FB Twitter

Corner Cottage

Corner Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Corner Cottage is an old Blacksmith's Cottage in the village of Nethy Bridge, Speyside, in the Scottish Highlands. It is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday. Speyside is ideal for walking, cycling (for softies or mountain bikers), golf, fishing, skiing, bird-watching (the Cottage is about three miles from the Boat of Garten Osprey Centre and a short walk into the Abernethy Forest) or all round family holidays.
The Cottage has a fully equipped kitchen with oven, hob, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge, freezer and microwave, electric central heating with instant controls, a wood-burning stove, plenty of hot water with a very powerful shower and a huge cast iron bath for long lounging soaks. The garden is large and secure for children with sheds for storage of bikes and skis. Dogs welcome.
We like to think it has everything that is needed for a holiday in the Highlands

A real home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Corner Cottage is one of the most welcoming places I've stayed in. From the outset we were encouraged to use all the facilities available to ensure our comfort and enjoyment throughout our stay. There is a well equipped kitchen for conjuring up any dish, a beautiful log burning fire and a terrific shower to start your day whether walking, cycling, touring the countryside or just reading your book.
Nethy Bridge is an excellent centre for walking and offers superb food In the Nethy Cafe along with the local fish and chip van on Monday nights.


Sheila from South Queensferry stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


Lovely cosy cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time to corner cottage but hopefully it will not be the last. The cottage is very well equipped with a log burning stove which we enjoyed towards the end of our stay, when it got colder. The bike shed is a useful addition, The cottage was scrupiously clean with meaures in place to ensure recommended guidelines are followed regarding the current situation. The setting is great for mountain biking and walking. There is an excellent local cafe to enjoy while your partner is cycling to the Cairngorms from the doorstep ! There are many other places to explore so we will have to come back

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


September at Corner Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Weather was good which always helps! We are return visitors
Cottage scrupulously clean, new rules since COVID delivered on. Ideal for a couple or for 4 people.
You won’t be disappointed if you want a highland cottage experience


Kathy from Lochwinnoch stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


This was our second stay at Corner Cottage and not our last

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
- cleanliness was superb which especially important during the current pandemic;
- beds were very comfortable;
- the cottage has great charm;
- it is in a good location for exploring the Badenoch and Strathspey areas;
- pleasant garden which is suitable for children;
- useful shed for storing bicycles;
- kitchen is well equipped;
- if not travelling far on day trips, there are plenty of meanders from the door;
- Nethy Bridge is a pleasant village;
- accessing the car park slot at the front of the house is tight and requires careful reversing.

During this visited with our six year old son, we visited:
- Landmark Adventures Forest Park;
- canoed on Loch Morlich twice;
- mountain biked on the cycle trails at Glenlivet;
- visited the Highland Wildlife Park;
- damning in the River Nethy nearby.

For more grown-up focused activity, as parents we went separately on road and mountain cycle rides to locations:
- road ride to Forres via Dallas and returning via Llochindorb [ https://ridewithgps.com/routes/33797157 ];
- up to the Cairngorm Ski Centre;
- a pootle to Grantown via the former railway line;
- walking from Glenmore to the Cottage via Ryvoan Pass (15.8km).

Despite the disruption created by the Covid 19 pandemic, there were plenty of activities to undertake but tourism was notably down compared to usual which not great for the local economy but was brilliant for cycling on quieter roads. However, Loch Morlich remained very busy. For some venues, it is necessary to pre-book and not just arrive at the front gate, so some forward planning is useful.



Philip from Stourbridge stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


A home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was back at Corner Cottage to have a base to visit family and friends and enjoy a few days‘ break. The dog sped round the garden in joyful anticipation of another great holiday and Nethy didn’t disappoint. Lots of lovely walks in the woods and always a cosy, inviting cottage to come back to. I particularly enjoy morning coffee in the back garden listening to the water and the birds. The cottage is extremely well equipped and beautifully clean. Look forward to coming back next year already!

Jean from Limerick stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


A perfect home from home in the Cairngorms

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great wee cottage as a base for walking, cycling and enjoying the area. Very well equipped and comfortable. The wood burning stove and fire pit are great, providing heat indoors and out. Might be needed even in July.

Guest from Dundee stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, well equipped and cosy cottage. The additional cleaning measures put in place, during our stay in July 2020, to minimise the risk of infection put our minds at ease. The cottage was very clean.
I'd recommend Corner Cottage, it a great place to stay and to relax.


Marie from stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Corner Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Corner Cottage. It was a comfortable home from home, well-appointed with personal touches, and with lovely walks from the door.

Reg from Diss stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in February 2020


A Charming Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would definitely return. The cottage was warm and cosy and had all we need for a week’s stay, including useful cleaning products and cooking ingredients so missed in other places we stay. The cottage was beautifully presented and very charming. A wonderful spot to explore the river and village and further afield in the Cairngorms National Park.

