FB Twitter

Thorntree Barn

Thorntree Barn

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Thorntree Barn is near Stirling in Central Scotland and provides quality self catering accommodation for holidays. Thorntree is in the hills above Flanders Moss, midway between Loch Lomond, the Trossachs and Stirling, on the southern edge of the Highlands - perfect for a holiday in Scotland. Arnprior village is on the edge of the Trossachs and Loch Lomond National Park and is close to the Lake of Menteith, Scotland's only lake. We are within one hour of Edinburgh and Glasgow, making this an ideal base for visiting Scotland's major cities, as well as all the major tourist attractions and sites. Thorntrree Barn is graded 3 Star by Visit Scotland

Stunning location and comfortable facilities

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All you need for a stay whatever the weather. Comfortable beds, well equipped, and welcoming hosts

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Cosy fire. Views and outside space

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
Noisy pipes. Tiny shower room. Could have had dishwasher tablet for the first wash.

Is there anything you would like to see added or changed in our Guest App ?
No





Mark Seymour replied 177 days ago
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review for Thorntree

We had a great week

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location for the Trossachs and Loch Lomond, lovely views from the gardens, great outside area and space, well equipped holiday accommodation, very friendly hosts. We were first guests to stay since the Covid-19 guidelines were introduced and it was clear that these had been taken very seriously by the owners and implemented rigorously - it was very re-assuring. Would stay again.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Outside space, views and easy access to the Trossachs/Southern Highlands

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
Nothing

Is there anything you would like to see added or changed in our Guest App ?
More info about local attractions.





Mark seymour replied 186 days ago
Thank you so very much for taking the trouble to review Thorntree Barn. Much appreciated we very muh look forward to seeing you here again Best wishes Mark and Carol

Beautiful Stay at Thorntree

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much Carol and Mark for your warm hospitality.
Thorntree was gorgeous, comfortable and very well kept.
We will recommend your place to anyone lucky enough to visit beautiful Scotland ❤️

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Loved everything!

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
No

Is there anything you would like to see added or changed in our Guest App ?
No





A short break

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 3 nights in October. The cottage was so cosy and Carol and Mark were very helpful. We managed to turn off the pilot light on the fire and Mark quickly got it relighted and us toasty warm. The views are amazing and are beautiful. The first 2 nights we had 4 adults and 2 children, there was plenty of space for all of us. The 3rd night 2 adults, but it was still cosy. The living and kitchen area are open which was nice. We have booked to for a full week next year.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Location

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
No

Is there anything you would like to see added or changed in our Guest App ?
No





A great base to explore Stirling and the Trossachs

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly welcome from the owners. A very comfortable converted barn which we felt immediately at home in. A beautifully rural setting well situated for visits to the Trossachs and Stirling. Will be very happy to book again when returning next to the region.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
The lovely garden and views

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
No

Is there anything you would like to see added or changed in our Guest App ?
Can't think of anything, sorry!





We had a great time

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location with splendid views, cozy cottage yet spacious enough for 5 adults and baby. Welcoming hosts.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
the view, the gas fire, the selection of books, games and espcially the two wooden jig-saws :-)

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
no

Is there anything you would like to see added or changed in our Guest App ?
no





Scotland at its best

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant location overlooking absolutely magnificent scenery. The Seymours are attentive and genial hosts who maintain the property and its grounds in immaculate condition.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
General level of comfort

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
Nothing





Great time in a beautiful pplace

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've had a great time in this beautiful place. Carol and Mark are very welcoming and friendly and we really enjoyed our stay.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
extremely comfortable beds

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
regulating hot/cold water was a bit tricky





Great holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit of Scotland and it was very nice! We' d like the lovely Thorntree barn. Our children also were very happy at the cottage. It was very "hyggelig"!

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
No

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
No





Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thorntree barn is an excellent place to spend your vacation. A beautiful house with spacious rooms. Not far from Edinburgh and Glasgow which are easy to reach by car or train. The Trossachs are not far and that is a wonderful area to spend a day. Stirling is close by and there are all the amenities. Excuse me for my bad English.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
The house and the surroundings.

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
No





Relaxing beautiful time

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were working in Stirling on nights so we picked somewhere quiet and away from the hustle and bustle on the town centre , wow did we pick right , the most beautiful place we’ve spent time in , the views the cottage were amazing and comfortable plus the owners were very helpful couldn’t wish for more ! Would definitely return again

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Quiet, peaceful, views

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
No





Thorntree Barn is the perfect location to explore Scotland.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay as a family (3 children). The barn is well equipped, enough space for all, and perfect located to visit Glasgow and Edinburgh, to experience nature and culture, to have fun and relaxation.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
close to nature, amazing view, no noise, just relaxing silence, but ideally located for all trips

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
N/A





Above the snow line, surrounded by pheasants and new Spring lambs

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and super helpful and obliging hosts. The barn is comfortable and had everything we needed including good sharp kitchen knives! The central heating system and hot water system is quite loud first thing in the morning and last thing at night which we found a bit disturbing if we were sleeping. The bedrooms had good black out blinds - superb for small kids. We loved our stay and would recommend the place for anyone looking for a secluded spot away from the hum of city life.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
The view!

