FB Twitter

Mardon - Clifford Barton

Mardon - Clifford Barton

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 57 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


2 bedroom cottage (sleeps 5) nestled in the heart of the beautiful wooded Teign Valley on Dartmoor - next to National Trust's Fingle Woods (850 hectares of footpaths, wildlife haven, mountain biking), set in 50 acres private nature reserve with 2 acre lake. Private fenced garden. Great location for kids and adults for walking, cycling, wild swimming, golfing and fishing.

Lovely comfortable cosy cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 8 nights in December. Lots of lovely interior craftwork touches.
Gavin and Vicki are friendly helpful hosts.
Great location with many walks from the door - on the estate and to the riverbanks beyond.
Children loved using canoe on their lake (and we were pleased to have the life-jackets).
Highly recommended.




BBC Booking

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our client was really happy with the property and Vicky was very helpful throughout the booking process.



Excellent home from home in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay in Clifford Barton and wonderful as always. Comfortable, immaculate, quiet and cosy with the most beautiful countryside surrounding you. A few minutes from the River Teign with an easy walk to the pub. The private lake is a few minutes’ walk too and you might just spot deer and badgers. The cottage has everything needed for comfort with lovely beds and linens, a well equipped kitchen and a wood burner with ample free wood. A pretty, private garden to sit in at night around the fire pit and watch the stars and listen to the rutting deer (in season) and owls. Bird watchers will be in their element with the bird feeder by the window and an abundance of garden birds flitting in and out. I can not recommend this property highly enough. The owners are helpful and friendly and very attentive if required or invisible if not. Cannot wait to return.



A fabulous week at Clifford Barton.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time stopping in Mardon Cottage. The cottage is set in a beautiful location, is very homely, comfortable and well equipped throughout. It's a good spot to explore the surrounding countryside and we really enjoyed the private garden and birds coming to graze on the bird feeder. There is a beautiful lake on site and we enjoyed walking through the woods to Fingle Bridge Inn for lunch (it would be a good bike ride too) as well as a great walk around Fernworthy Reservoir, which is nearby. We also enjoyed the games barn and hired the outdoor hot tub and were lucky to have a clear evening so the sky was full of stars and planets - very special.. I could go on and on, but really it's a fantastic place to stop and is highly recommended. Carol and Daryn



Absolutely love this place

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we have stayed at Clifford Barton twice and can't wait to go back again! It is such a beautiful location and so peaceful. The accommodation is spotless and has everything you need. The addition of the hot tub is awesome, so brilliantly done.
The location is really good, only 20-30 minutes from Exeter, lots of lovely nearby villages and plenty of walks.




Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place, great cottages, amazing cycling walking and fun in the river.
Wonderfully dog friendly




February half-term - a fun filled family week in Dartmoor!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our wet and windy week at Clifford Barton. A warm welcome of homemade cake, dog treats and a fire ready to light was a great start to our fab week. Vicki and all of the Bloomfield's are very generous hosts and this shines through in the accommodation which is spotless and very comfortable, thoughtfully furnished with a well equipped kitchen. Vicki pays attention to the little things which make a huge difference, from fairy lights around mirrors to lots of much appreciated touches like dishwasher tabs, bin bags, a dog towel and bowl, etc etc.
The play barn, with a roaring fire, was an added bonus for evenings in - playing table football, snooker and table tennis. Our girls loved the sound system and the disco lights. The walk to Castle Drogo is just stunning - with a friendly pub placed half way for refuelling at the Fingle Bridge. We all enjoyed the peace, fresh air and family time (yes, even got a big thumbs up from our tween and teen who had very little screen time and enjoyed that aspect too), there's also so much to do and see in one week that we will definitely be back!




Excellent family break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really impressed with the customer experience, lovely, well equipped cottage, fantastic location for walks. Would definitely recommend.



1st time here but not the last

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay thank you very much. The cottage was cosy and warm, the facilities were excellent, bikes to borrow, wood to burn in the fire. The cake and juice was a lovely touch on arrival and I think you have thought of just about everything you need to make a stay relaxing. The games room is a fantastic idea and we are already making plans to visit again with some friends.
Thanks very much indeed for such a lovely short break.

The Briggs family.




Cosy cottage in the idyllic Teign valley

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and a friend spent 4 days at Mardon in October 2019. The cottages are situated in the stunning Teign valley, just a few miles off the A30, and offer a perfect location as a base to explore the National Park, Exeter and the Devonshire coast.

