FB Twitter

Sandholm Holiday Cottage

Sandholm Holiday Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 73 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Sandholm Cottage, Newcastleton

J and D review

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable and everything you wanted was there, welcome pack was a nice touch . Location and views where lovely. Plenty of local walks and short drives to places of interest.



Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, and very comfortable cottage. Would love to be here in summer, and be able to take advantage of the lovely patio area.
It's good value, with everything very well organised. Nice walks in the forest near the cottage. There are enough amenities in the nearby Newcastleton to make a short break a good option for relaxation.
We're very glad we chose Sandholm cottage.




Great coytage

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a 6 nights stay at Sandholm. Perfect cottage. Very clean comfortable. Everything for all our needs. Would highly recommend. Would definitely go back



Time away

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole stay was excellent.The location is quiet except for a few cars early morning and tea time which we could hardly notice.As the weather was not so good and the Covid rules we spent more time in cottage than we normally would .We did find the sofas a bit uncomfortable without cushions and did resort to using some pillows but that was ok. Loved the decked area outside and managed one lovely sunny afternoon out on it.Would love to be there when weather is suitable to use the BBQ.The cottage was warm but we had some difficulty first thing in morning to get it going.A lovely lady called Heather who looks after the cottage came to our rescue and was most helpful.Can thoroughly recommend a stay here.



Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place to stay, this cottage had everything it was perfect, nice outside room to wash dirty cycle stuff a washing machine tumble dryer... the house itself had everything you could want definitely a home from home...very clean... just one small niggle the bed was a bit small and there is room to put a king size but was very comfortable loved staying here and would definitely stay again..



A beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the cottage for 2 nights. There was my husband and I and our 2 children, 7 and 5. We arrived to be met by Heather who was very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. There was hand gel dispenders in the corridor as we entered and in kitchen and everything was spotlessly clean. There was milk, butter, cheese, bread, jam and a bottle of water provided which was a welcomed touch. The wood burner was laid out and was lovely and cozy on our first night. The bedrooms were fab, with a tv in the twin room which was great for the kids. The outside space was a big plus, with a large grassed area for the kids to play and a lovely decked seating area off the kitchen. The cottage is about a mile from Newcastleton and was very peaceful. It was exactly what we needed. We look forward to staying again soon.



Weather not brilliant but accommodation perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had yet another lovely week's holiday at Sandholm. We enjoyed the long summer evenings with the log fire blazing as August did not provide much warmth. Plenty of walking done in areas we hadn't explored before. Always a pleasure to return to the cottage at the end of each day.
Very comfortable and well provisioned. Everything you need is provided.
(Gave "good" for condition as only one of the three lights work in the shower room which made removing contact lenses a tad difficult in the evening.)




What a lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely cottage this is and we really enjoyed stopping here for a weeks holiday When we arrived we found everything was very clean and tidy and a welcome pack of food ( milk bread cheese tea coffee etc ) Location was great for us as we did the MTB trails in Newcastleton and Kielder ( 25 minutes away) and we were able to store bikes safely in the rear utility building My two sons have already asked me if we can go back later this year



Peaceful

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely peaceful week away- the cottage was beautiful and the nearest village had everything you could need. Our 2 little ones loved it and so did the dog!



Great stay in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is lovely, had everything we needed and in a nice quiet location where it was great to stargaze.



Our favourite holiday cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been taking our annual February half-term holiday at Sandholme for 3 years now and each year we find comfortable, well maintained and well provisioned accommodation. It genuinely is a home from home. We have even come to love the 'prima-donna' induction hob which causes much head scratching every year! The customer service has been excellent and this year in particular as our holiday was not quite the relaxing time we had anticipated.



Lovely comfortable cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a beautiful location with walks and bike ride trails near by. Easy distance to Keilder. After a winter's day walking we returned to the lovely cosey cottage equipped with everything you could need: Hot showers and baths, a log fire and comfortable beds to end the day, plus the large enclosed garden was great for our dog.



Exceptional!

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful stay, the cottage is just superb in every way possible.
As soon as we stepped inside it felt like home.
The welcome was so warm and thoughtful I am still overwhelmed by how lovely it was.
Without question we will stay here again, it will be our number one choice for all our future travels in the area!!!
We really did not want to leave, what a fabulous part of the country, the scenery, the people and the way of life.
Thank you for such a fantastic experience, we will return without question.