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
The noisy heating and water systems.





perfect for us

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great place for a group of friends from 3 countries to gather to talk about WHAT MATTERS! Sitting and sleeping areas were very comfortable, and the kitchen had almost everything we needed to make delicious meals to share. Plus lanes for short and long walks. Carol was a delightful hostess -- popping in to make sure we were well accommodated, then giving us our privacy.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
location

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
not being able to stay longer!





Wonderful place

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Charming, informative hosts. Great location. Everything there needed for comfort. Good location, great directions, very comfortable

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Everything

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
Better reading lights. Upstairs Windows don't open for cross ventilation





Lovely Vacation House

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thorntree Barn is a lovely place to vacation in Scotland. It is peaceful and serene as well as centrally located between Glasgow and Edinburgh. After spending each day visiting the sights in the area we thoroughly enjoyed returning to Thorntree Barn to sit outside on the patio to listen to the sheep in the pastures and then watch the beautiful sunset over the mountains. Carol, the owner, was very welcoming upon arrival and helpful in giving us instruction about how things work in Thorntree as well as answering our questions and making suggestions about places to visit and where to eat and shop in the area. The kitchen is well-equipped to make meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We usually ate two light meals at Thorntree and one meal a day at a local restaurant. There are several restaurants and supermarkets located in Stirling which is about thirty minutes from Thorntree Barn in Arnprior. Our favorite places to eat in Scotland were the farm shops located near Thorntree Barn and Sterling. These farm shops are stores as well as eating places which serve meals made with fresh ingredients sourced from the local farms in the area. We enjoyed very relaxing nights and a peaceful sleep almost every day that we stayed at Thorntree. We plan to vacation at Thorntree Barn again in the future.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Yes I liked the beds in the master bedrooms. They were very comfortable.

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
I did not like the flushing mechanism in toilet located in the en suite bathroom in master bedroom. It was hard to flush.



Home away from home

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't hope for a better place to stay on our vacation every year to Scotland. We truly feel Thorntree Barn is a home away from home for us. We are welcomed so warmly and have every comfort of home available. I would move in permanently in a second!

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Best view in all of Scotland from the back garden. Wonderful to have a place to eat a meal outside at the table.

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
Nothing





The bonnie, bonnie Thorntree Barn near the bonnie, bonnie banks of Loch Lomond.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
With some lines of the well known folk song "Bonnie Bonnie Banks o' Loch Lomond" I want to begin my review because this song accompanied us the whole week and we kind of grew fond of it.

"On the steep, steep side o' Ben Lomon',
Where in purple hue the Hieland hills we view,
An' the moon comin' out in the gloamin'."

The stay at the Thorntree Barn in Arnprior was the second half of our two-weeks-trip to the most amazing Scotland. With the soft and mellow hills of the Lowlands behind us and some really high and impressiv Munros before us, we were ready to explore a complete different area of Scotland. And to be honest, the Thorntree Barn was a real blessing as the rain was our only fellow in the first few days. With the cozy fireplace and the very soft sofas, the rain wasn't as bad as it seemed to be.
The next big advantage of our holiday flat was, that all sights, like Edinburgh, the Trossachs, Stirling and Loch Lomond, were in comfortable distance. We are really big hiking fans and with that we were able to do some really amazing hiking tours on the Conic Hill and Beinn Dubh. A big thanks has to be directed at this point to our landlady Mrs. Seymour, too. Without her advice on our first day, we wouldn't have seen half of the amazing places we saw that week.
To come to a conclusion, we really did enjoy this week at Thorntree Barn in the "midst of nowhere" and even three weeks after our stay we still get the travel bug now and then. Someday we would like to come back to your cozy place and see the "Bonnie, Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond" again.

Beannachd leat and liebe Grüße from Germany.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
The road next to our house where you were able to take the most amazing sunset pictures of the Highlands with or without sheep.

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
None.



A peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thorntree Barn is a very comfortable,quiet retreat away from the hustle and bustle of our normal everyday lives.Conveniently located near to the urban areas of Stirling,Edinburgh ,Glasgow and Fallkirk with many sites of interest....castles,museums,Falkirk Wheel,Kelpies,battlefields etc etc.Many beautiful natural landscapes are also easily accessible from Thorntree Barn..mountains, lakes,waterfalls,forests. Carol and Mark were always on hand to offer help and advice on what best to see and do. The accommodation was outstanding and so beautifully decorated and comfortable. The gardens and the setting a joy to behold and the sunsets spectacular. A week was certainly too short a time!

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Everything just fantastic

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
Nothing to dislike!



Cosy comfort at the farm

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is a lovely home away from home in a farm setting with stunning views 360 degrees. It is almost exactly halfway between Edinburgh and Glasgow so is an ideal location for touring those areas. If you just want a beautiful comfortable home to relax in and maybe do some local hiking or biking Thorntree provides that as well. Carol and Mark are always on hand and super helpful about things to see and do.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
The beds were comfortable and the gas fireplace in the living room was a nice addition

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
Not really a dislike for us but if you want something in short walking distance to shops you won't find that here





We will definitely come back to Thorntree Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really welcoming and beautiful place. We felt at home from the first moment. All commodities available, WiFi also worked very well. Ideal accommodation if you want to experience reality of life in Scotland!

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Sunsets and views. Welcoming hostess

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
No





...

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I have nothing special to say but your system oblime me to right +/- 100 lettre, thats very strange !!!!!!!!!!

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
the view, Mr and Mmrs Seymour :-)

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
not "dislike" but it would be nice to have a panel with the name of the laocation on the main road in anrprior. More easy to find.





good

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely time in Scotland visited many places would love to come back as many more to visit
Had good weather
also enjoyed visiting the ram sale which my Grandaughter really found interesting

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
No not really

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
only the bats that came out at night time





Lovely weather in a gorgeous location

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a return visit to Thorntree Barn and it was as I remembered. Comfortable, clean and wonderful unspoilt views. Good location for what we wanted to do so we had a happy time.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Fresh flowers on the table

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
N/A





Beautiful Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I recently had the wonderful pleasure of being able to visit a country that we had only dreamed of. It truly was as beautiful as we had imagined it to be! We were also very fortunate to be able to stay at Thorntree Barn, a self catering cottage in the country near Stirling. It was a very beautiful home with views of the Highlands and there were even sheep outside in the nearby pasture. This was just the perfect picture that I had always had of what Scotland would look like. The owners are very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed talking to them about places to visit as well as some history of the area. Carol is a master gardener and she displays her talent throughout the property with the many colorful plants and arrangements.

The home is very cheerful and comfortable as well. We had plenty of space for everything we needed. There were six of us, so we needed quite a spacious home for all of us. The home is cozy and warm. We felt very much at home there and honestly hated that we had to leave. We hope that we will be able to return again someday and be able to stay for a longer visit. If you want a true taste of Scotland, I believe that Thorntree Barn is a wonderful representation of how beautiful this country and people really are!

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
Loved the location since it was in the countryside.

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
Not being able to stay longer.



smashing cottage in beautiful countryside

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here during a very sunny week which no doubt enhanced the experience! The cottage is very much a home from home. Very well equipped, clean and comfortable. Carol, the owner, is very helpful and will help with advice on the surrounding area for facilities and places to see. The gaden is immaculate and the patio cathches the sun all day. We would definitely go back.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
location

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
no





Our stay at Thorntree Barn

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole family thoroughly enjoyed their stay in Thorntree Barn. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. The inside of the house was lovely, well kept and clean. The only down sides were that we found the furniture in the bedrooms, especially the master bedroom, very dated in comparison to the living areas. Also the shower in the en suite is very small. I'm only 5'2" and even I found it difficult getting in and out of it never mind my 6' 2" husband !! Considering that the barn sleeps up to 8 people we also found that more mugs and glasses would have been helpful. Also the pots and pans were 'old' and not in very good condition. There was also a lack of basics in the kitchen e.g. dishwasher tablets, cling film, aluminium foil, kitchen paper etc.. We would have expected these kind of things to be provided in a 3* property!

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
The living area was very comfortable.

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
Dated/old furniture in the master bedroom.



Thorntree Barn, Arnprior

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely warm comfortable and cosy cottage with good space downstairs in the main room and very good size bedrooms. We found the location very acceptable for driving into central Glasgow and also for exploring Falkirk, Stirling and the surrounding areas. The owners were very helpful and also on hand if we had any queries.

Was there anything in particular that you liked ?
There was plenty of comfortable seating in the main living area.

Was there anything in particular that you disliked ?
A few cobwebs at ceiling level in the corners- otherwise the rest of the house was clean and tidy.





