FB Twitter

SJ Schooner

SJ Schooner

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 60 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
5.0


Kilometers from anywhere, a stay at St. John’s Point Lighthouse offers the perfect getaway. Discover the pretty, almost pink, sands of Coral Beach. Breathe in the fresh sea air. Take in the fantastic views across Donegal Bay and towards Sligo, Mayo and far beyond.

  • Sleeps 4 people. 1 Double Room and 1 Twin Room.
  • Pets are not permitted.

A very charming cottage in a most beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful time in this charming cottage, the wind howling around the house, the fire lid. We would love to come back anytime. Being close to Kilybegs, some nearby beaches and Glencolumkil not far either, we had some very exciting day trips too.
Thank you! Elisabeth and family


Elisabeth from Glenageary Park stayed at SJ Schooner for 4 nights in December 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 33 days ago
Hi Elisabeth, thank you so much for your lovely review. We're delighted to hear you had such a nice time at SJ Schooner and very glad you enjoyed the locality.

Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property has everything you need for your stay. We found Gerard (our contact) very helpful and the place was spotless when we arrived. The location is fantastic with a great view of Killybegs. This is a great base for exploring the surrounding area.

Felim from Strandhill stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in September 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 138 days ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in SJ Schooner and that you were lucky with the weather to enjoy the best of the views. Thank you for sharing your review and for supporting Irish Landmark.

Exceeded expectations

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our entire experience last weekend in SJ Schooner in Donegal exceeded expectations, I would certainly give it a "5 star" rating. The pre visit information pack on directions, access process, facilities etc. was excellent. Gerard Boyle was most helpful during our brief phone conversations prior to arrival and exuded great Donegal hospitality and charm when collecting the key from us. The superb weather certainly helped of course. We will "do the experience" again in the not too distant future, Loop Head looks promising.

Regards, Ciaran


Ciaran from Ballinabranna, stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in September 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 142 days ago
Thank you so much for this review. We're delighted you had such a positive stay at SJ Schooner and very pleased to receive a full 5 star rating from you! It's great to know that you enjoyed the experience and we look forward to welcoming you at another of our properties soon.

September stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The setting was amazing with wonderful views outside the perimeter of the buildings. The property was very clean and the manager very helpful. Some aspects were disappointing such as damp stains on the walls in the double bedroom, peeling paint in the shower room and a damp smell on arrival. We have stayed in two other lighthouse cottages and did not experience this problem. There was no safety guard on the open fire.

Eleanor from Athlone stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in September 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 152 days ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay, the location and the views. We will look into the comments you have made and we appreciate your continued support of Irish Landmark Trust.

Exceptional weekend break.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Impressive, unique building in a magnificent location. We were also blessed with the weather in what was a truly glorious weekend, witnesing amazing sunsets followed by the illumination of the lighthouse.
Incredible views of an ever changing sea vista.
Spacious, comfortable accomodation.
Highly recommended.


John from Arklow stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in August 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 169 days ago
We're delighted to read your lovely review of your stay at SJ Schooner. It sounds like you really got the best out of the scenery and sounds really wonderful. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Wild Atlantic Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
SJ Schooner has a lovely, peaceful atmosphere in an amazing location. Gerard was so helpful regarding the arrangements beforehand. There are beautiful views and walks within a stone's throw of the house and the decor is typically understated but authentic in the way of all Irish Landmark Trust properties. We would recommend this property for someone who loves looking at changing weather patterns and being close to nature at its most powerful.

Guest from Newbridge stayed at SJ Schooner for 4 nights in August 2020


Irish Landmark Team replied 172 days ago
Your review of SJ Schooner is lovely to read, it sounds like you had a fantastic time and really got to enjoy the scenery and the local area. We're glad that Gerard had you well looked after for your stay. Thank you for supporting the work of Irish Landmark Trust

Great experience

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is fantastic, remote and beautiful. Lots to do around the area. The house has everything you need for a great self catering stay. Gerard was very helpful.

Ken from Dublin stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in July 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 198 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in SJ Schooner lightkeeper's house, and taking in the local area. We hope to welcome you as a guest again. Irish Landmark Team.

