of the main street in Celbridge, was great. We were walking distance from a convenience store, restaurants, pubs, the lovely grounds of Castletown, its cafe - unfortunately the house itself was closed as it was off season. The house really added to what was a relaxing and rejuvenating weekend.

Eilish from Naas stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in January 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're delighted to hear that you and your friends had such an enjoyable stay in Castletown. It's a great property in a superb location, with the town of Celbridge on one side of you and Castletown Estate on the other. We would love to welcome you back to one of properties again soon.

We could live here!

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in the Round House. We loved the place as soon as we stepped in the door.
Grace was great and gave us a tour of the house and some useful information about the area. Very easy to take the bus to Dublin for the day.


Walter from Bangor stayed at Castletown Round House for 4 nights in December 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It is so lovely to hear you had a great stay at Castletown Round House and that you found the proximity to Dublin city so great. It is a wonderful property to stay if you wish to visit Dublin but not stay too close to the busy bustle of a city centre. Irish Landmark Trust have a wonderful local House Manager and it is great you were so well looked after.

a great experience

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here 2 years in a row and have no complaints . It is situated in a quiet location but only a bus ride into the city centre . The house is very well kept and clean , it is cozy and comfortable , perfectly nestled between the edge of the town and the beginning of castletown house estate . We would absolutely go back again and will recomend it to everybody , the price was 1/3 of what we would have paid for a hotel stay ( family of 4 ) and the fully operational kitchen added to the convenience.

Guest from Cohasset stayed at Castletown Round House for 8 nights in August 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, for the continued support of Irish Landmark Trust and for recommending us to others! Castletown Roundhouse is a lovely property in such a perfect location as you said. The best of both the Castletown estate and the town of Celbridge. We're so glad you've continued to enjoy your stays with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Great accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great accommodation in a beautiful city with good communications and everything you need to spend a few days in Ireland

Miguel from Granada stayed at Castletown Round House for 5 nights in July 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed Castletown Round House and found the proximity to Dublin City suitable for your few days near the capital. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust, a non-profit organisation that finds interesting and unusual properties that are in need of conservation, and we give them new life. Since 1992, we’ve been turning historic buildings into truly special self-catering holiday accommodation.

50%

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Uncomfortable bed
A big no no is lack of tv and no wifi
Extremely poky shower downstairs
I think the provision of tv would attract a lot more visitors
Particularly families with kids
It is definitely overpriced and would be way too poky and small
For anymore than 2people


Guest from stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in May 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Irish Landmark Trust has a well stated policy of no television or WiFi at any of our properties. That is one of the main reasons a lot of our guests and repeat guests book a stay at an Irish Landmark property. We whole heartily believe that a stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property provides our guests with a memorable stay but without any manufactured lifestyle gimmicks. Guests can enjoy switching off from the outside world and having the chance to actually stop, to take the time out from the modern electronic fast paced world and spend time with friends and family. An opportunity to truly relax. We are very proud to say that there is no WiFi at our properties, but we do promise guests will find a better connection! I am sorry to hear that you found the lack of a television was such a disappointment during your stay. However, Irish Landmark Trust do clearly state on our website and the information document guests receive that there are no television at our properties. This will continue to be our policy in the future. With regard to your comment that you found the bed was uncomfortable, I will forward this note onto the Standards Officer to make a note of and address if necessary.

Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Castletown Round House in the new Year and had a wonderful stay there. It was so accessible to Dublin and the bus departed from outside the door.....perfect for our needs! Beautiful Castletown House itself and it's walks(and the wonderful cafe) were also on our doorstep. We loved the Round House and its quirks. The living room and open fire made it the ideal evening venue. All in all a great holiday.

Peter from Co. Kilkenny stayed at Castletown Round House for 5 nights in January 2018


Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Peter for taking the time to leave such a great review. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay in Castletown Round House and appreciated the amazing location too. It really is so easy to get into Dublin and Celbridge town is right on the doorstep. Happy new year and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A Good Place for a family Christmas

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very convenient location for the town of Cèlbridge and the house and grounds of Castletown. We had very comfortable stay over Christmas with a real fire in the lounge . There is plenty of space for six and a lovely kitchen/diner. This was our second stay in this lovely old house and would certainly come again.