Kate from Caernarfon stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in February 2020


Cosy base for exploring the Highlands

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Corner Cottage is ideally located in a quiet part of Nethy Bridge, and was a great place to be based for our trip. The cottage is well stocked with everything needed for self catering and the living arrangements are super comfortable. There is a bathroom as well as a shower room, which is an added bonus. The kitchen/ dining room was my favourite room, it was a pleasure to come home in the evenings and cook dinner, after which we'd retire to the sitting room with its log burner, which was very welcome after a day spent in rather wild wet weather. I'd highly recommend this cottage for a stay in the Cairgorms, and hope to return one day.

Angela from Rickmansworth stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in October 2019


A wonderful stay in the Highlands

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage that is very well equipped and in a perfect location for seeing and doing so many things only a short distance away. The property has a secure, large garden which is brilliant for children and dogs with the added bonus of a tree swing. All the beds were very comfortable and the new kitchen is lovely. Lots of walks on the cottage doorstep to explore the local river and forests.

Luke from Horsham stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Summer holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Corner Cottage. It is a cute cottage that has been tastefully upgraded retaining character but has all the modern features you require. It was very clean and fresh. It has plenty space for 4 people to stay. The cottage provides everything you need for a great holiday in the area. A fab find, we would definitely stay here again.

Andrew from Glasgow stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Fantastic week in Nethy Bridge

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was revisiting an area I knew very well but Corner Cottage still brought surprises. It was so well kitted our that I felt completely at home and when visitors joined me from Germany they were highly impressed by how perfect the cottage was - cosy and welcoming, with a great garden and the sound of the burn from the sunny patio. Great walks round about and a cafe, post office and wee shop, hotels just a few minutes away and then the whole of Speyside to explore! Who could ask for more?

Jean from Limerick stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Enjoyable break at Corner Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family had a lovely stay at Corner Cottage. The cottage is well appointed with everything we needed for a relaxing break.
The garden is large and great for games such as badminton.
We loved all the local walks in and around the river and Abernethy Forest.


Guest from Broxburn stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in June 2019


Excellent comfy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Corner Cottage which was very homely and had everything you needed.

Excellent walks within a short distance of the cottage.

Would thoroughly recommend this location and cottage.


Hazel from Glasgow stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in June 2019


A favourite holiday location for us and our two dogs.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been visiting Corner Cottage over many years. Great location close to local woodland for walks from the door along the river path.Local wildlife amazing throughout the Cairngorm area.
Cottage is lovely. Warm and cosy well equipped and spotlessly clean all at a reasonable price.


Guest from Lancaster stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in February 2019


Place to chill.....

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Corner Cottage is warm,couthie and comfortable.It has everything you might need in the kitchen and the luxury of seperate power shower and very deep bath.It has plenty of games to keep you amused in the dark evenings so the size of the TV did not bother me...though might others.Wifi connection kept son in touch with "the outside world" but there are plenty of superb walks on the doorstep and further afield to make the most of the peace and solitude. Beds were very comfortable. Have always loved Nethybridge and Corner Cottage is a very welcome discovery of places I have stayed.Hope to be back.

Alison from Glasgow stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in December 2018


A wonderful little cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at various locations in the area but Corner Cottage now tops our list for a future return visit.

The cottage was well equipped, clean, comfortable and characteristic. Often when visiting cottages, it is often possible to find something missing or broken - that was not the case in this instance. The place is clearly looked after.

The beds were very comfortable and we never had a problem sleeping.

It was useful to have large spacious garden which suited our 4 year old-boy, who merrily played outside. As cyclists we also found it useful to have a lockable shed where we could stow our bikes.

In terms of location, there are a number of pleasant paths leading down to central Nethy Bridge via the riverside. The village is quiet and well presented. The shop is nothing special but there is an excellent farm shop nearby. Our stay in Nethy Bridge provided good opportunities to access the Cairngorms for walking and for cycling to places further afield. There were also plenty of attractions to entertain our little son.



Philip from Stourbridge stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Great location for a family holiday in the Highlands

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed staying in this small but comfortable cottage with our family of 5 (children aged 5-11). Nethy Bridge itself had everything we needed, including the lovely Nethy House cafe, and there is an abundance of family friendly activities, heritage, and wilderness nearby. Our kids loved the garden and the games that are to hand in Corner Cottage -- it really felt like coming to stay in a family home.

Richard from London stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Gorgeous character cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at Corner Cottage. It’s full of character and charm. The owners have also filled it with everything you could need for a comfortable stay. It’s only a short walk into the village, where there is the most lovely and dog-friendly cafe, Nethy House. There are also several wonderful walks on your doorstep, through the woods and along the river. We had a fantastic stay at Corner Cottage and would highly recommend it.

Victoria from Knebworth stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Fifth great stay at Corner Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage and location which meets our needs. We were blessed with great weather and so able to get good use of the garden.

Anne Marie from Seascale stayed at Corner Cottage for 14 nights in May 2018


Lovely cottage, lovely location!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Corner Cottage is very cosy, well-equipped and warm, and is in a fantastic location near the Cairngorms. We have stayed there several times and have always enjoyed our stay there.

