FB Twitter

Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite

Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 81 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.1
Location
4.5
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.4


Cosy and comfortable, one bedroom chalet with king bed and ensuite shower room. Bedlinen and towels provided. Beds can be split on request.

Returning visitor

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a first rate experience!
I have returned to this location over the last twenty years and have stayed in many of the options, Jim, Linda, and now Katie have looked after us really well.
I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Really warm welcome from the staff in the barn



Leyton from Bristol stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 14 nights in October 2020


Cologin lodges

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was recommended by friends who visited 4 years ago which gave us an excellent report however we feel that the lodge could have had repairs carried out and been updated. Otherwise our in Oban was excellent.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent meal and service during this difficult time during Covid.



Guest from Newcastle stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in September 2020


Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at the chalet. It was very clean ,comfortable and well equipped- lovely crisp, fresh sheets. . The farm was so relaxing and peaceful. Our meal in the Barn was top notch and prices reasonable. Would definitely recommend . Good for dog owners too. Sky TV was a bonus for watching in the evening.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Fantastic food - and I am very fussy



Janice from Linlithgow stayed at Outer Hebridean for 2 nights in September 2020


McGrattan

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Chalet comfortable but in need of a bit of tlc. Bathroom requires updating. Did not like the shower curtain. Decking needs treating. Slippery when wet. Did not get any wifi access during our week's break, really poor reception, but no big deal to us. All in all, a lovely break.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Barn Bar good value for money. Staff were lovely.



Laura from Glasgow stayed at Outer Hebridean for 7 nights in August 2020


Pleasantly surprised!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent facilities, food and entertainment on our booking for New Years Eve, would definitely recommend and return in the future. Customer service was fantastic, as all members of the team were very accommodating.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent food and service @ The Barn



Emma from Clydebank stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 2 nights in December 2019


Cologin Chalets

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Nov 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely place for a break. Excellent food and service at the Barn Restaurant. Not far from Oban which was delightful.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Great bar and restaurant. Very welcoming



Martin from Perth stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 2 nights in November 2019


Lovely stay, not too far from the town.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved it, great place for peace & quiet. Very dog friendly. Chalet basic, but had everything we needed. We will be back.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Nice gin and good you get the dog in too.



Karen from Aberdeen stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in September 2019


Very quiet and near Oban, perfect for our holidays !

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Because we love Scotland and Scottish welcome.
You are very pride of your country and I want that you don’t leave Europe !

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
No



Jean from Semur En Auxois stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in August 2019


Heaven in the hills

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely relaxing week in the Highlands accommodation top class. The Barn restaurant and bar for good food and drink with the great staff very friendly and cheery.A special mention for Jim the owner he went over and above the call to personally help when I had a car problem.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent food and great staff



Douglas from Glenrothes Fife stayed at Outer Hebridean for 7 nights in August 2019


Matig en net niet af

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We zaten een week in huisje 1 en 2, samen met vrienden. Alles was net aanwezig, we hebben gekookt in steelpannen want er waren geen kookpannen. De elektrische kookplaat zag er vreselijk uit. Gelukkig konden we serviesgoed lenen uit huisje 2 want er was niet genoeg. De woonkamer was schoon maar zag er niet fris uit. Toen we aankwamen hadden we ons gemeld in de Barn en daar zeiden ze dat de sleutel in de deur zat en verder hebben we niemand gezien van de verhuurders de hele week. Het uitzicht van huisje 2 was een grote rode golfplaten schuur. De slaapkamer en de badkamer zagen er goed uit. WiFi is wel aanwezig maar het bereik is zeer slecht.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Het eten in de Barn is goed en het personeel was vriendelijk

Cees from Zwartsluis stayed at Outer Hebridean for 7 nights in July 2019


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
Perhaps you did not appreciate that I was the owner as we chatted on several occasions during the week and it is shame you did not ask me for extra saucepans. As you were a group with two one bedroom Chalets it would have been very easy to give you extra pans large enough to cook for 4 instead if the usual 2 provided for in the one bedroom Chalets. You certainly seemed to be enjoying Cologin and the west coast of Scotland so I am disappointed that you have given a poor review as we can’t change the view but we could have dealt with your cooking issues if we had known they were indeed a problem for you. We value feedback and next time I am chatting to guests as we go about our business at Cologin I will make sure I introduce myself. My husband was the chap cutting the grass - you had a long chat with him and he gave you several recommendations for days out!

