FB Twitter

The Old Gallery

The Old Gallery

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 70 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


The Old Gallery offers a great ChicHens venue for a smaller group. It has ground and first floor bedrooms, including a bathroom with M2 wheelchair access. It's our flagship, award winning Enjoy England Five Star cottage for up to 10.

Ilkley College reunion

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing time and staying in the old gallery made it extra special, as the buildings had belonged to the college in 1970s. The owners have restored them with obvious love and pride, no expense spared. The restorations are beautiful. Because of its size five friends were able to have a bedroom each. The whole place is spotlessly clean (and I'm fussy!) also a couple of us have allergies to feathers, so they very kindly changed all the bedding to anti allergy before we arrived. We were met by Justine who is very friendly and welcoming, and Paula had made us a delicious cake. I can't praise it enough and would love to go back there one day :)

Marie-clare from Wigan stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in September 2017


a thoroughly relaxing stay in a beautiful location on the fringe of Ilkley with all the attractions

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay in a beautiful area and Ilkley is a gem of a town. there are many attractions in the area

Steuart from High Peak stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in August 2017


Weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great property on the edge of the moor within walking distance of town. Pictures do not do justice to how spacious the property feels.

Jon from London stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in July 2017


Birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay for my birthday celebrations. All my family stayed, and the apartment was very clean and comfortable. We didn't meet the owners but Justine the manager was there when we arrived, to show us round.

Jennifer from Grimsby stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in June 2017


A beautiful home In a lovely location

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of us stayed at the Old Gallery as we were doing a cycle sportive from Ilkley. The home was perfect, a comfortable retreat, well equipped and very homely. The roof terrace was amazing, shame the weather wasn't warm enough for us to stay up there too long. The sauna and hot tub proved invaluable after our very long bike ride. We would definitely stay again.

Jules from Solihull stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in June 2017


Thank you for an amazing stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a lovely stay at the old gallery. My family was visiting from Canada for our wedding in Ilkley. We all stayed at the old gallery before the wedding. It was a wonderful experience, great location and very comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here. My fiancé and I have also stay in the apartments which are lovely. We love staying at Westwood lodge!

Emily from Vancouver stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in April 2017


good week on the moors

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location and very comfortable accommodation. Slight negative with seating outside gallery, quite tight and not to easy for a few people to sit. This is aminor thing but just fealt if seating was easier it would have been great.

William from Tweedbank stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in April 2017


Great location, excellent accommodation, awesome cake

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Gallery was spacious and well equipped. Lots of thought gone into making our stay enjoyable- games, DVDs, cake. It was quiet and relaxing with easy access to the moor and places to visit.

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in February 2017


Lovely house!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely conversion in an amazing location - across the road from Ilkley Moor, and only minutes to walk to the town centre. The bedrooms and living room are beautiful, with adequate bathroom provision. The kitchen is small, but fully equipped, although an induction hob would be an improvement. We enjoyed meeting the pigs, rabbit and chickens!

Alan from Bury St Edmunds stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in December 2016


Last minute short break with a young family

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted to find a house that accommodated all of our needs. We were booking only a few days in advance and have 4 children under 4 so it was not an easy task! The owners were very helpful and took the trouble to make sure we had everything we needed, including stair gates, cots and toys. They even collected our asda order for us and unpacked it ready for our arrival. The accommodation is comfortable and well-thought out and the garden area and surroundings are great for children.
It is one of the more expensive houses we have stayed at but the facilities and service are excellent in return.


Emily from Newark stayed at The Old Gallery for 4 nights in October 2016


Great place for a family gathering

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our 2nd visit to Westwood lodge. Excellent accommodation, everything you could possibly want is provided.
Only one moan, the washer /dryer in the Old Gallery is useless and takes hours to dry anything. Luckily the additional dryer in the main building is accessible and works fine.


Janet from St Saviour stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in September 2016


Perfect Location

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed the stay, close to the town but also just over the road from the moor. And the sauna and hot tub were an added bonus. Great timing for the Ilkley food festival which was a pleasant surprise

Tristan from Otley stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in August 2016


Great venue for a special occasion

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautifully converted property in a glorious location: the moor, Ilkley town & Wharfedale all offer so much. And the property is great for entertaining too.

Philip from Hull stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in August 2016


Excellent such a great place to stay and the perfect home from home, recommend highly to anyone

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect home from home, such a great place to stay! We had such a great time and definitely will be back again! Lots it lovely local places to eat and drink and highly recommend Betty's tea room for afternoon tea!

