FB Twitter

Applebarn Cottage

Applebarn Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 74 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Originally the gardener's quarters, Applebarn is ideal for a family stay or for up to six adults. Deceptively spacious whilst maintaining the original style and character. Up to two well-behaved dogs welcome for a small charge. One of our Enjoy England 4 Star Gold Award cottages, meaning a high level of furnishings and fittings coupled with a relaxed style.

Back Again

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful holiday in our home from home.

What can I say that hasn't been said the last few years - cottage is lovely, feels very homely and dog friendly (even our dog knows which cottage to go to every year!) Ilkley itself is dog friendly too and has very good train links (we travel here by train every year), walks are on the doorstep and plenty of places to eat and drink in fact our dog takes us to the pub!!

Thank you to Tim and Justine for their help and thank you to Paula for the scrummy cake :)

We have already booked to return twice next year


Sarah from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Relaxed and luxurious

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay. Up to the Cow and Calf in about half an hour from your doorstep (if you're a fast walker!) The accommodation is luxurious and there's no skimping at all (you know what I mean : luxury toilet roll, complimentary cake and tea upon arrival, Fairy liquid in the kitchen no less... etc.!) There are plenty of things for the family to do : games, pigs to feed, trampolines to jump on and just lots to explore!

Maria from Preston stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in August 2017


Good Family Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our holiday at Applebarn Cottage. We had good days out arriving back in time for an early evening dinner at the Cottage. This is because we had two young children and two grown-up children with us. We really needed the comfort (and the television) in the early evening. We also visited the hot tub a couple of time before our evening meal.

We also appreciated the fact that a box of toys is provided (especially for the 3-year old girl). We made several visits to the animals and the younger children enjoyed feeding the chickens and the hens.


Peter from Bolton stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Loved our stay in Applebarn cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place to stay in Ilkley - good location, comfortable cottage, attractive buildings in a lovely setting, plus a very warm and hospitable welcome. Everything you look for when you hire a holiday cottage in fact.

Amanda from Monmouth stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in June 2017


Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay for Caroline's Hen Party, everything was absolutely exceptional and I cannot thank you enough!

Joanna from Ferryhill stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in May 2017


Perfect stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for a wonderful stay, we loved Applebarn Cottage, we were two families travelling so to have two double rooms plus a twin room for kiddies was ideal, not to mention the full size kitchen and living room...a true home away from home. The kids loved the basket of toys left as well as the trampoline and climbing frame in the garden and exploring the wendy house....so much for the kids to do before we had even stepped out of the property. Having lived in Ilkley before we knew the location would be ideal and it was, stroll down into the village or up onto moor. We had great weather too so we also enjoyed the garden at the back of the cottage. Will certainly be back to stay again in the future....if only for the amazing cake left by the owner which was divine!!

Guest from Vancouver stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights in May 2017


Everything you need and more

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a lovely place to be and spend some time.
Our one year old twins just loved exploring the house and little garden and meeting the pigs, chickens and rabbit. And trying out the little bikes. Was lovely to watch and made it all the more special.
Really enjoyed the moors and Ilkley Town itself too.


Graham from York stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in April 2017


In between houses

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely lovely stay at Applebarn cottage. The owners and staff always on hand to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Paula baked the best sponge we ever tasted too.

David from Keighley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 28 nights in March 2017


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our weekend in Applebarn Cottage. Very cosy, clean and well equipped. Peaceful location on edge of moor near great walks, yet also close to town centre.

Joanne from Teddington stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in February 2017


Our long weekend stay

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable stay. Good sized bedrooms. Good communal space and utility room. the location is fantastic. We had a large group staying at the three cottages and that worked extremely well.

Susan from Woldingham stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in February 2017


Xmas and New Year at Applebarn Cotttage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our turn to visit my sister in law and her family in Menston for Xmas and the New Year and as she does not have the space to put the 4 of us up we looked for self catering accommodation nearby. We have previously stayed at Gargrave but that is too far from Menston for virtually a daily visit, so she recommended Westwood Lodge and we booked early in 2016.