Relaxing break in fabulous location

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The lodge was clean, comfortable and well equipped.
We were unable to connect to the WiFi in the lodge which was disappointing but not a show stopper
The location was great, and there were walks from the lodge door
Only recommendation would be to put a mirror in the bedroom. I dried my hair using the reflection in the microwave door
The price was competitive for the area

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The food was excellent and the staff friendly



Janette from Forfar stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 4 nights in June 2019


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
So sorry about the missing mirror - the previous guest broke it (poor them - 7 years bad luck!) - it’s now been replaced as we didn’t have a a spare one in stock and couldn’t get the right size in Oban. Glad it didn’t detract from your visit.

Fabulous weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in one of the chalets. To be honest, after reading a couple of poor reviews, I was a bit apprehensive - however everything was perfect. There was plenty of room for two (and our dog) and everything we needed was provided. The furnishings were first class and the bed very comfy. We didn’t visit the pub to eat or drink (as the weather was so nice), but I went across a couple of times to ask about attractions etc and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The site is so quiet, with access to lovely walks, which is just what we look for. We will definitely go back.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
See above

Catriona from Fort William stayed at Outer Hebridean for 2 nights in June 2019


Lovely property in the countryside

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a lovely stay in the countryside yet a few minutes drive from Oban and other towns/villages nearby to explore! The 1-bedroom chalet was clean, comfortable, cosy and provided all the necessities. Gorgeous setting with a hill to climb and woods to hike out the back window plus more around the property. The food at the Barn restaurant was very tasty! Being out-of-country visitors, it would have been lovely to learn more about the area firsthand from our hosts so sorry we didn't have an opportunity to meet. Would definitely recommend Cologin Chalets for anyone visiting the area. Thank you!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Thoroughly enjoyed our meal at the Barn! Very tasty, fresh and large portion. Appreciate the veggie assortment with the gammon & yorkshire pudding. Thank you for sharing your passion for good food with us.

Charlene from Toronto stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 4 nights in June 2019


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a wonderful week here only a couple of miles from Oban yet in the middle of nowhere no traffic or light pollution chalets are comfy with all you need come and go as you please and when the sun is shining nothing better than to sit on your veranda with a glass of wine. Oh! and the dog enjoyed it also

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Had a very good meal in the Barn locals were friendly too



David from Preston stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in May 2019


lovely little find

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very pleasant 3 days staying in this location. It is all relevant to what you are looking for. We arrived in pouring, misty rain but the lodge had outside lights on as a welcome, the radio was playing and the heating was also switched on. The electric fire gave the illusion of real flames so added to the overall cosiness. The lodge was perfect for two of us. Comfy beds and a heated towel rail in the bathroom .... bliss!! My one criticism would be that there was no teapot but that is a very small complaint. The Barn on an evening was a very welcome place to visit. I am a coeliac so often struggle to find 'real' food when eating out and even tho the menu advertised Gluten Free I am always sceptical of what I will be offered. However, I was fed very well during our visit by Mary. Sea bass, lamb cutlets, duck all wth fresh vegetables and an accompanying sauce. Frittered bananas, homemade meringue and a delicious creme brûlée were the pud choices, and more if needed. The quality of the food completed our trip so that really does get 5 stars. We don't usually eat out every evening when away but this time we had to make an exception and enjoy what was on offer. Mary and all the staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to all for making our stay so pleasurable, rain excluded!!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent for coeliacs, nothing too much trouble.

Julie from Hucclecote stayed at Outer Hebridean for 3 nights in September 2018


Cologin cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A pleasant cottage was smaller than we expected but it was adequate and comfortable for our needs, the staff were welcoming and very helpful.

We weren't to impressed looking at the red barn, opposite cottage 1 and 2 when we arrived, but we soon got used to it.
Wi fi not good in cottage even though we were opposite the bar. Slow service in the bar

The lane down to cologin cottages could do with some work i.e. The holes filling in

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Service was slow but food was very goood



Steven from Burneston Bedale stayed at Outer Hebridean for 7 nights in May 2018


Couples need to be in quiet areas

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jun 2018
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
1.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The site was lovely and some good walking adjacent.
We were in chalet No 1 and thought that it was not a good idea to put the 2 berth chalets near the busy noisy part of the site.

