FB Twitter

The Cottage

The Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Set In the picturesque grounds of Ty Mawr , The Cottage is a large luxury 1 x bedroom accommodation with open plan living /kitchen diner, opulent dressing room, additional down stairs wc. Perfect for couples with or without dogs.

Perfect romantic location

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect location for walking and cycling. Beautiful cottage and hosts very helpful. Loved the little dressing room too.



Well-appointed and very comfortable, within an idyllic setting; luxurious, yet also dog-friendly.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The setup at Ty Mawr Cottages is fantastic. Everything has been considered, and the thought and effort is reflected in the quality of the fittings and finish. Everything is high quality, from the modern tech and appliances to the furniture. The kitchen is very fully equipped and functional. The toilet/bathrooms are superb. Even the artwork is tasteful and fitting. It all makes for a feeling of luxury and freshness, unusual for a holiday cottage. The location is very good and accessible, and the surroundings are quiet and tranquil. The cluster of buildings of the old farm are lovely, set around a cobbled courtyard and lawn, and the expansive field you have access to is great to walk around and take in some of the ‘local backdrop’. The field is fully enclosed, which is great should you be bringing a dog, and the gates to the courtyard can also be closed, which again is great for four-legged companions. The proprietor-hosts live onsite in the main house, and are helpful and very pleasant to speak with. Parking spaces are plentiful and set well back from the road, privately enclosed and out of view. We stayed in The Cottage, and found it to be warm and cosy (the logburner was a treat we loved but didn’t need), and the water flow was strong and hot whenever you wanted it to be. The town of Brecon is less than 10 minutes away by car, and so you’d have easy access to supermarkets, takeaways, etc.. If you want to do some hiking, we’d recommend doing a loop (4-5 hours) within the beautiful valley of Cwm Oergwm, from your doorstep. Ty Mawr Cottages are a tremendous all-round easy, quiet, and very comfortable stay.



A Welsh Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just fine for a long-needed break, with the lovely Brecon Beacons on your doorstep, taken in comfortable accommodation.



Fantastic staycation

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place to switch off and relax for a few days. The cottage was perfect for us, with a great location for walks with our dog!
Owners were very accommodating and helpful.




Our home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve been coming to this beautiful cottage for at least five years with our dogs. It is immaculate, the location outstanding, the hosts lovely and the whole experience is charm in a nutshell. We love this place and hope to come back many many many more times.



A lovely Brecon Beacons stay

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely cottage, made to feel really homely with well chosen interiors and accessories. Very impressive equipped kitchen with all the glassware, crockery and cooking utensils you’d need to hold a dinner party for 8! Great outside space. Bed extra comfy, good quality linen and towels. Just a couple of very minor things, that wouldn’t affect us returning by any means, but sofa was upholstered in lightish fabric, and was showing signs of needing a professional clean or perhaps a reupholster in a darker fabric. A few knocks and scrapes on walls where people have dragged suitcases around and a few marks / makeup on paintwork on back of bathroom / toilet doors. As mentioned, none of this distracted from a really lovely stay at Ty Mawr Collection, we have already recommended the cottage to friends and family, and will certainly be returning ourselves.



Wonderful Short Break

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Ty Mawr and just as wonderful as always.
Fantastic facilities and glorious walks from the door.
Excellent paddock area for the dog first thing in the morning.
There is nothing not to like - we will return !!




The Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay. Extremely clean and comfortable accommodation with a large, enclosed field for our dogs to run around in. Plenty to do in the local area and we would highly recommend.



Another excellent holiday in The Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottage is very well equipped, extremely comfortable and a joy to stay in. It provides a good base to explore the Brecon Beacons and for walks along the Canal towpath. The weather was rather unkind but The Cottage was a very welcoming place to come back to and dry out! Thanks to Peter for re-arranging our holiday, due to Covid 19, and for making us so welcome.



Wonderful little hideaway

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful short break at the cottage in Ty Mawr. Really comfortable cottage, had everything you need. Kitchen is wonderfully equipped and Peter was really accommodating to a couple of extra requests we had. This was our second visit to Ty Mawr and we are looking forward to our next visit already!



