FB Twitter

The Main House

The Main House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 60 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Westwood Lodge is one of the most notable Listed Historic Buildings in Ilkley and The Main House accommodation includes all the principal rooms across three floors with five large bedrooms on the first floor and a further two in the The Wharfedale Rooms. The grand entrance hall features original elaborate encaustic tiling, whilst the grand staircase passes a huge and stunning original stained glass window. The large Victorian farmhouse dining kitchen has a four-oven Aga and is adjacent to your private bar, ready for you to stock! There are two large lounges and a further enormous (approx 450sq feet) dining room for a celebratory meal (for up to 28) with views out onto Ilkley Moor and featuring the original triple bay window, Victorian ornate radiators and elaborate plaster coving.

60th wedding anniversary

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired the Main house and apartments in Westwood Lodge for my parent's 60th wedding anniversary. The house lived upto all the other reviews that we had seen. Everything that you could need for a fantastic holiday is here. Justine was on hand to help.

Ruth from Basingstoke stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in August 2017


Perfect house for a hen weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
20 of us stayed in the house for my hen weekend, a beautiful quiet location with the option of a night out in Ilkley for some guests. Plenty of space for doing various activities and very well equipped. Thank you

Linsy from Northallerton stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in July 2017


My Wedding Weekend at Westwood Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time at Westwood Lodge on the weekend of July 13th - July 17th 2017. Our booking was easy to arrange with Tim and the staff on arrival so helpful - Justine made us feel welcome from the outset and was great at communicating information about the house both before and during our stay. Everything was so well organised and she was friendly, kind and extremely professional in her role. I had ordered an online shop to arrive on the morning of our arrival and when I got to the house, everything was unpacked and placed in the fridges and freezers - such a help! I had booked the house to accommodate my husband's family travelling all the way from Lebanon to attend our wedding. For some, it was their first time in the UK and Ilkley was a great setting to introduce people to Yorkshire. The house was just perfect with Victoria Sponges on arrival and a welcoming, warm Aga in the kitchen to make the place constantly warm and comfortable. The luxurious rooms in the Main House and extra accommodation which surrounds the House make it ideal for large groups and families to meet up and spend quality time together. I can't recommend this property enough for a short stay in Yorkshire - it's a place that you just don't want to leave!

Lucy from Leeds stayed at The Main House for 4 nights in July 2017


Birthday celebration at Main House. Westwood lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fabulous. Nothing to fault at all. We were 20 girls celebrating a 50th birthday. The house and location are stunning. All of the rooms are beautiful and we had an amazing time. The manager Justine and the owner Tim could not have been any more helpful. Great for special celebrations.

Kay from Durham stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in June 2017


Wonderful family get together home in a superb location.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All family members ranging from newborn to grandparents had a wonderful stay in this beautiful home.
Facilities are excellent & the welcome cakes provided by the owners were delicious!!


Julie from Hartlepool stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in June 2017


Beutifully appointed large house in idyllic location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our party of 12 included four children and a labrador but we all had loads of room and there was something for everybody. The attention to detail both in the house and its upkeep, and the way in which it has been furnished and equipped, was really impressive and the location was amazing and perfect for our visit.

Guest from Stamford stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in June 2017


Fabulous family weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 3 nights to celebrate Mums 70th Birthday. From start to finish the whole weekend was fantastic. Beautiful property in fantastic countryside but perfectly located, short walk to Ilkley village. The house is fabulous, well kept with every little detail catered for and a lovely welcome pack which saw us through the weekend with plenty of cake!
Catered meal from More More More delivered to the property the day before well worth the money and very tasty. Perfect house for a big family for the kids and the grown ups to enjoy with plenty of places to enjoy quiet time too. Everyone had a blast oh and don't forget to visit the roof terrace with views of the stunning Yorkshire countryside and a bottle of fizz thank you for a wonderful weekend ❤️


Louisa from Ripponden stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in May 2017


Hen Do/Family Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super house that provided everything we needed. The facilities gave options for everyone and it was great that so many of us could be together.
Homemade cake was a lovely touch and tasted delicious, thank you.