It should be obvious that couples prefer peace and quite

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Food was very good



Paul from Wimborne stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in May 2018


My Stay 'in Scotland'

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
THANK you for having, MYSELF & Jack Russel (hamish).
Our stay was grand, capturing the pleasant weather that Scotland provides.
One and half days let us down with rain. Time for shopping and sightseeing Dunrollie castle. (Very pleasant and the Views).
Re accommodation, a few minor things missing. Overall, a pleasant stay and meeting Jim.
A long journey up there but pleased with the sights we went on, ie Mull, Eagle-watching and not forgetting the Deisel ride from Fort William to Mallaig.
Thoroughly enjoyed Scotland.
Thank you once again,
Jimmy/Hamish

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
did not this time

Jimmy from Market Rasen stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 6 nights in April 2018


Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was really good. Well-laid out grounds, natural feel. Quiet, country location. Everything necessary provided in the comfortable chalet.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent selection of good food and drink. Good to be allowed to bring dog in. Was slightly concerned one evening when a large party brought in a pitbull type of dog for a short time. If I had realised the breed of the other dog earlier I would have removed my owen dog immediately.



Catriona from North Ayrshire stayed at Outer Hebridean for 5 nights in April 2018


Beaut little spot

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cosy warm and great little walks all around. Great views and food. Very peaceful and lots of country charm.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Delish meals. Best seafood I've ever had.



Julia from Perth stayed at Outer Hebridean for 5 nights in March 2018


Peace, space and comfort.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Due to work commitments I needed a place to stay during the week for two months before Christmas. Very glad I chose Cologin Chalets. Really could not fault the chalet, the location or Jim and Linda ( the owners ). It is easy to imagine myself returning for a wee break to enjoy the place without the hassle of work.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Enjoyed the food , Guinness and atmosphere.



Jo from Falkirk stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 5 nights in December 2017


Super stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely chalet in a peaceful location with everything you need. Clean, cosy and perfect for a wee break away!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Great food, drink and lovely staff



Shona from stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 3 nights in October 2017


Very welcoming and comfortable

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On my arrival at Cologin I was warmly welcomed to a clean, tidy and well appointed chalet. The staff at the attached bar/restaurant were very friendly

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Good atmosphere and good food



Colin from Stonehaven stayed at Outer Hebridean for 6 nights in September 2017


Review

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed our break, good food and comfortable accomodation. Dog friendly and very helpful and friendly staff

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Yes



Frank from Glasgow stayed at Outer Hebridean for 3 nights in September 2017


Nice break

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would go back again ,plenty to do and scenery walks for dogs good choice of shops and places for food

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Very good



Jeff from Lesbury stayed at Outer Hebridean for 7 nights in August 2017


A lovely location despite raining the whole time we were there.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Only comment was the lack of a mat at front door so you walked straight into the living area/kitchen. Also the bathroom needs an upgrade and more cupboard space would have been welcome. A dedicated Reception Area would have been useful though staff in the Pub were very helpful. Would have been handy as we were Ocean Ski racing, to have had access to Wifi but it just did not connect despite numerous attempts.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent food and drink good value for money.



Frances from Wool stayed at Outer Hebridean for 5 nights in August 2017


A great place to stay and return to.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to be ...away from it all, but with a great bar and restaurant on site with very helpful staff. Its quiet and peaceful and a great place for kids (and dogs) who like the outdoors (as we discovered with ours in 1980 something). The cabins have been upgraded recently but the site was as clean and tidy as always. No doubt we shall return again.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent quality food served, good variety of choice and chance to meet some of the locals.



Peter from Chorley stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in August 2017


Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice area accomadation was good the barn was nice and very good meals

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
very good meals



Philip from Buckie stayed at Outer Hebridean for 4 nights in August 2017


A complete escape!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place set in rolling countryside within 5 minutes drive from Oban. The chalet was very well equipped, warm and comfortable. We loved having the independence of self catering but having the fantastic Barn Bar right on the doorstep where the staff made you feel so welcome and the food was fantastic. Do try it out, we would love to go back sometime!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Fantastic, we popped in for a couple of drinks each night and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere provided by the wonderful staff. We loved the live music that was on one of the nights and also loved the dinner we had there. A great menu with lots of choice using locally sourced ingredients.