Keith from Norwich stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 10 nights in December 2016


A wonderfully warm welcome

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Applebarn Cottage is lovely. Tastefully decorated, comfy beds, a cosy sitting room and everything you need for a wonderful stay in this beautiful part of the world.

We were greeted warmly, like old friends, and with tea, coffee and cake. Justine took the time to explain everything and answer any questions and whenever we saw Tim he checked everything was ok and we were enjoying our stay. We really couldn't ask for more.

The cottage is a short walk from Ilkley town centre where there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. Walking back from town requires perseverance - its uphill - but this is not necessarily a bad thing, particularly if you've had a few extra sweet treats (because you're on holiday!).

There is wifi in the cottage and the owners have a good selection of DVDs you can borrow. It's worth walking upstairs to the rooftop terrace in the apartment building, where you get a magnificent view (perfect with a glass wine).

We have had a lovely stay. I would return, and hope to do so. And I can thoroughly recommend.


Julie from Sunderland stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in December 2016


Lovely

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Dec 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our tenth visit - need we say more? Excellent

.....................................................


Charles from Goring-by-Sea stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 11 nights in December 2016


Superb location

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like walking it's perfect with the moors literally on your doorstep.
If you like city/town breaks it is close to Leeds, York , Harrogate.
Lots of nice restaurants in ilkley.
Quiet location. Well equipped cottage.


Deborah from Skegness stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in October 2016


4 days in Yorkshire

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Applebarn was very comfortable for us. A plus was the location, very close to Ilkley centre but on the edge of the moors. The house was clean, very comfortable, well equipped and warm (important as one of our party is 96!) The parking was easy and adjacent to the house. It was an excellent choice for us and we plan to return. A bonus was the wonderful home made sponge on our arrival.

Sandra from Reading stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in October 2016


Short Break

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed at Westwood Lodge many times and as ever we had a lovely relaxing staying. The cottage is comfortable and fully equipped. The location is ideal and it is a lovely walk into the town.

Guest from Epsom stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in September 2016


Best of everything

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a high quality, peaceful self catering place where everything we needed would be provided. We wanted warmth and comfort. We got all of this and all of us would have been happy to stay longer if it were possible, it's a beautiful setting as well. If you stay here don't forget to save your leftovers for the pigs!

Sue from Inverness stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2016


Another wonderful reunion!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic company, brilliant accommodation, wonderful place! Amazing memories! Can't believe we have known each other 41 years! Apple barn is the perfect stay for us

Fiona from Huddersfield stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2016


Home from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our annual stay in our second home and still love coming here!!

Ilkley is very dog friendly and transport links are really good.

Big thanks to Tim, Paula and Justine (Paula's cake was lovely as always).



Sarah from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Lovely cottage at the edge of the moor and close to Ilkley town center

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spacious cottage with great country atmosphere. Even though the cottage is part of a larger complex, it still felt private. The cottage is very child friendly. Our two year old highly appreciated the box of toys available in the cottage. We had a private garden and access to a garden with pigs, hens and a rabbit. There was a trampoline and other outdoor toys to play with. The location is excellent for walking on lovely Ilkley moor. There is walking distance to the town center, which has lots of nice shops, coffee houses and restaurants. We highly recommend this cottage.

Ingebjoerg from Oslo stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Great place

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want beauty in surroundings....if you want comfort..... If you want home away......if you want value....if you want a central location in Yorkshire dales.... There is no better place.

George from Cullercoats stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great stay at a fantastic location, Justine and her team were warm and welcoming. Applebarn Cottage is well appointed and extremely comfortable. The property is perfectly located to visit the local landmarks and Ilkley has everything required including some fine dining restaurants and local style Yorkshire pubs. If you have got this far and you need somewhere in Ilkley to stay then I would recommend that you make a booking, for us it really was home from home.

Ray from Teddington stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


lovely weekend break

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Applebarn Cottage. There are beautiful walks at the doorstep. The cottage is very comfy, clean and child friendly. Ilkley is a pretty village. Our child (4yr) loved the little farm and play house.