Laurie from Inverurie stayed at The Old Gallery for 4 nights in July 2016


A fantastic hen weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I hired The Old Gallery for a hen weekend with 9 guests. The house was perfect! It was spacious but homely in a fantastic location. There is a lovely garden and we enjoyed going up to the roof terrace and taking in the views.

Hayley from Preston stayed at The Old Gallery for 2 nights in July 2016


Excellent place to stay in Ilkey

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in The Old Gallery at Westwood Lodge for 4 nights as we visited family in Ilkley to celebrate a golden wedding anniversary. We couldn't have been happier with the accommodation. A friendly welcome and delicious sponge cake set the tone. The Old Gallery was spacious and well equipped, and proved to be a great place to entertain the family each night we were there. The kids (7 and 9) were thrilled to have their own rooms, spent a lot of time on the trampoline and loved the chickens, pigs and rabbits in the garden. The view from the roof deck of the moors and Ilkley town is also fantastic. Hopefully there will be availability next time we are in town. Thank you very much for a very special few days.

Kate from Ilkley stayed at The Old Gallery for 4 nights in July 2016


A fantastic place for a quiet getaway or to celebrate an occasion

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Old Gallery prior to my daughters wedding in Yorkshire and it was perfect for our group of 8. The welcome package of tea/ coffee and a homemade cake was delicious, we met the owner Paula who was friendly and helpful telling us the interesting history of the buildings and ensuring we were able to accommodate my daughters collection on the day itself. The surrounding gardens with trampoline, Wendy house and the Tilly and Terry (the pigs) were delightful, the children looked forward to having them sit and give you their trotters for feeding every morning. I would without hesitation recommend Westwood Lodge and look forward to returning in the future to enjoy this hidden treasure.

Lara from Southminster stayed at The Old Gallery for 2 nights in June 2016


Good sized, well equipped accommodation for an extended family gathering

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Westwood Lodge. It was an ideal venue for the extended family to stay for our son's wedding. We would certainly recommend this to friends. It was also great having close friends staying in one of the apartments so that they could call in and visit.

Julia from Rickmansworth stayed at The Old Gallery for 4 nights in June 2016


Beautiful spacious cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location with walks on the door step and also youcan walk into town,just be prepared for some hills. Lovely welcome tray with cake and tea ready for us. Plenty of room and more than enough crockery and utensils. Nice little bench outside to enjoy the sunshine and animal area and toys in garden for children. Lovely roof terrace to sit and enjoy the views too. Great cottage as it was disabled friendly, dog friendly and baby friendly which ticked all our boxesehen trying to find somewhere to stay.

Guest from Widnes stayed at The Old Gallery for 2 nights in June 2016


Excellent 60th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I felt at home as soon as I arrived and would definitely love to return. We had an extremely relaxing and enjoyable week. The young children loved the play equipment, the trampoline and the stone maze along the road

Jane from Dartford stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in May 2016


Family holiday following our daughters wedding

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted somewhere close to leeds where the wedding was held and Westwood lodge fitted this perfectly.
We were a group of 10 with a Grandma aged 90 so the ground floor bedrooms and bathroom were perfect.
We also had 2 dogs in our party who just relished the great walks on the moor just outside our doorstep.
Ilkley itself was a nice surprise with lots of shops bars and real ale pubs. We even treated ourselves to afternoon tea at Bettys.
It is in a great position to visit such places as Bolton Abbey, Salts Mill, York and Harrogate. We were spoilt for choice.
In fact we ran out of time so we definitely will be returning.


Maeve from Stockport stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in May 2016


Family celebration in Old Gallery

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
To celebrate my 70th birthday, myself and 2 children plus spouses with their children aged 7, nearly 4 and nearly 2 stayed for the weekend in the Old Gallery. It was absolutely perfect for our needs. The accommodation and its layout suited all ages and we enjoyed the garden facilities and the animals. We did not use the gym ,hot tub and sauna but sat, talked, played and ate in comfort enjoying every moment of our time together. Domestic chores were at a minimum courtesy of 'Cook' for all our prepared meals. The location is beautiful and all the adult members of our party would recommend to friends.

Sandra from North Shields stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in April 2016


A Very Enjoyable Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had family members of different ages and a few with mobility problems staying at the Old Gallery.
Without exception everyone commented on the comfort of the accommodation and the homely feeling of the living area,
the comfort of the beds and very pleasant fittings and decor.
There were plenty of utensils for cooking and serving, with room to seat a number of visitors as well.
They also appreciated the provisions supplied, in particular the cake!
They enjoyed the ease of walking straight out onto the Moor whilst also having easy access to the town.
The only slight problem was the parking area available, which was a bit difficult for the less mobile guests to access the front door, but they managed to get in alright.
A very enjoyable weekend was had by all.