Sue from Macclesfield stayed at Outer Hebridean for 4 nights in August 2017


Good for a base for the lovely town of Oben

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Disappointed with the view from the chalet a corrugated shedwould have preferred a mountain view the chalet was clean bed very comfortable the microwave was situated high up behind the front door however the park was very peaceful and the staff very helpful

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Did not have a meal



Elizabeth from Wigan stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 4 nights in August 2017


Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Once again very relaxing holiday! This time we got to see the sun as well! Only issue was access to wifi - had problems all week

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Barn Bar atmosphere was welcoming and friendly.



Mary from Lincoln stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in July 2017


A wonderful place for a break

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed here 2 nights on business, bed was very comfortable, chalet was clean and the staff most welcoming. I will definitely use this site again when I'm working in the area!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Barn Bar was brilliant, top notch food and a great atmosphere.



Steve from Rotherham stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 2 nights in July 2017


Excellent séjours

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nous avons passer un séjour de rêve dans le chalet entouré de vallées et de lacs et coupé du monde.
La nourriture était très bonne et nous avons était très bien accueilli !
Merci beaucoup !

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
La nourriture était excellente et les propriétaires très sympathique ! Nous avons pu manger a notre faim dans une ambiance conviviale et chaleureuse ! Merci pour tout



Guest from Saint-saulve stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 3 nights in June 2017


A haven in the hills

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
if you are looking for a nice region with a good restaurant in each case to recommend for the value of money

if you are looking for luxury or if you dislike dogs you should stay away


If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
excellent we stayed there each evening



Friedrich from Burgrieden stayed at Outer Hebridean for 6 nights in June 2017


stay in Oban

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Chalet comfortable. Outside chairs tatty. The Barn excellent for food, service and friendliness. Location excellent.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
excellent



Janet from Stockport stayed at Outer Hebridean for 3 nights in June 2017


excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
wish we had found this place on our previous visits to oban and north west scotland excellent chalets set in a beautiful soundings
lovely walks close at hand great place for those who enjoy wildlife as we do
handy for ferry crossings to the isles
would most certainly recommend this place to my friends and those reading this

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
excellent great service brilliant food and drink great in surroundings



Micheal from Runcorn stayed at Outer Hebridean for 7 nights in May 2017


Very peaceful location and good value

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed a weeks stay at the Barn chalets with family. Good value accommodation in a beautiful area. The two bed detached chalets I would say are the better option in terms of comfort,view and facilities. We will be returning next year. Had a lovely time.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Our party of 8 had a very enjoyable meal at the Barn on our last evening. highly recommended. Very good value.



Elaine from Sheffield stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in May 2017


Very nice place

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The room was very comfortable and the setting was quiet and relaxing. We had a good walk on a farm road leading up the hill behind the cottages.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The food was excellent and the service was good.



Linda from Petersburg stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 2 nights in May 2017


Great location and facilities

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a week of sea kayaking , Scotland was beautiful the weather was wonderful and we had a great vacation

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Barn bar has a great atmosphere



Brian from Lochgilphead stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in May 2017


Great location

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The chalets are in a good location, near to Oban and its amenities but also far enough away to be peaceful. The surrounding hillls are beautiful. As stated in website they are basic inside and compact but good value for money. Very dog friendly and I would definitely go back.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Outer Hebridean for 2 nights in April 2017


An ideal location just south of Oban

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The chalets are not luxurious but very comfortable and being able to accommodate our dog both in the chalet and in the excellent pub within the complex is perfect for us.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Food and service excellent.