Nicole from Manchester stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights in July 2016


Family friendly group accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented the three cottages which was perfect for our family get together. Set around a spacious courtyard, the accommodation is very well equipped. Great for children, toys are provided indoor and out, the trampoline was a big hit and the children loved feeding the pigs.

Jane from Magden stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


House renovation respite

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
To save our sanity during our local house renovations we're having a 2-leg stay in Applebarn Cottage over 8 weeks. From the word go the welcome, facilities and ease with which we could transition our lives over was fantastic. It is a true home from home. Thank you Tim, Paula and Justine.

Paul from Ilkley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 18 nights in April 2016


Lovely stay again

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really cosy, lovely cottage right by the moor. We've been several times and had a great time every visit. Location is perfect and Tim and the team are very friendly and helpful.

Sheila from London stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in March 2016


Great place to stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed staying in this lovely cottage. Fully equipped for cooking and baking we particularly loved the spacious kitchen and lounge area. Ideal for spending time with the family in a lovely area. Can only recommend it and we hope to be back.

Heike from Canterbury stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in March 2016


Visiting family

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A warm welcome and lots of good information (both verbal and written) on arrival. Great shower in the main bathroom and everything we required. The twin room was a little chilly when the West wind blew and the lighting in the sitting room was rather unfriendly, but apart from these little niggles everything was lovely. Hoping to stay again!

Jane from Ilkley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in February 2016


Lovely Family Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location is perfect being on the edge of the Moor yet only a short stroll down the hill into the lovely town centre of Ilkley. Our friends who live in the town reckon this is the best place to stay in the town and we wil certainly try to book it when we next visit. The apartment itself is quiet and ideal for our family of five.

Andrew from Brockenhurst stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in February 2016


Location superb, cottage lovely!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage, being able to step straight on to the moors for bracing walks and stunning scenery all around was the icing on the cake. The cottage was very well equipped, lots of nice touches that made it feel homely, a lot of thought has gone in to the cottage and everything was of a high standard. Location wise it was perfect as we wanted a mix of walks and retail therapy and Ilkley and Skipton satisfied us on both accounts easily! Would have loved to have stayed longer... next time hopefully ;o)
The owners send you lots of good info plus there are handy guides in the cottage that are worth a read and written in such a way you don't feel like its the ten commandments!, it all adds to a very relaxing feel to the place.


Pippa from Norwich stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in December 2015


LOVE, LOVE, LOVE.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab cottage in a fab location, moors are literally across the road, Ilkley centre 10 min walk down the road. Have been before and have booked again. Everything you could want or need during your stay is in the cottage including a beautiful cake for your arrival. Plenty of consumables, loo rolls/kitchen rolls/dishwasher tablets, etc. The cellars gym is great too which includes treadmill, stepper, rowing machine, water, showers/toilets, sauna, hottub and sunbed. And all this is dog friendly with bowls, poo bags and a few treats provided for your pooch, my dog LOVED it. Can't wait to come back in March for our anniversary.

Natalie from Barnsley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in November 2015


Beautiful comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a hen do, the communication leading up to the weekend with the owners was great. The cottages are beautiful and very comfortable.
And we also got good use from the gym and jacuzzi.
Short walk into town and into the moors.
Wonderful location, I hope we come back again in the future!
Ideal for friends or family get togethers.


Katie from Market Drayton stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights in October 2015


Another fabulous stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Westwood Lodge - we feel 'at home' there and when we leave we immediately talk about returning - we travel widely and make a point of not returning to the same place - for Westwood we make an exception!

Guest from Neston stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Hotel perfection!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Applebarn Cottage and Westwood Lodge, A fantastic location and superb lodgings made our trip to Ilkley memorable. Applebarn cottage is so comfortable - a home away from home.

Caroline from Toronto stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in September 2015


Fantastic weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay in Applebarn Cottage!! Perfect for a college reunion! 40 years since we began our adventure to become teachers at Ilkley College. A truly magical weekend.

Fiona from Huddersfield stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2015


Our Second Home

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have come to regard Applebarn Cottage as our second home having stayed here for the fifth time now!!

The cottage is very homely and nothing is too much trouble for Tim, Paula and Justine - Justine being a very good added bonus to the team.

