FB Twitter

The Wells

The Wells

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 50 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Our smallest yet romantic Enjoy England Five Star rated apartment, ideal for a relaxing getaway. Situated on the top (second) floor at the historic Westwood Lodge, there are sunny views onto Ilkley Moor and westward to the Dales. The Wells is tastefully appointed throughout, with the same level of equipment and services as our other Five Star accommodation. This apartment is kept pet-free.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent and comfortable stay. Perfect location and organisation was excellent. Would stay again...

Guest from Hemel Hempstead stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in October 2017


A memorable stay in a unique location with loads of character.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The briefing notes were very helpful for navigation and access. The apartment was first class, cosey and quiet with a courtesy call from Tim as we were settling in.Walking routes and suggestions for local dining was so helpful and we just loved the ambiance of the old Victorian house.

Charles from Darlington stayed at The Wells for 5 nights in October 2017


Really enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment in an interesting building: spacious and well equipped. A very quiet location with a pleasant garden We liked the 'wee shop' and the gym facilities.

Janet from Newcastle stayed at The Wells for 7 nights in September 2017


Weekend stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A weekend break for me and my husband for my birthday.
The Wells apartment was lovely, comfortable and had all the amenities required for a perfect stay.
Just be warned though, there are a lot of stairs as it's on the top floor (2nd floor) so can be tiring for those who are not in the best of fitness but option to have a rest on the 1st floor and look at the items in the 'honesty shop' !
The roof terrace also has a set of stairs too as does the gym room and jacuzzi in the cellar.
The wifi in the apartment was weak all weekend and unusable which has been mentioned to the owner as an option for improvement for future guests who may be looking for good wifi connections for personal or business use.


Sandra from Rochdale stayed at The Wells for 2 nights in September 2017


Tim Edwards replied 73 days ago
We're sorry you experienced poor wi-fi. We wish you had mentioned the problem during your stay. Your apartment has Virgin Media Superhub supplied by fibre optic cable and we pay for a connection speed of 50Mbps. I've checked on several occasions since you left and the signal has been excellent. As we discussed, it's possible that you had inadvertently clicked onto a different network or that it had been unplugged by accident.

Great Location

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous country house, I stayed in an appartment within the house, used the sauna and hot tub when the weather was wet one morning. The surrounding area is great for walks. At night walked into the town for food, great selection of restaurants. Would love to go back someday

Annette from Lanark stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in August 2017


A short stay for family

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family from abroad stayed here (and the Moorview) for three nights, and all loved the comfort, facilities and, of course, the lovely view. Thank you to all the team.

Guest from Ilkley stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in August 2017


Ilkley Tennis Trip stay at Westwood Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently stayed at Westwood Lodge with a party of 34 including adults and children playing the tennis tournament at Ilkley tennis club.
We stayed in the main house, 2 apartments and 1 cottage.
Having stayed in many different houses in and around Ilkley in the past 10 years, Westwood was definitely the best by far.
The facilities they provide are outstanding including the spa, trampoline and the gardens outside.
Inside the house, every room was fitted out perfectly and was exceptionally clean.
I cannot fault one aspect of the accommodation or our stay and hope to return next year.



Amy from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Wells for 7 nights in July 2017


Three night stay in The Wells apartment

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable stay with a friendly reception. It's very quiet up there and it's a quick walk into town with a good leg workout getting back. Use the path riight by the gate.

Brian from Hinckley stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in July 2017


Fab Stay in beautiful Apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfort and Home from Home describes this Apartment. Stayed 3 times now and been very pleased. Would stay again.

Kay from Doncaster stayed at The Wells for 7 nights in June 2017


Hectic break.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always a pleasure to stay here. Nothing is too much trouble. Weather good this time.

Tim is very helpful.

Look forward to my next visit.


Wendy from Orba stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in June 2017


Westwood Lodge forever

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The selection of cottages and apartments at Westwood Lodge means that there is something for whatever size of party you are travelling with. We have stayed in 6 different ones and like them all! Well equipped both with cutlery and crockery, towels, bathrobes etc but also with loads of information brochures and books. The views are great, the town centre walkable - we love it.

Susan from Kerkyra stayed at The Wells for 5 nights in April 2017


Great apartment! Everything perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment was booked with The Old
Gallery and ticked all the boxes. All you could wish for; just idyllic for a couple who
wished some quality together time from the rest of the family! Would recommend in a second. I definitely return to savour the cottages or an apartment! Keep up the fabulous work Westwood Lodge!


