FB Twitter

Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door

Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
91% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.1
Condition
3.8
Location
4.5
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.5


Cologin Lodges and Barn Restaurant

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Slightly out the way and off the beaten track.Cologin lodges were a perfect base for exploring the surrounding area,everything you need is in the lodge which was very clean well equipped with a comfortable bed.The site is very quiet and is also dog friendly.On site there is a fantastic restaurant.
The Barn bar was welcoming with friendly staff and served excellent reasonably priced food.If it's peace and quiet you are after this place should suit you to a tee....

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent



Dawn from Airth stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in September 2020


Wonderful Experience

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot speak highly enough of our experience here. The staff were so friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us and make we enjoyed our stay. The location is beautiful and only minutes from Oban and The Barn still does the best food in town!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Friendly staff, good atmosphere, amazing food!



Alasdair from Hertford stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 2 nights in September 2020


Enjoyed our recent stay at Cologin.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We really enjoyed our visit . Only a few negatives . 1) not being able to book dinner on two of our nights . 2) I suffer with back problems and found the bed not as comfortable as it could be . 3) felt door and kitchen was to close together. Only minor problems . Place was clean and tidy and would rate it as a 7 / 10 .

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Food was good but was only able to have dinner on one night due to other bookings . ( recommend being able to book in advance)



Samuel from Glasgow stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in September 2020


Cologin chalets.....well worth a visit.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pleasant rural location. Chalet very comfortable and clean. Welcoming atmosphere ....with heating and lamps on for arrival. Great to find somewhere that takes dogs.......and you can come for short breaks. Would recommend.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Nice meal.....well presented. Good service.



Guest from Glasgow stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in August 2020


Fab and peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chalets were clean, warm and comfortable, will equipped and dog friendly. Only 10 minutes drive into Oban. Added bonus of having the Barn if you wanted to eat out, or get a takeaway. Meals were good value for the money, staff nice and friendly.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Didn't eat in the barn, but had a few takeaways.



Paula from Cambuslang stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 5 nights in August 2020


Good location for exploring the area

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location of the chalet was great for getting out and about, however the chalet is in need of a bit of TLC and I think the price for 4 nights (£412= £103 a night) was very expensive given some other similar size accommodation in the area, with more amenities and newer facilities.

Guest from Pewsey stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 4 nights in August 2020


Lovely Stay & Good Customer Service

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our time at the Chalet and found the accommodation very cozy and clean. Hosts were very helpful when there was a mix up through booking.com. Loved the Barn Bar also and great service from the bartender. Only a 15 minute drive into the centre of Oban, would definitely recommend!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Had a few pints of Ale in the bar which was lovely, service great. Unfortunately the restaurant was fully booked during our stay so we didn't get the chance to eat there but it smelled great.



Amanda from Glasgow stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 2 nights in August 2020


Wonderful place

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is wonderful- nestled in a little glen- yet about 2 miles from convenience of Oban. One of the best we've stayed. Very quiet and peaceful. The lodge was very clean and had everything needed for a relaxing stay. Really comfortable bed. Terrace was a lovely place to sit in the sun. Very much appreciated the ambience created. We will definitely return!

Jan from Aughton stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in June 2019


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you back again soon.

chilling out

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Always a pleasure staying at Cologin. Very quiet and peaceful and the views from the hills are stunning. The bird life is amazing this trip we had a pair of wrens sitting on our decking rail. The food in the Barn is lovely, and the shops in Oban are only a few minutes away if you want to self cater. This was our fourth stay at Cologin and we will be back.
Iain & Fiona Smith


If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Lovely food at reasonable prices

Iain from Edinburgh stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in June 2019


Comfy and quiet relaxing place

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable (especially comfy bed) and quiet chalet in lovely location, convenient for Oban and surrounds without being in the town. Website isn't the best to navigate on and also has misleading picture of 'breakfast in the chalet' which would suggest it is provided which it isn't!
Owners have very hands off approach in that other than picking up the key you don't see anyone but that's fine.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Lovely meal, reasonable price



Marcia from Charlestown stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in May 2019


Oban Trip June 2019

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our break. The lodge was very comfortable and well cleaned & stocked with basic items. We mostly ate out at the Barn which was very well situated directly opposite our lodge. The service was very good, staff very friendly & helpful, the food was good and reasonably priced too. The only downside, which is a very minor complaint is the WiFi, the signal isn’t great, but you are made aware of that on the booking confirmation - this didn’t really bother us, although we like to keep in touch with family. All in all a very pleasant stay.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
As above.