Susan from Briston, Norfolk stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in April 2018


Beautiful, well appointed cosy cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great holiday cottage that was cosy and relaxing for all. We loved the variety of walks and activities round and about. Local shops and restaurant within walking distance were very helpful with institution of local chip van on a Monday as a treat for all.

Lynn from stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in March 2018


Nethy Bridge gem

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our small party of 4 had a lovely stay at Corner Cottage. The cottage is well located on the outskirts of Nethybridge village and close to all the main access roads. Great for skiing as we were equidistant to both Cairngorm Mountain and the Lecht. About 10 miles from Aviemore with a choice of roads depending on weather conditions.
Cottage itself was clean, comfortable and welcoming. We particularly loved the well-equipped kitchen and wood-burning stove in the living room.. Dsugher delighted to have wifi! House was warm and cosy even in sub zero conditions. Beds were comfy. Cottage had heaps of character and we would love to visit again. It is clear that the owners look after it well and enjoy using it themselves as it was a true 'home from home'.


Helen from Belfast stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in February 2018


Top time in Nethy Bridge!

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is ideally located in the village of Nethy Bridge. The cottage is clean and cosy. The kitchen leads out onto a patio and a large grassed area, ideal for the children to run about and play.
We enjoyed taking the bikes out for a wee track ride and using the BBQ facilities which were both provided.
I would recommend Corner Cottage as a fantastic destination for a family to enjoy an activity filled holiday in the heart of the Highlands.


Stephen from stayed at Corner Cottage for 6 nights in August 2017


A cosy cottage, we instantly felt welcome!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Dreaming of visiting Scotland since many years, we couldn`t have a better accomodation and location: Everything in the cottage you need, a big, beautiful garden and such a nice, green village like Nethy Bridge with short distances for interesting destinations e. g. Cairngorm Mountain, Landmark Adventure Park, Inverness, Loch Ness, Steam Railways, wonderful spots on the coast like Cullen and Pennan.

Olivia from Wetzlar stayed at Corner Cottage for 14 nights in July 2017


Cozy and Comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Corner Cottage is comfortable, cozy and very well equipped, in a beautiful part of Scotland. Very relaxing and enjoyable week.

Susan from Norfolk stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in April 2017


Lovely cottage in great location

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is well-maintained with great attention to detail e.g. The original doors. It has a large garden and many games in the shed (e.g. badminton). There was everything we needed and it's a good starting point for many walks.

Katrin from Glasgow stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in April 2017


Good thanks, I'm sure we will go come back again.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a useless review system, it tells me I have to add another 36 more characters or it won't be submitted. I didn't want to have to do that, happy to tick box but that was enough.

Neville from Cockermouth stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in February 2017


New Year break at Corner Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit here and we found the same home from home comfort and cosiness once again. The cottage has all the facilities you'd expect and enhanced with a wood burning stove which was very welcome on those cold nights and days! Thanks again.

Muriel from Dunblane stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in December 2016


Family break during the school holidays

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Nethy Bridge a number of times, always at the same cottage. We were unable to book our normal cottage this time and found Corner Cottage instead. We were going to Nethy Bridge for the location and had no real expectations for the cottage. We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived and got inside the cottage.

The cottage was clean and so well equipped we actually worried we had gone into someone's home by mistake! There was everything you would need for a family holiday including a washing machine, stand-alone freezer and nice sized fridge. The DVDs, books and games were an added bonus. The garden was great and I could imagine would be fantastic for kids in the summer as it was totally enclosed.

We would love to return to Corner Cottage the next time we are exploring the Nethy Bridge area. We are a family of 5 with a dog, and the cottage worked great for us.


Gillian from Linlithgow stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


Schönes Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Das Haus ist sehr gut ausgestattet und es fehlt nicht. Selbst ein Kamin ist vorhanden. Die Bäder sind wie in England üblich sehr klein und die Matratzen weich. Aber ansonsten gibt es nichts auszusetzen.

Guest from Castrop-rauxel stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Comfortable and Characterful

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Corner Cottage provides a characterful, cosy, convenient, well equipped and comfortable base for exploring the beautiful Speyside scenery and historical sites.

The Cottage is in a quiet residential area, with plenty of walks nearby. In June when we stayed, there was nearby construction work going on, but this will only be temporary, but worth checking the status when you book. TC&MC


Tony from Basingstoke stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Week commencing 21 May 2016

Review submitted on Sun, 29 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really nice, comfortable cottage in a splendid location. Excellent supply of fire wood which thankfully we didn't need much due to good weather! Nice to see things like hand wash supplied which isn't always the case. Nice kitchen but I'd like to see microwave cookery ware supplied - a bugbear of mine as very few cottages do. Also a couple of frying pans were not in good condition. Minor points as overall an excellent cottage.

Tom from Glasgow stayed at Corner Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Lovely cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Corner Cottage was extremely comfortable, warm and very well-equipped. It is in a beautiful location in a wonderful part of Scotland. It was a great base for us to explore the local birds and wildlife.

Ian from Welling stayed at Corner Cottage for 14 nights in March 2016