Judith from Ilkley stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in April 2016


Anniversary celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here to celebrate our parents diamond anniversary. There were 15 adults in total so we were split between the gallery and apple barn cottage. Check in was swift and very welcoming. The freshly baked cake was a lovely touch. The kitchen was extremely well equips with plenty of glasses and crockery. It was a lovely walk down into likely which is a lovely place with plenty of excellent restaurants and bars. We chose bistro Pierre for the celebration lunch which was excellent value and managed to please 15 of us including vegetarians.
Overall the Westfield lodge complex is very well maintained and geared up for large groups of people. Would recommend it to anyone and would like to return.
R


Carol from Sunderland stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in April 2016


Hainey Yorkshire Wedding

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Gallery was everything we hoped for and more. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. We stayed there for a family wedding and our family and friends stayed in the other cottages and apartments.

We cannot recommend it highly enough.

Liz & Tom Hainey


Tom from Barford stayed at The Old Gallery for 4 nights in March 2016


Reunion celebration

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a really fabulous stay at Westwood Lodge. It met all our needs and more. The standard on all fronts was exceptional and our celebration reunion is now firmly lodged as a beautiful memory in our minds - this is as much to do with the great accommodation as our personal long time friendship. Many thanks, as the organiser of our reunion I was both relieved and delighted to find Westwood Lodge so agreeable and my good friends so happy with our stay. x

Alice-ann from Chipping Campden stayed at The Old Gallery for 4 nights in February 2016


A wonderful relaxing and comfortable break in Ilkley.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another stay at Westwood Lodge and yet again another wonderful break. The Old Gallery was so
spacious and comfortable and yet so cosy at the same time. Everything you need is there. The location
is great, the rooms well furnished and spotlessly clean and Tim and his staff so helpful and friendly.
There is so much to do in Ilkley and its environs and there is no better place to stay than at Westwood Lodge.
As regards self-catering Westwood Lodge is among the very best.
Can't wait to return.


Richard from Liverpool stayed at The Old Gallery for 10 nights in January 2016


Just what we needed

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for somewhere to stay for Christmas within easy reach of relatives in Pateley Bridge and where we could bring our dogs and have access to good walks . We had our 2 grown up children with us and elderly mother so needed flexible rooms with easy access to one with nearby bathroom. We also wanted space to entertain guests. So you can see we were very happy with Westwood Lodge.
The accommodation was extremely comfortable with all we could expect in the way of amenities and more. We could have made more use of the outdoors in better weather and can see what a great place it would be in summer. We enjoyed feeding the pigs; a little less sweet than in the brochure though!
It was fantastic being so close to the moor and we had some great walks. We were very impressed with Ilkley and the friendliness of people. We didn't go to Pateley on Boxing Day because of the floods...spectacular but glad for everyone that they receded quickly. Sorry we left rather a lot in the fridge. Many thanks. Kate


Kate from North Petherton stayed at The Old Gallery for 5 nights in December 2015


Perfect in every way - highly recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we booked our cottage at Westwood Lodge we received a wonderful service. We were given a free upgrade into
a larger cottage which was ideal for our family with 5 adults. The cottage was spacious, beautifully decorated and well equipped.
It was homely, but we also felt pampered with the use of the jacuzzi and sauna within the property. We booked the place to celebrate our daughters 20th birthday with all the family and it couldn't have been nicer. A wonderful home baked cake and tea was laid out for our arrival and we were greeted by a friendly and attentive staff member. Even though there was a large hen party in the main house adjoining our cottage we were never disturbed or aware of any noise.
Living in Dorset and with two children at Leeds Uni we will definitely be back for future family get-togethers!


Julie from Bridport stayed at The Old Gallery for 2 nights in December 2015


Return to Westwood Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As former residents of Ilkley, our visiting friends and relations really enjoyed staying at Westwood Lodge. Having moved away from the town some 3 years ago, we now look forward to our return visits, and always hope that we are able to stay in one of the lovely cottages at Westwood Lodge. We were fortunate enough to have the use of The Old Gallery recently, which was a joy, especially as it is set up so well for anybody with a disability. If you are considering a visit to this lovely area, we would highly recommend you enjoy the facilities and hospitality at Westwood Lodge.

Barry from Bedford stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in November 2015


Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent a weekend with all my girlfriends. We had a wonderful time and I would absoloutely recommend staying here. We will be returning, great location and lovely house.

