FB Twitter

SJ Clipper

SJ Clipper

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 50 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Kilometers from anywhere, a stay at St. John’s Point Lighthouse offers the perfect getaway. Discover the pretty, almost pink, sands of Coral Beach. Breathe in the fresh sea air. Take in the fantastic views across Donegal Bay and towards Sligo, Mayo and far beyond.

  • Sleeps 4 people. 1 Double Room and 1 Twin Room.
  • Pets are not permitted.

Wonderful low tech holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed as a family of 4. The cottage was spotless and well provisioned. After the initial shock to the kids that there was no WiFi or TV they soon got over it and we spent a wonderful week of exploring, finding hidden bays, dramatric mountains and culture. Can't recommend it enough for a family getaway.

Timothy from Insch stayed at SJ Clipper for 5 nights in October 2020


Irish Landmark Team replied 80 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely, cheerful review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at SJ Clipper and that both adults and kids had fun exploring the local area. We hope to welcome you as Irish Landmark guests again.

Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
SuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuperSuper. I really liked it.

Dara from Galway stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in September 2020


Irish Landmark Team replied 144 days ago
Thank you for your short but very sweet review! We're so glad you had such a positive experience at SJ Clipper!

Return visit

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
this was our 3rd time to visit and we will hope to return again next year if possible. Location is good for views but is 20 minutes from shops or takeaway. There is a beach 2km from house also.

John from Bailieborough stayed at SJ Clipper for 3 nights in August 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 169 days ago
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay for other guests. We are delighted that your most recent stay at SJ Clipper was a good one and we look forward to welcoming you next year.

2 couples - 2 nights -1 lovely lighthouse

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in S J Clipper for 2 nights with some friends. The views were spectacular and we were blessed with nice sunny weather, although it was equally magical to see a bit of stormy weather the morning we were leaving. We walked down to the beach for a swim one of the days. We had stocked up on food from supervalu, so cooked breakfasts, lunches and dinners in the house. There is a similar house next door, so would suit a larger group if needed. Gerard, the house manager, was nearby and kept in touch, but we didn't see him as we didn't need anything.

Caoimhe from Athboy stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in August 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 172 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at SJ Clipper. We're glad you enjoyed the self-catering experience and it sounds like you really took advantage of the coastal surroundings. We'd love to have you to stay again in the future. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Perfect get away location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
SJ Clipper is a real gem ...located at the very tip of St John's Point , the cottage has been beautifully restored and is a comfy, tranquil setting. The bad news first, there is virtually no wifi..the good news, there is virtually no wifi which ensures that if you're meant to be on holiday, you really are on holiday and do nothing but enjoy the breathtaking scenery.

Melanie from Dublin stayed at SJ Clipper for 4 nights in July 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 198 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at SJ Clipper and that you appreciated taking the time out to enjoyed the location. Irish Landmark Team

Fantastic Holiday - Great Location

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse was very clean and had everything we needed.
It is also a 25 min walk to a lovely beach. The surroundings are enclosed, so very safe for families. And the views are stunning.
We loved every minute of it.
We were there on a busy weekend, so getting to it means you have to drive down a narrow road and stop a number of times to let cars past. It was very popular for a large number of cars to park outside the gate and for people to go walking. But everyone is friendly.
Mid-week would be much quieter.
I would highly recommend this


Ann from Kilcullen stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in July 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 198 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at SJ Clipper. We're delighted that you enjoyed the property and the views that surround it. Thank you for your recommendation and support. Irish Landmark Team.

St Johns Point

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second experience of staying in a Light keepers cottage .
We thoroughly enjoyed both experiences.
It’s nice to get a feel of what went on back on the days and the life they led .
Beautiful surroundings and of course the Wild Atlantic Way .
Well stocked cottages.