Very happy

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages was very good , had everything you could need & lots of info for days out , would be happy to use again , may be in the summer next time .



Very well equipped and stocked.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very clean cottage throughout with the exception of dog hairs on the rugs. Heather was very informative and helpful regarding arrival for keys and checkout, had little other information sent to us by email though.



A restful holiday in an unspoiled area surrounded by rolling hills.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for enabling two extremely stressed adults to unwind and return serenely unruffled. Although intending to explore more of the western borders, we found so many interesting places to walk locally that we went no further. Newcastleton is incredibly unspoiled with no litter and everyone was very friendly and easy to chat to. The week went far too fast and we will have to come back to visit the places we missed out. Oh, and the black sheep fighting over the telegraph pole in their field (neighbouring the back garden), and the sparrow fledglings were also very entertaining.



Perfect Location

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage on the edge of Newcastleton
If you are interested in wildlife photography this is perfect. We saw Hen Harrier, Merlin, Goshawk, Buzzard, Stone chat, wild goats and Meadow Pipits on Langholm moor Make friends with the local Raptor Group who patrol the area.
This is our fourth stay That says it all




Weekend with family

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as a family of 4 with a 1yr old and a 3yr old. The house was very clean with a simple layout. No stairs to worry about with the toddler! Lovely kitchen supplied with everything we needed. Really appreciated the Welcome Supplies, especially the wine and shortbread, everyone was happy. Great for getting to Kielder and hubby got out on his road bike for few tours of the area. Good storage area for bike and washing machine/dryer were put to use. Didn't use the stove as the heating was plenty but it looked lovely. Really enjoyed our stay.



Base for visit to Kielder

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very comfortable with everything you need - and more! The logburner was very effective and welcome during the snow. Handy shed for bike storage and the local hotel serves great food. Would love to have stayed longer.



Weekend stay at Sandholm

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is such a nice cottage to stay in. It is really well-equipped and comfortable, makes you soon feel like it's home, even for a short stay like mine.



Great place and great hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place this is.The cottage was perfect to break our journey from West Wales to Highlands and we couldn’t have asked for more.Amazing welcome pack provided,excellent communication,lovely friendly neighbour who showed us in.Thank you so much and we will be back again .



Short break with the dogs

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great cottage with everything tbought through....the welcome pack has everything you need including a bottle of wine!
So warm inside and a fabulous log fire for an extra cosy night in.
The dogs loved the paddock, a fantastic space for them.
Newcastleton close by with options for eating (Copthorne Kitchen really lovely)...wouldn’t want to walk there as some big log wagons speed along regularly (the only negative).
Would love to return in warmer weather and make use of the outside space, bbq and wood oven.




Lovely cottage and would like to book again.

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved the cottage. Really comfortable and had everything we needed. Our only negative was the small double bed. A king size would have been perfect.



warm and comfortable

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The second time we stayed here and it won't be the last. The house is very warm, welcoming and comfortable, lacking nothing.
Very pleasant outdoor space too although as we were there during Storm Callum we didn't get to use it. Great house to be in during bad weather though!
Excellent storage for bikes too, and a huge supply of books and information leaflets for local walks, road cycling and mountain biking.
Great location for Kielder and Newcastleton Forests.
Can highly recommend.




weekend stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely cottage equipped with everything needed to make our stay very enjoyable. welcome pack was excellent Heather was there to show us around and explain things all very good even a high chair and cot for our grandson who loved kicking his ball round the paddock. Fabulous stay very relaxing.



Excellent

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just one word describes this cottage and surroundings: excellent !


( but the computer says that i have to use at last 100 characters so: excellent, excellent and so on.... -;) )






Great stay at sandholm

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As soon as we arrived the cottage looked amazing. Great getting a greeting pack too. Everything we needed was provided and to the highest quality. So peaceful and relaxing just what we needed the only downside is leaving.



A little gem in the country

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at this lovely 2 bedroom 2 bathroom property situated in the Scottish Borders. The property is well furnished and very clean. Well equipped with a very useful Welcome pack. Ideally situated for visiting the Historic towns of Hawick and Jedburgh. However our main aim is wildlife and photography and we are never disappointed. Hen Harrier, Merlin, wild badgers, redpoll, Buzzard, Kestrel, Dipper. Just a few of the species we found.