Sharon from Liverpool stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in November 2015


Excelent location to celebrate my 60th Birthday

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am a Londoner born and bred who fell in love with Yorkshire when I had the privilege of working for a Leeds based company 15 years ago. I met some incredible people during that period one of which I am still very close friends with and happens to live in Ilkley. It wasn't therefore a difficult decision to spend my weekend away to celebrate my 60th birthday in this beautiful part of the country. We hired The Old Gallery for three nights and it was just perfect. I arranged for a local company to provide dinner for us on the Saturday night which allowed the 10 of us to sit round sipping wine and chatting to the early hours. Once the food had been eaten we were all able to sit in the large lounge area where everyone was able sit and continue the fun. The Gallery is very well equipped it has everything you could need for a long or short stay.

Linda from London stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in October 2015


Welcoming,comfortable and well equipped.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were here for a family wedding . After a long journey from Bath we eventually arrived .The house was so welcoming and the tray of tea with the delicious homemade cake was such a lovely surprise.
It all couldn't have been better .... just wish we had a bit longer to explore the beautiful area. Next time !!


Jennifer from Bath Spa stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in October 2015


Everything you could want

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A generous and respectful conversion, the house is brilliantly located for walkers, right on the edge of the moor, and convenient for those who want to use the facilities of Ilkley or go to Leeds, Bradford or Saltaire on the train. The Gallery provided everything we needed for our stay, and more, with a home made cake to welcome us, and a really useful little honesty shop for those things we forgot. A very detailed guide told us about things to do in the area and gave really honest assessments of the local restaurants and pubs. Our 3 year old really enjoyed the garden with the animals, wendy house and trampoline; she also enjoyed going to the shop to choose her own tiny box of cereal for breakfast.
Our only complaint was that noise carried quite easily through the house and those of us who were up late or early worried about disturbing those still asleep.
However, if we come back to Ilkley I can't imagine staying anywhere else.


Helen from London stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in September 2015


Great stay at the old gallery....fab place and ideal location for walking and shopping!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay, house and grounds fab..loved the roof terrace!

Guest from Chester stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in September 2015


Short visit to Ilkley

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous place to stay in Ilkley right across road from Moor and in walking distance to great little bar "Friends of Ham"! There was 10 of us and we had plenty of room without getting on top of each other. Lots of hot water and good showers and unusually for a rented holiday place lots of pots pans and crockery - just need better oven gloves! Cooked wonderful roast for 11 in the double range cooker. Would definitely recommend and oils book again thanks Tim and co. Oh and the Victoria sponge was fab and a favourite of mine

Melanie from St Albans stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in August 2015


The gallery

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thankyou so much for letting us stay in your beautiful house , it is a credit you you all . Every little detail has been thought of to make your holiday special
We have had the most fantastic stay
Thankyou


Rachel from Hope stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in August 2015


Family Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Old Gallery to accommodate our family and also friends who live in Ilkley. The location is great with the moor being on the doorstep and the rest of the area easy to access. The kitchen, dining and sitting areas are very good for what we wanted. The bedrooms are OK although we did not use the downstairs bedrooms. The only criticism I would make is that the main bedroom bathroom is small, smells rather damp and a bit claustrophobic. The shower is OK however.
The support facilities were enjoyed by our grand-children eg the trampoline, feeding the pigs and the DVD library. The electronics need a bit of attention as the DVD did not work without attention to the TV connector and the TV in the main bedroom (despite attention from the handyman) was hopeless with poor reception for a limited number of channels. This was not an issue for us as TV was not one of our priorities.


Guest from Canterbury stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in August 2015


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
I'm sorry you had a couple of problems during your stay. The damp smell was due to the timed extractor fan having been turned off. Although these are a bit noisy, they are important for removing condensation. The TV/ video problems were caused by loose cables It's possible that the housekeeper dislodged the TV cable whilst cleaning. I suspect a previous guest had removed the video lead to plug in a computer game console. Rural areas such as ours only receive a few Freeview digital channels. This is why we have Virgin Media cable TV that offers over 100 TV and radio channels plus iPlayer, catch-up, films, on demand services etc. We hope these issues didn't spoil your stay. Tim

Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb location with great facilities for 3 generations: animals, trampolines, croquet and fitness facilities. Stunning views from the rooftop terrace

Guest from Swindon stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in July 2015


Everything provided in comfortable and historic Ilkley self catering accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed the location, quality and services provide in this converted stone mansion and outbuildings. It was a relief to have safe play areas and animals that the children could enjoy, without constant supervision. In addition the owners provided a welcome pack and little essentials that are very useful, like salt and pepper, tea towels and washing-up liquid!

