FB Twitter

Bridesmere

Bridesmere

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 36 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Bridesmere is one of three holiday cottages located at Clifford Barton. The barn was restored in 2005 to a high standard with great attention to detail. There are 3 large bedrooms sleeping 8 people. There is a private fenced garden with fire pit and views down the Teign Gorge, a communal games barn with table tennis, table football and snooker, a selection of kids and adult bikes which you are welcome to borrow. It is set in a wonderfully peaceful 50 acre woodland wildlife haven in the beautiful Teign Valley on the northern edge of a Dartmoor, yet just 10 miles west of Exeter, and 5 minutes off the A30. Great for walking on Dartmoor, wild swimming, biking, wildlife watching.

Country retreat with pleasant views.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent quiet country retreat with pleasant views local walks and good pubs in reasonable walking distance.



Excellent family friendly Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful quiet location but with plenty to keep children amused. Bridesmere is very comfortable and well equipped. A home from home. Vicki and family are very welcoming and helpful. An excellent week. We can’t wait to go back.



A week with family

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would highly recommend Bridesmere at Clifford Barton.The converted barn is comfortable and clean. It has an idyllic out look over the woodland and wildlife.We made good use of the fire pit into the evenings.We enjoyed the beautiful walks and taking the boats out onto the lake.Bridesmere is a very relaxing way to spend a week. Thankyou Vicki and Gavin.



A family holiday on Dartmoor - fresh air, outdoor adventures and a real 'get away from it all'!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hadn't visited Dartmoor until this summer, previously tending to drive through or past it to reach the coast. We didn't realise what we had been missing! Bridesmere, a converted barn at Clifford Barton, is amongst the greenest of hills and valleys with some wonderful countryside to explore. There are fabulous woodland walks along the River Teign very near by (we walked with our dog but our kids borrowed bikes and the paths were great for easy off road cycling). If you are feeling adventurous there are some great spots for wild swimming - or just a refreshing dip.
Bridesmere is comfortable and clean - inside you'd hardly know it is a real old barn, except the sloping floor upstairs is a clue! We enjoyed a green woodworking course with Alisdair from Little Acorns, held in one of the barns in the grounds. We loved learning some new skills and our kids were very pleased to be brandishing their handmade wooden swords afterwards!
Vicki and Gavin have clearly put a great deal of thought and effort into making this a fabulous environment for a holiday. During a busy school holiday summer time when the traffic queues to reach the coast and the beaches are packed, we have enjoyed a real 'get away' and come back refreshed, recharged and keen to return to Dartmoor another day.




Peaceful, beautiful and comfortable haven

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely almost week (thanks to COVID!) in this idyllic place which is far away from the busy life (but has wifi if you really need it!). The sound of birds, with occasional farm life is what filled our ears and we spent a lot of time exploring the huge property looking for wildlife and the stunning night sky.

Our accommodation was lovely, beautifully furnished with all that we needed, the beds were comfortable, the showers and baths were hot and good. Our boys loved the big room and exploring inside and outside the house. The also loved the lake, walking round it and going for canoe and boat rides on it.

Vicki is a lovely host, she was communicative and kept us up to date in the changing COVID situation and the property was cleaned very efficiently. They have done their utmost best in the situation with everything and still manage to run a lovely place with all the experiences including a beautiful hot tub.

I can only highly recommend Clifford Barton! Thank you Vicki and family! We hope to see you again!




A perfect place in nature

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We´ve had a lovely stay in Bridesmere, such an idyllic location, only trees, butterflies and birdsong. The house is spacious and cosy, we enjoyed the beautiful walks in the area and swimming in the river. It was great to be able to use the bikes provided, and our teenage kids and their friends loved being on the nearby lake with boats and paddle board. We can´t wait to come back, thank you, Vicky and Gavin!



Shelter in a Storm!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived in February, during Storm Dennis. What a delight it was, after an arduous journey, to find the house warm and with a freshly baked cake on the table!

We were staying for a second time and this time, specifically to undertake the 5 day green woodworking chair making course with Little Acorn Furniture, whose workshop is based there. Staying on site is perfect - we were able to park the car at the start of the week and barely touched it until we left on the Friday. As we stayed in February, we particularly appreciated being able to come home for a hot lunch! We thoroughly recommend Alisdair’s courses, he is a superb teacher.