Brenda from Dunfermline stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 3 nights in February 2017


It wasn't over-priced for what it was, but it was pretty basic.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location was very pleasant and conveniently close to Oban. However, the facilities in the chalet were fairly basic. This may suit some but we were expecting something a bit better. The main heater in the living room was very noisy and it was fortunate that the weather was such that we didn't need it on much. And the bathroom needs attention. Would we recommend it to others? Depends what you are looking for. If you're not going to be there much and don't plan to use the kitchen to cook, then it's probably OK.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
We enjoyed a good meal in the Barn

Guest from Stirling stayed at Outer Hebridean for 7 nights in October 2016


Ideal location

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The quiet location and dog-friendly accommodation suited us perfectly - and especially with pub on site providing good food.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The food was excellent - and staff friendly and efficient.



Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 3 nights in October 2016


Comfortable, dog-friendly accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This accommodation was clean and spacious enough for 2 (+ a dog!) and we enjoyed our stay a lot. Nice wee kitchen area and very comfortable couch/bed. The room warmed up nicely with the heater provided when required. Having a bar across from the accommodation was excellent and the surrounding hills for walking the dog were also great.
The only constructive criticism I have would be to have a place specifically for wet footwear/ clothing where they could dry a little faster.
Excellent place to stay.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Lovely little pub which serves good food, drink and has a friendly atmosphere.

Vari from Glasgow stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 2 nights in September 2016


Great break with our dog

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Basic but clean and comfortable accommodation. Great location as a base for walks, and only a 5 minute drive from Oban. Dogs very welcome if well behaved. Couldn't really fault the chalets for the price paid, and will definitely return!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Visited the barn bar for one evening meal. Excellent food, reasonably priced, and friendly bar staff.



Rebecca from Penicuik stayed at Outer Hebridean for 3 nights in September 2016


brilliant!

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The chalet was in good condition an included everything that we required for our stay. The barn restaurant was good and very useful when we returning late. All in all I would recommend Cologin to friends.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
yes, good food at reasonable priced



Colin from Athens stayed at Outer Hebridean for 7 nights in August 2016


A score of 60 which can be improved simply

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The chalet is laying in a perfect environment. The staff should pay more attention to the guests with respect to the chalets. If they promise new towels they should bring. I have the impression that they focus on the Barn and not on the chalets. I also advise to welcome the guests and go with them to the chalet and give a small explanation in stead of saying the key is in the door. The cleanliness could be better. The oven was to dirt to use. The wifi is very slow and is often not usable.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
In general OK although not all items on the card were availble



Jaap from Oldenzaal stayed at Outer Hebridean for 7 nights in August 2016


unexpected

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere. There are nice walks starting from the site which are good for an evening stroll after a day's walking. The onsite bar provides very good beer and excellent food but if you want to eat it is best to reserve a table earlier in the day as it is very popular with tourists and locals alike.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Yes, excellent.



David from Chatham stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in August 2016


Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Dave from stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 3 nights in July 2016


Peace and scenery

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay to relax and get away from it all but every thing on site if you need it, good access to main roads to Oban and other tourist areas

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Good food and prices friendly people



Wilma from Newtownards stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in July 2016


Nice place

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in magnificient area. Close to Orban. The staff was kind and helpfull. We enjoy our staying very well. We hope that Scotland will enjoy the EU and the UK as well ;-)

Willem from Doetinchem stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 5 nights in June 2016


Nice Home in great landscape

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cotage was simple but usefull furnished. It is very quiet and you have a wonderful scenery arround. The nearby pub has good food and drinks. The staff is friendly and helpful. Good location for families with children. Dogs are also allowed.
A nice place to be!...and you have wi-fi...

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Delicate food, lots of Whisky!



Gerd from Mannheim stayed at Outer Hebridean for 7 nights in June 2016


Fantastic long weekend at cologin

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic weekend here with my husband and our doggy. We were made very welcome by all the staff and enjoyed the food and atmosphere in the bar. Can't wait to go back

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent food, friendly atmosphere



Julia from Glasgow stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 3 nights in May 2016


new year break

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
once again a terrific time at cologin, hope to be back soon. location fantastic ,even the weather for the time of year was kind to us.Oban close but far enoughfor perfect tranquility

James from Carronshore stayed at Outer Hebridean for 5 nights in December 2015


Tranquil delight

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jan 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The chalets were in beautiful condition, and inside of the pub was great, with a wonderfully amiable and inviting atmosphere. However the chalets were a bit close, so it didn't have much of a feel of privacy, and the outside of the barn looked a bit scruffy.