Con from Castlelyons stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in July 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 198 days ago
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your second lighthouse stay and that you enjoyed the surroundings and location of St John's Point. Thank you for your continued support and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Irish Landmark Team

Glorious isolation

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We are a family of 4, two adults and two teenagers. Our 4 nights in St.John’s Point was a perfect anecdote to almost 4 months of lockdown in Dublin. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated, recreating the atmosphere and style of the past perfectly. The location is suitably wild with the most incredible panoramic view almost 108 degrees. We have only one or two small criticisms. The view from inside the cottage was limited as the lighthouse is surrounded by a protective wall. And despite best efforts there are signs of damp in the property.
Would we go back and would we recommend the place? Without hesitation.


Cathal from Lucan stayed at SJ Clipper for 4 nights in July 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 198 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're very glad you enjoyed taking time out at the lighthouse in its remote location. We would love to welcome you to stay again in the future. Irish Landmark Team

3rd stay at St John's Lighthouse

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we've been to this location. Sitting by the fire with a book and a glass of wine with no mobile coverage, wifi or tv is a total head purge. Getting away from modern life is like a burden lifted.

Stay here if:
You want peace and quiet away from the busy world
You want spectacular views and scenery

Dont stay here if:
You're expecting a five star hotel
You need constant electronic stimulation or suffer from internet disconnection syndrome

As I said, this is the 3rd time we've stayed at this location and I expect we will be back at least once this year, and hopefully for many more years to come.



George from Newry stayed at SJ Clipper for 3 nights in January 2020


Irish Landmark Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for this lovely review. It's really great to hear that you appreciate the whole experience of staying at St John's Lighthouse, taking time out from modern life and just enjoying being there. We hope you are looking forward to your next visit already! Your continued support of Irish Landmark Trust is very much appreciated.

Loved it!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at SJ Clipper. The location is amazing with far reaching views to the Sligo mountains on one side and Slieve League and Killybegs to the other.

The house is spacious, clean & comfortable. There are two bedrooms, one double & one twin. It has a well equipped kitchen, spacious bathroom with freestanding bath & separate shower room. There is no Wi-Fi and no TV, which is bliss.

Booking and check-in is a breeze and Gerard the house manager is very friendly and informative.

The Lighthouse is a 20 minute drive from the nearest village, down what is mostly a single track road. You need to be organised, there is no popping to the shop.

It really is a place to get away from it all and to switch off. I cannot overstate how amazing the views are. We would definitely return.



Damian from London stayed at SJ Clipper for 3 nights in September 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your wonderful review. St. John's Point is indeed a beautiful place to stay and to get away from the bustle of everyday life! Hopefully we can welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property again soon.

Just perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a fantastic weekend staying at Schooner and Clipper. We rented the tow houses as a family holiday, and it worked out brilliantly. In typical Donegal style, we had nearly all seasons over the course of the few days, and all agreed it would be absolutely magical to be there during a storm! The houses are tastefully restored, and so comfortable. You can see the Trust went for style particularly in the large bathrooms, rather than trying to squeeze as many beds in as they could. Beautiful, unrivalled location, peaceful, everything you could need is supplied in the houses. Ger the house manager was so nice and helpful, and very accommodating with arrival times etc. We will definitely be returning!

Deirde from Ranelagh stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in July 2019


Bookings officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you.

Two weeks at SJ Clipper

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a superb stay at SJ Clipper in August - surrounded by the sea and all the elements is where we do best. The cottage was beautiful, with everything we needed. We had plenty of lobster and seafood there and slept well in comfortable beds after plenty of fresh air. Gerard was an excellent host, he looked after us really well. We had our swimming spot at our doorstep, with the coral beach a short walk or drive away, with only cows as traffic - this was brilliant swimming and snorkelling for the kids and we spent many a morning, afternoon and evening here. We also visited some of the astoundingly beautiful beaches nearby including Fintra, Meaghra, and Malin Beg, but were always happy to get back to the coral beach for a final dip - in all weather - and then to our cosy lighthouse for a hot bath. Thanks to all - we will mainly be 'lighthousekeeping' in the future.

Sabrina from Freshford stayed at SJ Clipper for 6 nights in August 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your very kind review of your recent stay at Clipper, St John's Point in Donegal. It is wonderful to hear you had such a lovely time and enjoyed you time at a self-catering accommodation in the care of Irish Landmark Trust. Also that you had so much fun in the surrounding areas. Thank you so much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust and we really do hope to welcome you back again in the future to one of the 33 properties in our care.