The accommodation is spacious, stylish and well thought out. Immaculately clean, it really is a very comfortable place to stay. My favourite spot is at the table, by the window, watching the birds on the feeder and listening to their early morning twitter, especially if I got there before anyone else was up!

Having stayed previously, we can also recommend the additional facilities, bikes, a games room, fire pit etc. The accommodation is set in a beautiful location, a short walk takes you to a small on-site lake. The owners are very friendly and have really thought about what to provide to make Bridesmere a really relaxing place to stay. There is plenty to keep people of all ages occupied, we thoroughly recommend that you visit!




A hidden gem.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Feb 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently spent the last month staying at Bridesmere, we were a party of 5 workmen who were working locally.

The property is wonderful and catered for the 5 of us perfectly, the beds were very comfortable and due to its location it’s very quiet. The other barn with table tennis table and pool table meant we were kept amused.

I very much look forward to bringing my family back here for a holiday later in the year.

I can thoroughly recommend staying here and Vicki the host was so helpful and friendly.




Birthday weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Feb 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great few days with family and this location was central and ideal for us all. It also enabled us to get out for good walks with good pub grub near by. The place is very pet friendly and the games barn is an excellent idea for passing a couple of hours at the end of the day...and allows the grand children to let off steam!!!!



Great Location and Views

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location and lovely accommodation. Fine views of local countryside and ideal location to explore the nearby countryside.



A week with family in Bridesmere and Butterdon ....

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All that I have written on Butterdon for our family holiday applies to Bridesmere too. I would merely add that the spacious accommodation in Bridesmere for two couples and four children was superb and the living room/kitchen with its farmhouse table and bench seating was quite adequate when the four of us from Butterdon joined the rest of the family there.
All the furnishings were lovely and so carefully considered. Bedroom and bathroom facilities were superb for a large family group. To have the large enclosed garden with all the garden seating overlooking part of the woodland area was relaxing, either during a sunny afternoon or watching the sun set and darkness fall with views of such a clear, unpolluted night sky. The firepit just outside the garden was perfect, enabling us to sit round a glowing fire and enjoy a glass of wine as night fell.
Clifford Barton with all its facilities in such a lovely part of rural Devon, Dartmoor and the coast in easy reach, and with Vicki and Gavin such welcoming hosts should enable you to have a very special holiday.




Escape to heaven ...

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my 2nd time staying & it was fabulous again. Location, house, rooms, bedrooms, bathrooms all excellent. If u want to get away from everything this is the place. We walked everywhere in the beautiful countryside. Played table tennis, table football & cooked & laughed the whole stay. Bbq & outside table/chairs were used throughout.
This place is a true gem of a place to stay.
I would stay every year if I could!
Love it!
Thank you Vicki xx




Bridesmere

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Bridesmere - a fabulous place to unwind and get away from the hurly burly. We discovered the accomodation when I booked one of my sons on to one of Ali’s fantastic green woodworking courses (also highly recommended).

We loved that everything had been thought of - from the freshly baked cake on arrival, to the bikes ready to borrow in the barn next door.

The accomodation suited three teenagers (comfortable beds and WiFi!) as much as us (peace). It was immaculately clean and spacious and had everything you needed to live very comfortably for a week.

We loved: watching the the birds and rabbits; walking around the lake and visiting the Moor, Exeter and nearby beaches. 3/5 of the family even managed a bit of wild swimming even though there had been snow the week before!






Weekend on dartmoor

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this place and the generosity of the owners in sharing so much, barn of games, bike, boats, walks, cake and apple juice. Didn’t want to leave.