You can walk to Ilkley on pleasant trails in 15 minutes (uphill return though). Buses also take you to and from town if you need it. There are rambles from the door, and many local excursions and places of interest in the Dales around Ilkley.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in July 2015


A perfect week in Ilkley

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful complex ,we stay in lots of holiday cottages and this is by far the best the facilities are excellent .Tim and Paula have thought of every thing ,even down to treats for the dog.
Everything was of a high quality beds ,linen and crockery .
Justine over sees the house keeping which is of a very high standard ,she is very helpful and friendly .

We had a fantastic week ,even the sun shone .


Guest from Poynton stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in June 2015


Great Location

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we stayed 7 nights, and would recomend westwood lodge, not far from Ilkley center.
the old Gallery was perfect for the 6 of us (+2 kids). the views from the rooftop were amazing.


Guest from San Marcos stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in June 2015


Perfect accommodation for a girls weekend!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited The Old Gallery as a hen party and it was perfect - the jacuzzi was definitely used and the views from the roof terrace were stunning. But the best bit was definitely the Old Gallery - we had so much space for everyone with lots of seating, a great kitchen and comfortable bedrooms after a long day of visiting Ilkley and enjoying our evening together!

If you're looking for a laid back hen party with friends, a bit of pampering and a lovely afternoon walking around shops and views across the Moor then this is the venue for you!


Guest from Leeds stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in June 2015


family reunion

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The old gallery provided a brilliant place for a family reunion with able space and good facilities for the member of our family with disabilities. The open plan area downstairs served our purpose well.

Guest from Beverley stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in May 2015


Family 40th Birthday Celebration

Review submitted on Wed, 06 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Gallery was chosen to accommodate the whole family for this celebration which included two grandparents two parents and four children. There was plenty room for all. Everything that could be provided was provided. It was comfortable and met every need for our stay. Even parking was right outside our door.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in May 2015


Top Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in The Old Gallery and were greeted with a very warm welcome from Justine and a delightful tray of goodies, including a delicious Victoria sponge - a lovely touch. The property couldn't be situated any better - literally with Ilkley Moor on our doorstep. We only used the car once during our stay to go to Bolton Abbey and walked from the house the rest of the week. It is a very comfortable property and the owners seem to have thought of everything - from providing shower gel to dog towels and treats. The weather was amazing so we made good use of the garden and roof terrace. We would definitely consider coming back to Westwood Lodge.

Guest from Brough stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in April 2015


A perfect location

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Gallery gave us the perfect space we needed for a range of ages from 3 years to 75years!
Our two labradors thought they'd died and gone to heaven, with the wonderful walks on the doorstep.
We had changing weather from raging gales, snow and sun, but I can honestly say it just made the holiday better, seeing the changing landscape colours.
Feeding the chickens and pigs, and the grounds with games and wendyhouse was a bonus. The fitness fanatics enjoyed the facilities in the gym.
A really comfortable, and tastefully decorated property, offering everything needed for a perfect family gathering. Thank you.


Judith from Broadstairs stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in March 2015


A 21st Birthday to remember!

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Gallery was a perfect setting for our daughters 21st Birthday. We all enjoyed the cottage...from 21 year old Emma to 83 year old grandad! Very well equipped with lots of room to spread out and the setting was superb...right on Ilkley Moore. We would definitely recommend this cottage and we would love to return again.

Guest from Preston stayed at The Old Gallery for 4 nights in March 2015


A Great New Year Family Stay in The Gallery at Westwood Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic, comfortable stay in The Gallery over New Year. The whole place was really clean upon arrival and the kitchen was very well equipped for cooking meals, with ample crockery, utensils, cookware etc. The rooms were comfortable and the downstairs rooms were great for elderly family members who wanted to avoid stairs. The location of Westwood Lodge was great, with excellent walking right from the front door but only a short walk or drive in to Ilkley for shopping and restaurants. Overall, we had a fantastic experience and would highly recommend staying in The Gallery to anyone thinking of a trip to Ilkley. Five stars!

Guest from Greenmount stayed at The Old Gallery for 6 nights in December 2014


A really enjoyable, relaxed and family friendly place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tim and Justine made us feel very welcome. the gallery was great for our size of party, and the young children especially enjoyed the garden - the pigs, chicken and rabbit plus the play-house and trampoline were just wonderful to have on-site.
everything in the kitchen worked - nice to have the store on site, and we used the sauna and jacuzzi more than once.