Jane from Leeds stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in April 2017


A perfect Xmas House

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family party of 12 adults and 6 children, for which the house was perfect because it was so 'roomy' and comfortable. On the middle landing of the house, there were 5 bedrooms, yet we did not feel on top of one another at all because of the layout and the fact that it was an old solid house, so each of the rooms were big and spacious. However, some of the bedrooms could hear the people above them (pattering children's feet & loud radio), which was from the apartments at the top of the house...
The kitchen was very well equipped, the only challenge being that none of us were used to cooking on an AGA and the seperate hob was a bit hit and miss.
However, we had a perfect Xmas meal on Xmas day, because we all got together in the little bar next to the kitchen for a Xmas cocktail and toast and then we moved into the large dining room for our meal.
We had to re-arrange the dining room somewhat & add some of our own Xmas Decks in order to create a bit more ambiance in the dining room (rather than it feeling like a boardroom or canteen).
The house deco was by no means fancy, it was functional which was great when you have little kids running around.
It was also lovely to not have to get into a car to go anywhere, because there was plenty of exercise to be had right on the doorstep - walking in the moors or shopping in the town centre.
On Xmas day we even managed to get the youngest kids out for a walk as well as the older grandparents. We strolled down to the little lake on the moors and could've continued to the pub 'calf and the cow', but we decided it was too far for the youngest and oldest amongst us, without having a reservation. But i would definately suggest that you book (because they get extremely busy) the Calf and The Cow Pub for an outing and walk there (40mins across the moor) and get taxi's back. It would've been a great to walk there for a boxing day lunch.
The other pub that we loved was the craft beer pub called Friends of Ham in the town centre, which was a very easy walk to get to from the house. (We should've gone there for a few Xmas Eve drinks).



Guest from Chichester stayed at The Main House for 7 nights in December 2016


Location, location, location!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house in an amazing position - right across the road from Ilkley Moor, but only a few minutes walk into town. The common rooms (living and dining rooms) are well designed and furnished, with plenty of space for all the guests to relax and socialize. There is a useful range of bedroom sizes and layouts, and a decent sized kitchen for catering. The gardens are lovely, and we enjoyed meeting the pigs, chickens and rabbit!

Alan from Bury St Edmunds stayed at The Main House for 7 nights in December 2016


Amazing hen do location!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood Lodge was excellent. The pictures do not do it justice. Such a beautiful house in a stunning location, just a short walk from the town centre. The house had everything we could possibly need and more. Paula and Tim were very accommodating too with our requests. We're just trying to find another reason to go back!

Anna from Gateshead stayed at The Main House for 2 nights in November 2016


Amazing House... the most fabulous stay !

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing time at Westwood Lodge... From meeting Christine the manager on arrival, who showed us everything we needed to know then left us for the weekend in this amazing house..
We enjoyed walking and also cooking on the sunday, in the fabulous kitchen !!!



Samantha from Sheffield stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in November 2016


Main House 5 Star

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation for a large gathering of different age groups. Owners of the property were helpful and friendly. Plenty of things to do in and around the property, feeding the pigs was a big success for all the guests. Spacious but cosy rooms. We all really enjoyed our stay.


Sally from Ilkley stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in November 2016


Great location for families of all ages

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit & we rarely go back so that says it all.
First visit was with 4 teenage boys, who used the gym, sauna & hot tub daily as well as walking on the moors with us.
This visit was for our 50th birthdays so we had people from teenagers to 80+, all of who were catered for. Plenty of walks, teashops, crsft centres & pubs for one & all. Kitchen, with aga & big scrubbed table was focal point of the week, a really lovely home from home feeling. The property is large enough to house us all with plenty of room so we didn't get on top of each other.
Thoroughly recommend this holiday location.