Mark from Grimsby stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in June 2019


Good location lovely scenery and nice pub on site

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We felt the chalet was in a bad state of repair, rust on the fridge and pieces falling apart in the shower, we were originally given a two bedroom which was lovely but that was a mistake and we were shown to a 1 bedroom which was poor.

The food in the pub was alright and the staff were very friendly.

Walks were amazing.

I would recommend the two bedroom chalet but not the one we were in.

Although the bed was very comfortable.

All in all we had a lovely holiday in Oban

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Did above



Brenda from Kirkcaldy stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 5 nights in June 2019


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
I am sorry about the mix up on arrival. If we had not been fully booked we would have upgraded you to the much larger two bedroom lodge, but unfortunately that was not possible. Thank you for your feedback regarding the fridge door being rusty - we will get this replaced. I am glad you found the bed comfy and the Barn a good facility and the staff friendly. Cologin is a great base for a break in Oban and I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday.

Cologin chalet

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay and were very comfortable it was a home from home for the week.We will visit again

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent food lovely staff



Judith from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 7 nights in September 2018


Beautiful location, great value

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not luxurious accommodation but so comfortable and with the excellent amenities on site a great place for a relaxing break.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent choice of food and drink in comfortable, friendly environment



Malcolm from Gourock stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 2 nights in April 2018


My stay at Cologin

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent value for money great location I would definitely stay there again, Jim and Linda are very friendly and hospitable

Colin from stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 18 nights in February 2018


Wonderful atmosphere at new year

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely time despite the weather. A warm welcome and great atmosphere at the New Years Eve party. The only downside was the beds were on the uncomfortable side but otherwise a home from home feeling.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Lovely food. Hogmanay meal was excellent. Loved the sticky toffee pudding and left nothing on the plate.



Lorraine from Haddington stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in December 2017


Excellent place

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Its only a 5 minutes drive to oban town and chalets are very comfortable and the the decking is brilliant just to sit out at night just made it a better stay will definitely be back

Brian from Kilmarnock stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 2 nights in September 2017


Give this one a miss

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
2.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Very basic, no welcome whatsoever, grass covered paths, weeds growing over the stairs. Owners conspicuous by their absence. Would not recommend.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Adequate!



Frank from Near Beith stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 5 nights in August 2017


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
I am sorry Cologin was clearly not for you! Grass cutting does have to be completed (it was my husband on the ride on mower) and I am sorry it created a problem with the path to that chalet. Clearly we were not absent as we are resident owners and I do apologise if our staff in the Barn Bar did not provide the friendly welcome that they are trained to deliver. Thankfully, we do have many satisfied customers who would recommend us to others and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. What a shame you did not raise any concerns during your short visit. I do hope you enjoyed Oban and the west coast of Scotland.

Comfortable stay in a well equipped chalet

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a bit of trouble finding the site, even though we were provided with directions, probably our fault.
The chalet was well equipped , We dined at The Barn on our last night, The food is amazing.


Paul from Portsmouth stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 2 nights in June 2017


Ideal good value accommodation in excellent location to explore Oban and district.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed two nights in February. Accommodation was comfortable, cosy and homely. Large comfy bed and proximity of excellent on site pub restaurant were the icing on the cake.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Great choice and service. Tasty food and great portions.



Malcolm from Gourock stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 2 nights in February 2017


Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a very enjoyable and relaxing week long holiday at Cologin. The chalets were clean and comfortable. The Barn Bar is an excellent place to eat and drink if you don't want to cook for yourself

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The food drink and service were all excellent



Mark from Crawley stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 7 nights in August 2016


Friendly, comfortable, quiet place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Friendly, comfortable place to stay. Staff were lovely and the locals very friendly. Music on two of the nights we stayed was excellent and provided a relaxed community feel to the bar. The food was excellent.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Barn Bar provided excellent food & service. Staff were friendly and helpful and there was music on 2 of the nights we stayed.