Room with a view

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We, four friends, stayed in this cottage and we had such a relaxing break. The drive down and around the peninsula are some of the most beautiful drives I have been on. The cottage was very warm, large rooms, open fire, free standing bath, full kitchen. The view of the lighthouse from the living room is so pretty; it's literally at the end of the front garden! The light come through the cottages, gently. The host event brought us milk when we met with the keys which was very thoughtful. We had both very active days and doing nothing days - it's a great base for cycling, running, and the beach near the cottage is perfect for swimming - calm and crystal clear waters. Slieve League is also nearby with a car and the hiking there is on a path. There is a supermarket in the nearby town/village. We didn't eat out as we just cooked ourselves. The grounds are secure - a locked gate into the drive up, and another gate into the courtyard so quiet and easy place to enjoy the solitude of outside. We just loved it!

Aine from Galway stayed at SJ Schooner for 3 nights in March 2020


Lighthouse haven

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Incredible location and a superb experience. Can’t say enough about it. Highly recommend. Gerard was extremely helpful and made it even more special.

Wesley from Dublin stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in November 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Absolutely delighted to hear you had such an incredible stay at Schooner in Donegal. Thank you so very much for your support of Irish Landmark Trust.

Just perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weekend staying at Schooner and Clipper. We rented the tow houses as a family holiday, and it worked out brilliantly. In typical Donegal style, we had nearly all seasons over the course of the few days, and all agreed it would be absolutely magical to be there during a storm! The houses are tastefully restored, and so comfortable. You can see the Trust went for style particularly in the large bathrooms, rather than trying to squeeze as many beds in as they could. Beautiful, unrivalled location, peaceful, everything you could need is supplied in the houses. Ger the house manager was so nice and helpful, and very accommodating with arrival times etc. We will definitely be returning!

Deirde from Ranelagh stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in July 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and top marks. We are delighted to hear you had such a lovely time and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the future to one of the 33 properties in our care.

Schooner is a wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in St Johns Point for five days in August. The situation is everything that could be hoped for in terms of nature and isolation. The lighthouse complex is a significant piece of Irish Neo-Classical design - its rigorous plan folded out on the undulating landscape; staying there allowed us to appreciate its power- and to understand small design details, axes and orientations which escape the casual eye. The houses are very well-appointed and comfortable and we have nothing but praise for the warmth and efficiency of the ILT local staff who met us when we arrived. It is wonderful that a building like this can be retained and thrive with new uses and occupants. We would go back there in a moment and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anybody.

We would like this review to be anonymous.


Niall from Dublin stayed at SJ Schooner for 5 nights in August 2019


Exceeded our expectations in every way!

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed every minute of our stay at St. John's Point. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. It has all the modern conveniences but still retains a lovely historic feel. We wouldn't change a thing about it. The views on the drive out and of course, from the area around the lighthouse itself were incredible. We will never forget our stay here.

Catherine from Tampa stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in July 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for staying with Irish Landmark Trust and we are just delighted to hear that you had such a lovely stay at Schooner.

Fantastic!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The absolute highlight of our holiday. First rate in every respect. The sound of the sea and the sight of the crashing waves against the rocks will stay with me forever.



Belinda from Brooklyn stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in July 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful news that you had such a great time. Thank you for letting Irish Landmark Trust know that staying at Schooner was a highlight for your trip.

An amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this as the start of a summer driving trip down into the west of Ireland. Driving up to the lighthouse is an experience in itself. The cottages are located right next to the lighthouse but the light is not too bright on the cottage side when the lamp is on. Schooner was a wonderful place to stay with 2 large bedrooms, a very spacious bathroom with tub and a separate shower room, a comfortable living room with fireplace (with a store of fuel to hand - even though it was summer and the house was well heated, we still lit the fire as it was so cozy), a long kitchen (the view is incredible when you are making breakfast, though I should say this is also one of the only parts of the house you can actually see the sea from indoors from) and a laundry room. We travelled with two children (5 & 7) and they both loved it. Their only gripe was there was no TV, which we were actually quite happy with. A short drive away is a gorgeous beach with amazingly clear water. We stayed two nights and explored around this part of Donegal using Schooner as our base. An excellent place to stay.