Brian from Shoreham-by-sea stayed at Castletown Round House for 7 nights in December 2017


Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It's great to welcome you back and we're so glad you had such a comfortable and enjoyable Christmas. Castletown Round House is in such a wonderful location and the grounds of Castletown house itself are gorgeous. We look forward to welcoming you back a third time.

Beautiful house in wonderful location

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in this charming house and look forward to returning in the not too distant future.
Many thanks to Grace for her kind welcome.


Guest from Dublin stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in November 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you had a nice time at Castletown Round House and that you will be back in the future. Please do get in touch with the Bookings Office and we would be delighted to assist you with deciding on your next Irish Landmark property to stay at.

Enjoyed Round House even more than our first stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We previously stayed at the Round House in Celbridge in May 2015, so we already knew we liked the property and location. Celbridge is a delightful little village, very convenient to the bustling Dublin, but separated enough to have its own charm. When we first visited, we really only used the house as a quick stopover for sleeping. This time we determined to relax in the house, and enjoy living in an historic home, with just enough modern conveniences.
The property manager Grace Deegan was just finishing up prepping the house from the previous visitors, when we arrived a few minutes ahead of our appointed time. Since we were return visitors, we asked a few questions about operation of the home, and she was warm and gracious as she answered everything we needed to know.
We really enjoyed a more leisurely use of the Round House, and took numerous walking excursions out during our stay. We returned for an evening meal at Michelangelo Restaurant and enjoyed several meals at The Duck (formerly The Mucky Duck) which has been remodeled and became our local for a few days. Great staff and food at both places.
The Round House is also located less than a block from the Dublin Bus stops for the #67 Maynooth to Dublin (Merrion Square) route that makes it very easy to get into Dublin for all its attractions, and a safe way to get back from the pubs downtown after a couple pints.


Robert from Perrysburg stayed at Castletown Round House for 4 nights in September 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Castletown Round House. Wonderful to welcome you back to Irish Landmark Trust. Great to hear you had some time to enjoy the village and spend some time at the property this time around.

my stay

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was a lovely place, nice that the parking was close. Rooms where nice and big. Only downside costly.

Jacqualyn from Tralee stayed at Castletown Round House for 4 nights in July 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, so glad you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back.

Parking problems!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I won't recommend the round house to anyone of my friends or family due to the fact the rental came with a parking space but it was a constant problem. The locals parked there all the time and when I returned back I had no parking space which caused a lot of problems as I had no where to park! I parked on the side walk, out on the street and even near the gate! I'm not sure why in your contract I had a guaranteed parking space which was not true. I had to argue with the locals who said we are residents when I pointed out it was residents parking. I spoke to grace about the issue and asked her to print off a letter head to say I was staying at the roundhouse in case the parking wardens came around and decided to issue me a parking fine. I was extremely disappointed at how the parking was handled not because of Grace the manager as she tried to speak to locals but they didn't listen to her either. As far as I could see this has been an ongoing parking problem for a long time which was not addressed by Irish landmark trust but you lead me to believe I had a parking pace. If I had know the issue I would not have rented the house.

Pauline from Kingston stayed at Castletown Round House for 10 nights in June 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let Head Office know about your stay in Castletown Round House. I must say I was rather shocked to read your review and I was not aware that there was any issues regarding parking for guests staying at an Irish Landmark property. I am very disappointed to read that you had such discussions with local residents of the village. Now that this has been highlighted I will certainly get in touch with the Local House Manager to fully investigate this matter. Updated note: I have now investigated this matter fully and I can inform you that Irish Landmark have been actively trying to get the car parking spots repainted by those whom are responsible for these car spaces. Unfortunately this is outside of our control but the correct people are aware of it and trying to resolve this matter as a priority.