Paulette from 65700 Haute Pyrenees stayed at The Main House for 4 nights in October 2016


An Autumn break in Ilkely

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood Lodge was a fantastic choice for us as we were such a large party. Not only is it an impressive building but its location tucked underneath the moor is ideal for both walking and town. We liked all the little quirks like the pigs and hens, the welcome tea and cake, the Jacuzzi and the fabulous huge dining table. The latter was great for a spot of fine dining. The meet and greet tour was really useful as it is such a large building it'd take days to work it all out for yourself.

Tim from Reigate stayed at The Main House for 2 nights in October 2016


Absolutely amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this for my sister hen party and what an amazing house we all wanted to move in permanently. We were greeted by one of the owners Tim and showed us around and how this worked and there was 2 home made cakes waiting for us with tea and coffee. Beautiful rooms awesome, hot tub, stunning grounds and stain glass window could of picked a more perfect place. Would highly recommend for a nice chilled break with a short walk down into ilkley where we went to Betty's for afternoon tea. Would definitely stay again

Kayleigh from Grantham stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in September 2016


Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were upgraded to the Main House. We were very pleased with the standard of the accommodation and the gym and hot tub, and thought that the information we were given before the holiday was accurate and to the standard we found when we arrived. The animals were a bonus and the children really enjoyed them.

This is an excellent base for visiting both local amenities and also those a little further afield.

We were grateful for the 'phone call from Tim the week before we were due to arrive, and for the help and friendly manner of Justine when we arrived and during our stay.

A really enjoyable holiday - we've already booked for next year.

Veronica and Peter Kellett



Peter from Bolton stayed at The Main House for 4 nights in August 2016


Daughters hen party

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Westwood lodge was the perfect venue for my daughters hen party, everything you could possibly require was available , the house is beautiful and situated near enough to Ilkley centre to allow people to walk . We had 16 people staying and 24 people for the hen party meal . The only negative point is the water in the main house was not very hot for showering or baths. Everyone loved staying at this beautiful house and I would recommend it to anyone requiring accomodation for a special party . Thank you to the owners to for their attention to detail.

Pauline from Wakefield stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in August 2016


Excellent party house for extended families

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The main house was perfect for our family celebration of my dad's 90th birthday. We had 26 people at the table for 2 evening meals and having 2 dishwashers was a real bonus. We had everything we needed and the gym, hot tub and sauna were an added extra that most of us made use of. The house is beautiful, the views from the rooftop terrace are stunning and we all agreed it was a fantastic venue. The only things to watch out for (and its probably all in the small print that I didn't read) are the stairs down to the wharfedale rooms are not suitable for anyone who is a bit unsteady, so be careful when you allocate rooms and the fire doors are heavy and again hard for anyone over a certain age. The owners being willing to receive the sainsburys delivery and put it all in the fridge and freezer before we arrived on the Friday was just fantastic and massively appreciated along with the yummy cakes on arrival, just such a lovely touch that makes all the difference

Elizabeth from Stratford-upon-Avon stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in July 2016


Fantastic weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the main house for my sisters hen do weekend in July 2016, everyting in the house was perfect.
There were 18 of us and we had the best weekend. I could'nt reccomend Westwood Lodge more.
Amazing weekend.


Karen from Burley-in-Wharfedale stayed at The Main House for 2 nights in July 2016


Beautiful house in a gorgeous location

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a huge, spacious house with lots of room for everyone. Thoughtfully furnished and very well equipped. We had a lovely stay and would love to return. Gorgeous area with lots to see and do.

Nikki from York stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in June 2016


Firmin Family Wedding Group

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and layout of The Main House was PERFECT for our family of three generations celebrating a family wedding in Ilkley. The bride and groom even had a four-poster bed! The animals and play areas with toys were a huge hit with the cousins. Tilly and Terry the pigs did VERY well from our left overs! The family loved the fact that there was excellent cycling, climbing and walking on the doorstep. The sunsets from the roof terrace were stunning. The bar area was great with a huge drinks fridge and plenty of glasses and bar stools. The kitchen was so cosy with a constantly-warm Aga and the table could seat 12 people for informal meals and breakfasts. All-in-all a great house for a large group of 20 people. Thank you!