Damian from Maynooth stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in June 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
We are so very happy that you really enjoyed your stay at Schooner and found the location was excellent to explore this stunningly beautiful part of County Donegal. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Family weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a magical weekend with our young children. They were very excited to be there and didn't want to leave. Special memories.

John from Knocknacarra stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in May 2019


Bookings Officer at Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the self-catering properties in our care.

We spent two wonderful days and nights at this lovely lighthouse. Beautiful views and walks.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most enjoyable stay in Schooner house. Gerard and Mary were very helpful. The house is very comfortable, and the kitchen is well stocked. A name plate on the house would be very useful and the lock on the front door has definitely suffered the full brunt of the sea air. The surrounding area provides plenty to do and see. A wonderful place to visit and stay.

Eileen from Galway City stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in May 2019


Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we (2 couples) stayed for a long weekend of 3 nights. We all loved the place, and were very comfortable. We thought it might have been a little chilly but in fact it is quite cosy. The fireplace is lovely, and it was great to sit and chat into the night by its flames. The bathroom is huge, the electric shower is grand. For anyone who likes baths, there is a great looking one there.

The kitchen is great, nicely equipped and spotless. Dont forget anything, as it is quite a spin to the nearest shops.


Merv from Straffan stayed at SJ Schooner for 3 nights in May 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting us know how your stay at Schooner was. It is lovely to hear you had a lovely time and found the property very comfortable and cozy. The location is very remote, jutting right out into the Atlantic Ocean, so good tip for potential guests not to forget the groceries. Thank you again for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

99

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the apartment very comfortable clean and peaceful. Apartment had all modern requirements needed , yet set in old time and keeping old theme. We found the Staff very and helpful and look after us perfectaly.

Marie from Craughwell stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in April 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the self-catering accommodation properties in our care. We are very glad to hear you had a nice stay.

Review of St Johns Point.

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed my stay. Scenery was beautiful with lovely sunsets. Very warm and comfortable with all essentials
provided. Easy to find.Gerald most helpful.


Eva from Holywood stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in February 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in St. John's Point and we hope you will come stay in an Irish Landmark Trust property again in the future.

SJ Schooner

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fist stay at this property and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The house is at the end of a very long Peninsula about 40 minute drive from Donegal Town. The location is beautiful, really picturesque and the house is brilliantly maintained. The house manager is Gerard and he was so friendly and helpful. He has kept the house in immaculate condition and even left milk and a little fuel to get us started. This is a property we would recommend and will hopefully return to in the future.

Tony from stayed at SJ Schooner for 3 nights in December 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting Irish Landmark know how much you enjoyed your stay at Schooner, St. John's Point in Co. Donegal. It is wonderful to hear you had a nice stay and that you found the property suited all your requirements. Thank you for your continuted support of Irish Landmark Trust and our work to try and share, sustain and save more of Ireland's built heritage.

Lovely weekend stay

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend stay in the sj schooner. Everyone I dealt with was friendly and accommodating. Even though the weather was stormy the cottage was really snug and the views are amazing.

Emily from Swords stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in December 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It was wonderful to welcome you to Schooner at St. John's Point. It is the perfect spot come rain or shine and although I am sorry to hear the weather was not the best for you, it is lovely that you had a snug stay in the very well adapted lightkeepers cottage. We do hope you will come and try another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Our visit to SJ schooner at Christmas time

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my three grown children were looking fir something different. We wanted to go away at Christmas time to a place where it would be calm and peaceful. We were not expecting a lot of comfort and were prepared for it to be basic and possibly cold. Actually the cottage, although very atmospheric, was extremely comfortable and had everything you could possibly need. The walks were beyond belief, the cliffs and sea and the feeling that we were in our own private world was priceless. There were other beautiful walks if you drove to them. All in all it was exactly what we wanted. I would go again, or to another place with Landmark Trust in a heartbeat.