Castletown

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The gatehouse was a good experience and a nice place to stay. Several of us hit our heads on the ceilings or doorframes quite a few times, but the property is very old and that was part of its charm. The grounds were beautiful! The suburb offered many activities and amenities. The beds could have been more comfortable. The housekeeper was delightful. I have two children allergic to dust and mildew, so they were a bit uncomfortable. Overall, we had a good stay.

Julie from Menomonee Falls stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in June 2017


Really good accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is really good for group of people. It has all properties what you need and castletown is really beautiful place

Lenka from Ostrava stayed at Castletown Round House for 10 nights in March 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Castletown

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Maison proche des commerces et des transports.
Peu de chauffage et pas de pression dans la douche.


Anne-elisabeth from Lyon stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in March 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, it is nice to hear what are guests think , come back again soon.

Best location in Celbridge!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location and off road parking. We did not have to worry about the car if we wanted to go out and and have a drink.

Lynn from Birmingham stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in November 2016


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the nice feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Perfect stay

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a perfect stay. Grace was very friendly and helpful while getting us settled in. We had a comfortable happy getaway, peaceful and cozy.The short walk to local amenities, plus a nice stroll to Castletown House made it fun and a special place to remember.

Shirley from Saggart stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in September 2016


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, would love you to come back and visit in the near future.

Interesting heritage cottage next to country house estate

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is an interesting place to stay - previously the gate house for a large country manor, which can be visited by means of a short walk in the grounds. The cottage is relaxing and in keeping with its setting, with the town's shops handy

Paul from Auckland stayed at Castletown Round House for 4 nights in June 2016


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Visiting from Australia for family wedding

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location and loved the quaintness, ideal accommodation for family with children. Although wifi and tv would have helped babysitter and gave kids some necessary downtime after hectic wedding.

Maeve from Mount Waverley stayed at Castletown Round House for 4 nights in June 2016


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Old world Ireland

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Step back in time in this quaint gatelodge. It's a charming and lovely holiday cottage in a fabulous location. There are lots of great things to do and see in Celbridge.

Anne from Dublin stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in June 2016


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the lovely feedback, come back again soon.

100

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every things were excellent. It's a marvellous place , a nice house, we thougt we live in since a long time et sad to leave the house !Grace is nice and easy to contact , she permissed that we stay later than 10 o clock the last day and it was confortable for us to leave the keys in the box at 11 ,thank you.

from Verrieres le buisson stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in May 2016


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of properties.

Right in the heart of an Irish Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Castletown Round House stay is like a dream and we really don't ever want to leave this little home. I could spend a year here and not have read all the books and information. The house was warm and cosy, with separate areas for everyone to retire to when needed. The House Manager was on hand for anything we needed and even though the location is right in the middle of town, the traffic is barely audible. Thank you Heritage Trust for restoring this beautiful building and opening it up for visitors to take a step back in time and enjoy Irish hospitality at it's best!
Sile

PS the only feedback I would provide was to have a couple of hooks for hanging in the downstairs shower room, otherwise so well thought out.


Sile from . stayed at Castletown Round House for 8 nights in January 2016


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your suggestion, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our Irish Landmark properties.

Celbridge

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Nov 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
No hot water for a shower . Shower curtain needs to be replaced .Heating upstairs poor . Apart from that lovely .I...................................

Guest from Ringsend Road stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in November 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review and suggestions , il will pass it on to the local House Manager.

An excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was a lovely place to stay in. The location was good and all amenities were in walking distance. There was an excellent walk and park beside the place. Even though the place has lot of historic background I would suggest that there should be Internet service and a television provided too. All of us loved our stay and would love to go again and stay

Muhammad Amir from Riyadh stayed at Castletown Round House for 4 nights in October 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for lovely feedback and suggestion , most guests enjoy the fact there is no television, really delighted you enjoyed your stay come back again soon.

Two days at Castletown Round House

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very comfortable stay in the house - the position is very convenient .....bus stop and shops so nearby. One and only disappointment was the lack of wifi (in this day and age) - it is a must !

Bridget from . stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in September 2015


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your recent stay. With regard to your comment about WiFi we feel that by removing modern gimmicks such as TV or Wi-fi it allows our guests to get back to what is truly important and reconnecting with each other. It makes our properties the perfect retreat from the modern world outside.