I'm sorry but I wouldn't recommend it, based purely on location, being nestled in that little glen, with no views. However that's unfair, and in terms of quality of accomodation, then yes I would.


Ben from Swindon stayed at Outer Hebridean for 3 nights in December 2015


mini break

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 2 nights and all I can say is I would have been more than happy to stay much longer! It was brilliant. We were given chalet 1 & as soon as we walked in the door I was impressed with how modern it was compared with chalets I remember from holidays as a kid. We had our 5 month old Labrador with us and he made friends straight away with the 2 resident dogs. We also had his 4'x2' puppy pen with us and there was plenty of room for it in the chalet. The site location is stunning, surrounded by hills and SO quiet, nothing but the birds and the occasional moo from a cow or quack from the resident ducks to be heard. We were booked in for a meal at the onsite restaurant but were scuppered by a glen-wide power cut which was a shame but out of their control. The only let down (& it wasn't by any means a deal breaker) was the shower could have done with being a bit more powerful. All in its a great base for exploring and also for just sitting outside enjoying the view and peace and I wouldn't hesitate in going back.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
we were booked in but the glen-wide power cut put a stop to it

Cheryl from Berwick Upon Tweed stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 2 nights in September 2015


Wee overnighter

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this wee Chalet at the last minute and Linda managed to squeeze us in. Lodge was small but perfectly formed and perfect for us. Have been in a fair few of these lodges ( one and two bedrooms) and would thoroughly recommend them. Location is breathtaking and beautiful in any weather( I've visited in all weathers sunshine/ snow) and to have the added bonus of The Barn Bar and Restaurant is just brilliant. Hope to visit again very soon.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Didn't sit in this time but had takeaway. Fabulous and great value for money.



Carol from Lennoxtown stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 1 nights in September 2015


A wonderful jewel

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband dog and I spent four days at cologin and wish we had booked two weeks it's extremely dog friendly and people friendly staff first class owners of chalets also first class would recommend anyone to stay at cologin barn bar second to none excellent food wonderfully chefs we will most certainly be going back thank you to all at cologin

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Fabulous just fabulous



Teresa from Dumbartonshire stayed at Outer Hebridean for 4 nights in September 2015


What a Place

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful weekend here. Why would you go anywhere else !!!!!!
Location is wonderful , chalets are wonderful , the barn is wonderful,,,,

Book and go !!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Fantastic 10 out of 10....



David from Tullibody Alloa stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 3 nights in August 2015


Lovely quiet location

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good location close to Oban. Enjoyable accommodation, well serviced. Great bar- very friendly
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
great- very cahtty staff



Heather from Norfolk stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 5 nights in July 2015


Good service ashame about the accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0

Staff friendly &helpful
Very pet friendly
Great location

Cons
Bed worn out
Sofa was a foam mat against a wall
Lacked essential items in kitchen
Shower a trickle
No Sky TV

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Food was lovely and all staff very nice



Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Outer Hebridean for 3 nights in August 2015


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
I am delighted you found our staff so helpful and you enjoyed your meals in the Barn Bar but of course I am disappointed that you did not feel your chalet met your expectations. I am sorry you were not able to use the Sky box - it was on when you arrived and I checked it as soon as I saw your review and it is still working perfectly so unless you are referring to the fact that it is Freeview Sky (as advertising on our website) I am not sure what the problem was. The kingsize bed was new this season and at the end of the summer we will definitely be replacing the fixed single bench sofa which you obviously did not like! To be honest I don't like it either so thank you for your feedback - and as long as we can fit a full size sofa in the living area we will add one as soon as we can. I do hope you will return to Cologin - and that on your next visit your accommodation matches the excellent service. I have passed on your kind remarks to the staff - thank you.

cologin chalets

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely views, delicious food,chalet was just what we needed as we were out all day, not much room to move around bed though a double might have been better otherwise all good

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
delicious



Guest from Dunfriess stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 3 nights in August 2015