Sarah Jane from Co.Dublin stayed at SJ Schooner for 4 nights in December 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It is always so lovely to hear when guests are so happy with their choice of Irish Landmark Trust property for their breakaway and it really does sound like you have a wonderful Christmas at Schooner in Co. Donegal. It certainly is different and wonderfully isolated for people who just want to get away from it all and enjoy the stunning Irish Landscape.

only two days

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Dec 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had arrived at 4 pm after a 5 hour trip by car from Dublin. The last 6 kilometres were excitend. We had a really warm welcome and we were pleased of this place at once. All rooms were so pretty und we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Just walking to the sea, to the beach, reading by the open fire, having a good Cup of tea in the afternoon and some more guiness in the evening.


Willi from Schwäbisch Gmünd stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in December 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It is wonderful to hear you had such a lovely and warm welcome after such a long car drive. The last bit of the journey down that peninsula really is spectacular and exciting alright - you really do feel like you are heading towards the far reaches of Ireland. Irish Landmark are delighted you enjoyed your time at Schooner, St. John's Point in Co. Donegal and we do hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark property in the future.

We enjoyed our time at SJP

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We certainly return to this idyllic place. The house was very comfortable and fully kitted out. Ideal for a romantic escape.

Paolo from Foxford stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in October 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Schooner, St. John's Point in Co. Donegal. It will be wonderful to welcome you back and please do remember as a return guest you receive a discount. Just remember to contact us here at Irish Landmark Trust directly to book.

Weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous stay in a comfy cosy cottage despite the rain and cold outside. Perfect getaway spot to just chill and unwind. Can’t recommend it enough!

Sandra from Co. Dublin stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in October 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to see you had a fabulous time at Schooner over your weekend stay. Thank you so very much for your great recommendation to other guests. As a guest you are helping us in our mission to save, share, and sustain Ireland’s built heritage. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Halloween escape

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to flee the horrors of the Irish Halloween and go and stay somewhere safe from trick and treaters. SJ Schooner was perfect for this. Clean, warm and comfortable on the inside; secure behind high walls on the outside.

The lighthouse cottages are just behind the lighthouse tower at the end of Saint John's Point. The group of buildings is beautifully symmetrical and functional. Rooms are large and simply but comfortably furnished. The kitchen was well equipped and bed linen and towels were more than adequate. There was a shower as well as a bath. Views were magnificent and it was exciting to be able to watch the ever-changing sea and sky from safety. The coast and the whole of Saint John's Point are fascinating, with many things to see and do and find out about.

The road to the Lighthouse is narrow and winding but coming and going presented no particular difficulties, although would be more challenging in rough weather.


Brian from Kinlough stayed at SJ Schooner for 3 nights in October 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Well you certainly would not get trick or treaters all the way out at the end of St. John's Point peninsula. It is fantastic that you had a chance to relax and enjoy the peace and tranquility that these wonderful properties offer to our guests. Its location right out into the Atlantic does offer visitors such wonderful scenery, rain or shine, and it is great you really enjoyed it. Thank you for staying with Irish Landmark Trust and we do hope to welcome you to another of our properties in the future.

Deborah from Dublin

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Both Clipper and Schooner cottages at St John's Point were a fascinating location for the last couple of days of our week staying in Irish Landmark Trust properties. We were a group of four so 2 of us had a cottage each for our use which worked perfectly.
The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious and the living-rooms with the open fires were warm and welcoming.
Andrew Carnegie's timber presses in the living-rooms was a special find and discovering their history made for interesting reading.
We enjoyed a number of enjoyable walks in the area as well as venturing up Slieve League for an incredible experience of stunning scenery and well-maintained stone steps. Certainly one of the high-lights of our time in Donegal...!!


Mary from Dublin stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in October 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Just wonderful to hear you had such a lovely time at Clipper and Schooner, at St John's Point in Co. Donegal. They are lovely properties set in absolutely stunning location and it is great you had a chance to really enjoy your time there as well as out exploring the amazing Donegal landscape.

Warm welcoming and perfectly located

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super host. Lovely space and fantastic location. A great retreat. Highly recommended!

Attention to period features but very modern conveniences


Maeve from Kilchberg stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in September 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for staying with Irish Landmark Trust. It is wonderful to hear that you had a nice stay at Schooner.

Fabulous.....

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely fabulous few days at St. John's Lighthouse.