Beautiful Cottage and Location

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cottage with quality furnishings. Ideally situated for the wonderful surrounding wildlife



May 2018

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday home and welcome pack was very good.
Nice quiet location. Walking accessible.
Would definitely stay again.




Good quality cottage in wonderful area

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandholm is a comfortable cottage with great views and very near to Newcastleton.The wildlife watching within 10 mile radious is superb.would highly recommend this cottage.



Great cottage nice quiet location

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thus is the fourth t8me staying at Sandholm the cottage is well equipped with a number of welcome food items to help you start off on a good foot, such as bread, milk, cheese, juice and wine. The standard of cleanliness is superb, the fittings and furnishings are lovely and it has loads of storage space, it is set in a quiet location but not to far out of the village. A real home from home and we will be back again.



A lovely, well equipped cottage in pretty countryside

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandholm Cottage has everything you could wish for in a rented property and more, there's even a welcome pack of food and chilled bottle of wine to greet you. It is ideal for those with dogs as there is a secure paddock to exercise and play with them. The surrounding countryside is stunning with lots of lovely walks and places of historical interest to visit. Our stay was short however we will definitely be back.



Relaxing Break in Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit to this beautiful comfortable cottage. Crisp sunny days for plenty of long walks with our dog and we made good use of the log burner on our return in the evenings. The cottage is exceptionally well equipped and the owners have thought of everything that could be needed to make your stay a comfortable and thoroughly relaxing experience. A great base for exploring the border country and the local village Pubs / Hotels offer a warm welcome and good food at reasonable prices including takeaway menus if you fancy dining in but not cooking.



Good base for Scottish Borders

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was excellent and provided everything we needed. Newcastleton village has a few shops and pubs and people are friendly.
We visited Hadrians Wall and Birdoswald Roman Fort, Jedburgh Abbey (amazing!), Gretna Green and had a day trip to Edinburgh - (train from Tweedbank). All of these were around 20-30 mile drive through lovely scenery. There are also lovely walks along the river bank and Kielder Forest. We enjoyed our stay.




Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to this cottage and it was as good as we remembered it.
Lots of nice touches make this cottage stand out from the usual holiday let, from the welcome pack to the telescope in the lounge. It feels more like visiting a friends house than a holiday cottage.
If they could only guarantee the weather it would be perfect!




Excellent value in great area

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An great cottage with excellent amenities. The countryside is brilliant and there are many local walks. The paddock is excellent for our canine friends and Texas our dog loved the freedom it gave him. The cottage was very clean and ugly was nice to get a welcome pack.

The tranquil surroundings were just what we wanted.

A great break and we will certainly be recommending Sandholm to others and we will be back.

Five stars.




Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
.A lovely few days break in a beautiful cottage in peaceful surroundings. This was our second visit to this cottage and it remains the most comfortable and well equipped of all the ones we have visited. The weather was mixed but that simply gave us an opportunity to make use of the log burning stove; after returning from our long walks out in the surrounding countryside. We would highly recommend this as a great base to visit all the surrounding areas of interest. The local pub/hotel does great food at reasonable prices and there is always a friendly welcome. The secure paddock adjacent to the cottage is ideal for exercising the dog first thing in the morning without having to head out.



Well equipped and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Dec 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our family Christmas at Sandholm cottage. A really well equipped kitchen, comfortable and welcoming sitting room. Perfect for our Christmas festivities. We slept soundly after indulging in good food, wine and long country walks. Highly recommended cottage. We would definitely stay again



Possibly best holiday let we've had

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This two bed cottage is one of the best equipped and nicely presented holiday lets we've stayed in. Well furnished and appointed throughout it's a real home away from home. Exceedingly clean too and just a pleasure to relax in. The welcome pack was great and the relaxed approach to ensuring you enjoyed your stay was really great. We'd have quite happily stayed another week, the accommodation was without fault. Some people might not enjoy the lack of mobile phone signal (problems with Vodaphone, EE & Three - maybe others too), but some might welcome it. I wouldn't say it was the cheapest rental you can find, but it was really good value considering the extremely high standard. You'd be very hard pressed to find anywhere better in the Scottish border region. Highly recommended!