Probably the best house rental we have done as an extended family - 6 adults plus 4 kids.
add to that some good weather and the moors just across the road and we were very happy.


Guest from London stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in October 2014


Westwood

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Oct 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place, very friendly hosts, comfortable clean and great for families. Full range of facilities, good free wifi, and parking on site - recommended.

Craig from Glasgow stayed at The Old Gallery for 4 nights in October 2014


Two Thumbs Up

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable accommodation in an excellent location, well equipped. Worked perfectly for our party of 9 (80th Birthday) and the family Labrador. Looking to book a Westwood Lodge site again for next year as only scratched the surface as to sight seeing.

Guest from Selsey stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in September 2014


Great venue for a hen do

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at The Old Gallery for a hen weekend and the property was perfect - the roof terrace, jacuzzi and farm area were particular favourites for our group. The kitchen was really well stocked for a large group and it we enjoyed eating outside in th epicnic area. It was convenient for the centre of Ilkley and the owners were quick to respond to my queries ahead of our stay, which I really appreciated. The only negative was the rather loud plumbing in the bathrooms.

Guest from Aberdeen stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in July 2014


A lovely establishment

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is lovely for a big group of mixed aged groups as ours was. It is well equipped so easy to self cater. It is comfortable, well thought- out and in a superb location. We had such excellent weather so the children's playhouse and trampoline were well used. We barbecued (everything necessary on site) and used the small garden attached to our property to sit in.
Ilkley and its surrounding countryside is beautiful - plenty to suit all interests. A short walk from The Old Gallery takes you across the moors and to the Cow and Calf rocks. A shorter walk takes you to the pretty Tarn and all the ducks. A 10 minute walk takes you into Ilkley but the uphill return takes a little longer.
We had a lovely stay and will certainly return. The superb cake on our welcome tray helped us settle straight away as did the friendly welcome of the owners.


Guest from Gainsborough stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in July 2014


Tour de France week topped of by amazing accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immediately the route for the Tour de France was announced we booked our accommodation at Westwood Lodge where we have stayed on many previous occasions with our three daughters. Now all married their husbands came as well so there were eight of us for a week. From the very first exchange of email correspondence we felt at home as Tim provided all the information we could have asked for. We asked our daughters to provide input for this review and the following are their comments.

"Wished we could have stayed longer"
"We loved that we could feed the pigs"
"Very comfortable - it felt like home and the Old Gallery had everything we needed. Loved being near the moor and really liked sitting on the rooftop sitting area"
"Really felt at home due to the great room and the people who own Westwood Lodge"

We have stayed in many places in England and love coming back to Westwood Lodge. There is no better place to stay when visiting Ilkley than Westwood Lodge. Don't hesitate in making this your base when visiting the area.

Richard and Julie.


Guest from New Providence stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in July 2014


A birthday treat

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jun 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyable weekend in a house large enough to contain our two daughters and their children ( 11 of us in total) without feeling cramped. Extremely well equipped and within easy reach of the town and the moor for either shopping or walking. The grandchildren loved the trampoline, pigs and chickens.

Guest from Bishops Stortford stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in June 2014


Not much sunshine but still an enjoyable week at the Gallery

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage had pretty much everything we could have wished for & we'd happily come again if staying in the area. We had a party of 10 (plus dog) and the layout was perfect. The gym & jacuzzi were a nice bonus.

Guest from York stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in May 2014


lovely interesting venue for family get together and relaxation

Review submitted on Sun, 11 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was enjoyed, especially going up to the roof garden and the nearness to the town and the walks on the moor, Although there were other guests enjoying their stay the noise did not seem to carry.

Guest from Thurso stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in May 2014


Wedding weekend for friends and family

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Guest from Castle Cary stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in April 2014


A special place for a special family reunion

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
16 members of our family took two of the cottages and The Old Gallery for a family reunion. We have had a wonderful time, and your accommodation has helped to make our holiday very special. Comfortable, fully equipped and characterful, The Old Gallery has been the focal point for big family meals and lots of fun. The layout has been perfect for us, and the other facilities at Westwood Lodge have also been much appreciated. Tim and Paula 's warm welcome and thoughtful gestures (thanks for the cake Paula!) got our holiday off to a great start. We know and love Ilkley as many of us lived here a decade ago - it is as beautiful as ever with wonderful walks, spectacular landscapes and great shops. All in all, our stay was perfect - we will be back!