Carol from Sheffield stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in April 2017


Excellent accommodation in great location

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We never needed the car, using local footpaths and the train.
Well equipped kitchen with quality utensils. Really appreciated the supply of basic essentials and a beautiful cake!
Warm and comfortable.
Ilkley is a great town to explore, with lots of interesting independent shops.


Judy from Ilkeston stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in April 2017


Delightful apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I felt very comfortable and safe here being on my own. The facilities great. Views splendid. Little shop very sweet.attention to detail was obvious.

Wendy from Orba stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in March 2017


Very welcoming and comfortable accommodation in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Paula and Tim have obviously gone to great trouble to think of what guests will need, the welcoming cake, milk, tea and coffee are great and mean you can settle in straight away. We stayed in one of the apartments and just managed to squeeze in at late notice. They very kindly provided a mattress for our son with all the bedding which was a huge help. The apartment was very clean, well equipped and quiet and has wonderful views. The bed was really comfortable and it was great to have access to Virgin media on the TV. All the admin is incredibly efficient and provides you with all the information you need for your stay well in advance. We received an email on Saturday to tell us that we didn't need to rush out on Sunday (checkout is normally 10am) and we were able to have a lovely relaxing morning.

Rachel from Dedham stayed at The Wells for 2 nights in December 2016


A delightful stay in Ilkley

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Such a lovely guest house, with everything beautifully appointed, clean and comfortable. Exactly as advertised! A welcome cake was just one of many thoughtful touches to make us feel at home. Stunning views from the rooftop, and an excellent location.

John from Gundaroo stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in November 2016


Beautiful Moor-side break

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely and restoring break in an apartment that was warm and welcoming and well equipped (the cooking knives were sharp!). The roof terrace was the spot for morning tea listening to glorious welcoming bird chorus, and for a late night sky full of stars. Lovely, peaceful and welcoming.

Eileen from London stayed at The Wells for 5 nights in October 2016


Midweek at Westwood Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a comfortable, relaxing four night stay in the Wells apartment at Westwood Lodge. Every convenience was on hand, and we looked forward to returning each day after walking in the beautiful local countryside.

Brian from Hinckley stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in October 2016


Working from the Moors.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Working in Bradford I stayed in The Wells for a couple of weeks, it was a perfect break from office. Location is great with Moors close it's easy to go for a walk clear the head, similarly easy walk to town down direct bush path. Place celebrated Ilkley, the Moors and products without going OTT. Functionally everything worked correctly; WIFI, heating, TV, kitchen all in good order. Accommodation clean and comfortable. When I needed some help, quick txt to Tim and everything fixed, no fuss. Opportunity, maybe take out some of the nick nacks, zen it up a little but then that is character to some....Enjoyed the stay would definitely return.

Daniel from Ilkley stayed at The Wells for 28 nights in September 2016


The Wells Apartment, Westwood Losge.

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent apartment with superb hosts. Accommodation to a high standard. Extras supplied by the hosts including cake were a nice touch, adding to the experience.

Steven from Millom stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in August 2016


Fantastic hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic hideaway next to the Moors. Lovely aparment in a wonderful tranquil place. Very nice kitchens and bedroom, all very comfortable and very clean.

Guest from Dortmund stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in August 2016


Wonderful week at The Wells

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable and well equipped apartment in peaceful area within easy reach of Ilkley.
Booking was trouble free and the information given on the email was detailed and very helpful.
We would be happy to stay again.


Guest from Bridport stayed at The Wells for 7 nights in August 2016


Exercise and relaxation

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our lovely apartment was in a perfect location for walking and relaxing. It was tastefully decorated, comfortable and equipped to a high standard-a very pleasant home from home. The walk onto the moor was an easy distance and offered opportunities for short, unchallenging walks and longer, more strenuous treks. The roof area above the apartments has fabulous views of Ilkely moor.

Ilkley itself is within reasonable walking distance...going downhill, but demanding exercise coming back up! There are some good restaurants and pubs with interesting choices on the menus.


Guest from Sheerness stayed at The Wells for 2 nights in July 2016


2nd time at Westwood Lodge, 1st time in The Wells

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood lodge has a great location for access to the moors and to Ilkley town centre.

Quiet, comfortable home form home.

The Wells is on the top floor so if you are less than reasonably fit you will be by the end of your stay. Having said that you don't come to Ilkley for a without an incline in it somewhere.