A real gem

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandholme Cottage is a sheer delight. It is so well equipped - the owners think of everything you could possibly need. The welcome pack you receive on arrival is second to none and certainly the best we have ever had before. It is very clean and comfortable. There is a wood burning stove for those cooler evenings. We couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough. It is surrounded by the most beautiful walks and picturesque scenery.



Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is truly an excellent place to stay. Exceptionally well furnished, clean and warm, the house is a delight to stay in. The welcome pack is the best and most thoughtful I have ever come across in a self-catering property.

The location is also very good with easy access to Keilder Forest and Newcastleton if mountain biking. The private patio round the back is very inviting , catching the sun from early on and with pleasant views. I cannot recommend this accommodation enough




Comfortable and well equipped holiday base.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is clean, well equipped and comfortable with garden and patio for outdoor relaxation. Even emergency lighting is supplied throughout. The welcome pack is much appreciated. The road is surprisingly busy but opening windows at the rear meant no disturbance to sleep. Our only 'downside' was that there is nowhere for a short post-meal walk without taking the car or walking on the road. Newcastleton provides all that is needed In shopping, eating out, coffees etc and the surrounding area has forest walks for all levels of fitness. The countryside of rolling hills and valleys is a pleasure to drive through albeit some of the roads are single track. A very enjoyable location for a holiday break.



A blissful retreat.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second stay at Sandholm Cottage and I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends, relatives or to anyone. It is a well maintained and lovely cottage with all the comforts and conveniences you might need. It is near a remote but very friendly and civilised village with an excellent butcher, baker, local stores hotel bars and eating places. Scenic drives are in every direction. You could never be bored here.



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a return visit, which speaks for itself. The cottage is beautifully appointed, clean and welcoming with a supply of basics like bread, milk, cheese and even a bottle of wine on arrival. The kitchen is well equipped and the whole cottage is very cosy and comfortable. We were impressed the first time we stayed and the return visit didn't disappoint. Highly recommended.



100/ percent Good Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been holidaying in Newcastleton for the last 7 years
And this holiday was of the best
We are booking another holiday
in September if it as not been booked




First Class accommodation in an ideal location for exploring the borders.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a beautiful cottage in a quiet location. The cottage was extremely well equipped with everything we could have required to make for a very comfortable stay and the owners have paid a great deal of attention to the little details which make all the difference. There was a lovely decked patio area to the rear to enjoy which had a dining table, chairs and barbecue as well as being a nicely sheltered sun trap.
The paddock to the side of the property was absolutely ideal for exercising our dog, first thing in the morning and when we returned from our travels in the evenings.
A thoroughly relaxing stay in a lovely cottage that we would recommend highly.




A Week staying at Sandholm Holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this cottage for a weeks walking in the surrounding areas. We took our dog with us and the accommodation was ideal for dog owners with a small enclosed field adjoining the property. The generous "welcome pack" was very much appreciated and a lovely thought.

The cottage was equipped to a very high standard with everything you could need.




Third visit in a year!

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact that this was our third visit in a year says it all! Agood centre for looking round the area, with lots of history to involve ones self in! A good centre for touring an area which is off the tourist trail and therefore peaceful and quiet (apart from the logging lorries of which - be well aware!).

The accommodation is excellent, comfortable and warm, with a wood burner for those who feel the central heating need a boost - it doesn't, at least not for us! Very dog friendly with the adjacent field which is quite secure, although an escapologist dog might defeat the defences!

The owners are helpful and their local "Girl Friday", Heather, is a tower of strength! She can also be found at the Grapes Hotel- an excellent pub with good food and beer!




Would definitely come back

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The people were friendly and helpful. The cottage was easy to find and in a lovely location. Not to far from a neighbouring village but on its own so that its your little holiday. The cottage is lovely. The welcome package was a great help.



Excellent property with lots of the touches of home

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great holiday home with lots of well thought out touches to make it extra special, very well laid out and equipped. This is our second time here and our 6 year old was gutted to leave. Highly recommended holiday cottage in love,t surroundings and very well priced!