Liz from Harpenden stayed at The Main House for 7 nights in May 2016


Hen weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would defiantly reccomend this house and stay again! It was very flexible to our needs and wishes. We had an amazing weekend, beautiful house and approachable owners. We were able to bring it other services with ease such as caterers and clairvoyants etc. Thanks for making it an amazing weekend for all 20 of us !!!!

Madeleine from Whitby stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in May 2016


Posh Hen Party!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 20 on a hen party and we all had a fabulous weekend. The house is gorgeous, so spacious and very impressive. Our welcome was warm and genuine and we arrived to two delicious Victoria sponge cakes made by the owner, and the owners could not do enough to make sure our stay was the best it could be.

Having stayed in quite a few large properties for weekend get togethers or large family holidays this has to be the best property I have stayed in. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a small or large place to stay.


Kay from Alton stayed at The Main House for 2 nights in May 2016


Excellent stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a Hen Do for 3 nights. There were 21 girls and everyone had a fantastic time. The owners are very kind and helpful. They responded quickly to emails, sent us an information email before our arrival with suggestions of things to do etc, and even baked cakes for our stay! The lodge was extremely clean and had everything a large group could need. The hot tub went down very well! It was a fabulous weekend! I would definitely recommend for a large group stay!

Elizabeth from Leeds stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in April 2016


Stunning house in an amazing location

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired the Main House and also The Wells and The Moorfield apartments for my sons 30th celebration over Easter for 20 members of our family.
As the age ranges were 3-75, the house was perfect for our needs. Having 3 reception rooms and a lovely large kitchen, there was enough space for us all to be together and also sufficient space for those who needed to escape the children!!!!!
The house is stunning, impressive and comfortable without being OTT, (once we had shut away the beautiful gramophone and piano, declaring them out of bounds)! This meant the parents could relax and enjoy the house and its surroundings without worrying if the children were touching things they shouldn't!! They loved the dressing up box- from the 3 year old to the 12 year old!
There is everything you need, provided in the house but if you're an aga user take your own bake-o-glide! (I can understand why it isn't provided)!!
The bedrooms are lovely, hair dryers and clean fluffy towels in every room and the beds are very comfortable with lovely fluffy quilts-we all slept soundly.
The Victoria sandwich cakes were scrummy and enjoyed by all and a very nice homely touch.
The location is absolutely perfect, lovely and peaceful but a short stroll, (downhill), to Ilkley town and everything it has to offer. Fantastic restaurants and a wide variety of shops. There are many beautiful walks right on your doorstep and as it was our1st trip to The Dales, we would have done more exploring, had I not broken 2 bones in my arm......but fear not we will be back very soon and wouldn't stay anywhere other than Wetwood Ldge. Tim and Paula and the team are lovely people, very welcoming and are there if you need them and inconspicuous if you don't!!!
Can't think of any negatives-1 person in our party mentioned a tv in the kitchen, myself I am not so sure. Nothing wrong with good old conversation!


Elaine from Adstock stayed at The Main House for 7 nights in March 2016


60th Birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous house for group of 14 ladies for 60th birthdays. Brilliant location and facilities, lots of room and gorgeous rooms. One shower leaked but was sorted quickly.

Janine from Sedgefield stayed at The Main House for 4 nights in February 2016


Family weekend getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood lodge surpassed our expectations . The weather could have been kinder but it was great to return to a warm house with home from home comforts after a wild weather walk on Ilkley moor which is right on the doorstep .


Carolyn from Skipton stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in January 2016


An exceptional venue.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We are quite a large family (18 of us!) so getting everyone together in one place at the same time isn't easy and pleasing everyone is nearly impossible but one thing we all agreed on was the lodge; I would definitely come again!