Ilkley is so dog friendly, we even did a mini pub crawl with our dog and had a great night out.

Big thanks to Tim for collecting our luggage from the station and to Paula for the cake - scrummy as always.


Guest from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


Short weekend stay to visit family

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property was clean, comfortable and was well placed for our purposes. The cake was lovely and welcoming pack was handy since it was a long 7 hour journey up

Guest from Christchurch stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in August 2015


Short stay in a beautiful cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Applebarn Cottage was far too short for our liking! We booked last minute and could not have possibly wanted more from our break. Amazing x

Vikki from Sleaford stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in August 2015


Stay in July second time

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to stay at Westwood lodge for the second time in a different cottages and very pleasant stay again. Despite a bit of rain a great base to explore from. Comfortable beds, barbecues to borrow and the wonderful trampoline made it home from home. I'm sure we will be staying again!

Lindsay from Coventry stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Stay in July second time

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to stay at Westwood lodge for the second time in a different cottages and very pleasant stay again. Despite a bit of rain a great base to explore from. Comfortable beds, barbecues to borrow and the wonderful trampoline made it home from home. I'm sure we will be staying again!

Lindsay from Coventry stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


A Yorkshire treasure, we keep coming back

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great facility, spectacular location, family friendly. We have been before and will return.

(Stupid review facility - why do we need to fill 150 characters?????)


Guest from Falmouth stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 14 nights in July 2015


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall. However, we are disappointed that you were critical of the new leather sofas and dining chairs. The current trend is for comfortable low level settees and armchairs rather than firm upright ones. Lightweight duvets are available on request. However, previous experience has overwhelmingly shown that guests prefer heavier ones in the UK unless it really is scorching hot!

Four days in Applebarn Cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a really nice short stay here in Ilkley. The cottage at Westwood Lodge was really characterful and we had a warm welcome. The walking from the doorstep, the grounds, and the pigs, chickens would make this a good place for a family break. The hot weather made for great walking along the beautiful Wharfe valley at Bolton Abbey and Burnsall.

Guest from Hinckley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in June 2015


Best home away from home

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've had a brilliant stay at Applebarn Cottage. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and the beds are super comfortable. Kitchen well equipped with everything necessary for cooking etc. The location couldn't be more ideal with ample parking.

Carl from Saratoga stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in June 2015


Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was brilliantly equipped, very clean and super comfortable. The grounds surrounding the cottage were lovely and perfect for our toddler. It is very family friendly and they offer all sorts of equipment/toys to help make life easier. Oh and the location is fantastic; one side countryside, the other a short stroll downhill to a lovely town!

Guest from Egham stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


A lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location, lovely surroundings and a great little cottage. The rooms were all gorgeous with ample space and comfortable beds and the welcoming tea and cake as very appreciated!

Guest from Leeds stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in June 2015


A lovely home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 30 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage in a splendid location. We are repeat visitors to Westwood Lodge and we cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Ilkley. The wine/cake/crisps and welcome tray was much appreciated. The booking procedure was effortless and pre-arrival emails were timely and useful. Upon arrival, Justine popped in to make sure all was ok. It was and we feel sure that had there been any issues, she'd have sorted them as soon as possible! Everything you could possibly need is right there (pegs, sugar in the sugar bowl, properly useful crockery and kitchen utensils, I could go on for ages!). And in the bedrooms, there are power points near mirrors to make using a hairdryer easy. Top hotels don't get this right! I'd recommend Westwood Lodge without hesitation.

Guest from Broxbourne stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in May 2015


Everything we could wish for

Review submitted on Mon, 18 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ilkley is my home town, so I am always ready to have a wonderful time having lived overseas for many years. The cottages at Westwood Lodge are ideal for families in particular. We stay there when our adult kids come to join us from London and really enjoy having the chance to cook, eat together and talk, which is not so easy when staying in a hotel.

The only problem now is that I can't decide which of the cottages I like best. They are all lovely.