Amazing weekend away

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked Sandholm cottage as it I wanted to be reasonably remote and visit Hadrians Wall.
The location filled both those requirements, although I was able to get dinner delivered from the local pub in Newcastleton, so not too remote.
The cottage itself far exceeded my expectations. The cleanliness and level of décor was exceptional, we arrived with a reasonable load of groceries, but the amount of complementary provisions supplied was more than enough to tide you over until the shops opened, including a decent bottle of wine!
This was a stunning find, pretty ordinary looking from the outside, but dazzling on the inside. I've been in show homes that are not as well appointed. The home heats up quickly and stays warm easily, the log burning fire was a highlight, easy to light and fiercely hot.
I'd have no hesitation personally recommending Sandholm, it really was that good, I'd love to return in the summer to make use of the outdoor area.




Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You've got to stay there to believe how good this place is. It heating system is great.
The welcome pack of milk
butter
bread
Ham
teas
ground coffee
Instant coffee
Decaf coffee
Cheese
Eggs
Orange juice
Crisps
And much more
We will be going back
It a great location too




The perfect place to relax and unwind

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely reccommend this place to our family and friends. It has been the perfect retreat. On arrival the hosts provided a well thought out welcome pack. A marvellous touch. We love the outdoors and this has been the perfect place to do just that. We have explored the area trekking and mountain biking locally at 7 Staines and Keilder Forest.



Cottage stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandholm Cottage is lovely with more facilities than most people will need for a small break. We were very lucky with the weather for this time of the year and even managed to have lunch outside on the decking, which is a lovely sun trap. The wood burning stove made the colder nights worth staying in for. Surrounding area is beautiful, with wonderful walks for all types.



Perfect in every respect

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, comfortable, well equipped cottage in excellent location for walking, cycling and touring. Could not fault the cottage in any respect - just perfect for us.



Repeat visit to Sandholme!

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Sandholme this year. The cottage was just as good second time around. We really appreciated the welcome pack - all you need to tide you over the weekend! The directions were excellent and the property couldn't be easier to find. Having Heather next door (accross the road) was a positive asset!

Couldn't really fault the cottage - nothing more needs to be said.




A gem of a cottage in the beautiful Scottish Borders

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful relaxing weekend at Sandholm - a beautiful cottage with everything you could possibly need, spotlessly clean with a very much appreciated welcome pack which was a lovely surprise. Had a great time exploring the wonderful countryside, will definitely return, a very special place.



Ideal location for exploring Scottish Borders, English Heritage sites

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location for exploring Scottish Borders, English Heritage sites. The owners of Sandholm Holiday Cottage have a little gem here. Relaxing area, and friendly people.



Fantastic home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the accommodation as it was central to a number of places we wanted to bike and visit. The house is superb very well equipped with all the kitchen essentials, plenty of towels, great beds and excellent facilities such as wi-fi, BT freebies and a selection of toys for the little un, DVD's, books , maps etc. very well thought out premises with secure bike outdoor kit storage.



A relaxing home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 12 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Sandholm Cottage, and once again we had a great time. The cottage is finished to a very high standard and is very well equipped - I can't think of anything we needed that wasn't available. We also received a welcome pack of essentials which was a lovely touch.

The view from the back patio area is very relaxing, there is a BBQ to use on warm summer nights, and an area for your small
children/dogs to run around safely.

Sandholm cottage really is a home from home and we hope to return for a third visit sometime in the future....




Fantastic stay at Sandholm

Review submitted on Mon, 04 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Sandholm for a short break over the May Bank Holiday. Really good accommodation, well kept, well equipped, very comfortable. I would definitely consider returning for another visit.



An excellent stay at Sandholme

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the welcome from Heather to our departure a week later we had a splendid time at Sandholme. The welcome pack was exceptional and most unexpected. The directions to the cottage were precise and easy to follow. The real surprise was the freedom for Hector, our Airedale! the field gave him hours of pleasure, finding the toys others had left behind. Everything we needed was catered for.. This was one of the best, if not THE best accommodaation we had ever had. Need we say more. Another visit is definitely on the cards.



Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy and comfortable cottage, with lovely outlooks. It has been very thoughtfully fitted out, and is fresh & modern, with character. We enjoyed the log burning stove, and trips in the area, including the Keilder Water and mountain biking.



Absolutely brilliant!!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very, very pleasant experience; recommend it highly. The wood burner and views win the day. Within reach of Hadrian's Wall and not far fom Carlisle.