A lovely long weekend in an idyllic rural retreat.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully decorated cottage with all the home comforts and mod cons to make for a luxurious mini break! We will definitely retutn!



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not even the damp weather could spoil our week in this excellent dog friendly property. The only slight niggle was the position of the bathroom lights which cast shadows on the shaving mirror. We will definitely be visiting again.



A week at Ty Mawr

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning in all respects - even the weather was good! The owners were most helpful, the cottage was delightful and well located, there was plenty of hot water, the shower worked well and the bed was most comfortable.
Difficult to find fault!!!.




Lovely location, and accommodation.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay here. Accommodation was very comfortable and everything was provided that you need.



Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were greeted on arrival by Peter in the car park for guests (as he had seen us driving through). He showed us to The Cottage and ran through the information book (which is most comprehensive and has information about the cottage and paces to visit in the surrounding area). The Cottage is beautifully appointed with a spacious lounge, very comfortable large bed and everything you could need in the bathroom and kitchen. Although it was July for our visit it was chilly on a couple of evenings and we found it easy to put on the heating. I hadn't thought we would need the washing machine, but, after a long wet and slightly muddy walk, we did! Each of the fine cottages in this estate has it's own space and we were not disturbed at all. The Cottage has an outside seating area which we enjoyed after a long day hiking. Good food was available a short drive away for evening meals. We would highly recommend a stay at Ty Mawr.



Great cottage to wind down from the craziness of city life

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We just had a great week at The Cottage. Both the property and the area are a very welcome respite from the craziness of London (and the people you meet are actually friendly...). Peter was as good host: There when you need him but without being intrusive. Our little Jack Russell loved the outdoors: The field behind the cottages is great for shorter walks and there are many location in the Beacons for the longer walks (and the Gower peninsula is also within reach if you want a bit of beach).

The cottage itself was really good: a smart layout with all the things you need including a big sofa to relax, a kitchen with all required utensils, a good shower/bad and a comfy bed. The only thing that was slightly short was space to store your food. Oh, and the wifi was flawless.

We would definitely stay again in the future.




Another perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect as usual. A beautiful place in a lovely location. It's got everything and more. Can't wait to visit again.



A long weekend away without the kids

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceeded our high expectations. Quality of accommodation was 5 star as was the support from Peter and the Team. Walking speaks for itself! We'd love to return.



Wonderful Christmas hol..

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, area and holiday. Long walks, feet up and fire! Amazing stay will return sometime soon!



Absolutely stunning cottage in beautiful surroundings!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the cottage with our two dogs for my 30st birthday. I couldn’t quite believe how amazing the place was designed and equipped! My absolute dream place to stay in. So modern but still comfortable and cosy. The big bed was an absolute dream, only downside was coming home to a suddenly much smaller bed! The estate around the cottage is very well looked after and feels like living there, just for a short while. Brecon is only a few minutes drive away and a lovely little town. Beautiful walks just around the corner, peaks, woodland, the canal.
We just booked our next stay in May and can’t wait to be back there!




Don’t want to leave!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve had the most wonderful time in our beautiful cottage and honestly don’t want to go home. Usually by the end of a week away we feel ready to get back to the comfort of our own home but this lovely place is so homely we could stay forever!

Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, stunning setting and genuinely lovely hosts.........cannot praise Ty Mawr enough! Such a perfect stay for the two of us plus Ruby the Labrador (who adored the field).

We cannot thank you enough for such a wonderful stay. We leave here with such happy memories which will stay with us forever. You should be so very proud of what you’ve achieved here, it’s just perfect. We’ll see you again soon!

Much love

Darren, Christina and Ruby Metters x




Pure relaxation

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about The Cottage was wonderful. We really didn’t want to leave. Already planning our next stay.



Amazing cottage - didn't want to leave it!

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Totally perfect cottage. You could not fault anything. Beautiful fresh flowers on arrival. Everything we needed. Very comfortable bed.
Excellent shower. Great kitchen. Excellent facilities. We wanted for nothing.




The cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It said ‘luxury’ in the description and it truly was luxury! Beautifully designed interior, amazing surroundings, and very dog friendly too. Lovely walks and a field right next door. We are coming back next year!
We had amazing weather too!
Thank you for putting such thought into making it a perfect place to stay.