FB Twitter

Turner Cottage, Norham

Turner Cottage, Norham

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Delightful pet friendly cottage for two people in the thriving conservation village of Norham Northumberland. close to the River Tweed and Norham Castle

Lovely village location and a delightful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great cottage to stay in during lockdown as I am a key worker and was working in the area. I loved the wood burning stove which made the cottage very cosy. The king size bed was good for me as I am tall.
I will try to come back in the Summer with my partner and our dog




Lovely cosy cottage on the borders

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy, well equipped, spotless cottage in a quiet village on the English-Scottish border. Ideal for exploring the borders and coastal areas of Northumberland. We would have no hesitation in recommending this holiday cottage and hope to be able to visit ourselves again in the future.



Very comfortable and hope to return

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cosy cottage and we hope to return for a further visit once the Covid-19 restrictions are lifted.



Comfortable cottage near atmospheric Norham Castle

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable warm cottage in a quiet village, on the street leading up to Norham Castle (free to visit). We felt perfectly safe staying there during the pandemic. House was chilly when we first arrived and there was no fuel for the wood burning stove, but the owners kindly turned up the radiators for us (remotely) and brought some logs the next day. Great bed and hot shower, lovely large towels. Weather not good enough for us to use the conservatory or the attractive garden, which would be lovely in summer. Good base for touring both sides of the border.



Great place

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing, clean tidy cottage in a great setting for exploring, chilling locally and enjoying yourselves.



Weeks stay in Turner Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent week in Turner Cottage - Norham. Cottage was very clean and well equipped in a good location.
First visit to Northumberland and very impressed by the friendly people, lots of places to visit and excellent beaches.

Highly recommended accomodation




Christine replied 142 days ago
Thanks for the review. Norham is such a lovely village and the cottage is ideal if you bring your dog and you will all enjoy the riverside walksl enjoy

Turner Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with our stay at Turner Cottage; booking arrangements worked well, the property was spotlessly clean, and everything we needed was provided. We enjoyed visiting the surrounding area, the local butcher shop was amazing for meat, and a wide range of other items. Thoroughly recommended



Perfect for a countryside break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Turner Cottage was very well appointed; maybe a CD player maybe could be available, as we couldn't play our memory stick on the TV (it has to be programmed to fit that particular TV, a Toshiba). But that's a small thing, as there was so much to do during the day, and in the evening we watched the Proms on BBCiPlayer. Norham village is a gem, with a good, friendly pub, local butcher and shop, plus a part-time baker's shop, all within walking distance of the cottage. Not forgetting Norham Castle and the painter JMW Turner, who painted it several times.
We were well looked after considering the Covid-19 circumstances meant we did not meet the owners in person. Christine contacted us before we arrived to say we could check in earlier than the normal time, and all was as we expected on arrival, with a welcome pack of food waiting for us.
Lots to see and do within easy driving distance. We visited Kelso, Floors Castle gardens, Etal and Ford (don't whatever you do miss the cream tea at the flour mill cafe at Heatherslaw), Holy Island (week-end, so busy), Eyemouth and the Bamburgh coast. Even in mixed weather and Covid-19 we found something to do every day.
We would definitely stay at Turner cottage again should we take another break in Northumberland.




Short break in country cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have used Border Holiday Homes in the past and have always enjoyed our stays. This was no exception. Turner Cottage is located in the quiet country village of Norham ideally situated on the river Tweed and great for touring around the Borders.
The cottage itself is very comfortable and scrupulously clean. The owners, John and Christine go the extra mile to ensure a pleasant stay. I would also recommend the local pub, the Mason's Arms, which is very welcoming and serves excellent food.





Christine replied 198 days ago
Thanks for booking again with one of our cottages. We welcome any suggestions for improvements. just give us a call or email

Great location

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable accommodation in an excellent location. We enjoyed the conservatory and the little sitting out area to the rear of the cottage.