Nice stay in a very beautiful house

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were a family of 6 with my mother (79) and we could enjoy a stay together close to Dublin and close to a rich small city.
Very clean and really comfortable house. Decoration of the house really well done. Warm welcome from Grace.


Guest from Bords stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in August 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback , delighted you enjoyed your stay , come back again soon :)

A big problem of hot water pressure.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
It is a nice house near an impressive castle . Every thing is tolerable until you try to get a shower. The low hot water pressure makes it a nightmare

Guest from . stayed at Castletown Round House for 7 nights in July 2015


An abundance of spiders, webs and dirt. Awful

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
2.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
booked this above property for four nights from 13th July to 17th July 2015. On arrival the House Keeper was there to greet us and a preliminary tour given. The building was lovely and situated centrally for access to the sites we wanted to visit (Curragh, Zoo, Castletown House).

However, on the initial inspection we did not realise that we had booked the house used for the casting of the movie Charlotte’s Web.

I have no problem with one or two spiders in a house, everyone has one or two. Three or four I can cope with but I removed fifteen fully grown spiders plus their associated webs, dead flies and offspring on the first night alone! They were not in some dark corners but in the open – junction of kitchen ceiling and wall, side of dresser in kitchen, behind the free standing microwave, kitchen radiator, living room mirror etc. etc. I have no problem with spiders being a gardener but that is were they should be ... In the garden not occupying a house! On return home I counted the spiders in my greenhouse, workshop and shed. They did not pass ten in total.
Throughout the subsequent five days I lost count of how many I removed and how many webs there were.

As well as the spiders I was startled to see a tumbleweed of human hair roll to my feet from the kitchen radiator and on closer inspection the radiator (free standing and easily cleaned) could only be described as disgusting. In fact the cleanliness of the entire property was unhygienic and disgusting as spiders, dead flies and human hair do not make for a clean kitchen, living room or home. There was also a ‘message’ left in thick dust on one windowsill and thick dust on the rest.

I was bitten several times as well and feel lucky I have no reactions to same. My partner and daughter however did not react to the spiders and dirt very well – they both hate them.

The entire stay was disgustingly unsatisfactory and I would demand more for the expensive amount charged. I approached your housekeeper via the phone and she amazingly said that she checked the house prior to our arrival and that “you get one or two spiders in old houses”. She is either telling untruths or these spiders move in really quickly.


Guest from Derry stayed at Castletown Round House for 4 nights in July 2015


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to outline the details of your stay in the Castletown Round House, as you know we have discussed this directly with you and we have informed you that we are working hard to resolve the concerns that you have raised. As an organisation, we endeavour to ensure that each guest's stay, in every one of our restored and conserved buildings, is not only unique and memorable but also comfortable and pleasant too. We have strict standards in place which we ensure all staff adhered too. We are disappointed that your stay was less than satisfactory, in a building which has enjoyed numerous positive reviews in the past, but please rest assured that we are looking into this matter in great detail.

The round house

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for my sisters wedding , what a stunning property can't wait to see the photos . This is our second time staying here. Special memories of this place.

Deirdre from Herts stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in July 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review , so glad you had a nice stay , it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

A 2night stay for family of 6, to attend a local wedding.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed the quirkiness of the Round House. Thankfully our first impressions of the tired looking outside did not reflect the inside. The house was roomy, tastefully decorated in period style. The bedrooms were spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Two of the bedrooms were adjoining, so those in the inner room had to pass through the neighbouring bedroom to gain access to the shared bathroom. This was not a problem as we were family, but might have been more difficult if less acquainted. The property was at the gates of Castleton House, so we were able to enjoy some lovely relaxing walks in the estate grounds. The house provided a prefect family retreat between the wedding preparations and celebrations.

Guest from . stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in June 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback , delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you come back in the near future.