Upon arrival Vicki and Gavin had left us a delicious homemade cake and local apple juice. The cottage was clean and well presented and had everything you could ask for for an easy self catering stay. There is a spacious well-equipped games room with Pool/Snooker, Table Tennis and Table Football. Given the length of our stay, and the weather, we did not have the opportunity to make the most of everything available, including the wood burning stove, private garden area (including BBQ to borrow) and bikes.

We would recommend the moderate 11 mile round walk up the valley from the cottages along the river to Castle Drogo with a convenient stop at the Fingle Bridge Inn along the way.

Thank you to Vicki and Gavin for making it such a relaxing and comfortable stay.




The perfect little place

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at Mardon to be nearby to a local wedding. It was perfect for my husband and I, plus 3 children. The attention to detail in the cottage with regards to decoration is beautiful. The cottage was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is perfectly equipped for a self catering retreat. The booking transaction was very smooth and Vikki was very helpful anytime I contacted her pre trip. The local apple juice and yummy cake on arrival was very much appreciated. My son loved the games barn and little girl the play room! We hope to return one day.



Stunning Location in the teign Valley

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like quiet, nature, and long walks, this is the place to be. The cottage is very comfortable, well equipped. Wifi is good, but phones don't work in the Valley (so neurotic millenials should avoid). Vicki and Gavin are always helpful! Have stayed on several occasions, and have booked again!




A very enjoyable stay in lovely accommodation in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mardon cottage is a beautifully restored cottage set in a tranquil valley on the edge of Dartmoor.
It has been beautifully restored and furnished by the current owners who are extremely friendly and helpful.
Cannot recommend it highly enough and would definitely love to return.




A friend's reunion at Mardon Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oh wow what a smashing little cottage set in acres of peaceful woodland. If you need a break away from the rat race then Clifford Barton is definitely somewhere you need to stay. My uni friends and I were visiting for a friend's wedding nearby and happened to stumble across Mardon Cottage. The owner Vicki was very pleasant and easy to converse with and booking was very easy indeed. On arrival we found the cottage to be spotlessly clean (which was much appreciated) and had been left a homemade cake with local apple juice which, having travelled from all 4 corners of the UK this was a lovely little welcoming touch. We particularly enjoyed watching the birds on the bird feeder by the window in the mornings and have named them all now-watch out for 'Steve' the Coal Finch! The only suggestion (as ladies) we would make is to have a couple of door hooks or somewhere higher to hang longer dresses as the bar in the wardrobe was too low to hang these items however this wasn't really a problem. This is a great place to stay and thoroughly recommended-a home from home. It's very apparent that the owners take great care not only in the presentation of their property but also the enjoyment of their guests and we'll definitely be back! Thank you for a wonderful break :-)



Short stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Mardon was fantastic, the cottage is in a beautiful setting with lots of wildlife on the doorstep ( hedgehogs, bats, many varieties of birds)
We were made to feel very welcome, even our dog! Who enjoyed swimming in the nearby lake.
Our only negative was that we didn’t book the cottage for longer.




Wonderful peaceful beautiful place

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed in many holiday properties, and Clifford Barton is my favourite. The attention to detail and design is outstanding, location brilliant and owners are very kind. Mardon is great for the fully enclosed garden, with a high fence suitable even for our adventurous pets. One small point - while the beds were better than in many holiday lets, they were less supportive than I experienced in the other two properties at Clifford Barton (Bridesmere and Butterdon) which both contain exceptionally high quality mattresses.



Perfect for a Devon Holiday with Children

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mardon Cottage could not have been more perfect for our stay- the kids loved having their own little play loft full of toys and books, as well as a barn with ping pong and other activities. The parents loved not needing to occupy the kids at all! We could relax in the backyard and watch the bird feeder with a cup of tea. There was plenty to keep us just busy enough on our holiday- a walk around the little lake on the property, or a nice easy bike ride (even our 3 year old managed it!) to the lovely local pub. We got further afield once or twice to explore Dartmoor and find some cream tea, but really all you need for a relaxed week with kids (I had thought that impossible) is on the property (and in the well organized kitchen)!



Autumn in Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time in Mardon Cottage. Comfortable accommodation, beautiful surrroundings. Homemade cake and apple juice on arrival made a super welcoming gesture.



recommended

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great jumping off point for Dartmoor - we stayed in November, beautiful Autumn colours. Great information provided by hosts as to what to do where and all set up for a great holiday.



A lovely place to stay at

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage excellent if you have a dog with you as the garden was secure and there were great walks right on the doorstep. The cottage was warm, cosy and well equipped there was plenty of crockery and a very good cooker and oven. We enjoyed our games of table tennis in the games room and we hope to visit again.