Guest from Newport stayed at The Old Gallery for 4 nights in April 2014


Long weekend with kids at the Old Gallery

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Apr 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First the good things: the location is AMAZING - right across from the moor. The buildings are beautiful and well maintained. The beds are incredibly comfortable, the space is very clean. The owners are charming and very helpful. The kids loved feeding the pigs and bouncing on the trampoline.
Now the not so good things: the kitchen is really not great. The stove is electric and hard to cook on. The fridge is so-so, freezes lettuce in and has seen better days. The dishwasher strangely lacking racks to put dishes on and left many dishes dirty. The decor has seen better days too, a bit kitsch overall. The details haven't been thought through - no soap dish in the master shower, no towel racks. The bathtub is disappointingly shallow (no sinking in to a hot bath after a day out on the beautiful moors!) and the water not as hot as you'd like (although perfect in the showers). The workout area, while spotlessly clean, really smells of damp and does not feel like a particularly great place to exercise in. The hot tub, which is more of a lukewarm tub, also smells strongly of damp.
Overall, I really don't like writing negative things or being so pernickety, especially when the owners were so kind and helpful, but for the cost, we expected a bit more. That said we did have a lovely weekend! So many great things going for this gorgeous spot.


Guest from London stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in April 2014


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're really disappointed that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay as we try very hard to attain and maintain high standards throughout. Indeed the Tourist Inspector assessed our properties only a few weeks ago and again awarded the 5* rating for The Old Gallery. She noted that we have invested heavily in new facilties and upgrades this winter. We therefore want to respond to the various negative points you’ve raised. In the case of The Old Gallery, this was redecorated only a few weeks ago as we work very hard at keeping things fresh and clean. Our aim is for guests to feel as though it is their own home for the duration of their stay, with no evidence at all of previous guests. With that in mind we’re very pleased to read your report of the high standard of cleanliness throughout. We think you’ll appreciate the challenge we face in keeping everything spotlessly clean, especially in properties which are frequently occupied by children and dogs. Ironically, with respect, the state of The Old Gallery when you left, presented an exceptional challenge for our housekeeping team. The new range hob was thick with bacon grease and crumbs; the dining room table had paint marks where children had been doing arts and crafts; the lounge floor had something very sticky like glue or play-dough stuck to it; and the sofa was covered with dog hair, despite you agreeing that your dog would not be allowed on furniture. We were especially disappointed to read your description as it "has seen better days and a bit kitsch". We’ve never before received comments suggesting that the décor is ‘tastless’. Whilst décor is a personal issue, the vast majority of our guests have nothing but praise for the accommodation. The kitchen, which was also a source of disappointment to you, has had a brand new range cooker installed only last month and the dishwasher, of which you were also very critical, is a top of the range Bosch, again only recently installed and with folding racks to enable pans to be cleaned. We will certainly check the fridge temperature as it sounds as though it may be set a little too cold. With regard to the low bath, The Old Gallery has a disability access rating to enable elderly and infirm guests or those needing use of a wheelchair to stay. The bath is specifically designed to enable both able and our many less able guests to use it. It meets the disability access rating requirements as does the thermostat that prevents scalding hot water, which is also important for children’s safety. Just imagine an elderly person or child slipping into a deep bath of scalding water... Thank you for raising the other shortcomings of the bathrooms. The towel rails and soap dishes have not been replaced since the recent refurbishment. We apologise for the state that you found the hot tub area. We are aware of the need to keep this area well-ventilated and have recently installed a dehumidifier. Our rule is that children are not allowed in there unless accompanied by an adult on safety grounds, and also to make sure that the instructions for using the heavy equipment are followed properly. We may not have made this clear to you as the children seemed to be roaming down there freely. Unfortunately, the cover had not been put back on after use of the hot tub, thus the humidity in that area has resulted in condensation, a smell of dampness and loss of water temperature. We perhaps need to consider stricter monitoring of the gym/spa area to prevent this happening again. We do hope that you’ll consider our response to your comments in the spirit intended and that you wouldn’t be put off staying with us again, especially as you say you enjoyed a lovely weekend in this gorgeous location.

A lovely house in a great little town

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You have the moor on your doorstep and a town with restaurants coffee bars and shops in walking distance.
The Old Gallery is comfortable
It has everything you need for cooking in the kitchen.


Guest from Dorking stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in March 2014


The Kent Gang

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our friends from Kent stayed at the Old Gallery and absolutely loved their time there. They will return! We have told all our friends and family so we will be in touch very soon. Thank you so much. Maureen

Guest from Ilkley stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in February 2014


A fantastic place to celebrate our Dad's 80th birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Feb 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, spacious, well equipped. The jacuzzi and sauna made it for us. Great for a group with an age range of 18 to 80 (plus dog). Beautiful cake on arrival enjoyed by all. Thank you!