Beautiful Home; Too Little Time

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our only regret about our stay at Castletown Round House was that we did not get to spend enough time enjoying the comfort and beauty of the home itself. We arrived at the Round House on Friday afternoon and were met by house manager Grace Deegan. She gave us a quick run-through of the important details and helped us with some recommendations for dining in Celbridge. Her recommendations of The Village Inn for a quick Friday lunch and Michelangelo's for a nice Italian dinner on Saturday both proved to be spot on.
We had already made plans for our two days in the area and did not have time in our schedule to really take advantage of the comforts and amenities the house offered. The Round House was an excellent base of operations for us, but we would hope to come back to Celbridge again soon for a longer stay, when we could really relax and enjoy this beautiful home.


Guest from Perrysburg stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in May 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay, look forward to your return.

An All-rounder in Celbridge!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yes, this is a nice house. We were four sisters together, no longer young, but we really enjoyed a comfortable stay in the Round House. The Caretaker/Manager, Grace, a great lady, warmly welcomed us, explained the necessary details and assured us that she was but a 'phone call away if we had any problems. Everything was perfect - the house is well equipped, the white goods worked well, and we had plenty of warm water. Life was tranquil and easy-going.

Well worth preserving, this quite spacious house was typical of a by-gone era, complete with the silver service etc. on the sideboard, the nice dishes on display, the heavy mahogany chests of drawers and the inlaid mahogany beds. Naturally, being old, the furniture has seen better days, but that's the beauty of antiquity. Needless to say, the bedding, the plumbing and the kitchen equipment are bang-on present day variety. Grace recommended Michelangelo's - an Italian Restaurant, only 2 mins. away, and, as she predicted, David looked after us really well and the food was delicious. Another night we dined in Celbridge Manor Hotel, also excellent, but we drove there a mile or two out the road.

Situated on a busy corner, traffic passes of course, and it is fair to say that one will hear the odd truck lumbering by in early morning. A Street Market set up opposite the house on Friday morning - one little stall - selling organic fruit and vegetables - what more could we ask!

I'd go back to stay in the Round House any time and have no hesitation in recommending it.


Guest from Dublin 15 stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in May 2015


Bookings officer replied more than 1 year ago
Fantastic to see that you had a nice time at Castletown Round House and enjoyed spending time exploring the local area. I look forward to talking to you again in the furture and arranging your next stay with us.

Bedroom Layout is an issue

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Apr 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Round House is a very nice building but the layout of the bedrooms caused us problems as you can only access one of the double bedrooms through the twin room so not ideal. In other words, you have to walk through the twin bedroom to access the toilet during the night.

There was also quite a lot of noise both nights coming from the street but I guess that's just down to the fact that the building is located in thw town itself.

Castletown House is a beautiful location for walks so the Round House is perfect for accessing the grounds of Castletown House.




Guest from stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in April 2015


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Castletown Round House. I am glad to hear that the Round House was a good base for you to walk around the grounds at Castletown House. One of the Double Rooms is indeed located through the Twin Room and that is a feature of this historical property. Irish Landmark Trust buildings were made to the standards of earlier times and consequently, as with the Round House, guests may encounter distingushing features that reflect their particular character. In all cases Irish Landmark have sought to the careful retention of the fabric of each building making each unique property an interesting place to stay.

A lovely house

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent a weekend at the Round House with my mother and sisters. We had a lovely welcome from Grace who gave us excellent recommendations for places to eat and things to do around the locality. The house is lovely - very quaint, cosy and very clean. All necessities were provided including fuel for the open fire. I have stayed in Irish Landmark Trust properties before and definitely will again. Celbridge is a great town and there was a fantastic market on at Castletown House the weekend we were there.

Guest from stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in April 2015


A magic place for an Easter egg hunt

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the house. Our friends enjoyed its quirkiness and the space. Michaelangelo's restaurant is great and the owner David is very pleasant and gave us a great welcome.

Guest from Waterford stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in April 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, so happy you enjoyed your stay at Castletown Round House, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

A magic place for an Easter egg hunt

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the house. Our friends enjoyed its quirkiness and the space. Michaelangelo's restaurant is great and the owner David is very pleasant and gave us a great welcome.