Christina from Durham stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 4 nights in August 2016


Relaxing haven

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location is superb and the chalets have everything you need for a pleasant stay. The decking is a nice touch and it's good to sit out and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the surroundings

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The food was good but we had to wait over an hour for it. And at no point did the staff let us know what was happening so this was disappointing . So didn't use the barn again.



Judith from Cannock stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in July 2016


Great wee hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic few days lovely location peace and quiet great base for exploring lovely meals at the barn bar would definitely return in the near future

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Great food and service



Malcolm K from Ayr stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 2 nights in June 2016


Mini Break in Argyll

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chalet was a bit tired looking and it's not a full size double bed so a bit uncomfortable. Once we settled in though overall we had a fabulous stay. You get what you pay for. Would stay again but book the larger chalets.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Food drink and service was excellent.



Alisdair from East Kilbride stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in June 2016


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you settled in and enjoyed your stay - just to correct your assumption that the brand new bed is not a full double - it most certainly is! If you are returning to Cologin and would like a king size bed please ask for chalet no 1 or 2. The sofa in the chalet is also brand new so not sure which furniture you found a bit 'tired' but hopefully it was comfortable and served its purpose. The two bedroom lodges do offer a lot more space and of course a bath with shower over rather than the just a shower in the family sized bathroom. They have bigger decked areas too! There are discounts available for low occupancy so next time they may offer you an even better stay.

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic time a wee gem so glad we booked up and would highly recommend to anyone looking for great value, a home from home and a little bit of heaven. Cannot wait to go back, Staff were helpful and our chalet was spotless

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Meal was faultless and lovely great choice and value



Christopher from Kilmarnock stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 2 nights in May 2016


A great and quiet place for relaxing!

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent for nights in the Cologin Country Chalet and had a great time. The location is fantastic - in the middle of nature. It was very quiet and we had a nice view from our terrace. The chalet was well equipped. We felt very comfortable. The hosts were very helpful and kind. Thank you very much. We would come back!

Claudia from Köln stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 4 nights in May 2016


A short break before we set off from Oban to explore some of the Islands

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful peaceful location where we were able to unwind after our long car journey. Everything we required was in the chalet and they provided privacy as well as the option of chatting to other guests whilst enjoying a meal in the barn. Enjoyed watching the antics of the lambs from the bedroom window. great to experience the countryside whilst only being 15minutes for the centre of Oban.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
enjoyed our meal and staff were very friendly and helpful



Sandra from Coventry stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 2 nights in May 2016


Lovely peaceful location

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the location – very quiet and peaceful. I booked it thinking Oban was close by for meals but ended up getting take-aways from the barn to eat in the chalet
I have already booked another week there this year.


If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Friendly staff, great food and I liked being able to order a take-away to eat in my chalet.



Gail from Boroughbridge stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 4 nights in May 2016


Our anniversary weekend break

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend a bit busy but it was Easter. My husband was able to treat me with not having to cook as the Barn was on hand with lovely food and really pleasant staff. Only wee problem was the path and stairs at chalet but my husband coped. We have already booked another weekend in June.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Really good food and staff so pleasant and helpful.



Guest from Glasgow stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 4 nights in March 2016


Great location and so much mire

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at Cologin before and we're happy to return. Our chalet was newly refurbed and very cosy. The location is great and the onsite pub/restaurant is a real bonus. Good walks in and around the glen and close to Oban. Highly recommended.

Gabriel from Troon stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in December 2015


a lovely stay away from the hassle and bustle.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a very relaxing stay and everyone was very friendly. Everything that you would need for a weekend was provided. Good parking near the chalets and a nice place to sit put and watch the world go by.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
we ate both nights at the barn and it was excellent and it was nice to have a drink and know that you were not driving home!