Timothy from Bradford stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in December 2015


Amazing

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tim and the team have created something very special with Westwood Lodge. An amazing experience is an equally amazing location. Highly recommended to groups of all sizes

Colin from Beaconsfield stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in December 2015


Fantastic accommodation!!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the Main House at Westwood Lodge for a sophisticated hen weekend for my sister. Everything about the accommodation totally exceeded expectations. Before we arrived we had a large shopping order delivered to the house which was kindly received and put away by the owners. When I arrived I was greeted by Paula who was extremely welcoming, she showed me around the huge accommodation which was warm and cosy, and decorated tastefully with christmas decorations which made it look even more special! There was ample space for a group of 20 of us- every guest was astounded by the quality and grandeur of the property which was exceptionally clean and tidy.

A bonus to the house was the massive dining room which has a long table that seated everyone so we could all sit down and have a special meal together- after searching around and looking at lots of other self catering accommodation I discovered this luxury was hard to come by with such a large group. We also had access to a small gym area as well as sauna and hot tub/jacuzzi which helped to make our stay extra relaxing. We really loved visiting the 'animal corner' which is right next to the house in the garden area. The pigs were so comical and we took left over food to them every day as well as food for the chickens and rabbits.

The house has absolutely everything you will need including a detailed welcome book with extensive information about the house and the local area. The owners were always available if we had any queries- Tim even came over during the evening to help us when we were struggling to use the aga and he kindly offered to take our food and cook it in his oven! We were provided with a complimentary welcome tray which included some local teas and homemade Victoria sponge- which was absolutely delicious!

It was our first ever visit to Ilkley and we were all so impressed with how lovely it was. The town is a 10 minute walk from the house and has a range of nice shops, cafes and pubs. It is a really beautiful area and the views of the countryside from the house are tremendous!

My sister had such a fantastic weekend celebrating her hen do with all of her close friends and family and this was made extra special by such an outstanding accommodation. It was a total surprise for her and when she arrived she described her first impressions as "breathtaking". Thank you so much to the owners of Westwood Lodge for helping to make it such a magical weekend. The only disappointment was that we had only booked for the weekend instead of the whole week!


Pat from Derby stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in December 2015


Family short break in Yorkshire

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely family time with some fabulous walks. Great size rooms with some beautiful Victorian features. Very comfortable for 15 people. Tim and Paula were very helpful too.

Guest from Warrington stayed at The Main House for 2 nights in November 2015


Holiday at Ilkley

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful welcome and fantastic holiday in a beautiful part of England,the cottage was absolutely fabulous,the children and adults loved the pet corner and the cake was womderful.We would all love to return to this fantastic house

Leslie from Alfreton stayed at The Main House for 4 nights in October 2015


Wonderful house and location

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a hen do, the communication leading up to the weekend with the owners was great. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. We loved sitting in the kitchen next to aga! And we also got good use from the gym and jacuzzi.
Short walk into town and into the moors.
Wonderful location, I hope we come back again in the future!
Ideal for friends or family get togethers.


Katie from Market Drayton stayed at The Main House for 2 nights in October 2015


Wonderful place!

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Twenty of us stayed here for a hen weekend in September and it was absolutely wonderful. The house was spotless, the beds were extremely comfortable and we were received warmly by the manager and a welcoming spread in the kitchen including two delicious homemade cakes!!!

The house itself is fantastic, very spacious but homely at the same time. Extra features such as the bar, then the gym, hot tub and sauna in the basement and the rooftop terrace just added to the luxurious feel to the property.

We couldn't fault Westwood Lodge, the location is great and it's very easy to find. It really did provide the perfect setting for a relaxing, girls weekend away. We were sad to say goodbye to the pigs!

Thank you.


Emma from Macclesfield stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in September 2015


Perfect hen party venue

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house has so much space and different areas, perfect for a hen party. We weren't all on top of each other but the communal rooms were plenty big enough and so comfortable. Massive dining room and the roof terrace is huge and has spectacular views. The house is furnished to a high standard and had everything we could ever need. We spent most of the time enjoying the house but did venture out into ilkley one afternoon, a pleasant 15 min walk. It is the perfect venue for a party or gathering with friends and family, would highly recommend!

