FB Twitter

The Stables

The Stables

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


The Stables can sleep up to 8 comfortably and has 2 double bedrooms plus a triple bunk bedroom and 2 bathrooms. There is a spacious open plan kitchen/dining/living area with a log burner. The downstairs bedroom can take a cot or an extra single bed.

Loved the property, the location and the hosts.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stables is one of five properties that make up Asheston Eco Barns, sandwiched between The Cart House and The Barn. It is a very well equipped property and therefore we wanted for nothing. The welcome hamper was the best we have ever experienced, so much so that we regretted popping to Tesco's on the way for provisions! Underfloor heating and no sound at all from neighbouring properties meant this was a very comfortable and peaceful place to stay. Three good sized bedrooms, two doubles and a three person bunk bed room ideal for children, even has a dolls house! The ground floor double also has the back door leading on to the terrace and car park, this could be an issue for some parties. Big living room and dining table to seat 8, plenty of logs and kindling for the wood burner. Two beautiful bathrooms, fluffy white towels. Fantastic outdoor communal space at the front of the property, lots of lovely equipment to keep kids happy, we didn't use the back terrace, which has a table and barbecue, it didn't get much sun in September. Karen and Jeff are very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Covid requirements really well delivered. Overall excellent property and well located for Solva, Newgale and St David's.



Excellent holiday accommodation - especially for a wheelchair user

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A large group of us rented the Stables and the Cart House. Both cottages were so well-equipped that there were practically enough plates and glasses in either one of the cottages to serve all 14 of us, and the huge outdoor table at the Cart House and the long indoor one at the Stables allowed us to eat together at every meal. The outdoor communal space was perfect for the children to roam freely - cricket on the grass or playing in the adventure playground. But particularly useful was the fact that both cottages had entirely wheelchair accessible ground floors and spacious roll-in showers in the downstairs bathrooms. Karen even rented a mobile hoist that was waiting for us on our arrival - makes the holiday so easy for a wheelchair user. If someone is considering visiting with a wheelchair, of the two cottages the Stables definitely had more space for the wheelchair to get around past furniture, etc. Really high-quality accommodation, and lovely, helpful owners.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely home from home. Everything you would need to make this a great holiday home and location. Thanks to great hosts especially for the welcome hamper which was delicious !



A Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a special trip for our family as we were taking my Mum to see the Puffins on Skomer.
We arrived to a very warm welcome from Karen and she gave us some great advice about how to ensure we were on the boat over to Skomer and some tips about other places to visit. She explained how the cottage worked and then left us in peace to get on with our stay. The rooms are comfy and the cottage has absolutely everything you need in a self-catering property (Mum could not get over the fact that there was a bottle opener and salt and pepper already there!). The hamper on arrival was a lovely touch and the cheese didn't last 5 minutes.
The play area and garden was lovely and we sat happily watching the birds and my nephew made full use of the pirate ship.
Tiny niggles, the rugs and floor had hair from previous occupants and that was a bit off putting (especially when you have paid a lot of money) and the kitchen needs more large glasses. BUT THESE WERE TINY THINGS!
Lovely property and we'd happily stay there again.




Short break at Asheston Eco Barns

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Asheston Eco Barns. We again booked all 5 barns for a family party of 25. Karen and Jeff are very friendly and welcoming, and could not be more helpful. The hamper of local produce was well received. The accommodation is excellent, and the location and views are outstanding. Newgale beach and Solva are only a short drive away. The dining area in the Stables is ideal for large groups. A very successful weekend.



Great for family breaks

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Asheston eco barns came up trumps in all areas. The barns were fantastic, with all amenities supplied and very well kept. As a family staying with two young children both the barn and surrounding outside areas were great and provided fantastic entertainment. The barns are located a perfect distance away from many beaches, towns and attractions. All information of what is going on in the surrounding area is well documented in folders found in the barn. All in all we had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend the barns for a relaxing break. We hope to return to do some more exploring of the area.



A lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Stables on a shared extended family holiday which included two of the other barns. We had a wonderful time- a great location for kids with space to play, toys provided and a playground. We like the fact that it was ethically responsible



Fabulous for all ages

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are 2 families with children and stayed for the New Year's Eve weekend.
We had a wonderful stay, Karen and Jeff were very helpful and friendly.
There is a lot of attention to detail with everything, one might need, thought of and provided.
Would highly recommend.




Short break at Asheston Eco Barns

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all 5 barns for a family party of 22. Karen and Jeff are very friendly and welcoming, and could not be more helpful. The hamper of local produce is an excellent idea. The accommodation is superb, and the location and views are outstanding. Newgale beach and Solva are only a short drive away. The dining area in the Stables is ideal for large groups. All in all, a great weekend.



Packed with warmth, charm and all the essentials

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Karen and Jeff have done a wonderful job of creating a home from home with their eco barn conversions. Each lovingly restored and packed with warmth, charm and all the essentials anyone would need for a self-catering holiday - and then some. I would highly recommend a stay at Asheston Eco Barns.



Lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a large family group and stayed in the stables and the cart house. Karen was lovely and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble.

Welcome hamper was a lovely surprise. Karen also accepted and unpacked our food delivery before our arrival.

The ensuite in the cart house was amazing, roll top bath and double shower.

Lots of soft towels and toiletries.

We stayed in one day due to the weather and kids helped to build a fire with the wood provided.

Outside area was great. Large play area for the kids and toys. Zip wire for older kids!

It was a short drive (7 mins) to a pebble beach. Lovely views.




A tough of Fine Living

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


If you want a touch of fine living in the middle of no where, than Asheston Eco Barns in Pembrokeshire, West Wales, could be exactly what you are looking for. The complex is a few miles from anywhere and consists of a number of purpose built apartment stylised upon a rural farming environment.

I stayed in the ‘Stables’, a two storey apartment that could comfortably sleep a family of seven, so it was amazingly spacious for just myself and my PA. It had rural pre-war farmhouse décor elegantly balanced with all the mod cons you could ever need on holiday. It was certainly a home away from home and compared to many very posh hotels I have spent a night in for work, it was certainly the most relaxing night I have ever had away from home.

What I really liked was the amount of time and detail that had been spent getting the apartment right. There were beautiful ornaments everywhere you looked, and lots of useful things to occupy any family like books, puzzles, games and toys. I was also delighted with the Welcome pack provided which included a bottle of wine, fresh strawberries, welsh cheese and other goodies. The owner reassured me this was what everyone received, not just reviewers like myself.

The accessibility was to the expected standards but it did not go the extra mile, although it did not need to go the extra mile to be suitable for most guests. Upstairs was upstairs, which gave my personal assistant a nice break. There was a nice walk-in shower downstairs and the apartment key accessible feature was its spacious open plan environment.

If I had to make one criticism, it would be that the free wi-fi was only available on one side of the apartment. Along with the fact this complex was outside any mobile signal, it could make people feel isolated from their 21st century lives, which is not always a bad thing.




Short stay at the stables

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation excellent, very quiet and peaceful. Everything you need for a holiday and more supplied. Only stayed 3 nights but would definately go back.



wonderful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
had a wonderful stay at asheston eco barns. stayed at the stables with friends.enjoyed our time and the kids had fun, as there was lots for them to play with. the barn is beautiful and it would be all the more enjoyable to visit in summer.



A very comfortable, idyllic location.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time during our short stay at Asheston. Everything is very child friendly and our hosts were fantastic. The welcome hamper was a pleasent surprise and totally enjoyed the wine and cheese that evening, after our long drive. The barn itself was very comfortable . Lots of open spaces outside for the kids to run around.
We will definitely be back sometime in the future.




Short Family break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From booking our stay at the stables to when we left was effortless. A real welcome break. location was really good, The Stables offered all the space that we,( four adults two in their twenties and mum and dad in our sixties needed ). Karen was welcoming and helpful, everything was as advertised. A really well run business with a very personal hands on approach by the owners who wanted you to enjoy your stay. We would recommend to our friends the benefits which they offer in the choice of accommodation they profide.



A wonderful place for a family occasion.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family reunion could not have chosen a better venue for our children and grandchildren. The accommodation in all the barns was just right for each of the families. Separate houses made time alone with own family relaxing but we could all get together for the big events and in the evenings in the Stables with the largest living area. There was ample space in the grounds for all activities and the play area was a great hit with the grandchildren, who did not want to leave. One grandchild hoped he could live there always!! The staff were helpful and accessible for any queries or minor problems.



Review

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My party and I were very impressed with the standard of the cottage and the service provided - everything was catered for - and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.



Excellent standard of accommodation. Highly Recommended.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jun 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We were a group of 7 families accommodated in 4 of the cottages. Great. Nice view and arrangements. Kids enjoyed in the play area. Highly recommended.



Short Break over Easter 2014

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our short stay in this very comfortable cottage. The cottage is very well equipped and has everything you need for a serlf catering holiday. The grandchildren particularly enjoyed the Easter Egg Hunt on Sunday The local beaches are very child friendly and clean. Not a great deal to do in the area if the weather is poor for the childen but lots of lovely walks for adults. Would certainly visit again.



Fab Stay!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fab place to stay. Really enjoyed this 5 star weekend away in this peaceful area and perfect accommodation. Even though we live in Pembrokeshire ourselves, the children, aged between 4 and 12, thought we were miles away from home. The kids play area is magical. We will certainly come back again for a longer break!



Great family accommodation with eco style!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in the Stables at Asheston Eco Barns twice now and both visits have been fantastic. With two young children (3 and 5yrs) we have found it ideal. The grounds are safe, well equipped with fantastic play areas and large enough for lots of outdoor play and activity. The accommodation is very comfortable and everything you can imagine or you might forget is provided. The feel is stylish yet rustic and GENUINELY eco. The location is a very short drive from some fantastic beaches and stunning countryside, and if the weather isn't great there is more than enough to do with young children to still have great days out. Thoroughly recommended for a great relaxing holiday!