Mardon Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Mardon cottage. It was a lovely comfortable cottage, full of character and in a stunning location. There were beautiful walks from the doorstep and lots of wildlife. The owners had thought of everything. We had a really enjoyable stay and would love to return.



Cosy and well equipped

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired Bridesmere and both cottages for my 40th birthday. There was 10 of us and 5 dogs in total. All of the properties were very well equipped and lots of little extras to make the stay even more pleasant ( a lovely home made cake), there was even a dog bowl, towel, treats and poo bags. The gardens were enclosed so no need to worry about the dogs escaping and the fire pit was lovely to sit round on a chilly evening.
We will definitely be returning in the future.




Cosy and comfortable in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm and comfortable cottage set in an idyllic location. The cottage has everything necessary for a perfect stay. Well equipped kitchen, excellent bathrooms, very comfortable beds, wood burner, tv, lovely garden for sitting and gazing at the stars, bbq.... A few minutes walk takes you to the lake. Wonderful to sit with a book and watch the birds (including a kingfisher). A few minutes in the other direction takes you to the river and a superb walk to Fingle Bridge Inn. Highly recommended. There is a large barn opposite the cottage with games for all ages. We had a wonderful week here in Mardon. We explored many places from here and returned every evening to a welcome and cosy home from home. Vicki and Gavin are excellent and considerate hosts, ready to help out with advice or requests.



Wanderungen im Dartmoor bei herrlichem Sonnenschein

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir haben uns in diese traumhafte Unterkunft verliebt und haben gehofft, dass die Unterkunft annähernd so wäre, wie auf der Webseite beschrieben. Bilder können manchmal die Wahrheit ein wenig verschönern. Aber, in diesem Fall haben wir alles genauso vorgefunden, wie es angekündigt wurde. Wir waren alle sehr erfreut über die Gastfreundschaft, die sich durch einen selbstgebackenen Kuchen und einen eine Flasche sehr leckerem Apfelsaft zeigte. Wir haben jeden Tag eine Wanderung bzw. einen ausgiebigen Spaziergang unternommen. Die Restaurants bzw. Pubs in der näheren Umgebung waren alle gut und preisgünstig. Wir waren vier Erwachsene und können diese Unterkunft jeder Familie wärmstens empfehlen.



A blissful week in glorious Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having booked all three Clifford Barton cottages for the Bank Holiday weekend, we remained in Mardon for the rest of the week when the wider families returned home..... lucky us! We were joined by two other family members in this lovely cottage and had a whole week of fair weather in which to explore the surrounding area. We cycled, we walked, we explored a bit of Dartmoor, we relaxed with a glass of wine in the garden loungers! Mardon offered us such a peaceful haven - warm, well equipped and beautifully furnished, close to good walks.... all you need for a great holiday! And we must mention the lovely owners and their family - and Twiggy the dog - who are so friendly and welcoming. Thank you to you all. We shall be back!



Great holiday for everyone

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, lots to do and places to walk right from the door. We went horse riding, cycling and a lot of beautiful walks.
Our accommodation was very clean and had everything we needed. Enclosed rear garden was great for our dogs and we enjoyed feeding and spotting the wild birds. Would definitely love to book again.




Great location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful, so comfortable and well equipped. The cake and apple juice on arrival was a lovely touch. It was warm and cosy - I wish our wood burner was as good as the one in Mardon! The birds on the bird feeder were a delight. Overall a great location, great cottage and great experience.



December holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday cottage in a great location. The cottage was well equipped and the play barn a big hit for the whole family.



A Christmas family break

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Dec 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a lovely place, comfortable, spacious and very warm. The play barn was a great addition as an outdoor area for children and adults to let off steam and get away from screens!! Put on an extra layer though if its in the winter as its not heated.

The location is very remote which part of the appeal. Its really quiet and peaceful. The walks are a great way to bird spot and wind down. The lake walk was just about the right distance for my elderly, frail mother. Would have been nice to have cycled to nearby Fingle Woods but its quite a hill back up so not suitable for young children or inexperienced cyclists.

It was a lovely touch to find a homemade cake and apple juice on our arrival. Also the Christmas Tree and decorations really added a festive touch. Thank you for making it a Christmas to remember!!





Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at Mardon late on the Friday night after a long drive, the hosts had been in and put the lights on to welcome us. The cottage was warm and welcoming and a beautiful cake and local apple juice was on the table which was an unexpected and much appreciated surprise.
We booked the cottage as we were attending a wedding near by and Vicki had helped me with booking of taxis etc..
The cottage is beautiful and has everything you could need and more. The decor is lovely and the finishing touches simply gorgeous.
The small touches were really appreciated ( ice tray full, water ready in the coffee machine heating and lights on for when we arrived).
The beds and bedding were perfect and we genuinely had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back.

Thanks again for such a memorable stay.





Mardon

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
good location, lots of wildlife, cycling, walking. Great escape from it all. Roads were a bit narrow otherwise really good place.



Excellent holiday accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculate well equipped and peaceful holiday accommodation in wonderful setting. Friendly helpful unobtrusive owners .Highly recommended



Short break stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location and in a desirable cottage made for a very enjoyable long weekend away at the beginning of the year. Great idea to have bikes available as our kids enjoyed using these. We also enjoyed studying all of the birdlife at the back of the property......fascinating !



A wintry break in February

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The occasional snow shower didn't prevent us from enjoying our stay in the tranquil location of Clifford Barton. It's unusual to get away to somewhere where the sound is birdsong and the birds coming into the garden are woodpeckers, goldfinches, chaffinches and a nuthatch! Mardon was cosy with an efficient wood burner and the cottage was immaculate. Spotting the miniature pony and other ponies through the window only added to the charm. A lovely spot for a break.



Base for the 2 moors walk

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our intention on renting the cottage was to use it as a central base to complete the 2 moors walk. The cottage itself is remote in terms of access but excellent as a get away from it all residence with an abundance of wild life on the doorstep. Children and adults are well catered for with a games room along with bikes / skateboards etc available for free loan.
From our perspective we completed the walk ( which is excellent ) but the driving was a bit tiring, unfortunately we had taken distance at face value without taking into account the very narrow country roads. In summary we had an super stay at the cottage and would recommend it anyone wishing to stay in that area of Devon.




A wonderfully tranquil place full of birds and a great place to recharge

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is such a quiet place, extremely safe for children and full of bird life in the south facing garden. A delightful spot. The owners were most helpful without in any way being intrusive.



Mardon

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mardon is a very nice cottage, completely furnished and in very good taste. The location is beautiful and Vicki Bloomfield is a very helpful and friendly hostess. If ever we'll visit Dartmoor again, this is the place where we will want to stay.



Short break with a kid

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a perfect place to stay with our 2.5-year old daughter to enjoy piece and quiet and rest from the busy London life. The surroundings have a lot of picturesque places to visit and the cottage had also everything we needed for our stay. It was a very good thing that we didn't have to bring toys and other stuff for our daughter as it was all available. I would deffinitely recommend this place for stay, but go for more than 4 days as it's not enough :)



Wonderful cottage, great location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gorgeous cottage! Beautifully presented, very practical and luxurious for a family. Great playroom in the house, and the games barn was fantastic. When we entered the cottage there was a wonderful cake waiting for us- thank you! So many terrific pubs nearby and beautiful walks.



All was great. Thanks

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoughtfully equipped and presented cottage. Friendly , helpful and flexible owners. Lovely welcome with irresistible home made cake despite diet! All good.



Lovely comfortable cottage in great location

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have recently returned from a 5 night stay in Mardon one of the Clifford Barton cottages. The cottage was excellent and exactly as described on the website. The fittings and furnishings were of a high quality and the cottage was very well presented. I met Vicki on a few occassions during my stay and she was welcoming and helpful.

The location was great with plenty of good walking locally. The nearby river Teign provides good walks in both directions which can easily be extended into longer circular walks.

Moretonhampstead is a short drive away and has good shops for provisions and a variety of eating places. Having said this with a bit of planning it would be more than possible to avoid using the car.

I am planning to return in February and have already recommended the cottages to others. They are very reasonably priced and are of a much higher standard than I would have expected at the price paid.




A peaceful oasis.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband, myself and our two dogs have recently returned from a week long stay at Clifford Barton, staying in Marsdon Cottage. The cottage was lovely, very clean and homely with a little private garden complete with a very busy bird feeder. No road noise either! It was made even nicer because Vicki had made the most amazing cake for us and also supplied some lovely apple juice. There were lots of grounds surrounding the cottages complete with a small lake and superb walking a 5 minute stroll from the property in the amazing National Trust Fingle Woods. We would (actually already have!) recommended staying here to our friends and family.