Mike from Grimsby stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in June 2016


Westwood Lodge, Ilkley

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely superb!! Couldn't have asked for better accommodation or hosts. Everything you could ever require is there. Quiet location and very peaceful.

Eric from Co Durham stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in June 2016


Another lovely visit

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here last year and enjoyed it so much that it was our preferred place to stay when returning to Ilkley. The location is fabulous, right beside the moor -scenic and tranquil. It's a self catering apartment so it's wonderful to be able to easily make breakfast, lunch or dinner or just a nice cup of tea vs staying in regular hotels. I highly recommend this place.

Adrian from Hannon stayed at The Wells for 14 nights in May 2016


Most Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No, thankyou, I don't need help reviewing my stay...what on Earth?

Tim and Paula bought this amazing demesne called Westwood Lodge around 1996. Tim walked over to Corner Cottage across Westwood Drive, where I stiil lived/visited my mother who was beginning with Alzheimer's Disease. We just happened to be standing at the gate to CC's driveway. Tim's first word's went something like this: " Hello there, I'm Tim Edwards...I believe we share the same surname; well, here I am with my wife Paula and young Alice and we are buying Westwood Lodge and hoping to make a business out of it by letting out the cottages and the rooms in the Lodge itself as apartments. Anyway, I just thought I'd pop over and introduce myself. A big smile came over my mother, Kathleen Edwards's face...I moved to London and eventually married the daughter of the lady who lived in Shando Cottage, just nestling there behind Westwood Lodge. Since my mother died in 2001 my wife to be would still drive up from London to Ilkley - sorry folks, it's not "up to the capital"...it's without doubt "up to God's Own County" - and gradually we got to know Tim and Paula. They both graced us with their presence at the wedding we had - #PHEW# - at Bolton Priory. Do pop up the road 7 miles through " ' ddingham" to Bolto Abbey, as the village is erroneously called. It's a stunning place. And then wend your way back on those fine twisty roads...maybe take a detour up the A59 then hook a nifty right turn just before the steep hill there and drive back via Beamsley village, another nifty first left after half a mile and up, up, up and over the tops via Langbar and down, down, down past the old monastery, along Denton Road and back up to Ilkley with that view of the Moors. And where do you rest and eat a sponge cake courtesy of Paula as a welcome in your cottage or apartment...or if there a quite a few of you, The Gallery? Why, Westwood Lodge of course. Just do it ....once at least afore ye die...but preferably every time you're back in "God's Own County". As that advert goes: Because you're worth it!". I came back with my wife Lynnet to stay a few years ago. I am staying there now. I came for 5 days and I've been there nearly a month on and off. I've rented The Coach House; Moorview and The Wells. Lovely House, Lovely people all...from Time and Paula and family to the cleaners, their manager Justine, and even the gardeners and handyman. Very, very special "Family". Bless them. They have excelled all expectations. My mother would be very pleased. My father would be drinking whisky with Tim and not letting him get a word in. That's all for now, BobXXXX.


Robert from London stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in June 2016


Another lovely stay in Westwood Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have now lost count of the number of times we have stayed in Westwood Lodge - and whilst we do sometimes stay in a hotel when we visit Ilkley, the convenience of self-catering for a stay of more than 2 nights is invaluable. For the first time we were just a couple and The Wells suited us down to the ground. Lying in bed and looking up over Ilkley moor is just about as good as it gets, and we were blessed with sunshine every day so the view was particularly appreciated.

The apartment is just right - warm, comfortable, well-equipped, and the rooms large and bright. I have worked in tourism myself and know how much hard work has been put into the information pack provided - both about the accommodation itself, but also the hints and tips on what to do, where to eat and where to go. Well done to Tim and Paula, and we will definitely be back!


Susan from Corfu stayed at The Wells for 7 nights in April 2016


Excellent accommodation and great location.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Conveniently located for walks on Ilkley Moor and a 10-15 minute walk in to Ilkley town centre for the shops, bars and restaurants. Very comfortable living accommodation for two people with a well equipped kitchen and small lounge area. Loved the Sponge cake which was a treat. Well maintained and clean apartment which is self contained from the main house.

Elaine from Adstock stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in March 2016


so cosy

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect place for a week stay in Ilkley . Not far from downtown, and close to the beautiful moor . The decoration, the equipment of the kitchen, the comfort .

Patrick from Coutances stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in March 2016


A Good break

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Westwood Lodge and would definitely go back again. Good location, great accommodation, warm and cosy at beginning of March. Facilities very good, great sauna and jacuzzi. Would recommend to others. Thank you Tim and rest of team.

