FB Twitter

Gamekeepers Cottage

Gamekeepers Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Gamekeepers Cottage is a luxurious 5 Star Gold holiday cottage, that sleeps 6 guests.
The double and twin rooms with their own ensuites are based on the ground floor.
The kingsize suite is on the first floor with a separate full sized family bathroom.

An escape to the country

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in lovely surroundings. Very well equipped and maintained. Louise helpful and close by for any queries or problems. Wonderful outlook across fields to distant hills. Welcoming goats, geese and sheep.
Only downside, parking was sometimes very difficult. Also kitchen area lacked storage for dry food - cereals, pasta, cakes etc., which meant minimal space for preparing and serving food.
Centrally situated for many attractions and walking trails.
Very low flying aircraft provided excitement!




Great stay at Gamekeepers Cottage. Highly recommended.

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Gamekeepers Cottage could hardly have been more enjoyable. The location is wonderful - a really tranquil spot. The cottage is furnished to an exceptionally high standard in every respect. Everything we needed was provided and nothing was too much trouble. It really is a five stay place to stay - and we have already booked to come back.



A perfect place for a staycation in a beautiful part of the country

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for our needs and we felt extremely confident in the safety measures which had been taken in preparing it for our stay. The lovely welcome pack of a few basic groceries and a bottle of wine were a very thoughtful and welcome surprise! If there was anything we needed, or advice about the area, Louise was there to help as the cottages are set behind her own property. We could even order milk and newspapers. We loved having the sheep, geese, goats and chickens on site too!
If you’re not familiar with the area, prepare to be blown away by its beauty! There were so many lovely places to visit and of course lots of opportunity for walks suited to all abilities. I would return in a heartbeat ..........




An enjoyable week

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable with helpful owner on site.
Location is excellent and secluded but close to magnificent scenery




Louise replied 157 days ago
Phil and friends, many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We are delighted you had such a good week here.

A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
A lovely comfortable cottage. Well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stay in The Dales.
The only downsides were that the bathroom radiators were unable to be turned off, and were on 24/7, this caused the rooms to be very hot. As both downstairs bathrooms are below the master bedroom, the heat that radiated upwards was unbearable during the night.
The other issue was parking. We should have had friends staying with us but they had to cancel, had they have come, there wasn't enough space to park additional cars and no on road parking available.




Louise replied 166 days ago
Dear Lynda, Thank you for your review. Having just redecorated the lounge and kitchen ( in March ) and replaced all carpets throughout and some furniture, I am disappointed we only scored a 3 in your view. I do wish you had mentioned the "hot" radiators during your stay, I would have been happy to turn them down or tweak the timing of the boiler rather than having it set on continuous, had I have known. Had there have been an additional car we would have made it work, we have had 10 cars parked in the courtyard before now. I will email you directly to find out how we can improve on our customer service.

Late summer break

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit. Excellent cottage and everything you could need. Clear instructions from the owner before arriving on what to expect but you wouldn't know any different ie post Covid -19 , as the changes were done so well.

This is an excellent base for exploring particularly the Forest of Bowland , an area of outstanding beauty … without the crowds. Would highly recommend




Louise replied 157 days ago
Many thanks for your lovely review Maria. We hope to see you all again very soon.

Fabulous

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve just had a great stay at Gamekeepers Cottage. The cottage was everything we hoped it would be and Louise made sure we had everything we needed, with some lovely welcoming touches. The location is amazing with fantastic places to visit and great pubs and restaurants close by. We’d definitely make a return visit. Thanks very much Louise and team.



Louise replied 198 days ago
Many thanks for the super review. We are pleased you chose us to celebrate those special birthdays!

Fantastic country retreat!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of five plus dog had a fantastic week-long stay at the gamekeepers cottage! The cottage is well appointed with everything that you need for your stay; Louise and her staff are lovely and have gone above and beyond to ensure a high-level of cleanliness and to ensure Covid-19 appropriate measures are in place. The cottage is very tranquil and the views are breathtaking! The cottage is perfectly situated to explore the Dales, with so many great walks, villages and areas to explore. We will definitely recommend to friends and family and are looking forward to our next visit!



Louise replied 198 days ago
Many thanks for your super review, we hope to see you again one day.

Faultless

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Gamekeepers. Like our first stay, the cottage provided everything we could ever need and much more. Comfortable, beautifully furnished, amazing views .....great walking and bike rides all on your doorstep. The cottage was spotlessly clean and we were reassured of the extra cleaning measures during the current pandemic. Excellent week away - we would highly recommend



Louise replied 198 days ago
Many thanks for your fab review ,we look forward to welcoming you back..again !

Perfect country retreat post-lockdown.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were the first to stay in the cottage after the lockdown restrictions lifted and I think both we and the owners were apprehensive as to how things would work. We needn't have worried, as Louise had obviously spent a lot of time on training for the new hygiene procedures and had sent us some advice beforehand on what would be a bit different. Everything was spotless (a lot of items were new) and disinfected and we just had to think about whether we needed to take items out of plastic coverings to make it obvious we had used them, or leave them untouched. All in all it didn't make us feel uncomfortable and we were able to relax and enjoy our week and forget about what was going on in the rest of the world.