Christine replied 198 days ago
Thanks for leaving a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

A very cozy cottage,Everything you need and more . For a comfortable stay .

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Turner cottage is in a beautiful location ideal for all amenities, lovely walks along with river bank and castle.surrounding areas and village make for a relaxing break. Many thanks Paul and Marie



Christine replied 228 days ago
thanks for your review and for booking again at one of our cottages.

NYE 2019

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an excellent way to spend NYE (also my birthday). The cottage is superb with everything you could possibly need. There's a top class butchers and bakers a very short walk away and a corner shop in case you run out if the essentials. Will be paying another visit.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review. We are delighted that you like this lovely cottage with its woodburning stove. Come again soon and dont forget your RG discount

Cold cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The reason for the poor review was that we had to wait 3 days for tv to be tuned in and 4 days for the door seal on the log burner to be fixed. Having to phone the owners to get the heating increased as they operate it remotely from their home is not ideal especially as we were there during a cold wet week in November.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
The two engineers sent out during your first days were not able to correct the problem with the tuning due to the high winds that had damaged the aerial. There were still many channels available on both tvs. The level of heating that was requested was much higher than is normally provided and could only be overidden by a remote access. Guests can adjust heating when in the normal parameters. There were plenty of logs provided for the wood burner. It is sad that the weather was very poor for their visit

What to see in this part of Northumberland.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our holiday at Turner Cottage at Norham. We've now holidayed at all of Border Holiday Cottages and this is not only an excellent cottage but easily accessible to all parts of the border of England and Scotland. Most places within easy short distances on roads that are almost deserted of traffic. Recommended places that are worth a visit:- Ford and Etam with a ride on the narrow gauge railway to Heatherslaw. Whilst there visit Hay Farm, heavy horse centre; Kelso; Jedburgh; The Honey Farm and Chain Link Bridge and many places along the Northumberland Coast.



A week at Turner Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 6 enjoyable nights at Turner Cottage which was well equipped and very comfortable - we will definitely book
It again the next time we visit the Borders




Lovely cottage, great location

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Turner Cottage had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. The location of the cottage is excellent and the local Masons' Arms provides excellent food. The village shop which sells newspapers, milk, etc is just a few doors away.



christine replied more than 1 year ago
Yes its great to have these facilities so close by and the nearby river Tweed has lovely gentle walks

Short break

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location. A comfy cottage which has everything you need. If you want to escape this is the place to come as no mobile reception unless you cross the road. Plenty of parking outside and local butchers and pub (masons arms ) are amazing . Not so the bakers which seems on its last legs although what they do still bake is very good. Surrounding area very accessible. A great base to explore from





Great week

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great week at Turners Cottage loverly cottage in great village we will be returning to this five star cottage



The perfect break in Norham

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cosy cottage in a great friendly village with a regular bus service into Berwick upon Tweed. The cottage owners were very friendly and helpful.



relax in the country

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a great addition to your property port folio ,the location is very special lovely village . All you req; good butchers and bakery ,lovely friendly people and of course good pub . Property is lovely very comfortable and clean usual warm welcome from Christine and John .



A delightful location for a get away break

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Christine and John have invested heavily in this property to make it a cut above what you would expect of a holiday home and is an excellent place to stay. It is in the middle/upper band of pricing but given the effort made it is well worth supporting. We were met on arrival by Christine to go through the running details - so helpful! We were also given a welcome pack on arrival - nice touch!

The village setting with houses laid back from the road giving a sense of space was like a visit back in time. The Pub staff were welcoming and on Fish and Chip night when the Van comes to the village they encouraged people to bring them in and eat with a glass of 'beverage'! Ordinary meals were good and well worth a visit. We found the rolls from the Baker's to be so scrumptious and 'light'. A visit to the Church is also to be recommended to give a sense of village life. The bridge at the end of the village is well worth a visit and to spend a little while sitting on the bench musing or watching the anglers fly fishing.