Robin from Stowmarket stayed at The Wells for 7 nights in March 2016


Short break at Weastwood Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We received a friendly welcome and were shown round the accommodation.
The accommodation was very well appointed.
We used the Lodge as a base for a walking and sightseeing holiday.
Just opposite the Lodge is Ilkley Moor and we had a couple of walks on the moor.
The owners supply lots of maps and guidance
Ilkley has a regular train service and we made a visit by train to Saltaire.
The Lodge is situated on a hill just below the moor and the local bus service is recommended to spare your legs.


Andrew from Stonehaven stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in October 2015


Short Break

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Westwood Lodge on six occassions and have found both cottage and apartments lovely places to stay. They are comfortable and clean and in a beautiful part of the world.

Lynda from Epsom stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in September 2015


Location, location, location

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat is 'cosey' and warm. Customer service was excellent and they dealt with our personal quirks admirably, eg I like to sleep in a fridge (according to my husband!), so the duvet was changed for a lighter version. So nice to have the option. We stayed in The Wells but we viewed The Glenmoor which looked beautiful; I think we may book that next time.

Guest from Liddington stayed at The Wells for 7 nights in September 2015


A Week in Ilkley

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in Wells Apartment at Westwood Lodge for a week in September. On arrival there was someone to explain the keys / basics, and there was some milk, teabags and a sponge cake.
The apartment is up two flights of stairs (not good if lacking in mobility). Westwood Lodge itself is on the edge of the moor above Ilkley, with great views. However the price paid is a 10-15 minute walk uphill to the property from the town centre.
There are several interesting walks in the immediate vicinity - across the moor, and along the river. We had good weather, so were out every day.
There are many decent places to eat in Ilkley - and further afield in Addingham. Public transport is plentiful, with Skipton, Leeds and Bradford in easy reach.


Mandy from Rickmansworth stayed at The Wells for 7 nights in September 2015


The Wells apartment

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the Wells apartment perfect,everything you could have needed was supplied, roof terrace was a must, could not believe we were the only ones up there watching the sun set with a bottle of wine, small Sauna and Jacuzzi was also perfect to relax in. 10 minute walk into town where there were some fabulous restaurants and Pubs. Great place we will hopefully be back.

Guest from Cheadle stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in August 2015


Holiday in Ilkley

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Westwood Lodge. Great apartment, great views, great cake, great information about the area and Justine was very friendly and helpful.

Guest from Kings Lynn stayed at The Wells for 7 nights in July 2015


Excellent all round :)

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation that my in laws loved. We all loved the Pigs (especially as they were kiwis too!) And other animals. Great facilities for everyone from the toddler through to the grandparents. Friendly helpful staff anf loads of lovely touches! Highly recommended.

Selina from Ilkley stayed at The Wells for 21 nights in June 2015


Wonderful and relaxing stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Westwood lodge from the moment we arrived and it felt like home to us. We stayed in the wells apartment which is listed as the smallest yet we found it had ample space for our needs over our two week stay The apartment and grounds were well kept and clean and well equipped. The apartment is nicely furnished with a small but efficient kitchen and eating area. the bedroom is a good size and we found the bed to be clean and comfy. The bathroom has a wonderful Victorian style bathtub that was great after a long walk on the moors. It is a private and quiet place located on the doorstep of the moors yet only a short walk into town. the owners Tim and Paula provide lots of local Information about Ilkley and nearby attractions and are available if needed to ask questions etc. The roof top patio is lovely and provides amazing views. We did not use the fitness and hot tub area. The owners really put a lot of effort into providing great accommodations, this is evident in not only the quality of the accommodations but also In the small touches that you don't see in most paces like the wee shop in case you forgot to pick up something or the bikes available if needed. We are well travelled across the world and Westwood lodge is now a favourite of ours. We will definitely return

Guest from Hannon stayed at The Wells for 14 nights in May 2015


A wee bit of feedback.....

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent the weekend at the Wells apartment at Westwood Lodge. What a wonderful wee hidey hole!! Perfect for relaxing, walking and the Indian restaurant deliver a mean curry. We will definitely be back. The owners were welcoming and helpful. The apartment was cosy, very comfortable and the roll top bath was an added bonus. We went upstairs to the rooftop and admired the views around Ilkley. If you fancy an escape with a bit of luxury then this will be right up your street.