Excellent Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found this cottage by chance and so glad I did. The Cottage is lovely and clean, and so comfortable and has everything you could wish for and more. It isn't hard to see that a lot of thought has gone into the furnishings - everything is very tasteful. Because of the time of year we stayed, we weren't able to enjoy the lovely patio but we plan to come back so that we can sit out and enjoy the surrounding views. The cottage is in such a lovely part of the country and a superb base for travelling around the Borders of Scotland. I am disabled but I found this cottage so easy to get around. Having WIFI was a real bonus. The welcome pack was a lovely surprise and was one of the best I have experienced - most kind. The wood burning stove was just the thing for the cold nights. We had very high winds and freezing temperatures outside but we were so cosy - the heat from the stove was unbelievable - I'm going to miss that stove!!

I genuinely cannot recommend Sandholm Cottage highly enough - I just wish our stay had been for a bit longer but it just means we must come back soon :-)




Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was wonderful we had a welcome back that supplied us with our basic needs. Everything was clean and beautifully decorated. Will definitely be returning.



lovely cottage set in peace and quiet

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and myself stayed here for a couple of days with the dog to do some running and biking. We were really impressed with our stay! The cottage is beautifully decorated and really homely. The log wood fire was fantastic and the front room really comfy. It was kept in really good condition and a real credit to the owners. The kitchen was really well equipped and we were found wanting nothing. There was even a welcome pack with milk, cheese, ham and a bottle of wine! We have stayed in many cottages and never had this before.

The location is really good too. About a mile and half from Newcastleton so extremely walkable to the lovely pubs on offer, but really peaceful. the forest including it's walking and biking trails can be accessed by just going down the road a mile or so. Can't wait to go back.




Charming Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Right from the time we found this cottage on the net, we have had great service.

The information was clear and complete - what we found on our arrival was even better than expected.

We have stayed at quite a few cottages and found this to be one of the best; and at great value too.

The facilities were excellent - e.g. there was no mobile coverage, but the owners have provided a free landline' excellent. The beds were comfortable and the whole cottage warm and cosy.

The welcome pack was very nice, wine, bread, butter, jam and shortbread - very thoughtful.

We also found the local village shops and restaurant very friendly and welcoming.

We would thoroughly recommend this cottage and area to anyone seeking a quiet, relaxing location; yet near enough to the bright lights if wanted.




Fabulous property

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is one of the nicest cottages we have ever stayed in. Refurbished to a very high standard and very thoughtfully equipped to ensure that you have everything possible that you need during your stay! Arrived to a welcome pack which was really handy. No mobile phone reception but they have this covered with the use of a landline with free calls to 01, 02 and 03 numbers. Lovely location for Newcastleton 7 Stanes. Would certainly recommend this property to others.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandholm Holiday Cottage has a soul. All rooms in the cottage are very nice decorated. We appreciate confidence in guests. Welcome pack, available books, brochures, maps and CDs are very good idea too.



A great stay in Newcastleton!

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had a great week at Sandholm cottage in Newcastleton, the cottage was excellent with a very high standard of accomodation. We were greeted by Heather from the cottage across the road to let us in to our cottage and show us around, she was very friendly and showed us how to use the heating etc. Heather also showed us the 'Welcome Pack' which consists of things like milk, orange juice, bread, cheese, ham and even a bottle of wine, this was a very nice touch. The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard with an en-suite off the main bedroom, a well equipped kitchen including a dishwasher and a large flat screen TV and BT vision recordable box in the living room. Outside there is a very private deck at the back with patio table and chairs. Another treat was a small paddock off the side of the cottage which was totally enclosed with wire fencing and hedges and was a marvellous area for our little dog to run around to his hearts content. We found the cottage to be a very good base for visiting many of the great small border towns that are nearby, we went to Gretna, Hawick and Selkirk, we had a couple of visits to Kielder, which is only half an hour away, for the Observatory and the birds of prey, both worth a visit. We hope to visit Sandholm again in the future and if staying in the borders would not consider staying any where else!



Fantastic introduction to the Scottish Borders

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying here and must arrange to come again. Great area, plenty to do regardless of activity level. Superb accommodation. The inclusion of a welcome pack was a lovely surprise.