Guest from London stayed at The Main House for 2 nights in August 2015


A luxurious treat

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used Westwood Lodge as the gathering point for family and friends coming from Australia for our wedding. We could not have hoped for a more perfect experience. It's both homely and luxurious at the same time, has enough space for multiple family groups to co-exist, and shows Yorkshire off superbly.
The hosts are exceedingly helpful but inobtrusive. Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy, an impressive feat given the size of the house.
It has everything we needed, from preparing dinner for 20, to hosting lazy prolonged breakfast, to baking wedding cakes and getting dressed for a wedding. The kids couldn't decide whether to play games, dress-ups, visit the animals or just spend hours sliding down the massive staircase!
The 10 year reunion is already being planned!!


Guest from Farsley stayed at The Main House for 7 nights in June 2015


An excellent weekend had by all

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish the weekend was a blast! We were greeted by the lovely Justine who told us all we needed to know about the house and then were left to explore the bedrooms etc. We headed straight up to the roof terrace with some Prosecco and enjoyed what was left of the evening sunshine. Graham (artful hen) joined us on Friday evening for a couple of hours of fun - we would highly recommend this activity! On Saturday morning we had time to recover from our hang overs in the hot tub and had a nice walk into Ilkley to blow the cobwebs off before a lovely afternoon tea in the huge dining room which got all 18 of us ladies together. We ate at Piccolinos on Saturday evening and sampled some drinks at a few of the lovely bars in Ilkley.
Sunday was a day to recover and relax, enjoying the house, gardens and facilities. And no one wanted to leave on Monday morning - a weekend definitely isn't long enough at this amazing house. The house was fantastic, just what we wanted and the area was perfect for a girly weekend away. We met Tim and Justine who were so pleasant and helpful - we really couldn't have asked for anything more and will definitely be returning...


Guest from Bradford stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in June 2015


Excellent Venue for a Relaxing Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A delightful weekend spent relaxing in this comfortable country home in beautiful surroundings. The basement hot-tub & sauna was a particular highlight.

Guest from Gateshead stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in May 2015


What fun!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as an extended family grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, brothers sisters, babies...
It was a great place to stay - the younger ones immediately found the dressing up box (provided) and lived in a variety of outfits all week! They loved feeding the pigs and the playhouse in the garden too.
There was space and quiet for the elder members of the group too.
A great kitchen to prepare large meals to be served on the huge dining table.
This didn't fall short in any way for our group of 20 of all ages. Would heartily recommend!


Luke from Ampthill stayed at The Main House for 4 nights in March 2015


A review for Westwood Lodge, Main House.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Apr 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All my family met for an Easter Holiday, sharing the house and the facilities. We loved the house, the area and thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. It was great being so close to the moors.

Guest from Tonbridge stayed at The Main House for 7 nights in April 2015


Big House suitable for adults, children and dogs too!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jan 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Main House was great for our large family friends get together for new year. We were all pleasantly surprised how well equipped the house was for a large group especially in the kitchen &dining room. The living space , again great as giving different sitting areas ( one with no TV) suited us fine . The owner had also made the effort to dress the house for Christmas which made it very homely . The children loved the pigs and chickens and also the super equipped toy box and dressing up box.
A few points that could be improved on .. Some of the sofas could do with replacing as they are not very comfortable and some of our friends who slept on the first floor said the mattresses were very hard.( neither of these points spoiled our stay )
All in all we had a great time and The Main House surpassed our expectations, so Thank you and Yes we would recommend the house to our friends.
The position was also good as it was easy to step outside and go walking on the moor or just 10 mins walk downhill to Ilkley for cafés , shops etc


Guest from Greenmount stayed at The Main House for 6 nights in December 2014


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're pleased that you had an enjoyable New Year stay! We have plans to replace some of the sofas for 2015. The mattresses on the first floor are nearly all new and top of the range quality. We opted for "firm" because guests had previously commented about some mattresses being too soft! Although it is a matter of personal preference, our standard for all future replacements (of which there are another five this winter) is "medium firm". Hope you decide to stay with us again!

We had an excellent stay over Xmas 2014

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was perfect for an extended family get together. We were very comfortable. Excellent woodburner, and very well-equipped kitchen. Kitchen turned out to be our favourite place for eating.