Guest from Leeds stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in January 2014


The perfect place for our reunion

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous short break at Westwood Lodge - the perfect spot for a group of 7 forty something old school friends to catch up and relax. The Spa downstairs, the Moor on the doorstep for brisk dog walks and the delights Ilkley just down the road made it more complete. We hope to make it a regular thing.

Guest from Burgh Le Marsh stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in January 2014


Comfortable for family of 6. Great location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Dec 2013
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A good place to stay in the area. Very clean, warm and a nice cake on arrival. Felt v homely. Bedrooms were quiet and comfortable . Only criticism was the kitchen. The apartment is for 10 people and whilst there are 5 good bedrooms the kitchen is not suitable to cook for that number. The toaster was broken as the heating elements didn't turn off with the timer, potentially v dangerous.The single oven was difficult to operate as the markings on the controls were worn out. We managed to control it by finding a picture on the internet. The fridge was too small for 6 people let alone 10.
A good place to stay if you intend to eat out a lot but not good if you want to make dinner for 10.



Guest from Edinburgh stayed at The Old Gallery for 4 nights in December 2013


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. The Old Gallery has a large upright fridge freezer and we are planning to add an extra drinks fridge and additional food preparation area which will include a double oven. The toaster has been checked and found to be working correctly. It is not a cheap "pop-up" typre but a heavy duty Dualit model. You may not be familiar with how this works as it has a manual timer dial that needs to be wound to the minimum setitting of 1 minute. The instruction leaflet is in the blue folder which also explains how the oven works.

A welcome retreat from the daily grind

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely fantastic venue for our annual get together. One or two hiccups of our making were very quickly sorted by the owners without any fuss at all. Thank you! The location is wonderful - in just a few minutes you can be on the moors or in 5 minutes down in the town. Would love to come back with the family, and of course with my lovely friends, if for no other reason than to have another slice of the Westwood Lodge victoria sponge!

Guest from Greenfield stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in November 2013


Lots to do and a fab place to stay in Ilkley

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister had rented Westwood Lodge for a significant birthday and family get together in July. The main party came from far & wide and had a week at Westwood Lodge. It was perfect for us, 20+ sat down to meals cooked in the very well equipped kitchen in the dining room. There were also 2 parties for larger groups during the week and it never felt cramped. The two lounges had bags of room to spread out in. The roof terrace was fantastic to watch the sun go down with great views across Wharfedale. The bedrooms were super too.

I stayed in the Old Gallery which was fantastic. It connects through to Westwood Lodge. Well equipped, lovely rooms, the sitting room extremely comfy. It was lovely and cool with high ceilings, electric controlled Velux in the roof.

The family group came from USA,Scotland, Wales,Finland and closer to Ilkley and ranged from 3 to 70's. There was lots to do for everyone (not all together) York, Leeds to the Armouries, Harewood House, The Great Yorkshire Show. Salts Mill at Saltaire, Skipton Castle, Bolton Abbey and the river and as it was July the Lido open air pool in Ilkley. Ilkley Moor was literally on the doorstep for the more active to walk the dog. It was less than 10 minutes to walk down to Ilkley, a bit more back up.

The garden was fine (the pigs a huge attraction for the children) an evening croquet competition after dinner was a hit.

Everyone was helpful and friendly, good cakes on arrival and I would recommend Westwood Lodge or the Old Gallery to anyone looking for a holiday house in the area.

Not sure of cost which is why I scored good.



Guest from Inverbervie stayed at The Old Gallery for 4 nights in July 2013


Superb accommodation!

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in The Old Gallery was as usual most welcoming with a beautiful homemade cake waiting for us, home from home with every thing you need.

All top quality decor and furnishings, entertainment provided for the young and old. Even the the garden provided fun for all, which included Tilly and Terry the friendly Piggies, the rabbit and the chickens.

Super location at the foot of Ilkley moor, magnificent views and the town a short walk away. Many places of interest to visit and many walks to do.

For Tim and Paula nothing was too much trouble and always on hand if needed.


Guest from stayed at The Old Gallery for 3 nights in September 2013


Family vacation

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family came to England for two weddings and had the pleasure of staying at Westwood lodge. There was ample room for the seven of us and all enjoyed it.

Guest from Mississauga stayed at The Old Gallery for 7 nights in August 2013