Shabby & outdated

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2015
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Only good point was that the bed was really comfortable. The front door which could split in two like a stable door was warped and didn't close at the bottom. Musty smell on entering lodge. There were dog hairs under the cushions of the sofa. Shower made loud grinding noise & didn't have enough water to rinse soap from my hair. On our final day the water cut off completely before I had finished showering. Wifi - supposedly 2 hours per day free only connected on one out of our four days there. Nice enough remote surroundings but accommodation badly needing updating.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Had Sunday Roast - great value at £11.95 for two courses. Great Sunday session music. Friendly, polite bar staff & manager

Guest from Aberdeen stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 4 nights in August 2015


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for pointing out the issues you had with the front door. We will look at changing this during the winter months. I understand the shower fault was fixed during your stay - apologies for the inconvenience. I am delighted you enjoyed your Sunday Roast in the Barn Bar and the free music session - it is 'great value for money' at £11.95 for two courses. Hopefully you will revisit us again.

one of our favourite spots

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jul 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our second time here, agreat spot close to Oban but feels like the middle of nowhere, nice to have the pub so close. Facilities are good however the shower pressure is not great. A folder containing info on the appliences in the chalet and details of local walks used to be provided but was not available this time, bring back the info folder. Cabins are cosy, quiet and good value.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
meal was OK but not exceptional, we had the Sunday roast



Guest from Winslow stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 4 nights in June 2015


Nice place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0

Nice place, but a little difficult to find it. Internet access extra paid, very good pub with delicious food. From time to time in the pub live music, fantastic.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Food should be served longer at evening.



Guest from stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 3 nights in June 2015


Nice chalet let down by shower room.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 May 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice basic chalet in a good location but let down by a shower-room and shower that were poor. The room was gloomy and the shower pressure was so-so. It was not obvious what turning the control knob was meant to achieve. I did not find any instructions.

Two further gripes; 1. I only booked and stayed two nights but had to pay the flat rate £10 for a week's internet (I can understand that it is out of the owners' control that the internet response is bad but they do not have to charge premium rates for it). 2. I did check after I had arrived and saw that charging for electricity is stated however it was a nasty surprise on my arrival. I was staying two nights at £85/night and to be hit for power on top seemed excessive.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
yes, it was good and the staff were friendly. Nice beer.

Guest from Inverurie stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 2 nights in May 2015


Dog friendly

Review submitted on Thu, 28 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very very friendly and helpful, my dog thought he had gone to doggy heaven as he could go anywhere and made friends with the owners two dogs. excellent food in the pub/resurant and the prices were as a normal pub, I had the hot and cold smoked salmon starter and it was only £5.49.
Great walks right out of the site and as its a mile and a half down a single tracked dead end road there was no traffic and very quite.
I heard a cuckoo several times and swallows and bats were flying around in the evernings.
We will be back.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent food and a good choice with great prices and quick service.

Guest from Carlisle stayed at Outer Hebridean for 2 nights in May 2015


Séjour très satisfaisant.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Séjour très satisfaisant. Malgré la pluie nous avons pu visiter un grand nombre d'endroits formidables. La situation de Cologin est centrale et convient parfaitement a la découverte des Highlands.

Guest from Calais stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in May 2015


Short break

Review submitted on Wed, 13 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our break very peaceful and relaxing. Bar staff very friendly and food very nice.The chalet was comfortable though did not have mirror or hairdryer. The shower was adequate but I personally prefer screen to shower curtains.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The food was excellent and staff very friendly.



Cathy from Glasgow stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 3 nights in May 2015


Great Short Break

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived on Friday for Easter weekend. Service first class, nothing too much trouble. Food in the barn, superb, waistline recovering! Highly reccommend

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
First class service, great company, felt at home



Guest from Cumbernauld stayed at Outer Hebridean for 3 nights in April 2015


AN IDYLIC LOCATION OFF THE BEATEN TRACK

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 5 nights in a 1 bedroomed ladge. The lodge was set in a beautiful location with stunning views. The heating being on when we arrived was a welcome bonus! The accomodation was simple but clean and comfy. I would have liked a few more home comforts like a welcome pack/basket (which I know is something they are working on) and a better stocked kitchen: chopping board, teapot etc. An onsite shop would have been useful for basics; but again, something they are planning for the future.
We took our Springer Spaniel who was welcomed and fussed over by the owners, who were lovely and very welcoming.
The Barn served great food and was booked up almost every night we were there...locals use it too. Food was good: in taste and value. They also provide a "Takeaway" service so on the Sunday evening when we didn't want to cook but didn't want to be in the pub, they plated our meals up and we ate in our lodge...what a good idea! (10% LESS TOO!)
It is a short, 5 minute drive into the busting, harbour town of Oban and there are lochs and beaches within a 10 minute drive.We star gazed up the hill behind our lodge as they choose a dark sky policy..no streetlights, torches etc.