Suzanne from Sheffield stayed at The Wells for 2 nights in February 2015


Short stay at New Year

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Feb 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very enjoyable few days at Westwood Lodge: it is well situated, and we found the flat well equipped and very comfortable. We would recommend the Lodge.

Guest from York stayed at The Wells for 5 nights in December 2014


Great weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a long weekend at Westwood Lodge, our second visit. Just as good this time round. Warm, friendly welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Great location for both the moors and the train into Leeds.

Guest from Ely stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in November 2014


A great stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in the wells apartment of westwood lodge. The apartment had everything nnded for a long or a short stay like ours. We had a great stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Guest from Barrow Upon Humber stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in October 2014


Wells Apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very very pleased with my stay at Westwood Lodge. Not only it's fantastic location but the quality of the room and it's fixtures and fittings were excellent. The attention to detail provided were a joy ( the little things ) and made my apartment feel like a home from home. The owners were available but not intrusive and I didn't require them once as any bit of information required is at hand and very clear to understand. I will be back !

Guest from Ilkley stayed at The Wells for 7 nights in June 2014


Another great stay at Westwood Lodge, Ilkley

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Westwood Lodge and was every bit as wonderful as before. We were given a warm welcome by Justine on arrival, who even helped carry some of our luggage to the apartment. This time we stayed in the Wells apartment, which although the smallest of the 3 apartments, it is still very comfortably furnished and well equipped, quite adequate for 2 people. The lounge/kitchen area has views to the west overlooking Wharfedale, while from the bedroom you do get an aspect of Ilkley Moor, but it also overlooks the quiet road which leads up to more houses. For walks on the Moor, this is a fantastic location to be in and just 10 minutes down the hill is Ilkley town centre, with many good restaurants/pubs and shops. One of the wonderful benefits of Westwood Lodge's apartments is the access to the roof terrace - we enjoyed some beautiful sunsets and the odd glass of wine up there! We definitely plan to visit again before too long.

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Wells for 4 nights in June 2014


Small and friendly - a welcome change from corporate blandness!

Review submitted on Sun, 18 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the place to stay if you're looking to avoid those dreadful hotels where all the bedrooms are purple! The Wells is great for two. Free wi-fi was powerful and better than I get at home! Lovely views and fabbo roof garden. Everything is included and you feel that Tim, Paula and Justine have gone to a lot of effort to think of everything!

Guest from stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in May 2014


excellent once again

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th stay, and happy to say, standards have not been compromised. the location is superb, straight out on to the moor,
and an easy walk down into Ilkley,( slightly harder on the way back up.) The facilities are great in all the accommodation (have tried them all) one visit entailed taking the whole place for a large family reunion. The apartments are best suited to the fit! as they are at the top of the house, but the roof terrace is worth the climb upstairs. The kitchens are very well appointed and lack
nothing, and the cake is a lovely touch.


Guest from Newport stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in April 2014


Efficient and value for money

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Mar 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have enjoyed our stay in The Wells. Everything we wanted was in the apartment, possibly too much, as it felt a
little over full and cramped at times! Window frames in the bedroom are rather draughty with daylight visible in the corner! Having said that the heating was very effiient so we weren't cold. Loved the pigs, the views and the location although perhaps your very detailed guidance sheets could include the necessity to bring a good torch to get into Town at night.



Guest from Kingston-upon-Thames stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in March 2014


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall but a tad disappointed not to score higher, as we've carried out a lot of upgrade work in The Wells in recent months, including complete redecoration, bathroom upgrading, new bedroom TV and a Nespresso "proper coffee" maker. The road down into Ilkley (and back) is fully lit all the way. There is certainly no need for a torch. You specifically asked about a more "interesting" footpath down through the woods. Interesting maybe, but not lit! I took you out to the gates and showed you the way - even checking that the torch on your iPhone was working before you set-off. Most of the windows at Westwood Lodge are original - dating back to 1875. As a Listed Historic building, we're not allowed to replace them. We wouldn't want to! However, we don't want anyone to be cold either and will look at ways to fit seals where there are daylight gaps.

A great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here before and will probably stay here again. Its a great place to use as a base for walking and visiting tourist attractions nearby. Very comfortable accommodation.

Guest from Barnet stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in November 2013


Our third time of staying at Westwood Lodge and our second time this year at the Wells Apartment.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood Lodge is always a delight. Tim and Paula always welcoming and the cake on arrival is a lovely touch. Great place -great views over the Moors.

Guest from Leiston stayed at The Wells for 3 nights in September 2013