A lovely peaceful and relaxing beautiful place

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here over the new year. The accommodation was fantastic and we had plenty of space. The slopping floors we unusual that we quickly got used to and the boys loved sliding down them. The walks and the views were amazing, and we especially liked watching the birds feed in the garden. The games barn was an added bonus as it helped to keep the boys entertained. The kitchen was full equipped, and we loved the coffees. Vicki and Gavin were on hand if needed and really helpful. Hopefully we will be returning soon.
Trevor,Southampton




A great family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridesmere is a wonderful venue for a large group of people to get together. The setting is perfect and the fire pit enables night time outside with owls hooting out hunting, pheasants fidgeting and squawking as they settle on their roosts, deer rutting and bats flitting in the inky sky. Inside, the house is warm, spacious and all the facilities work well. We were out during the day as the weather was more than kind to us and the countryside is fantastic and we really enjoyed the walking, exploring and a very quick dip in the freezing river - it was the middle of October. We stayed for a week and the sloping floor lost its initial novelty but it makes you appreciate level floors. The bikes, games room and free firewood are extra bonuses which really enhance the whole package. We were glad that the rubbish and recycling facilities were so comprehensive and there are clear environmental priorities at Clifford Barton. Vicki and Gavin are helpful, friendly and easy hosts. We really enjoyed our week at Bridesmere. Is there anything we would like differently? Small things like a sharp kitchen knife or two, more pots and pans - but we are a family who likes to cook ourselves. We also spent two nights in the Caban up on the hill when our numbers increased and we can recommend that accommodation too. Very different obviously but a treat for views and space and the compost toilet is excellent. Again, the weather was very good so it could be a different experience in rain.



Bridesmere Review

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spacious well equipped cottage in stunning countryside. A welcome folder thoughtfully provided all the information required for your stay. The large lounge dining room lends towards family gatherings and the big kitchen even had a Nespresso coffee machine with pods and a welcome sponge cake and a bottle of Dartmoor fruit juice on arrival was a lovely touch. The large double bedrooms have ample space each with a relaxing sofa but the bedroom with four single beds lacks a wardrobe to hang coats/jackets/suits/shirts. Ample hot water for showers or baths and 3 toilets. Outside there is a patio table and chairs for 8, a fire pit with stools, bikes to borrow, and table tennis and table football in the games barn. There are some gorgeous nearby walks with either a lake, stream or river. A short drive from local facilities for a drink and to stock up the fridge. We’re coming again!



Beautiful place

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired Bridesmere and both cottages for my 40th birthday. There was 10 of us and 5 dogs in total. All of the properties were very well equipped and lots of little extras to make the stay even more pleasant ( a lovely home made cake), there was even a dog bowl, towel, treats and poo bags. The gardens were enclosed so no need to worry about the dogs escaping and the fire pit was lovely to sit round on a chilly evening.
We will definitely be returning in the future.




A great place for a working weekend with colleagues, a group of family or friends

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were there on a working weekend to do menu development, the house and it surroundings were perfect and I would recommend it to anyone. Would be great for a wedding…..



Beautiful house and location

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a year in advance to attend our son’s wedding, and all the admin and information was brilliant. The hosts were on site but really unobtrusive, and left us a freshly made cake. The rooms were tasteful and the kitchen very well equipped- there were no challenges cooking a big dinner for our guests- and there were many more activities we could have undertaken. Highly recommended.



Nature lovers paradise

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week here. There’s lots of outdoors things to do - walking, cycling, wild swimming and a several activities for a rainy day. Lots of birds to watch flying around the garden and plenty of wildlife. We enjoyed our stay.



a lovely place

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time in the cottage. Beautiful surroundings, lovely house, nice fire place, the stunning woodpeckers!



Wonderful place

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridesmere barn was the perfect place to stay. Very comfortable, quirky accommodation, with plenty of space to relax indoors. The outdoor space was great too, and we loved the peaceful location, watching the bird-life and strolling up to the lake. The games barn was a boon - we'd have used it more, but the sun kept shining!

The location is lovely - lots of wild swimming and walking opportunities nearby.

Thank you, Vicki and Gavin - we hope to come back!




Excellent place for a family break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the first minute of entering Bridesmere we felt at home. Everything has been thought of. A lovely home made cake, by Vicky, and a bottle of local apple juice awaited us on arrival which was a lovely bonus. Location is lovely and peaceful. Highly recommended.



