FB Twitter

Gamekeepers Cottage (sleeps 8)

Gamekeepers Cottage (sleeps 8)

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Gamekeeper's Cottage has a stunning riverside location. With an extensive private south facing garden there is plenty of space for 8 people to relax and enjoy. All four bedrooms have their own bathroom or en-suite with the first floor bedroom having its own roll top bath in the room with views of the river. The living space is large and bright and steps straight out onto the outside patio area with access to its own private hot tub. Gamekeeper's Cottage has 2 fixed double beds with an option to turn the other 2 doubles into twins.

Family get -together

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Welcome pack ( Food etc ) was unexpected and much appreciated. The quality and state of the cottage was exceptional - probably the best holiday accommodation we have experienced , and Aled the handyman was most helpful.



Gamekeepers Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The ambience, the cottage and surrounding natural beauty is a very pleasant breath of fresh air literally. The cottage has all that you need and the facilities are so good, you really do not have to think about anything. The riverbank is meditative, as is the beautiful environment it is all set in. The lodge was used wholeheartedly, especially the table tennis! We will be returning to this lovely place. Thank you to everyone at Rivercatcher who made our stay so enjoyable.




Gamekeepers cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Gamekeepers cottage is a lovely cottage. We loved the views from the hot tub and the easy access to the river for the fisherman in the family. There were lots of helpful tips about things to do in the area and we would recommend the treatments from MyPersonalSanctuary.

A couple of small improvement points:
- The kitchens could have been a little better equipped (for example - sharper knives, a mixer, a few more pots)
- The overall temperature was a little chilly in the cottage and we would have preferred to have control

We had a great time and would definitely come back.




Jen & Andy replied 47 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! Also thank you for your comments. We have made sure all knives have been sharpened and added a new large saucepan. Hope to see you again. Regards, Jen

An idyllic location and an excellent standard of accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a different type of Holiday as we wanted to bring together our family and have a relaxing break.

The location of Rivercatcher could not be better as the views of the hills across the river provide such a calming backdrop. The silence was very noticeable and helped add to the relaxing atmosphere.

The Gameskeeper's cottage was very well equipped with modern kitchen, bathrooms and TVs etc. Some of the other carefully thought out items were a real pleasure. For example, the beds were super comfortable and the decoration, paintings and finishing touches were excellent.

The Hot Tub was a great way to relax after touring and visiting the area for the day. Again the location for vising North Wales' many attractions and towns of character created a great week's stay.

I would recommend Rivercatcher for anyone who is looking for something that bit different and a cut above the ordinary.

We plan to go back!




Other than the weather everything was first class.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
on arrival everything was perfect, other than the weather we could not have had a better location, the whole experience was marvellous, thank you rivercatcher.




A perfect stay

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at Rivercatcher but the first in Gamekeeper's Lodge.
We arrived to find the house absolutely spotless with everything we needed.
We had a glorious stay from start to finish. We all enjoyed the hot tub, my brother fished, the dogs thought the big and safe garden was the stuff of dreams, my husband built warm, cosy fires when it rained, my sister-in-law had long baths looking out over fields of green, and I slept better than I have done for months.
We booked a dog-sitter for our stay through Rivercatcher, and lovely Sam arrived and took great care of our dogs whilst we went off to Bounce Below at the Slate Caverns. There are so many beautiful places to visit; Wales really is spectacular.
In summary, Rivercatcher is really highly recommended. A luxurious treat, perfect for real relaxation. We can't wait to go back.




Another Fabulous Holiday at Rivercatcher

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rivercatcher is the most fabulous place to stay. The cottages are idyllic,set in fantastically maintained grounds. Truely luxuriously appointed cottages, we have now stayed in both Flyfishers and Gamekeepers, incredibly well equipped with many beautiful 5 star finishing touches. The gardens are fabulous, great if you are taking your dog with you as they are fully fenced with bins provided. The kitchen extremely well equipped, great for self catering, every possible thing you could need to cook full meals, just like a home form home.
We would highly recommend both Pale hall and Tyddyn Llan for a lovely meal out, also the Corn Mill in Llangollen was great for a good pub lunch. The Thai from the village shop is delicious, probably the best Thai we've ever had. Also well worth ordering the BBQ packs from the local butchers - high quality and good value for money.
The hot tub is the icing on the cake, immaculately maintained by the wonderful Aled, who along with the lovely Rivercatcher team really ensure you have a great holiday. Nothing is too much trouble and great recommendations for places to visit/walks/biking/meals out etc.
A little piece of paradise, have already booked again for next year. Would most definitely recommend to all!




Beyond Luxury - a fantastic retreat!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage truly exceeded our expectations. The team had thought of every last detail, from games in the cupboard, extensively stocked kitchen to designer soaps and gels in the bathrooms. We had a FANTASTIC weekend. Couldn't recommend it enough!



Magical location.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is set in the most wonderful location on the river Dee. In the evening you can sit in the hot tub sipping champagne and star gazing, as there is no light pollution. Lovely cottage with nearly all your home comforts. Only two of the cottages were occupied when we visited so it was very peaceful. A magical retreat!



4 day stay May 2017

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous relaxing week with a group of friends in a beautiful cottage. Lovely views and walks.
Absolutely everything we could have wished for in a the most luxurious of cottages.
Staff were all extremely helpful and the service was great. Thank you so much for such an enjoyable time




What a find these beautiful cottages...........

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just perfect........ wonderful property in a wonderful location....... fabulous.............. can't wait for a return visit.



A lovely place

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for over the weekend with my family, the cottage is great everything looks brand new and spotlessly clean, we didn't ever want to go home! Enjoyed walks around the countryside, dinner at one of the local pubs (Dudley arms) cosy nights in next to the fire and even though the weather was cold and rainy had a sit in the hot tub every night, a totally relaxing and chilled out holiday, well worth a visit .



Making memories

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Honestly cannot describe how wonderful and magical the Rivercatcher is. My now husband and I stayed in the Gamekeepers cottage with our wedding guests and pooches. We got married at Pistyll Rhaeadr waterfall and our stay at the Gamekeepers cottage made it perfect! We absolutely love Wales and our stay in Llandrillo did not disappoint. We have booked the Ghillie's cottage for our 1 year wedding anniversary next February. Would highly recommend to anyone!



A lovely place to spend New Year with friends.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In a beautiful situation, Gamekeepers cottage was comfortable and roomy and the hot tub under the stars was a real bonus!



Jen replied 311 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you had a lovely New Years saty with us. Hope to see you again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Jen & Andy

Amazing Stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You could ask for a anymore in a holiday cottage. Lovely decoration, comfy beds, fire and hot tub! Great stay as always and we will be back next year!



A fantastic location with fantastic accomodation and a fantastic service. 10/10. Need we say more.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An extremely high standard of accommodation regarding its cleanliness, contemporary furnishings that still feel homely, and a service that exceeded our expectations. All our needs were catered for at this accommodation for the whole family and we were very impressed with everything, even with the communication before the holiday had started. If you like somewhere that's very quiet and peaceful, and has an opportunity to do some fishing or explore the surrounding area including Snowdon, Port Merion and the Isle of Anglesey, then this place to stay is in a word, "perfect".



Relaxing short break.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only thing I didn't like about this cottage was leaving it. Stunning cottage with location to match. Cant wait to return.



Perfect family accomodation

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a family group of 8, with 3 couples, my elderly mum and my sister. The accommodation suited us perfectly. Everything was of the highest quality, both in and around the cottages, & the surrounding area was spectacularly beautiful. We have booked to return for a short break early next year. We really appreciate being able to take our dog too - thank you for making us all do comfortable and welcome.