Half term break

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely stay here. Owners were very helpful. We were lucky with the weather and really got to enjoy visiting Loch Katrine. Aberfoyle Go Ape, Loch Lomond. Had a lovely meal at the Cross Keys in Kippen too. If you are visiting The Trussochs this is a great rural location.



Very nice stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is very peaceful, around 20 minutes from Stirling by car. The owners Mark + Carol were very welcoming and
strike just the right balance between leaving you to get on with your holiday whilst still being very helpful as regards any help or advice you need in deciding what to visit and how to get there. Overall, very good value for money indeed, especially when compared to many areas down south. Thank you.




Again any time

Review submitted on Wed, 27 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
normally you are used to book a place to stay - with beautiful images - and when you get there everything is worse than expacted.
But not at Thorntree Barn. Everything was great.
It is far away from any other houses; and during our stay, all time sheep!!!
Carol and Marc are doing a great job, even if you will not see Marc to often!
Many attractions around, you do not have to drive too far.





peaceful break

Review submitted on Sat, 23 May 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thorntree Barn is in the most beautiful, peaceful setting. The view of the mountains is wonderful, as it is west facing the sunsets are spectacular. It is quite remote, but within 20 mins or so drive to Stirling for supplies. The accommodation is light, airy, and quite spacious. The microwave didn't work on arrival, but was replaced immediately with a top of the range new one Although the weather was quite cold the Barn was always lovely and toasty. There is an amazing view from the very good shower! The large lawn is perfect for children to play in safety.
We were invited to look at the new litter of puppies in the owners house, which made us feel very welcome. Would recommend a stay here for anyone wanting peace and quiet, but equally is in easy reach of Edinburgh and Glasgow, especially if you take the train from Stirling.




A wonderful Barn Cottage close to Stirling

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful Barn conversion, smack in the middle of rolling hills and lush green meadows. A very gracious hostess Carol was always on hand for any guidance on local sights , markets or any other help. The Cottage has 3 very spacious bedrooms great for a family holiday. Only 15 minutes by car to Stirling, the property affords holidaymakers to experience both Rural settings as well as the comforts of urban living ( Supermarkets etc in Stirling). We had a great time at The Thorntree Barn and look forward to many more visits.



Easter in Scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Family and I had a wonderful time during our stay this Easter. After long days of hiking in the Trossachs we could relax in the cosy cottage and enjoy the view towards Ben Lomond. It's just a perfect happy place!



Lovely cottage with a wonderful view

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage for six in a perfect setting, well placed for Central Scotland, Stirling, Loch Lomond and the Trossachs. Good facilities, big garden and an outstanding view.



Our favorite spot in the world!

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come here every summer with a family of six. It could not be in a more perfect location with a beautiful garden and extraordinary view of the hills. We have the feeling of being tucked away from the world with countless opportunities for long walks, but at the same time a short drive to city life and all of the tourist things we want to do.
The house is another home. A full kitchen/dining area open to the living room makes for a warm family living space where we can make dinner for a crowd and enjoy our meals outside on the patio or at the big family dining table. The bedrooms are roomy and three bathrooms (one with toilet and shower, one with bathtub/shower, and a third with toilet and sink) make it easy for all six of us to get ready in the morning! Nothing quite like taking a shower and looking out to the Highlands! We love to open the big skylight windows at night and listen to the sheep.
Mark and Carol makes us feel so welcome. You will be amazed at the gorgeous gardens that they keep.
Fresh flowers on the table when we arrive is just one of the many little touches that puts Thorntree over and above any place we have stayed.




An excellent holiday cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm and cosy, with lovely views, the open plan living area was just right for reconnecting with our teenagers and entertaining our relatives. All the bedrooms were a good size, with lovely showers. Definitely one of the best cottages we have ever had in Scotland!



Mark & Carol Seymour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your very helpful review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope very much that we shall see you again when you visit your Scottish family.

Little things to do

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2013
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were very happy with our stay and the cottage is ideally located in central Scotland.
I think the owners need to go into the property and look at it from a new comers view. Some of the utensils and tableware are a bit worn looking. There are a few other little things about the place that if I was to mention them I start sounding petty but the place needs to be looked at afresh.
My in-laws stayed with us at Thorntree Barn. They are in their late 60's and early 70's. They found the entrance at the patio dangerous. The step outside the door needs to be further out. Its not deep enough to step on it and yet, puts alot of pressure on ageing legs to step beyond it.




Mark and Carol Seymour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your very helpful comments. We shall of course look at all you say. However the structural alteration you suggest to the patio doors is not a very easy matter to acheive and will require a great deal of thinking about it. Thank you for making the point however. May I add that I am in my mid seventies and have no trouble with this step. Its a matter of physical fitness I suspect. We cannot acheive full disabled access or facilities I fear without a major rebuild.