Guest from Corfu stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in May 2015


A Glorious Short Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Applebarn Cottage is excellently located - right on the moor and close to Ilkley town centre. The cottage is spacious and very well furnished with plenty of crockery/pots and pans etc. in the kitchen. The gym/spa area is small but a wonderful retreat after a long walk. It was useful to have an allocated parking space.

Guest from London stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in April 2015


A Glorious Short Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Applebarn Cottage is excellently located - right on the moor and close to Ilkley town centre. The cottage is spacious and very well furnished with plenty of crockery/pots and pans etc. in the kitchen. The gym/spa area is small but a wonderful retreat after a long walk. It was useful to have an allocated parking space.

Guest from London stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in April 2015


girls catch up weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weekend revisiting ilkley. You can walk up onto the moor or down into town. It was perfect for us,

we went to bettys tea room for brunch and to picollinos for dinner which were both really nice


Guest from Morpeth stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights in April 2015


Cottage near the moors.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely, warm and spacious cottage in a beautiful location. The perfect place to relax and unwind. Delicious cake, tea, crisps and wine to welcome us on arrival!

Guest from Sevenoaks stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in April 2015


Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th stay in Applebarn Cottage and we love staying here. The cottage has undergone a makeover since our stay last year and it is lovely with a very homely feel to it. Many thanks to Tim for collecting our luggage from the train station, it was very much appreciated (nothing is too much trouble for Tim, Paula and Justine).

Guest from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in March 2015


Thought of everything!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to stay, lovely cottage and atmostphere. The owners even offered to let us have toys, a high chair and stairgate etc for no added charge. The buildings are lovely and there is a mini farm with trampoline and summer house for the kids. Very nice and a safe atmosphere.

Fraser from Nottingham stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in March 2015


Nice Break on the moors

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Feb 2015
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was comfortable and within close proximity to lovely walks on Ilkley Moor. Ilkley itself is a nice town with good shops and eateries. When I booked the cottage, the website showed a trampoline and a football area with nets but this wasn't there which was a shame as my boys spent ages seeking them out; so once they had seen the pigs and chickens there wasn't quite as much to keep them entertained which was a bit misleading. There were a couple of other issues but these were resolved with management.

Guest from Littleborough stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in February 2015


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us during the winter half-term week. Applebarn Cottage has had a complete makeover during the winter with new decor throughout, new lighting, Bluetooth speaker and other equipment, hi-speed wi-fi and much new furniture. Certain outdoor children's activities here at Westwood Lodge are shown as available on a seasonal basis. The cottages reflect that February is out-of-season with prices being about 30% cheaper than at Easter or Whitsun. The pigs, hens, rabbit, Wendy House and Jenga were all available, as were all the indoor leisure facilities. We left the trampoline up last winter, but found it too dangerous to use, as it was constantly wet or icy. Guest safety is our number one concern - particularly young children. The trampoline will return at Easter, once the danger of frost and ice has passed. There are indoor childrens' play areas within a short drive, as well as Ilkley Park and skateboard area. Ilkley Moor has 2000 acres of Open Access land right outside our gates, that is suitable for all ages and open all year round, for trekking, orienteering, cycling etc. I'm curious where you saw pictures of football nets - certainly not on our website - as these haven't existed for several years. We found that guests preferred to go to Ilkley Park down by the River Wharfe, where there is a huge area for games of football. We hope that you will consider returning again during the main season.

A perfectly located cottage for exploring Yorkshire.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived to a warm and cosy cottage and a welcome from our host. Everything in the cottage was of the best quality, and each room was beautifully decorated and furnished. We had come for a walking week, and were able to access the Moors from the front door, and then walk down the hill to the town for our evening meal or a drink. On a bad day, we caught the train from Ilkley, and were in the cinema in Leeds within forty minutes. So convenient.
We would highly recommend Westwood Lodge Cottages to young and old alike as there is so much to enjoy, both at the Lodge and further afield.


Guest from Halesworth stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in January 2015


Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, very comfortable and kitted out to a high standard. A wonderful place for a family weekend celebrating a special birthday. Thoroughly recommend.

Guest from Worcester stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in January 2015


Our stay in Ilkley

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jan 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The time we spent at the apple barn, was a welcome visit home for us. We live in Canada and I always love coming back to Yorkshire. The cottage was as always lovely, clean and comfortable.