A very special place

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a family weekend break at SJ Clipper. It was fabulous - and exceeded our expectations.
The location and setting are amazing - but equally, the standard of the house accommodation is also excellent.
We will definitely go back.


Greg from Skerries stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in August 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
You are very kind to let Irish Landmark Trust know how you enjoyed your stay at Clipper, and that you had such a lovely time. It is always so good to hear from guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Expectations not fully met

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
St. John's Lighthouse is so wonderfully secluded, but there is no real peace and quiet there. This is mainly due to the many day guests who drive to the tip of the peninsula, do not follow the parking rules and are also quite noisy. Wild campers very close to the lighthouse and young people who simply climbed over the walls also affected the feeling of well-being.
We understand that the maintenance of the building is not easy, and the small damaged areas did not really bother us, but the dirty dishes and cutlery that the guests who lived in that apartment before us had simply put into the cupboards.


Nicole from Berlin stayed at SJ Clipper for 4 nights in July 2019


Returned to the house

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was my families second time to stay at St. John's lighthouse and we will return again at a later time. The house is great, nice atmosphere and decorations that suit. The surrounding grounds are good for a walk. Approximately 20 minutes from shops or take away.

John from Cavan stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in July 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to welcome you and your family back to St John's Point in Donegal. Delighted you had a lovely time again. You are so good to support Irish Landmark Trust by choosing one of the self catering properties in our care. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sunshine in Donegal and there is nowhere better.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky that we could sit outside in fine weather. The location and the sunsets were just great. We were fortunate to meet a former resident who told us about life there and that made it extra special.

John from Stamullen stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in June 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Oh wow, wonderful to hear your stay was made extra special in your chance meeting with a former resident. That sounds like a wonderful experience. As you say, you really can't beat Donegal when the sun shines.

Great place to get away from the world

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved this setting. Even though it fronts the Wild Atlantic Ocean, the peace and tranquillity was fantastic.

Having no O2 mobile signal, no wifi and no TV allowed us to disconnect form work completely. We lit the fire and opened a bottle of wine. What more could you ask for?

Make sure you have plenty of provisions as its at least 20 minutes drive to the main road.

Loved it so much we are booking again for later in the year.


Karen from Newry stayed at SJ Clipper for 4 nights in May 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed the Irish Landmark experiance by cutting off from the busy world and just stopping to take the time to relax and enjoy yourselves. It is always so wonderful to see people really embracing this and why the properties in our care will always remain free from electronic distractions such as WiFi. Thank you so very much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust and we do hope to welcome you back again some time in the future.

A Heavenly Haven

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location for getting away from the daily grind. The calmness of the surroundings was just magic and the comfort of the accommodation was superb. It was really cosy, warm and very well equipped. Gerard was warm and welcoming and a very good guide for local information of things to access in the area. The coastal walks and the flora were just beautiful and unspoilt. The beaches and rocky shores were a delight to explore. A really great few days spent here! Happy memories!

Mary from stayed at SJ Clipper for 3 nights in May 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It's so nice to hear that you have made some new, happy memories while staying in St. John's Point. It's a spectacular location indeed and Gerard is a wonderful House Manager so I'm sure you were very well informed and warmly greeted. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you to another Irish Landmark Trust property again soon.

Great lighthouse

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at SJ Clipper. We enjoyed magnificent views of the bay, sunsets (even when foggy) and to see the light in the lighthouse was a true first experience.
I really recommend it.
We wish we could have visited the tower and understand how it works. Maybe something to consider in the future?

Thank you Irish Landmark and George for keeping the lighthouse so well.


Guest from Dublin stayed at SJ Clipper for 3 nights in April 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to hear you had such a great time at Clipper. Irish Landmark Trust care for the self-catering properties on this site only. The lighthouse itself is in the care of Commissioner of Irish Lights and I am not sure there are plans to open the lighthouse to the public I am afraid. There are some lighthouses around the country open to visitors such as Loop Head Lighthouse, Hook Head Lighthouse, and a few more. Please do check out www.greatlighthouses.com for more information of the lighthouses that are open to the public.