Wonderful stay at Mardon

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a couple of weeks at Mardon I can assure this place has given us a great time for all of us. My children have had a lot of fun and we have found the quietness we were looking for. The surroundings are amazing, they really worth a visit. Last but not least, Vicky, Gavin and their kids have made us feel at home from the first moment. Thanks to all of them.



Mardon - marvellous

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet, comfortable and a stunning location. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming or helpful. We only wish we could have had more time there to enjoy exploring the farm and walks in the surrounding countryside.



Great stay, lots of space and very friendly owners

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay. Our little girl of 2 years old could run around in the garden without us having to worry about places she could fall or sustain other injuries. The owners were really helpfull in providing stuff we needed or in advice on what to do. Also their dog is really child friendly which was a big plus! We had a wonderfull stay and will come back in the future when we come back to beautiful Dartmoor.



Perfect rural retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners who live adjacent to the cottage were extremely welcoming ( delicious home-made cake and local apple juice left on the table for your arrival) but discrete. The cottage is beautifully appointed and very well equipped with everything spotlessly clean. The garden is private and very pretty.The location is very peaceful but within easy driving distance of Exeter and other smaller towns and villages. The supermarkets all deliver here so there would be no need ever to venture out if you simply wanted to stay put. Altogether a lovely place to get away from it all for a while.



We keep coming back

Review submitted on Thu, 28 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've not stayed at a lovelier spot in the UK... Hope it doesn't become too popular! ....................................................



A little corner of heaven

Review submitted on Fri, 01 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of four with a dog who visited for a long weekend, and cannot fault anything with this beautiful and idyllic cottage and location. The mix of vintage and high end fittings is a favourite and this cottage has been styled very well. Home from home. Great local walks and wildlife, very peaceful and serene. Very warm and friendly hosts although not intrusive, and nothing was too much, so thank you Vikki and family.
Would not hesitate in recommending or revisiting in the future.




All mod cons in the wilds

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully sited holiday cottage with everything you could need incl lovely log fire and a lot of special touches. We will definitely revisit! .



A fab cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really impressed with this lovely, well appointed cottage. The beds were really comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. The kids enjoyed playing in the barn opposite. We had a lovely time.



Great location.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for exploring the Teign valley and Dartmoor. We enjoyed a weekend break with some great walks up the river Teign and a fantastic welcoming wood burner to warm the February evenings! The peace and tranquility was much appreciated, listening to the Owls at night and the woodpeckers in the early morning made for a relaxing start to the day.

The property was spotlessly clean and tidy and well equipped.

Would have loved to stay longer...




A perfect weekend away

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked last minute and the booking process was very simple and Vicki was very efficient. Lovely accom, just wished we had longer to explore the location itself. We would like to go back, using Mardon as a base, to explore Devon more.



Absolutely loved it!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real magical Christmas treat!! Cosy, spotless, warm, and beautifully decorated!!! Also a real treat to show our children real stars without our light pollution seen in essex!!
Hosts and their children were lovely too!! Not forgetting the gorgeous twiggy that we all fell in love with!!!!




Weekend stay

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with our accomodation. The cottages are very attractive, comfortable and well equipped and we were sad not to have had more time to stay there as the surrounding countryside is lovely with some beautiful walks.



A lovely find.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great start with an excellent sandwich cake to greet us after Vicki contacted me to correct my botched booking. The flat, farm and surrounding area were all a delight to explore. We will certainly be booking again.



Peace and tranquility in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent an excellent week here in early September. The cottage is immaculate and thoughtfully equipped. Comfy beds and quality linens make for a good sleep. Well equipped kitchen to enable easy meal preparation. Tv, wifi, guide books. Lovely pretty garden with abundance of bird life. Walk from your door to the lake, or along the river to Fingle Bridge and beyond. Well placed for drives into Dartmoor or north and south coasts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend Clifford Barton and look forward to a future stay.



A Memorable Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at Clifford Barton after a seven and a half hour journey of traffic jams from Ipswich and found the tranquillity of Clifford Barton a very welcome contrast. The effort to travel to Clifford Barton and subsequent return was more than matched by the enjoyment we had at the cottage.

We were able to use Clifford Barton as a base to visit other localities in the west country, e.g. the Devon coast. There were also plenty of walks around the cottage, e.g. along the river Teign, to the lake etc, whilst Dartmoor National Park was only a few miles away. The facilities at the cottage enabled us to have a self contained holiday while Vicki and her husband were always ready to help, e.g. ensuring that we could use the washing machine.

We would recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a stay away from crowds of holidaymakers, and would have stayed longer if we had more time.

June and John from Ipswich.