FB Twitter

The Haven

The Haven

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


The Haven is a traditionally built stone cottage in a peaceful location close to St Andrews, with beautiful views over the Tay. It has been fully renovated and modernised to provide all the comforts of home, yet retains its cottage feel and character. It sleeps 3 in 1 double and 1 single bedroom. WiFi. Two sitting rooms. Open fire and wood burning stove.

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage in a fantastic location, handy for St Andrews, Dundee and Perth. Lots of thoughtful touches at the cottage which has a very high standard of facilities. Have no hesitation in recommending this property.



Covid break....!

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation and facilities considering current restrictions, exactly as described and obviously well loved by the owner.



A really super place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at the Haven, with a great view over the Tay estuary and a fabulous cottage to stay in. A helpful welcome pack, well-equipped kitchen, and spotlessly clean throughout. An excellent October break!



Home from Home

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our mini break at The Haven. We felt so at home and relaxed in this very comfortable cottage. The location is great for visiting both Dundee and St Andrews. There is also a lovely restaurant nearby in Wormit called “The View ” which serves breakfast , lunch and dinner and has lovely views of the river Tay and the railway bridge. The cottage is well equipped with everything you would need . The welcome pack and flowers were a really lovely touch and very much appreciated. We enjoyed our trips out during the day and looked forward to our cosy evenings in beside the wood stove . Our only regret was that we didn’t book the week.

We look forward to returning one day to this lovely part of the world.




Winter break

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with warm welcome and made to feel like home from home. Great location to escape and relax and enjoy walks from the cottage.



An Extremely Pleasant Experience

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth or fifth time at this location. We return because of the cleanliness, tastefulness, peace and quiet. The conservatory is our home for the week with the beautiful views, the perfect place to relax. Every detail is attended to.

Andy And Sylvia Hall




Beautiful cottage and amazing views

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage situated on the Tay with great views across the river and we were treated to some amazing sunsets. The cottage is very comfortable and extremely well equipped. The owner is very helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
We have visited over many years now and we will be again!




Return to Heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a return visit for us and as before we cannot fault the Cottage. All the amenities and more were in the cottage and the welcome pack is always very welcome. If there is any assistance that is required Morven is always on hand to give help and advice without interfering.



Magical Holiday Home

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Haven is a lovely holiday home which I can thoroughly recommend. The house was very clean, beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The location is in a quiet village, with gorgeous views across the Tay estuary, yet within easy driving distance of St Andrews, local shops in Wormit, Dundee, the Fife seaside villages to the South and Angus & Perthshire to the North. Golf enthusiasts are spoilt for choice both in Fife and Angus. In a word, excellent!!



A peaceful Haven in beautiful Kirkton of Balmerino

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Haven is a holiday cottage that lives up to its name. Peaceful seclusion in the heart of the countryside with breathtaking views across the River Tay and the added bonus of glorious sunsets. A warm welcome awaited with extra-special touches from Morven who does everything possible to give one a true sense of being 'home from home'. Pretty walks abound with interesting wildlife for those who like a slower pace of life with binoculars in hand. We enjoyed visiting the remains of Balmerino Abbey along with slightly further afield jaunts to the new V & A in Dundee, the fascinating Discovery and the well tended botanical gardens at St Andrews. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the property - just don't book the week that we want!!




A week at the "Haven"

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The "Haven" was beautifully situated, if slightly difficult to find. The standard of accommodation was excellent and the kitchen utensils etc. were of high quality. The garden was quite private and the views superb. The weather when we were there was not brilliant , and the cottage was warm and cosy.



Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the first time we have stayed in this area and booked through Somewhere Special. In all honesty we could not have chosen anything better, from the greeting to the departure All was wonderful. If we asked for any information it was there. The area and the residents of the area were all very friendly and helpful. The cottage was immaculate and all your immediate essentials for arrival were there waiting. There were fresh flowers in the living areas which gave a very homely welcome. The information and pictures on Somewhere Special web site were so true. We would go back in a flash as Morven Sutherland the owner was a very special person who was so friendly and helpful always had a smile for you.



a special spot

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
what a lovely part of Scotland! This cottage has two comfortable rooms to relax and admire the views



Perfect Haven hospitality!

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great responsive service and really appreciated the efforts Morven had gone to to make it very festive. Very clean and comfortable. Really looking forward to our third visit.



Winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a delightful cottage which was well equipped and very comfortable. It has a lovely view set in north Fife overlooking the Tay with easy access to Dundee and St Andrews.



Vey good

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable, cosy and clean and well equiped holiday cottage. It's position overlooking the Tay is magical, especally at sunset. Many thanks to Morven.



A real 'Haven' in an idyllic, peaceful location

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a very enjoyable return visit to this beautifully presented cottage which has been been thoughtfully equipped with everything needed for a very comfortable and relaxing stay.



The Haven

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed several weeks and it felt like a second home. It has a beautiful position with wonderful views of the Firth of Tay. It is quiet and peaceful and very well furnished and equipped. A very good choice so long as you are happy being in a relatively remote location.



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property with gorgeous views. Owner very helpful. Very relaxing. Would certainly visit again.



Another excellent stay...

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now stayed at this cottage on several occassion and is by far the best ... Spotless, beautiful secluded gardens, views are just idealic, location is perfect for visiting surrounding areas i.e. St Andrews, Dundee and east coast. Just makes this the most relaxing place for a short break. We look forward to visiting again next year..



Lovely holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at The Haven. The cottage is really thoughtfully fitted out and is very luxurious. We enjoyed sitting out on the terrace looking at the view and seeing all the bumblebees around the lavender. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking and we appreciated all the Portmeiron crockery. The owner was very prompt in answering a query we had about the lights. We definitely would like to stay at the Haven again!



Lovely cottage, with stunning views. Highly recommended.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was immaculately clean & very well equipped with quality fittings. Views over the Firth of Tay from house & garden were gorgeous. Felt very private & secluded. Plenty of things to do for families around Dundee/St Andrews, both an easy drive. The owner was very friendly and helpful (but non intrusive). We would happily have stayed another week, had a great holiday here!



Brilliant Cottage in a Fantastic Location

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Haven was just that; a perfect holiday home, with every facility you could wish for, where you could truly get away from all the stress and noise of modern life. The location was idyllic overlooking the Firth of Tay and yet well located to easily reach all the main attractions in Fife. The cottage was immaculately clean, very comfortable, well equipped and exactly as described on the website. I would recommend this cottage without hesitation. J Millar, Cheshire