Guest from London stayed at The Main House for 7 nights in December 2014


What a fantastic house!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had the most amazing weekend. Thank you so much. Beautiful house and surroundings and we loved the pigs! We would definitely look into booking again if the opportunity arose and will be recommending the place to friends and family. So much to do and see and the jacuzzi was an extra bonus :)

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in November 2014


My 60th Birthday

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A fantastic birthday celebration weekend with all the family.
A lovely house , in a great location on the edge of the moors .
Thank you Westwood Lodge


Guest from Ripon stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in October 2014


Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Westwood Lodge in The Main House was amazing from start to finish. We cannot fault a thing and will definitely book again. Thank you Tim and Paula x

David from Middlesbrough stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in October 2014


Great place for large groups

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed as a large group of friends with several small children. The property was very clean and comfortable with plenty of space and lots of kitchen equipment provided. The grounds were lovely and everyone enjoyed the trampoline and feeding the pigs especially. The location in particular was great - no car necessary, both for town and to get onto the moor which is very rare. Thank you and we would definitely recommend for a short break.

Guest from Exeter stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in October 2014


beautiful house

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot recommend this impressive house highly enough. Hosts were very helpful and sent lots of useful info before our stay. All rooms well presented and comfortable. Lovely cakes waiting on arrival was a nice touch. Very laid back and all made very easy and straightforward for us.

Naomi from London stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in September 2014


A wonderful, character filled, spacious house which made our holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Westwood Lodge. The main house was spacious and really well equipped. The whole family enjoyed staying in such a wonderful house. Both Tim and Paula were super helpful and pleasant. Thanks for such an amazing holiday!

Suzie Head.


Guest from Southport stayed at The Main House for 4 nights in August 2014


Holiday with extended family

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to Westwood lodge as a party of 19 family members with children through to grandparents! The house was large enough that we all had plenty of room to be together or by ourselves as we wanted. Generally well equipped although we did have to plan our cooking etc as we are unused to an Aga! A problem with the hot water occurred during our stay but was promptly looked into so can't complain. Generally a fantastic house, with plenty of room, large pleasant sitting rooms, dining room, kitchen and bedrooms - although not all are en-suite. We had a great holiday and it's a great location for walking, or sightseeing.

Guest from Fareham stayed at The Main House for 7 nights in May 2014


A hidden gem!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent ages looking for a suitable place to celebrate my father's 90th birthday. I'm so glad I found Westwood Lodge! With four generations of people, all with different needs, it was a challenge. I needn't have worried as there's loads to do in Ilkley and the local area. Particular hits included cycling (The Tour de France is going through the town in July!), shopping, walking, the pubs and Betty's tearooms. The Main House is just stunning. A kind of shabby-chic perhaps but with a huge dining room, farmhousey kitchen (my wife now wants an AGA too!) and brilliant wi-fi and cable TV, everyone was satisfied.

Guest from stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in May 2014


A beautiful house with attentive staff

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was beautiful and huge. It had been cleaned and prepared to an excellent standard, including a surprise welcome afternoon tea consisting of tea and 2 huge cakes. The only downside was that the unsupervised children in the shared gym made a lot of noise very early in the morning disturbing some of our party. House and surroundings amazing we had a wonderful time.

Nicola from Urmston stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in April 2014


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted that you had a great stay! Unfortunately, despite clear signs, we did have a few problems with unsupervised children from another cottage (see other feedback for the same weekend)messing around in the workout room, leaving the jacuzzi cover off etc. Thank you for your tolerance. We would ask to be contacted if this ever happens again as - you're right - a gym with heavy weights is no place for children to be left to play.

A wonderful getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great break at Westwood Lodge and would highly recommend it. Our group of 8 Adults and 8 children (Aged1-7) were more than adequately accommodated. There were more than enough toys and dressing up costumes to keep the kids happy and I doubt you'll find anywhere better to play hide and seek! For the grown ups, the property was equally fantastic. The kitchen had everything we needed and the bedrooms and living areas were both comfortable and luxurious.