Great experience and great place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was one of the best experiences we’ve had in our 8 trips to Ireland over the years. Truly extraordinary views in a unique home. Great to sit around the peat fire every evening listening to Irish Radio! Very comfortable and warm beds and great hot shower. We had everything we needed for a great stay!

John from Arlington stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in April 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of your stay at Clipper, St. John's Point in Co. Donegal. It is great to hear you had such a lovely stay and it was a highlight for your trip to Ireland. Really great to hear. We do hope to perhaps welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Very positive!

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay, short as it was. Gerard is great, very pleasant, very helpful. These lighthouse experiences are wonderful (this is our second). Maghera strand is wonderful and Slieve League breathtaking. I hope we can come back

James from Swinton stayed at SJ Clipper for 4 nights in March 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your 2nd stay at a lightkeeper's house in the care of Irish Landmark Trust. You are so kind to continue to support our work to help save, share and sustain more of Ireland's built heritage. We look forward to welcoming you back perhaps in the future.

Weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent retreat for a weekend break. Plenty of room for two adults and two kids. Stunning views. If the sights and sounds of the sea are your thing then this is perfect.

Ken from Leitrim stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in March 2019


Irish Landmark Trust's Booking Officer replied more than 1 year ago
It is wonderful to hear you had such a great time for your weekend break with family at Clipper. It really is a perfect spot for anyone who wants to escape from the world and surround themselves by sea and wildlife. Kilometres from anywhere, a stay at St. John’s Point Lighthouse offers the perfect getaway. We do hope to welcome you to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Blustery Days

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed during a very large orange warning storm, which made for a dark, blustery stay. Even if it was kind of eerie, we thought it was absolutely beautiful. With the wind and waves howling, we felt like we were in a movie.

The accommodations were great. We enjoyed cooking together as a family and loved being “off the beaten path”. Highly recommend staying if you’re in the Donegal area for a couple days!


Mary from North Salt Lake stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in March 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
You were so very brave to stay during such a big storm but you certainly were in the safest place. Lightkeeper's houses were built to withstand the power of the sea that is for sure. We are delighted to hear that the weather did not take away from the enjoyment of your stay and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back when the sun is shinning so you get a chance to see the local area too. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Away from it all

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is unique and absolutely stunning. Accommodation is great and Gerard was great. You require your own transportation and phone signal boy great in house but you really really can escape from it all at this wonderful property

Suzanne from Greystones stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in March 2019


Highly Recommend

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Four of us spent two nights in this accommodation. We could not fault it, it was a beautiful location, away from it all, but yet near so many lovely places in Donegal. Accommodation was excellent, every facility you would need, once you bring enough food, you would not want for anything else. Great base for some lovely walks. We would all loved to have stayed longer. Great way of using these lovely old buildings. Well done Irish Landmark Trust.

Carmel from stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in January 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your very kind words about Irish Landmark Trust. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time at St John's Point in Co. Donegal and had the change to enjoy the amazing local sights and walks. It really is such a spectacular part of the country.

Deborah from Dublin

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Both Clipper and Schooner cottages at St John's Point were a fascinating location for the last couple of days of our week staying in Irish Landmark Trust properties. We were a group of four so 2 of us had a cottage each for our use which worked perfectly.
The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious and the living-rooms with the open fires were warm and welcoming.
Andrew Carnegie's timber presses in the living-rooms was a special find and discovering their history made for interesting reading.
We enjoyed a number of enjoyable walks in the area as well as venturing up Slieve League for an incredible experience of stunning scenery and well-maintained stone steps. Certainly one of the high-lights of our time in Donegal...!!


Mary from Dublin stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in October 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Just wonderful to hear you had such a lovely time at Clipper and Schooner, at St John's Point in Co. Donegal. They are lovely properties set in absolutely stunning location and it is great you had a chance to really enjoy your time there as well as out exploring the amazing Donegal landscape.

A dream....