There were two Americans-one of whom had staying at a lighthouse on their 'bucket list'-the other two persons were from Monaghan. We thoroughly enjoyed our evenings-the fire, full kitchen and comfortable furnishings allowed us to have some times of real connection in the evenings, and the glorious landscape made for fabulous hikes. The entire accommodations were tastefully appointed, remaining true to the lighthouse theme, plus every room was spotless and squeaky clean.

We have 'sung your praises' to everyone we've met since we stayed there last week.

Thank you,
Flo Nerby


Flo from Sacramento stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in September 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your lovely and heart felt review. It sounds like you really did have a true Irish Landmark experiance and we are just delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time. In today's busy and fast moving world, it really is so important to just stop sometimes, and enjoy the company of good friends and relax. Thank you so very much for recommending a stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property.

Panoramic views and strong back in time - in comfort!

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed two wonderful nights in St. John's Point at the end of August. The 360° views from the cliffs are stunning and we loved watching the sun setting on the horizon. The accommodation itself is beautiful and very comfortable, all of the furnishings are of great quality and it is decorated with lovely taste. We had no phone signal in the accommodation, which was actually a great thing, we really felt on holiday! The nearby beach was a great spot for some (very) refreshing swimming.

Clare from Blackrock stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in August 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust. It was lovely to welcome you and we are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time at St. John's Point, even in the chilly Atlantic for your refreshing swim. We do hope to welcome you back.

Perfect stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir haben nur einige Tage in diesem wunderschönen Haus verbracht. Es war perfekt. Der Kontakt war einfach und nett,
Das Haus ist wunderbar gelegen am Ende der Halbinsel und sehr schön eingerichtet und renoviert. Wir konnten wirklich gut abschalten und die Gegend genießen.
Da die Anlage ansonsten unbewohnt ist, kann es sein, dass man dort wirklich allein ist. Der Kontakt zu dem Verwalter klappt problemlos.
Das Haus ist sehr schön eingerichtet und die Betten unglaublich bequem. Wir hätten gerne mehr Zeit dort verbracht. Das Haus ist mit allem eingerichtet, was man braucht und es funktioniert auch perfekt. Besonders gefreut hatte uns, dass auch ein Fernglas vorhanden war, so konnten wir die Vögel noch besser beobachten. Vielen Dank!


Dagmar from Diepholz stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in August 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmar Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Danke. It is great you had such a lovely stay and really enjoyed the location and scenery on offer at Schooner, St. John's Point in Co. Donegal. It was so lovely to welcome international guests and we do hope you will perhaps return to the Emerald Isle again in the future.

Cosy retreat - despite the poor weather

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's a wonderful location and a bit of sunshine when we arrived allowed us to explore the gorgeous coastline. After that the (August) weather and visibility were terrible so we spent a lot of time indoors. Bring plenty of books and prepare to hunker down if necessary.

The accommodation was lovely - we appreciated the space, lovely bathroom, open fire and well-appointed kitchen. The keeper was also super helpful and available to answer any queries.


Valerie from London stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in August 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in SJ Schooner despite the typical Irish summer weather! Then again, where better to be in miserable weather than within the strong walls of a Lighthouse keepers cottage. I'm sure you were very cosy. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust and we do hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.

Wonderful location

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed the wonderful location and tranquility of St John’s Lighthouse. It’s also a good base for visiting the Donegal area.

John from Dublin 1 stayed at SJ Schooner for 6 nights in August 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It is so lovely to hear you had a nice stay and enjoyed the peace and quiet that Schooner offers guests. Wonderful that you were able to explore the stunning county of Donegal too. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

By Gone Days Heavan

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in the SJ Schooner for 2 nights in mid August 18 and we loved every minute of it. It is a terrific experience no matter what the weather, in fact we were hoping for wind and rain to experience the lighthouse in its glory and we got some of both. It is a great way to switch off and totally different to any other accommodation we have ever rented. Loved the space, the lay out, the beds, the bathrooms, kitchen and best of all, the open fire for the full effect.


Alan from London stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in August 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great Irish Landmark experience at Schooner. The location of the St. John's Lighthouse in Donegal is isolated but just perfect for anyone who really wants to escape a busy life for a couple of days.