Guest from Waterford stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in April 2015


January 2015 at Roundhouse Celbridge

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I plus our son, daughter-in-law and their two children ages 3 and 13 months really enjoyed our stay at the Roundhouse. The 3 year old was fascinated with the tiny windows and the handles/latches on the doors. The location was fantastic so close to restaurants, grocery stores and pubs. Half hour bus ride to Dublin city. Beautiful walk to Castletown House unfortunately it was closed for the winter months. Fantastic history in the area. We would definetly recommend it and the house manager Grace was very pleasant to deal with. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Guest from Ontario stayed at Castletown Round House for 6 nights in January 2015


Excellent Christmas Location

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here over Christmas in order to visit family.. Excellent location at the end of the main street in Celbridge and at the entrance to the grounds of Castletown House. Good for walking especially after Christmas food. Supermarkets are within walking distance too. The house is unique and comfortable. Some of the rooms are of an unusual shape which adds to the interest of the property. Good heating system including an open fire. Very spacious.

Guest from Shoreham-by-sea stayed at Castletown Round House for 7 nights in December 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, it's always great to hear such positive feedback, would love to see you return in the future.

---

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Guest from Co. Dublin stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in November 2014


Unwind and Relax

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Nov 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Castletown Round House. The house was cosy and comfortable and the house manager was on hand to help with any of our needs. No TV or WIFI was great as our teenage children enjoyed playing scrabble etc during our stay. A visit to Castletown House is a must while there. We really had a nice time and would definitely stay again. The Keenan family. (from Dublin)

Guest from stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in October 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you and the family enjoyed your stay ,would love to see you back in the future.

A short summary of your review

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Some problems with paperwork not being received in advance, but the manager was very helpful and understanding. She was helpful and flexible. The house was well appointed, though the plumbing left a little to be desired (bath took a ridiculous time to run).

The one downside of the property was that the street outside could get a little rowdy in the evenings, which could be disturbing.


Guest from stayed at Castletown Round House for 6 nights in September 2014


a beautiful experience with family

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we spent a few days in casteltown round house very beautiful, the children had funny time in house and we had relaxing time. the house is very big and has every services.
we reccomend it to family.


Guest from Senigallia stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in August 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review,delighted you and the kids enjoyed your stay,come back again soon :)

Castletown Roundhouse

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Aug 2014
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
I was very disappointed at the lack of a Wi-Fi connection in the house. This i feel is something small that could be done that would make a stay alot more enjoyable. The downstairs shower room is in need of a steam clean as it is not very pleasent. I also feel the downstairs room in the round bit itself could be utilized more maybe with some context and history of the house and its surrounding area

Guest from Enniscorthy stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in August 2014


Irene, Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at Castletown Round House. The Irish Landmark Trust experience is one that aims to make some of Ireland’s most iconic buildings accessible to the wider community by offering them a relaxing indulgence and a break away from the modern intrusions of life. We do not advertise WiFi at Castletown Round House specifically for this reason. Whilst a small number of people do comment they would like to have access to WiFi, the majority of the Irish Landmark Community tell us that they love the escape from it so therefore it has been excluded from this property as well as a number of others. With regard to the shower room we are scheduled for painting to be done after recent plumbing so this will be addressed very soon. I am sorry that you felt that the visitor’s information booklet in the Round House was not sufficient. I have passed on this note to the property manager for review.

A little too old world for a modern family.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Aug 2014
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A beautiful property in a wonderful location but the museum like smell of the house, particularly in the living room, did make us wonder about the health of some of the furniture. We found spiders that had long been resident, clearly, from the intricate ladders of spidery threads to be seen climbing between certain pieces of furniture and the walls. We decided to leave them in peace but I got the Hoover out for the tangle of long dark hairs and what looked like toast crumbs along one side of our bed.
My last and loudest gripe however I reserve for the surfeit of bedding in the almost unholy temperatures that blessed our visit. Winter duvets are surely for WINTER! Our kids took to sleeping with no bedding at all and I trundled back and forth to the bathroom for towels.
Finally can I just add that the policy on no TV and no internet is beginning to look more miserly than concidered. It can be a trial to find information without internet access (where ever data was roaming it managed to stay just tantalisingly out of reach for us on EE) and this surely can suit very few visitors, given that even your dearest granny can wield a touch screen mobile phone without too much difficulty.
We have stayed in many old properties but this, I'm afraid to say, was probably our second and last Landmark.