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a place outside the world but with all the comforts and extraordinary cleaning, I suggest you this fantastic location where you can only hear the sound of the sea and the wind.
The accommodation is very well maintained and I hope you will love it as Gerard and his wife do every day.
I hope to come back in the next years: if I could, I would try in winter.
Many thanks.


Elio from Nichelino (to) stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in August 2018


Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Grazie mille Elio! We're so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in SJ Clipper. St. John's Point is a truly stunning location and so peaceful. Gerard is a wonderful House Manager so we know you were in very good hands. We hope to welcome you back in the winter perhaps.

Glorious and comfortable venue

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thought we might be roughing it a bit here, but it was just superb. If anything, the site we booked through sold it short. We weren't sure we'd have bedding and other basics, but the cottage was wonderfully well stocked, clean and spacious. The couple responsible for getting the keys to us were incredibly helpful, nice and punctual. Wow had a great trip around Ireland but this was one of the real stand outs. The location is stunning. We saw dolphins and whales from the kitchen window when we first arrived, and the headland is wonderfully quiet and secluded. Highly recommended.

Andrew from Charlotte stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in June 2018


A very comfortable stay in a beautiful and peaceful location. A well-equipped cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed two nights in this cottage. It was well-equipped. The sitting room furniture was very comfortable and the bed was very comfortable too. The bathroom is huge. Garden furniture is provided and we were lucky to have had great weather to enjoy sitting outside. The house was spotlessly clean. The property manager was welcoming and helpful. We were very happy with our stay.

Joan from stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in August 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let Irish Landmark know how much you enjoyed your stay at Clipper, St. John's Point in Co. Donegal. It is great to hear you found the property in excellent condition and were treated to the fantastic Donegal charm of our Local House Manager. We do hope that you had the chance to relax and recharge at Clipper and perhaps will revisit again in the future.

Very comfortable accomodation in nice setting, well cared for, will recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice, modern, comfortable accomodation with everything you would need (spare towels, hair dryer, tabs for dishwasher, cutlery and mugs etc)

Uta from Therwil stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in July 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for recommending Clipper to other potential guests. It was wonderful to have you stay with Irish Landmark Trust and we do hope to welcome you back in the future to another property.

Bliss!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wild and wonderful retreat. From start to finish The Landmark Trust were so accommodating of my stay and Gerard was always on hand to help. If R&R is what you need - this is the place.
The location is stunning - able to enjoy a stroll on in the beautiful unspoilt beach, a walk around the headland and an ice cream in Dunikeely by day. After sundown, the solitude in front of the open fire with a glass of wine and a good book made for the perfect break.


Janet from Guildford stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in July 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It sounds like you had a fantastic Irish Landmark experience Janet and that is just what we love to hear. When guests really do just have the chance to truly relax, enjoy the amazing setting of the lightkeeper's houses, and just take a moment to stop and enjoy life it just music to our ears. Gerard is a wonderful House Manager and we feel very lucky to have him on the Irish Landmark team. He looks after the properties and guests so well.

Geil

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Das war Geil. Ideales Platz für 2 Personen oder für die ganze Familie.
Sehr romantisch. Es gibt alles. Vielen Dank für diese Möglichkeit.

Liebe Grüße aus Wien


Alekszej from Vienna stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in July 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
So lovely to hear that you had such a wonderful and romantic stay at Clipper.

Beautiful house in stunning location.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house in stunning location, would recommend to anyone thinking of visiting. The peninsula, sea views and nearby beach is spectacular.

Conn from stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in July 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for recommending Clipper to other guests Conn. It is great to hear you had a lovely stay there.

Excellent location for my fathers surprise birthday.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only suggestion would be that if there was scope to add additional bedrooms within the existing properties that would be great as we had to split our group into other accommodation on St Johns Point.

Cillian from Dublin 6 stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in July 2018


Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the excellent review and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your father's birthday. As these properties are of historical significance we can't add any more bedrooms I'm afraid but it is great to have the option of taking both houses for events such as these or just for larger families. We do hope you can stay with Irish Landmark Trust again soon.

Wonderful!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful property. The views were amazing. Very private and spacious accommodations. Would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for peace and quiet, with a touch of history.