The welcome pack was actually really useful fresh items, that meant that if you arrived late you had enough to keep you going until getting to the shops the next day.

The cottages are in a very quiet location surrounded by fields (and a lot of sheep)! The village pub had been open the week before but was now closed again, however the garden centre cafe was great for food including Sunday roasts. Settle was back to being a buzzing town and the pubs were handling social distancing very professionally. Our dog loved Gisburn Forest which is just a few miles away.

The kitchen had everything you could need and we even managed a couple of meals outside on the gas BBQ. Louise was very happy to help with any additional items we needed, like a parasol.

A perfect place to have a relaxing getaway.




Louise replied 198 days ago
Many thanks for your super review...we love 5 stars ! Hope to welcome you here again!

Christmas in the Dales

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a fantastic Christmas at Gamekeepers Cottage lots of extra thoughtful touches. Beautifully presented cottage with fantastic large bedrooms and beautiful en-suites with each bedroom. Thoroughly deserving of its 5 star rating.



Super cottage, super hosts

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay here and hopefully not our last. We love it! Everything one could possibly need is provided - highly recommended.



one of our top-three

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the cottage contains everything you could possibly need and more. right on the edge of trough of Bowland and although we didn't have the weather we rode across it south to north, what spectacular scenery
the only slight niggle for me personally was the continuous humming noise you could hear in the twin room so I moved into the double,didn't bother my wife.otherwise 100%
Terry storr




Lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in Gamekeepers Cottage, 6 adults, 1 baby and 1 Golden Retriever. Everyone was very comfortable and the cottage suited all our needs, the pretty, enclosed garden was great for the dog and the bbq, despite some unseasonal weather at times. The area is so beautiful and we did some excellent walks in the surrounding area. Pubs provided good pub food and were all dog friendly. Louise was very helpful prior to the visit with information and supplies for the baby, the Tesco delivery came on time. Many thanks Louise, you have lovely cottages and we would definitely recommend.



Lovely place!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite fairly poor weather for June, we had a brilliant time in the Gamekeepers cottage - thanks Louise for all your help and for providing such a comfortable and well appointed cottage for us to explore the Yorkshire Dales from. Sheep grazing in the field opposite, chickens roaming free in the adjacent garden and stunning views from all bedrooms meant you really felt at peace. Our little baby daughter loved being there too, and Settle was a great town nearby with all amenities and good shops too. Not too far from the lake district and Harrogate, we hope to return one day to this beautiful property!



Our stay in May

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time. It’s our second visit and a perfect place for different generations to meet up ( in this case, grandmother, daughter and granddaughter). Having ensuite bathrooms worked particularly well. Amazing views. Loved the eggs. Louise is happy to help but unobtrusive.



Easter 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Blessed with wonderful weather this was a really nice stay. The cottage is excellent , all home comforts and lacking nothing. We came at Christmas to the other cottage and booked Gamekeepers only because it was the only one available at Easter. Both cottages are excellent but we made the most of the bigger cottage and had family members come up and stay over for the odd night.
We used alot of the guides in the cottage to walk into the Ribble Valley and Trough of Bowland. Excellent walking , pretty villages and excellent eating places .... as good as the Dales without the crowds. We left some keys in error and received excellent service from Louise in posting them back. We will definitely be back .... not sure which cottage!




Perfection

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay very much, beautiful cottage with beautiful surroundings. Facilities were great and the attention to detail was second to none. Gamekeepers has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and we would most definitely stay again !



Our second stay

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I need 24 hour Oxygen so am not the easiest visitor. “A lovely place to stay” does not cover it. It is all the things you would expect from a Premier Cottage, clean, comfortable, in lovely condition and in the quietest part of England. The Wiggy house team are the best. Thank you Louise we will return. Lots of love Ken and the birthday girl Carol.



Delighted with our Holiday Venue

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of four adults and a near-adult teen had a memorable Christmas at Gamekeepers Cottage. All the pots, pans and utensils we needed to cook a full festive lunch were available in the kitchen. The wood-burning stove wasn't really needed since the central heating system kept the whole house warm but it added a homely touch and the ample supply of logs was much appreciated.

The beds were supremely comfortable and the three en-suite bathrooms gave everyone all the privacy they needed.

The location is rural without being too remote; we found Booths store in Settle had everything we needed and more.

Quite easy to score - 10 out of 10 every time!




A super cottage in a country location.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a restful stay in the warm and comfortable cottage. A lovely welcome by Louise who showed us in. Everything we needed was provided, including bowls & towels for our dog, plus a holiday id tag. Good quality equipment in the kitchen and throughout the cottage. I found the slow cooker very useful. Plenty of variety in the places to visit, and after a days sightseeing it felt like coming home. A view of Pendle Hill from the windows. Lots of local information leaflets, maps & magazines to read. We'd love to stay again. Thank you Louise and your team for a good holiday.



Superb accomodation

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
How cosy this place is it is so warm and inviting..
We were over the moon with this cottage it was a pleasure to spend a week in it.
Louise and Steve the owners live on - site they cannot do more to help you enjoy your stay it is such a lovely place in a nice position for enjoying North Yorkshire..