Sandra from Stirlingshire stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 2 nights in September 2015


Wee quick stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this lodge at short notice and was pleased to be accommodated however the lodge was tired and in need of an update and the living area /kitchen tiny. Bed was clean and comfy and shower fine but if I had my choice I would always stay in two bedroom as the condition and space are far superior and worth the extra cost. TV volume control didn't work but as we only stayed one night en route to Colonsay I didn't get the chance to let anyone know. I will definitely stay at Cologin again as the place itself is just wonderful, with a glorious setting and lovely walks right on your doorstep and is the perfect base when Island hopping.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Food lovely. Great quality and value and lovely staff.

Guest from Lennoxtown stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 1 nights in June 2015


A happy place to stay !

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely views, great food on site, friendly staff, music in the barn bar, the perfect place for a relaxed break.

Oban is very close, with the ferries, a bustling shopping area , plus some good eating places.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 4 nights in August 2014


Do not book!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jul 2014
1.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
1.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
We had trouble booking Cologin for a last minute deal in Oban and found the owner Linda to be very abrupt and rude. However, we booked anyway for £150 for 3 nights and stayed in the 1 bedroom chalet. When we arrived at 7pm we went straight to the Barn for a meal which was average. Back at the chalet all the windows were open, the chalet was dark and smelled damp, there were cobwebs everywhere, the sitting area was dirty, no bulbs in the lamps, blind not working. We went to bed and decided to deal with things in the morning. Before we left in the morning, we found a notice of warning from environmental health at Argyll and Bute Council stating not to use the water as it was contaminated and to use other water for washing/cleaning teeth etc. We were so shocked no-one had told us this before booking or even when we checked in as we continued to use the water that evening and morning. No-one was around in the morning and our dirty dishes were still left lying on the table outside for the night before at the Barn. We decided to make the most of our day and when we came back, asked to speak to the owner. Jim, Lindas husband, came over. I explained the situation that we weren't happy with the chalet and more importantly the water. I can only describe him as condescending and arrogant. He laughed in our face and said we would be fine, he's sure we have had worse. He told us we were making excuses for the chalet with the water and if we wanted to leave we could be his guest but we wouldn't be getting a penny back saying we got it cheap as chips anyway and what would we expect. He said he couldn't see anyone else complaining and we would have to deal with it then he walked off. We were shocked. And also, the other chalets hardly looked occupied, we think they make them look booked on the website to appear busy. To top it off they make you pay for wifi after 30 mins and charge you for electricity. I do not know who has put up any good reviews, clearly local friends, but we advise not to book.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?

Guest from Lanark stayed at Outer Hebridean double - steps to front door for 3 nights in June 2014


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
Feedback is very welcome but I agree it’s a shame you booked here as your friends were all staying in the town centre and we are rural. On such a lovely warm sunny weekend we always leave the windows open in the lodges. The lodge does not smell of damp and I am happy to report that our boil notice has been removed - I can't predict when our private supply will fail a random sample as we now have to meet a new 'zero' contamination policy introduced by the EU and enthusiastically enforced by Argyll and Bute. We provide free bottled water for all guests when there is a boil notice in place. A boil notice is a legal requirement and once issued they stay in place until the water sample tests clear. In this case it was over a weekend and the notices were removed by the following Tuesday. Our spring water is not chlorinated but it passes through a comprehensive filtration system including UV lights. Our water supply has been enjoyed by millions over the past 30 years with not a single problem - the EU regulations have changed - our supply has not. I am very sorry that one of the four ceiling lights in the lounge had blown. The sitting area was not dirty and there was one small cobweb in the bathroom for which I apologise. The blind in the bathroom as far as we can see works perfectly so I am not sure what the problem was there. Yes we charge for wi-fi after 30 mins free access - if we did not then our very slow connection would simply not work and no one would be able to use the internet. This information is all on our website – in fact we offer more free connection time in the lodges than the 10 mins I am currently publicising. We were fully booked that weekend other than the twin bedded one bedroom chalet next door to yours. I am of course sorry that you found Cologin so unsuited to your needs. Fortunately the majority of our customers have a wonderful experience at Cologin and return to us time and time again for the laidback, friendly countryside stay that we offer - I can also assure you that the good reviews are posted by genuine customers who stay with us.