Guest from Stirling stayed at Castletown Round House for 7 nights in July 2014


Irene, Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at Castletown Round House. I have passed on your initial notes to the House Manager. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the bedding, if I had of been made aware you did not want duvets at the time of booking I would have passed this on to the House Manager and arranged lighter sheets. If you do decide to stay in an Irish Landmark property in the future please do let me know when you are booking if you have any specific requirements like this and I will check to see if we can arrange it for you. In response to your note about WiFi and Television we do not advertise either of these at Castletown Round House. Whilst a small number of people do comment they would like to have access to WiFi, the majority of the Irish Landmark Community tell us that they love the escape from it and hence why they specifically chose to book their holiday home with Irish Landmark. I can assure you it is not miserly at all as you have stated as there are a number of reasons contributing to the decision to exclude WiFi from Castletown, as well as some other properties.

Castletown Round House

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
he Castletown Round House was amazing. Really cute just as in the photos, well kept, and super conveniently located. The host was really easy to interact with and easy to get in touch with. Loved it. The only negative was that the door handles were noisy (though very classic hardware) and sounds do travel in the place as might be expected for an older building. Street noise was not bad and not a problem at all, just my noisy family.

Guest from Oakland stayed at Castletown Round House for 6 nights in July 2014


Irene, Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
THank you so much for leaving your review of Castletown Round House. We are delighted that you had a nice stay.

Wonderful experience

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would love to return and spend more time in Celbridge and the Roundhouse. We were over for a wedding and our time was taken up with family.
The roundhouse takes you back in time a very relaxed setting, wonderful walks in the grounds of Castletown house and so close to restaurants and bars.


Guest from Woking stayed at Castletown Round House for 5 nights in May 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review and feedback i hope you will be able to stay in another Irish Landmark again.

A lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 28 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Irish Landmark properties are a real treasure. We stayed in two during our trip this time, and would seek them out for a future trip. The Round House met our needs in every way: location, comfort and a good kitchen. The experience of staying in a beautiful, historic place which had been restored so carefully and yet brought up to today's expectations of comfort, was a big part of our holiday experience. A beautiful home-away from home, and a great point of departure for day trips.

Guest from Pender Island stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in May 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay. It's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Wonderful stay in a historic house

Review submitted on Thu, 08 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Five of our family stayed for a long weekend in the Round House. The house is beautifully furnished with a period feel to the decor and furnishings, and with a charming circular entrance hall. The three bedrooms are delightful, and the beds very comfortable. The house was warm (great central heating system) and the manager Grace greeted us on arrival and made us feel very welcome. The Round House is at the entrance to Castletown House, a grand Palladian Georgian building, set in wonderful landscaped countryside. It was a pleasure to walk in the grounds and we visited the House and took the guided tour- which we recommend everyone to do. Its a place that we would hope to return to.


Guest from Belfast stayed at Castletown Round House for 3 nights in May 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, look forward to your return in the future :)

Castletown Roundhouse Incredible Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Landmark, my young family, elderly mother, husband and I spent a memorable Christmas at the Roundhouse. We arrived at the premises on Christmas Eve finding it, warm, comfortable, spotless, child and elderly friendly. The crisp sheets, open fire, sense of history and sensitively decorated environment made our Christmas complete. Your exceptionally kind and professional housekeeper insured our stay was a fantastic one. A credit to your team. We will definitely stay at this house and other Landmark properties throughout Ireland again. We will certainly highly recommend your Company to our friends and colleagues.

Guest from Dundrum stayed at Castletown Round House for 2 nights in December 2013


Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm so happy to hear that the entire family enjoyed the Roundhouse. We would love to have you stay again! :-)