A place for celebration and relaxation!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all the Clifford Barton properties to enable our family to celebrate a special birthday and gathered in the garden and dining area of Bridesmere for champagne and special meals! Bridesmere was perfect for us and we were blessed with glorious weather. The house is well equipped and has lovely furnishings; it is spacious and light and our family loved it. We walked, cycled, had fun in the party barn and explored the area - our family were really sad to leave.... especially the children. I'm sure we shall return!



Weekend visit

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Bridesmere for a couple of nights as we were attending a wedding nearby. We were all really impressed with the cottage and the location. We would have liked to stay longer and hope to return again soon.



A Gem of a Place!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Dec 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay, great outdoor scenery, walks and wildlife, there is something for everyone!



Very High Quality Barn and Great Location

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn is spacious and beautifully designed. There is an emphasis on caring for the the environment and wildlife which we really appreciated. The owners thoughtfully provided numerous extras - including a fantastic home-made cake and free use of bicycles. A very comfortable and uplifting place overall, only about 10 mins from A30 but quiet and peaceful, and close to wonderful riverside walks and cycles.



Great barn in an excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we stayed at Bridesmere in September, there were 4 adults and 4 dogs. the location was great, close to woodland walks, Dartmoor and beaches. The best beach we found for dogs was Teingmouth

The Barn is well kitted out with everything you will need. We arrived to find homemade cake and treats for the dogs.
Vicky was very helpful in telling us about the area and places to visit.

we would definitely recommend Bridesmere and hope to return next year




Great facilities and location with peace & quiet!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property had everything we needed except a phone signal (but the wi-fi worked well! Comfy beds, we'll equipped kichen and lounge. Quirky slope to the property ( which we were warned about.) Great location for river walks with the dog.



Had a lovely week in a special place.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time staying at Bridesmere holiday home this summer. Gary and Vicki made us feel very welcome and were on hand to give us information about the locallity if we needed it. The children enjoyed using the bikes and playing the various games in the barn. Great fresh herbs in the couryard for cooking. A real gem of a place.



Quiet Beauty

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely spot. Two families with four late teenage boys which made the 4 bed childrens room work. A lovely barn conversion retaining the character of an old building while having all the comforts of a modern upgrade. Be warned wonky floors take a bit of getting used to but add some fun. Soooo quiet, sitting out in the private garden (the other side of the house from the picture) the only sound was the birds singing, it is also a good suntrap for an evening bbq.. Lovely walks up and down the river from the house and only 40 minutes by car from Exeter or Dartmoor when you want more. Devon lanes are scary, but when you take it easy, (as everyone seems to) safe. Fabulous games room (Shared with 2 other lets) with a quality Table tennis table and table football. and (I guess) a 3/4 snooker table, a good back up if it rains (fortunately for us it didn't). We cycled in all directions from the house and for the flatter (not flat) would recommend south east. Good activities around, we Canoed the Ex in Exeter and hired MTB's at Haldon Forest both good fun 1/2 days. Friendly welcome from Vicky and around for help and advice if needed but really left us to enjoy our stay. Which we thoroughly did.




Beautiful setting, very good accommodation, and very friendly

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is very good standard accommodation with lots of extras for families - a barn with games, bikes etc., and comfortable and well-equipped, but more than that it is a beautiful setting. Our hosts are a very friendly and delightful.



A beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival after a long journey, worried that we had missed our tesco delivery & unable to contact anyone, we found that it had already been delivered and put away for us! Fantastic!
Bridesmere was absolutely lovely, charming, spacious and welcoming - the homemade cake and apple juice waiting for us were delicious, thank you so much Vicki.
The games room was popular with us all and such a bonus addition especially for my 3 sons (16-24) who love a bit of competition!
Nothing was too much trouble for Vicki and Gavin and they were extremely helpful and professional. We had a relaxing and fun holiday, thank you!




Wonderful family holiday at Bridesmere

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to Vikki and Gavin for a lovely stay at Bridesmere. The property is beautifully converted and we loved the quirky slanted floor in the living area - it certainly provided endless entertainment for our little boy.

Very comfortable stay, with everything you need for a self-catering holiday. Great location too, with plenty to do nearby.




Clifford Barton does it again!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Clifford Barton and it has everything for a young family and is the perfect place to wind down from everyday life. All the properties are well maintained, welcoming and great value for money. We will be coming back!!