Lighthouse stay with family of 4

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, the property was beautifully restored - very comfortable and cosy. A great escape from busy life and stunning setting. A walk up slieve league was a highlight

Julie from Dublin stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in July 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
So wonderful to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Schooner, St. John's Point in Co. Donegal. We do hope perhaps to welcome you all back to another Irish Landmark Trust property sometime in the future for another Landmark experience.

Excellent on all counts

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place exceeded our expectations on all counts. It was so clean that it might have been just constructed and let out. The location was remote and fascinating, just what we wanted and needed. It is VERY thoughtfully put together -- from the kitchen to the books to the linen -- really everything. I was so happy there as no TV and instead there was a tiny radio, which we listened to every morning. The book collection was fascinating as were the little bits of information lying here and there. The space, all rooms and bathrooms, everything was very aesthetically chosen and placed. I wish we had stayed there for a week. I will remember it forever. Last but not least, Gerard was very generous and helpful, and a great host. Thank you, Gerard!

Padma from Dublin stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in July 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your lovely review of Schooner and your recent stay there. It is just wonderful to hear you had such a marvelous time there and that it exceeded all your expectations. It always just so lovely when guests really do embrace the Landmark experience of no TV and enjoy their time without electronic distractions.

Wonderful stay in a charming accomodation

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of four, which includes two boys ages 7 & 9, stayed at this property in mid-July. We had traveled from the US. We absolutely loved the accomodation and the surrounding area! We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the coastal area, although with young ones you must keep a close eye on them, and and watching our kids play in the courtyard. At first I was skeptical about the drive on and off the peninsula, but this proved to be a non-issue and we made several fun day trips to surrounding areas including: Killybegs (for a sea fishing charter experience!), Donnegal, & Slieve League Cliffs.

Guest from Decatur stayed at SJ Schooner for 3 nights in July 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property. We are delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time at Schooner in Donegal, one of Ireland's most beautiful and unspoiled counties. The location of the lightkeeper's cottage at the end of the long peninsula known as St. John's Point, really is one for pure isolation and gives guests the chance to truly relax and enjoy the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

Great stay in a unique place

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic time on St Johns Point, even though the weather was poor and foggy it made no difference. Great place to walk and swim. The house is really comfortable and well equipped. The pub nearby serves great food. We happily passed two days and the time flew by. Gerard is very helpful and met us on arrival.


Guest from Drumahoe stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in July 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Sorry to hear that the fine weather we have recently been having in Ireland didn't stay in Co. Donegal for the duration of your stay but it is great that it didn't put too much of a dampener on your Irish Landmark experience. I do hope that you had a good time and a chance to explore the beautiful coastline and landscapes of the unspoiled North East corner of our isle.

Excellent location for my fathers surprise birthday.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only suggestion would be that if there was scope to add additional bedrooms within the existing properties that would be great as we had to split our group into other accommodation on St Johns Point.

Cillian from Dublin 6 stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in July 2018


Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the excellent review and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your father's birthday. As these properties are of historical significance we can't add any more bedrooms I'm afraid but it is great to have the option of taking both houses for events such as these or just for larger families. We do hope you can stay with Irish Landmark Trust again soon.

We had such a wonderful time here!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was such a lovely way to spend part of our vacation - I only wish I'd discovered Schooner sooner and that we'd planned to stay longer! The accommodations were unique and well-cared-for and perfect. When we go to Ireland again, we'll look at all the Irish Landmark Trust properties and consider them for accommodations.

Alison from High Falls stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in June 2018


St John’s lighthouse in fine weather

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nothing could be finer . A holiday weekend brought unexpected crowds to enjoy superb diving. This is our second lighthouse visit , I hope there will be more

Sam from San Francisco stayed at SJ Schooner for 3 nights in June 2018


Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in SJ Schooner. We have 11 lighthouse properties to chose from so we hope to welcome you back soon for another adventure! The great thing is that every time you enjoy a holiday with us you are also helping us save, share and sustain more special and unique properties. Thank you for the review!

An amazing weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at SJ Schooner. Gerard and Mary were so lovely and warm, the house was absolutely spotless and the bed was so comfy and the huge bath was so luxurious. We used it as a base to travel all over Donegal. I would definitely go back and I would recommend it

Aisling from stayed at SJ Schooner for 3 nights in May 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Aisling for getting in touch and letting us know about your stay at Schooner. We do hope to welcome you back another time in the future.