It within easy reach of major tourist places such as Holy Island Seahouses and of course Berwick. Out of the way places such as
Eyemouth and St Aggs is a must although the latter charges £7 for all day parking but as they also run their own life boat you are helping fund it - so you are supporting the cause.




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased that you liked the latest addition to our little group of cottages for two. Come again soon. Returning Guest disccount available wherever you stay

Turner Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect stay in Turners Cottage, this is highly recommended, we had a great break, Norham village pub ( Masons Arms) had great food and allowed dogs into the bar area, short walk to the banks of the river Tweed. We have previously stayed in another of Border cottages properties in Spittal. ( Old Templers) another fantastic property.
Thankyou for a great relaxing holiday.




A real gem

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful short break at a very reasonable price. The village of Norham is an absolute gem with a castle, near the river Tweed, great pub, butchers, bakery and friendly locals...whats not to like. Add to this a fabulous little cottage and you have the perfect weekend!
Tastefully furnished, clean and comfortable with a sofa that you can really sink into and chill out on, large quality tv and gorgeous wood burner in the sitting room with a really comfortable bed, crisp tasteful bed linen and an abundance of towels. The kitchen is also lovely, modern and well equipped with everything you could need. Dogs are well catered for and our Zak loved his treats almost as much as we loved our basket of goodies that had been left for us....including an Easter egg!
The owner dropped in while we were there which we wern't expecting but it did give me the chance to mention the only slight thing missing which is some garden furniture. It is only a small area but would really benefit from a table and chairs of some sort.
We would most definitely return without hesitation and much as I would like to keep it our little secret...I have already passed on all of these good points to friends and family.
Hoping to return very soon!




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the lovely comments about our newest property for two. We do have garden furniture but were caught out by the sudden improvement in the weather and these were in storage. April can be a little unpredictable. come again soon and remember your discount code RG

Well presented Accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Turner cottage is a lovely well presented cottage in the lovely little village of Norham. However, there were no instructions for the microwave or oven which was a bit of a problem as I could not work out the microwave but eventually managed the oven. We ate out 2 nights but had a light meal in the cottage one night and found that there was no chopping board in the kitchen. These were just little things that could easily be remedied and in no way detracted from our stay. However,the weather was extremely cold during our stay and we found that the heating was not adequate to keep the cottage warm. The heat from the sitting room radiator was negligible and although there was a heater in the kitchen it was not enough to warm the kitchen/dining/sitting room and we were really cold. We used the logs on the burner the first night but the seal on the door was broken so the wood just blazed away very quickly. However, after paying for a cottage advertised with CH, I did not expect the responsibility was on us to purchase logs simply to keep warm. Although we were not completely happy with our stay, It was a lovely cottage and there were some very thoughtful extras provided by the owners and the kitchen was well equipped.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
What a pity that you did not call us as we live close by. We could easily have shown you the file with the instructions for equipment and pointed you to the drawer where the chopping boards are located. The heating is adjusted by pressing the up and down arrows on the front panel and there were plenty of logs available in the shed. A phone call might have helped with this and we are always happy to come over to help and our contact numbers are listed in several locations. Glad that the cottage was well presented and that you liked the area

A well situated cottage ideal for touring Northumberland.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is on one floor and a dog is welcome. The cottage is comfortable and has a modern kitchen which is adequately equipped. The weather was cold so the log burner certainly added a much needed warmth after long walks. The cottage sits in a very quiet Northumberland village with easy access to walking and exploring the surrounding countryside.





Christine replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased that you liked the cottage and the log burner. We look forward to your return visit in June and hope that you find time to pop into see the exhibition of Turner works in the village hall.

wonderful break in beautiful cottage in Norham

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Luxury cottage with woodburning stove in quiet location. Very high standard of cleanliness and attention to detail. Great location to visit surround areas including Holy Island and local fishing villages. Border holiday homes were extremely helpful about all the arrangements.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
So please that you liked the cottage as you were one of the very first guests to visit after major refurbishement. do come again soon