Larie from Port Coquitlam stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in May 2018


Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and your recommendation to others. It's a very special location. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in SJ Clipper and we hope to welcome you to any of our unique properties soon.

Staying in the lighthouse was the best part of our trip to Ireland

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the lighthouse. The apartment was very well kept and extremely comfortable. The views of the Atlantic and the cliffs were extraordinary. Great location and a beautiful home to stay in!


Sacha from New York stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in May 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Such a fabulous compliment thank you so much. Irish Landmark Trust are delighted to hear that your stay in Clipper Lightkeeper's House was the highlight of your trip to Ireland. Just wonderful to hear that. Thank you for letting us know and I will ensure to send on your lovely comments to the Local House Manager who takes such good care of this property.

Loved the location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at the lighthouse. The location was everything. Waking to the light working was wonderful. The road in was like a post card. The local weaver was a joy to visit with.

Jacob from St. Catharines stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in May 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear that you had a lovely time at the Clipper and you enjoyed the setting of this wonderful property. Irish Landmark Trust hopes to welcome you back to another property sometime in the future. Thank you for you support and helping us to save, share and sustain these incredible buildings.

Fantastic !

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a breathtaking place and beautiful lightkeeper's house.
A place to be quiet and realize that you are only a small person on this earth.
A once in your lifetime experience !
Bert en Regine ( Nederland)


Albert from Nijverdal stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in May 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting Irish Landmark know how your stay at Clipper was. Delighted that you had such a lovely Irish Landmark experience. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

270 degrees of North Atlantic

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spectacular views from this lighthouse. A very responsive Gerard greeted us at the lighthouse and gave us a quick tour of the facilities. He even provided some peat logs to enjoy a nice fire in the sitting room. Very well laid out floor plan with lots of space.

Frank from stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in April 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property. As a guest you are helping us in our mission to save, share, and sustain Ireland’s built heritage. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the incredible setting at St. John's Point, the views all around the property are a sight to see. Lovely to hear that you were well looked after during your stay by our wonderful Local House Manager and we do jope t welcome you back again in the future.

great place

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the location is beautiful , the lighthouse cottage was perfect cosy and confortable for four people as we were . better to go in summer as the weather has been very stormy and windy in february . thanks to Irish landmark for the nice holiday .
daniela


Daniela from Cavarzere stayed at SJ Clipper for 3 nights in February 2018


Darren replied more than 1 year ago
You're very welcome! Thank you for the great review. We're delighted to hear you had such a comfortable stay even with the stormy weather. Though where better to be than sturdy lighthouse keepers cottage! We hope you can stay in again in one of our unique and beautiful properties.

Amazing experienceAma

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at clipper. The cottage was adorable and had everything we could have wanted. We had great weather for exploring the coast line and saw awesome sunsets. When we wanted to extend out booking the team at Irish landmark trust were great to deal with.

Dominc from Carlton North stayed at SJ Clipper for 3 nights in January 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting Irish Landmark Trust know how your recent stay at Clipper went. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and had the wonderful Donegal sunsets during your stay. They can be simply breath taking and the location of this cottage really does emphasis the connection with the wild Atlantic even more. We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back to this or another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Stunning views! Lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing two night stay. Stunning views. Cottage was lovely and clean, great kitchen, all the utensils you would need are provided. Nice big bathroom! Comfy beds! Can't fault it and Gerard the manager so helpful and really nice guy too! Many thanks.

Louise from County Mayo stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in September 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you had such a great time at Clipper Louise. Hopefully we get a chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Splendid Isolation!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a unique experience. It's a privilege to stay in an almost 200 year old gem that is still serving to keep people safe. The location is, and the views north and south are, stunning. The sunsets were amazing, as was the night sky. The premises itself is perfectly restored/decorated. Very comfortable but in a simple style that befits the building and the era in which it was built. The kitchen is very well equipped. The caretakers, Gerard and his wife, made coming and going very easy. And they were kind enough to have a supply of briquettes on hand when we arrived. The working fireplace is a really cozy touch; although not strictly necessary because the central heating and insulation were top notch.