Guest from Cambridge stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in February 2014


Fantastic location for a family reunion

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastically successful family reunion in this stunning house that has been lovingly restored. The kitchen, with its fabulous aga was cozy yet spacious for family meals and the main living room with its real fire very cosy and sociable on a cold winter's evening. The other lounge provided space for the children to play and get away from the grown ups.
The bedrooms are huge and beautifully appointed.
The basement offered a jacuzzi and sauna (very relaxing) and a good set of gym equipment (untried). Our young nephew loved the pigs in the garden and we were impressed that the owners have built their own eco-house sympathetically in the grounds.
Famous Ilkley Moor, with its stunning views and scenery is literally across the road.
Great welcome from the owners who had set a fire for us and left a huge cake.
All helped to provide a perfect weekend for our reunion.


Guest from Ilkley stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in January 2014


Emily's Hen Party

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a hen party at the Main house and it was ideal. All together under one roof, with a clean and welcoming house and extremely comfy beds. Lots of rooms to entertain or just relax in.
A very well equipped kitchen with everything you need and the luxury of having an aga.

Really welcoming staff and extremely helpful getting the car unloaded.

Would highly recommend the Main house to other people and hope to get the opportunity to return one day.


Guest from Liverpool stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in January 2014


Family Celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Nov 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great accommodation for a family celebration - we had 20 + family together over the weekend and the facilities met all our requirements. In fact we didn't have time for the sauna or spa pool or getting out onto the moor above Ilkley but the house is in a great location and only a few steps from being totally alone in the countryside. Nice to see the pigs & chickens. Good internet access as well which kept the younger members of the family amused.

Guest from Stockton-on-tees stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in November 2013


John & Pat's Ruby Wedding anniversary

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Definately had the "wow" factor , location superb looked onto moors. Large family party from 1 year to 63 years, all had fab time. Ilkley a gem , thanks.

Guest from Wigan stayed at The Main House for 3 nights in October 2013


Westwood Lodge Ilkley

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Westwood Lodge from the Internet to fit a large family group of 20 adults and 7 children, ranging in age from 91 to 6 weeks, and could not have found a better place for a week's holiday. Six of the adults stayed in one of the cottages and the rest in the main house. After arriving from all corners of the country - Scotland, Cornwall, London and the Midlands - nothing was more welcome than the lovely tea tray set out with two huge Victoria sponge cakes.

Paula, the owner, was friendly, approachable and most attentive when a minor fault developed with the dishwasher and this was immediately put right. The house was warm and extremely comfortable and the beds and quilts quite luxurious. Sitting rooms and bedrooms were huge and at no time did we feel 'on top of each other'. We dined each night in the beautiful dining room - there can't be many houses where 20 people can sit down to a meal together at the same table - and the room doubled as a playroom during the day. The cosy kitchen became a focal point for much of the day, for breakfast, lunch, meal preparation and ceilidh in the evenings when the musical instruments were produced.

The children were extremely well catered for, entertainment-wise, with a vast assortment of clothes in the dressing-up box, toys and games of all descriptions, animals and pigs to feed daily, large trampoline, beautiful Wendy house and some outdoor toys. For adults the gym was a big attraction at the end of the afternoon, with sauna and hot tub.


Guest from Northampton stayed at The Main House for 7 nights in October 2013


Amazing English home

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great experience for 11 family & friends from Australia to stay as in UK for family wedding. Ideal for entertaining with all facilities and great kitchen, where everyone could congregate. spotlessly clean ,spa & sauna used daily. Rooftop patio with incredible views perfect for pre dinner drinks. Great walks in area and delightful village with great shops. Highly recommend.

Guest from West Melbourne stayed at The Main House for 7 nights in August 2013


Happy holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Old and young from far and near met to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday and all, from grandchildren to grandparents, family and friends, had a wonderful holiday.

Guest from Inverbervie stayed at The Main House for 7 nights in July 2013


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for staying with us. It was great to see your family and friends - of all ages - enjoying themselves. Hope you'll return for the 75th party!