Guest from Oakville stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in December 2014


Stunning Location and Property

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here before and would not stay anywhere else while visiting this beautiful area and my family.

We travel over 500 miles from Orkney so its just lovely to arrive and know that things will be just "PERFECT" and being able to relax knowing that fact is a great start to our get away.

Thank you Paula and Tim for a amazing Property and accommodation.


Guest from Orkney stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 10 nights in October 2014


Stunning Location and Property

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here before and would not stay anywhere else while visiting this beautiful area and my family.

We travel over 500 miles from Orkney so its just lovely to arrive and know that things will be just "PERFECT" and being able to relax knowing that fact is a great start to our get away.

Thank you Paula and Tim for a amazing Property and accommodation.


Guest from Orkney stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 10 nights in October 2014


Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely spacious cottage,very well equipped and comfortable, and in a wobderful situation on Ilkley Moor. Certainly to be recommended to anyone.

Guest from Cheltenham Spa stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in September 2014


A little gem of a cottage in traditional Yorkshire beauty.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Frighteningly well-organised up front administration prior to visit. Personal introduction on arrival, good, and very little interference thereafter, better.
Cottage is ideally resourced and proportioned. Paula's cake was lovely, thank you.
The livestock were entertaining, notably the Porky twins!
Position for town and Ilkley Moor ideal, particularly if you want to get fit, keep fit or not be robbed on taxi fares! (£3.50 one way)
We'd most certainly return but get the guttering over cottage front fixed! :-)
PDW.


Guest from Chippenham stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2014


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The guttering on your cottage does need replacing - it's now 125 years old and rather rusty! However, we are a Listed Historic Building and need Listed Building Consent to replace it in a similar style. It must be metal and a similar Victorian profile - which isn't easy to replicate. We now have this consent and the replacement be carried out as part of a bigger refurbishment and upgrade this winter.

Third Stay At Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just stayed at Applebarn Cottage for the third time and it was as wonderful as ever. We found new walks to do and thoroughly enjoyed our walk to Bolton Abbey following the Dalesway Path Walk. Many thanks to Justine for collecting our luggage from us at the train station so we could have the afternoon in Riverside Park (really good park if like us you bring your dog). Ilkley is very dog friendly and our dog is always made very welcome at Westwood Lodge. We have already booked to stay again next year!!

Guest from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2014


Perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This has been the best holiday with my young children I have had, there was nothing we were without. Location was great, cottage was well equipped and super sized rooms, everything had been thought of - will definitely make me think about using premier cottages again.

Guest from Wimborne stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2014


great service and asistance with booking gaps - much appreciated

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
appreciated the new mattress.
We knew there were gaps in our bookings - which I overlooked - great "recovery" by Tim and help from Rombalds to look after Pam while I am back in NZ for a few days.


Guest from Ilkley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 11 nights in July 2014


even better than Orchard Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
like Applebarn better than Orchard.
a bit more spacious and better stairs for Pam's knees.
we are enjoying of Westwood extended stay very much.
Nothing is too much trouble.


Guest from Ilkley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in June 2014


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted that you've come back to stay for another couple of weeks during your extended visit from New Zealand. Applebarn Cottage actually has a very similar floor space to a Orchard Cottage (next door). I think it might be the room layout that gives the feeling of greater spaciousness?

Comfortable cottage in idyllic Ilkley

Review submitted on Tue, 27 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week in Applebarn Cottage. It has to be one of the most comfortable self-catering cottages that I've stayed in. It has everything you need and is situated in a perfect location to explore the Yorkshire dales.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here if you are planning to explore this area of Yorkshire.


Guest from Norwich stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in May 2014


Second stay and just as good!

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Mar 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a week here last year and decided to stay again.
Westwood lodge and Applebarn Cottage is just what we need ! Right on the moors, great for running, dog walking, walking. Ilkley is a lovely town with great pubs and restaurants and only a short walk away.
The cottage is really homely, we all settled including our aged Lab, very clean with everything you need included, lots of home comforts. Cake on arrival is very welcome.
No doubt we will return here again, as it ticks all our boxes for a perfect week away.