Remote, rugged and just right for a peaceful escape

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
SJ Schooner is a wonderful place to stay. Although it's a long way to go if you need a pint of milk, it's remote location makes it extra special. Exploring the area around the lighthouse, walking along to the beautiful beach and enjoying the breathtaking views made our visit very enjoyable and relaxing. The cottage has been thoughtfully restored and well furnished; finding it had a dishwasher and washing machine was a bonus, along with fuel for the cosy fire (thank you!) We stayed two nights, but wished we'd been there for longer.

Louise from Wallingford stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in April 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you had such a lovely time Louise at Schooner. The property is in a very isolated location, 20 minutes drive to the nearest town. It does not make for a bad drive along a long beautiful peninsula with the Atlantic on either side of you if you have forgotten the milk and bread, but we agree, it is best not to forget it alright! We do hope that you will come back again to Schooner, or even one of Irish Landmark Trust's 32 properties located all around the country of Ireland. Thank you for supporting our work.

Absolutely perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Must be stayed in to be believed - from the picturesque drive in on the peninsula through fields, along beaches and out to St. John’s Point - to the friendly greeting from Gerard and family - to the lovely evening walks looking out over the ocean - to the charming and spacious cottage complete with roaring fire - this was the trip of a lifetime. Its a great location to set off exploring Donegal, Slieve League, the Glengesh Pass - or to just park the car and watch the boats go sailing by off the point. Our two young boys loved playing games by the fireside and taking walks nearby to look at the birds, cows and occasional rabbit. Can’t say enough and can’t wait to return!

Timothy from Athens stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in March 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Just wonderful to receive your review of a stay at Schooner in co. Donegal. Thank you so much for letting us know you had such a lovely stay. It is just great to always hear how much kids staying do enjoy the time they get to play games, read books, explore the countryside and really just have fun (without the modern distractions of television and video games!). The setting of St. john's Point really does give you the opportunity to get away from it all and we are delighted to hear that you are looking forward to returning. It would be so lovely to welcome you back. Thank you again for your support of Irish Landmark Trust's important work to help save Ireland's built heritage.

Didn't want to leave!

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a GREAT weekend at St John's... it's a total escape in beautiful surroundings. Didn't want to leave and will definitely be returning!

Suzanne from Carrick On Suir stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in October 2017


Darren replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review! thank you. We're glad you had such a wonderful time that you'll be back. You're more than welcome to return or stay in any of our other beautiful properties in the future.

Bucket List highlight

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Schooner was a beautiful, remote, cosy location that my travelling companions and I found the highlight of our trip to Ireland. There were majestic sunsets on an awe inspiring peninsula, a comfortable fire sheltered from a howling storm at night, and incredible walks with the sea battering the coast along both sides of tjhis rocky finger jutting into the Atlantic.

William from Toronto stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in October 2017


Darren replied more than 1 year ago
We're glad we could help in ticking something off your bucket list! It is such a beautiful and remote location, it's great that you appreciate it as much as we do. Thank you for such a wonderful review. Hopefully it was so inspiring you'll be back some day soon.

Time out and peace for the spirit

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a last minute booking for us. We were delighted to get a late booking reduction so grabbed the opportunity with both hands. What a beautiful, warm, cosy cottage and spotlessly clean and comfortable. Very basic kitchen groceries supplied, milk, coffee, tea, cooking oil, salt, pepper and sugar. We brought all our own food for the three nights as it is quite some distance to travel to eat out. The peace and quiet and the lovely views was enough for us to stay put. There is no television in the house and only limited mobile data and mobile phone coverage. This suited us fine but if you need constant connection to the outside world you may be somewhat disappointed! But if you're looking for a COMPLETE break from all the hassles of modern living then I have no hesitation in recommending the SJ Schooner to revive your spirit.

Triona from stayed at SJ Schooner for 3 nights in September 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you were able to avail of a late availability discount for the beautifully remote Schooner at St. John's Point in Co. Donegal. The location is isolated but adds greatly to the drama of staying at a Lightkeeper's House. Thank you for letting Irish Landmark know how you enjoyed your stay.