Fabulous in every respect

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week long stay in the cottage. The location is superb, the views spectacular, and the cottage is clean, comfortable and very much a home from home (lovely welcome hamper and flowers too). The owner is warm and friendly, and her/their love of the two cottages, their home and local area is very evident. I left a message in the visitors' book to say that you fall in love with the cottage at first sight, but fall even more in love with it the longer you spend there - and it's so true. If you want to get away from it, but still be near enough to local towns (for supplies) and central to all areas of the Yorkshire Dales and surrounding area, you're unlikely to find anywhere better.





A lovely cottage, especially useful for people with limited mobility.

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful cottage in a beautiful setting where all the facilities were excellent. One addition which would make it perfect would be an upholstered upright chair with arms for those of us who cannot enjoy those lovely squashy sofas.



Very nice stay at Gameskeepers cottage (Wigglesworth house and cottages) with our family and dog.

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wigglesworth cottages have a high standard, well equipped and are located very well. With the sheep, chickens, goose and goats in the backyard and the beautiful views over the dales you really have that outdoor feeling. Louise and team make you feel very welcome.



Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gamekeepers Cottage is a very comfortable cottage, great for 3 couples. The outdoor space and comfortable garden furniture were great for eating and relaxing in the sun. The kitchen is compact and the living room is lovely and warm with the woodburner lit. All bedrooms have en suite. It was lovely to arrive to some welcome provisions, including wine (Thank you) and all the added extras of the dark sky pack and the dog friendly accessories and information. We were able to order newspaper delivery and the walks from the door and proximity to Gisburn Forest and Ingleton helped to make our weekend both active and relaxing. We would thoroughly recommend this cottage for a great getaway.



Easter break with friends

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Wiggles worth was perfect, the cottage met all our requirements and the location was stunning. Louise was on hand for our queries and we were made most welcome, the Welcome pack of essentials was excellent and we all managed a relaxed and enjoyable break in an amazing part of the country. We managed a number of walks, experiencing a variety of weather conditions and found the local towns very interesting. I would thoroughly recommend Wiggles worth to friends for a future stay and hope that we can return one day.



very enjoyable girls weekend away on Gamekeepers Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thought the cottage was delightful and would stay there again if visiting the area. Louise had provided heaps of information on local walks and the cottage pretty much had everything we needed (although we never did find the salt & pepper!).

Lovely wood burner, the kitchen very well appointed (although the hob takes some getting used to as it's halogen). Plenty of pots, pans, crockery and cutlery.

Beds were all super comfy and plenty of hot water. In the summer it would be lovely to sit out at night and watch the stars.

Would heartily recommend.




Simply first-class - you need look no further!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having spent Christmas week at Gamekeepers, all 6 of us could not recommend the cottage highly enough:
- top quality fit out, super-clean and with beautiful touches incl very welcome & tasteful Xmas decorations, and
- they've thought of everything you'll need, guides and gear including enough to prepare/host mega-Christmas lunch/day for 8 plus the dog, and
- peaceful and quiet and rural, yet without being remote, and
- Louise (and Steve) on hand with produce and tips (and show shovels), so welcoming yet never intrusive.




Fantastic break in the dales

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gamekeepers cottage was delightful, with everything you could require for a comfortable stay. The welcome pack was indeed very welcome- the organic bread a particularly nice touch.
It was ideally located between Settle and Skipton,the views from the cottage garden great all in all a lovely break, even the dog was well catered for and being a greedy Labrador thoroughly enjoyed the treats!




Perfect accomodation

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is excellent. Extremely comfortable, a wonderful setting, and friendly and thoughtful hosts.



Rural Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a few days tucked away in the lovely Gamekeepers Cottage - two couples and our mum. What the weather couldn't provide, the cottage certainly did: superbly comfortable beds, en suite bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, a welcome pack that didn't disappoint, and some glorious views across fields, complete with chickens and lambs for our entertainment.

Louise and Steve were perfect hosts, and we were welcomed warmly. This was our first visit, but it will not be our last. Such peace and quiet, and most certainly a home away from home. A superb location and an idyllic rural retreat.




Third visit to Gamekeepers

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Third visit to Gamekeepers. Ideally suited for elderly visitors with two ground floor bedrooms. Wonderful location for visiting Yorkshire and Lancashire - Gods own counties! The owners are on site if needed, friendly and helpful but definitely not obtrusive. All in all everything you could wish for in a holiday - except, of course, the UK weather. Even then, a tv in every room, a good selection of books, games and DVDs. And of course wifi. Love Gamekeepers. You won't be disappointed!



Beautiful place, lovely friendly host.

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay, a family of 9, so had both cottages. Cosy, comfy relaxing. Premises perfect in every aspect.



Couldn't Fault

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage and the area. The welcome we received really did make us feel welcome and the service, with regard to ordering newspapers for us and providing 'emergency' coffee pods, was further testament to the considered and thoughtful approach with which the well equipped cottage was furnished and maintained. The views across the fields were a joy to wake up to and being able (with help) to collect eggs in the morning was possibly the highlight of our grandson's weekend.