We had a great time and will probably return..only downside for me was it was a bit pricey considering the basic accomodation. (£355 for 5 nights...which included £5 a night per dog)

Sarah xxx

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Fab! Ate in and had a take away...good idea!

Guest from Brigg stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 5 nights in April 2015


Ms Forlow - short break Cologin review

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time in this idyllic and quiet setting - stunning views to wake up to! 1 very clear skied evening and a treat to see so many stars - shooting stars too!
A 2-day short break wasn't nearly long enough! Accommodation was cosy and very comfortable. Meals, drinks and company at award winning "The Barn" was very homely and welcoming. We definitely would love to return!!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Meals, drinks and company at award winning "The Barn" was very homely and welcoming



Helen from stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 2 nights in October 2014


a long way from town

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Oct 2014
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fairly comfortable accommodation, access road only single lane. Quite a nice setting when you get there. On site pub can be noisy. Charging extra for power was a bit rich.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
no



Guest from Armadale stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 3 nights in September 2014


Chalet in peaceful glen

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Aug 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fairly comfortable cabin with good services (although internet has to be paid for additionally) in lovely rural location yet close to Oban. xxxxxxxxxxx

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Basic fare with good service



Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 5 nights in August 2014


Very friendly and welcoming site

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent site, on arrival local musicians playing the guitar and accordian made my first trip to Scotland very authentic and not just touristy. Great views, fantastic location and very friendly staff. Food and beer excellent too. Would love to go again.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Kelly from Lowestoft stayed at Outer Hebridean for 3 nights in July 2014


Really lovely setting, good location for visiting Oban , islands and Highlands. Very dog friendly.

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely setting, good location for visiting Oban , islands and Highlands. Very dog friendly. Very helpful. Chalet was well equipped.
Barn bar outside seating area has a Mediterranean sort of feel. (Probably helped by the nice weather there when we were staying!).
Only downsides -and were very minor- was that the view from our particular chalet was obscured by big red barn, and not a lot of room in kitchen area for food prep, but have dining table. But very minor points. Also trouble getting phone and internet reception in chalet - so got a break from both! (Can find areas on site for reception for most networks though).

Enjoyed it a lot. Would highly recommend it.

Sara Fulford

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?

Guest from Brighton stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 4 nights in June 2014


Short stay in Cologin

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jun 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location and nice people. Food was super. The shower in our chalet was not too wonderful but the water was boiling!! Really enjoyed our stay and the whole area.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from Kirkcudbright stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 2 nights in June 2014


Excellent base for Oban area

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jun 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at the Cologin Country Chalets. They are in a very rural setting but only about 2 miles from Oban. We found the chalet comfortable and provided everything we needed. We took our dog with us and there were plenty of walks for her near at hand.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from Lichfield stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 2 nights in May 2014


Beauty, peace and comfort

Review submitted on Tue, 27 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful, peaceful location (except when grass being mown and strimmed!), ideal for our requirements for a few days' break. Bedroom a wee bit musty (drawers in bedside cabinet?), shower not the strongest, but these minor quibbles which did not spoil our stay.
Thankyou.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 4 nights in May 2014


Cologin means value for money

Review submitted on Fri, 09 May 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are satisfied with our stay at Cologins. We appreciated the parking space immediately besides the lodge, the well-equipped kitchen and the reasonable price. We did not like the type of heating in the living room, without heat radiation on the front side and blowing cold air when temperature has become high, although this may be personal, as we are divers and had been diving in cold water all day.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from Arnemuiden stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 7 nights in May 2014


Great Short Break

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
just wanted to have some quiet time and my stay was just perfect for that. Safe and easy place for female with dog to be on own. both of us made very welcome in Barn too. thank you.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from Falkirk stayed at Outer Hebridean - one king bedroom ensuite for 4 nights in February 2014