Guest from Bury St Edmunds stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in March 2014


Great short break

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in fantastic location. Thoroughly enjoyable. Delicious cake on arrival. Really useful information provided in property. Feeding pigs was fun. And a dry sunny day to walk on the moors was a bonus!

Helen from Warrington stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in February 2014


An excellent Christmas stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Applebarn Cottage was an excellent place for us to join up and stay with my mother, who lives in Ilkley at Christmas. It was very comfortable and welcoming when we arrived after a very long and wet journey to find a Christmas tree, sponge cake,tea and coffee and music playing. We all had a lovely stay.

Guest from London stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 5 nights in December 2013


Brilliant new year at applebarn

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place that i cannot recommend enough. Home from home so comfortable, clean andgreat facilities and close to likely town. Cannot wait to return.

Alice from Peterlee stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in December 2013


Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2013
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We only used the cottage as a base for 3 days while we visited a sick relative nearby, so we didn't make much use of it, its facilities nor visit any nearby attractions. It is nicely presented and furnished and a good base for those holidaying in that part of Yorkshire. The welcome tray was a nice touch.

Guest from Eastbourne stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2013


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
.. Bit surprised at your score for value. As you were visiting a sick relative and booked very late, we offered you the cottage at a loss making price! Hope you'll come and stay again though.

Ideal base for exploring yorkshire.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We choose Westwood lodge as it would accommodate 4 adults including my elderly parents who need a shower. The cottage was lovely and Tim was there with a warm welcome and cake !
It was an excellent base for exploring the local area and we loved the sculpture parks and Saltaire. We also had a great evening at the Alhambra theatre in Bradford including a delicious meal at their restaurant 1914.

The beds were really comfortable and I loved my pink cosy bedroom.
My only problem was the leather sofas, which we all found a bit too slippery! But in all the cottages are great, the pigs a delight to feed and talk too.
I walked down into town on a couple of occasions which was invigorating !
Thanks Tim and Paula, we may well be back soon.


Guest from Brighton stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2013


So happy there

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For many years we have been visiting Westwood Lodge; it is in fact the only place we think of when leafing through holiday brochures. No Spain, France or whatever for us, we stick to Westwood Lodge. The atmosphere is amazing, the cottages and apartments are clean and cosy and Tim is an excellent host. The setting so close to the moor is so beautiful. Last June we stayed in the Applebarn Cottage for the first time. It is quite large, it has good furniture and a kitchen-diner and two bathrooms. We were very content sitting in the sun in the garden at the back of the cottage. Or we climbed up to the roof terrace, admiring the views. Somehow the sun always seems to be shining in Yorkshire! During daytime we walked on the moor, visited the nice shops in Ilkley and made tours through the Dales. Being Dutch, we liked visiting the typically English pubs. What else can we say - except that in a fortnight we will be visiting Westwood Lodge again! Thanks to Tim and Paula we do not have to look any further for a happy and relaxing holiday.

Peter Zwolsman, the Netherlands


Guest from Bergen stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in June 2013


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review! Thank you! It's always a pleasure for us too when you come to visit us from The Netherlands. I remember the first time you stayed with us and recall you staring up at Ilkley Moor and across Wharefedale, seemingly having never seen moorland or a big valley before! Do come and stay again soon! Tim

Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful cottage with home from home comforts. The location is excellent with Ilkey Moors on the door step and walking into town is less than 10 minutes and the added bonus is that we can take our dog and there are good walks. Paula's home made cake is always a nice treat to be welcomed with. We've booked again for our 3rd stay at Westwood Lodge.

Guest from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in August 2013


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're always particularly pleased when guests arrive by train (or at least leave their car here during the stay). Ilkley has a fantastic train service and the station is just 10 minutes walk down the hill. There are also great bus services to places like Skipton, Bolton Abbey, Grassington, Harrogate etc. As you've proved on several occasions, it's very easy to stay with us without needing a car and we're always happy to try to meet you off your train at the station to save the walk (or shuttle bus) up the hill to us. Look forward to you returning same time next year! Tim