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had nice time&weather, beautiful location, sure worth the money. Not more to say but I NEED to put 36 more characters for this review... ;-)

Roberto from Merano Bz stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in August 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the 36+ characters :) :) Delighted you had a nice time at Schooner. Hopefully we get a chance to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark property in the future.

wonderful place to finish wild itlantic way road trip

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
was really nice place, cosy and well organised. we spent excellent time.
a pity that tourists come there leaving rubbish - need to be more strict in this respect.

could be good to have 2, 3 outsideseats to stay , even shortly, outside with a book.


Pierre from Rixensart stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in August 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at Schooner in Donegal. Glad to hear you had a nice time. If you have a moment could you please email me directly at [email protected] as I would like to ask you a couple of questions in relations to your suggestions that may be of benefit.

August 2017 at St Johns Point

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
August weather was very kind to us, with beautiful blue skies highlighting the strong geometries of Lighthouse and cottages. Magical and refreshing.

Paul from Killiney stayed at SJ Schooner for 4 nights in August 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Almost perfect Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like wind and ocean, this location is wonderful, just the beds are very soft. Everything else was in good condition. On arrival, milk, coffee and wood for the fire was provided

Jeroen from Wicklow Town stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in July 2017


Wild Atlantic Way

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location with great views. Host was very friendly we.had a lovely time. Highly recommend .

John from Enfield stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in July 2017


A wee bit of heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a stunning location! Benbulben and Donegal bay on one side, Sliabh Lieuge and the ocean on the other. Lights lit up the shoreline at night! Moon, stars and waves! Open fire in the sitting room made with turf left by the one and only Gerald. Spotless white sheets, duvets and comfy beds with the light from the lighthouse glowing through the windows. Why did we have to leave??

Mary from Inishowen stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in July 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another property.

Fantastic experience

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
That cottage was absolutely charming. It had everything we needed and the views are spectacular. It was well worth the drive and next time we'll stay longer.

Janet from Herscher stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in June 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you nice feedback, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the future.

A memorable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property was well- equipped and functioned properly. Location is unique. Price a little high- we have spent a week in other excellent accommodation for less than we paid for 3 days. Nevertheless we recognise the high standard set by Landmark Trust and we will be using them much more in the future.

Barry from Cambridge stayed at SJ Schooner for 3 nights in June 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

The perfect chill out location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most enjoyable stay at St Johns Point totally relaxing and the perfect spot to recharge the batteries. Peace and quiet and the views to die for makes a place to return too.

Charlie from Coleraine stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in June 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we love to hear what our guests think , come back again soon.

Dream Weekend Away Location

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a truly wonderful place for a weekend away. Its a stunning location at the end of the peninsula, great views and incredibly peaceful (despite the crashing waves on the rocks!). The cottage(s) has only recently become available for rent and is very well equipped with everything is in pristine condition and spotlessly clean.

There are plenty to do in the area - walking along the coast and nearby beaches (great diving area)- the setting is so relaxing we were reluctant to leave and will definitely be back.

Highly recommend and great value



Fidelma from Dublin stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in April 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the near future.

Detox heaven in Donegal!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at SJ Schooner. The cottage is beautifully decorated and the location provides great opportunities for walking, bird watching etc. There are plenty of good restaurants within driving distance. This is a detox heaven with no wifi or television. Bring lots of books, board games and a pack of cards!

Padraic from Galway stayed at SJ Schooner for 3 nights in April 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to make this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the future.

Stunning property and location

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beauty property finished to a very high standard, it was wonderful having no T.V or internet (any very little phone reception!). The views are breathtaking and our one year old really enjoyed the small beach at the end of the lane. Ger, Mary and their children were fabulous and helpful, we cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Laura from stayed at SJ Schooner for 3 nights in April 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, come back again soon.

A perfect place to get away

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want somewhere away from it all, far from the hustle and bustle of normal weekend travel breaks, then a stay in a lighthouse keepers cottage is just the perfect place. And what better place than St. John's point. Only metres away from the ocean and with views to impress, I can't recommend it enough.

Frank from Dublin stayed at SJ Schooner for 2 nights in February 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love for you to return in the near future.