Eamonn from New York stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in September 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay at Clipper was. It is wonderful to see that you truly enjoyed your Irish Landmark Experience and that you had such a wonderful time at this fantastic location. It is stunning in all weather conditions but it sounds like you had some great weather so hopefully you got some great sunset photographs.

Incredible.

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot find words to describe how unique and amazing our stay at the SJP Clipper was! It's a piece of history from yesterday and today.
Skip the cramped hotel and stay in this lighthouse!
Conditions were immaculate and beds were insanely comfortable.

... and the drive to the lighthouse - nothing short of spectacular.


Deborah from stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in August 2017


Bookngs Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Clipper. We are so happy to hear that you had such a comfortable and exciting stay. The very long peninsula out to the property is spectacular alright and it really does make you feel away from it all. Just don't forget the milk! Really hope we can welcome you back another time at another Irish Landmark property.

out in the wild

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very authentic atmosphere.
Comfortable and superb location Nice open fire. Plenty of room. long journey from main road to lighthouse so not tempted to backand forwards too much


Andrew from Stoke On Trent stayed at SJ Clipper for 3 nights in August 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Clipper at St. John's Point in Co. Donegal. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of staying at a lightkeeper's house.

Exceptional house rental; to stay at a Lighthouse is a rare privilege. Superb accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It felt like a home at the end of the world..in a good way. Gorgeously atmospheric place - enhanced by the Light which shines out at night to guide seafarers. Irish Landmark Trust have to be congratulated on the restoration done here; we enjoyed the kitchen & beds are really comfortable. There is a glorious bathroom AND a separate shower. We were near Donegal town & also fabulous Slieve League...but LOVED returning "home".

Mary from Co Dublin stayed at SJ Clipper for 3 nights in August 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you recent stay at Clipper, at St. John's Point in Co. Donegal was. It really does feel like you at teh edge of the world alright with the length of the peninsula. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time. It would be fantastic to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you again for supporting Irish Landmark Trust and the work that we do.

A very special place

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very special place; a peaceful and picturesque haven only 15 mins from shops and restaurants. The accommodation was cosy and tastefully restored, spotlessly clean on arrival. Gerard had left fresh milk and tea for us, nice touch after a long journey. Comfy beds and big bathroom with all mod cons plus open fire in the parlour. Kids loved it, and did not miss tv or WiFi - too busy exploring. We will definitely be back. Well done and thank you to all at Landmark Trust.



Rosaleen from Co. Galway stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in July 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

A wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in this unique location. The property was presented in excellent order and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking to truly get away from the stresses of modern life. You have to be aware that this is an isolated location, but I can't recommend it more highly. Thank you to Gerard who acted as our liaison. All modern facilities we're provided and in excellent order.

Michael from Stillorgan stayed at SJ Clipper for 8 nights in July 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Romantic weekend in a Donegal lighthouse

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three weeks ago my husband and I availed of the fabulous prize I won through the Irish Landmark Trust's Advent Calendar competition in December, and stayed two nights in St. John's Point lighthouse, Co Donegal.

To say that we had a fantastic getaway is a massive understatement. It was our first child-free weekend in well over a decade, and to have a lighthouse to ourselves made it all the more special.
A special nod to house manager Gerard Doyle too, who couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
Thank you, thank you, thank you! Thank you for restoring this beautiful place, thank you for the prize, and thank you for all the great work that you do preserving Ireland's built heritage.



Annette from Co Wicklow stayed at SJ Clipper for 2 nights in April 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, come back again soon.

A Fantastic Place by the Sea

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only when you spend a few nights in a lighthouse keepers cottage do you get to realise how peaceful and tranquil these cottages really are. Whether you are looking for a romantic weekend , a self catering family break or somewhere to relax by the sea with walks and wildlife in abundance, you will be hard pushed to beat St. John's Point. At the end of your day settle down in front of a real open fire under the light of St. John's Point lighthouse. Simply fantastic.

Frank from Dublin stayed at SJ Clipper for 1 nights in February 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your comments, it's always great to hear what our guests think, come back again soon :)