FB Twitter

Shepherd's Cottage (sleeps 4)

Shepherd's Cottage (sleeps 4)

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Shepherds Cottage has magnificent views of the Berwyn mountain range. It has two en suite king-size bedrooms and sleeps 4 people comfortably. It has a light and airy open plan living area complete with log burning stove. As with all our cottages it has its own private hot tub looking within its own walled garden. Shepherd's Cottage has 1 fixed master double with an option to turn the 2nd double into a twin.

We found Shepherd's Cottage to be the perfect place to stay for our walking holiday in Wales.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherd's Cottage was very well located for our walking holiday in Wales. We found the cottage to be very comfortable for the three of us and our labrador, and was well presented, well equipped, and easy to keep clean. The extra touches such as the welcome pack of local produce, the lovely private hot-tub, and the good TV with Netflix added the finishing touches to make our stay very enjoyable.



Great cottage in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at Rivercatcher. Everything is really well thought through and it’s in an amazing setting with lots to do and see. Would definitely recommend



An amazing, relaxing getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My family and I had a wonderful 2-night stay in the Shepherd's lodge. The accommodation was clean, cozy, and ready for us even when we arrived a few hours earlier than the check-in time. The welcome hamper we found waiting for us was a thoughtful touch. We also met the owners of the place and found them to be warm and helpful. The breakfast hamper we ordered was amazing -- fresh eggs, meat, and vegetables, and delicious bottles of milk and juice.

We are very much looking forward to staying in Rivercatcher again.




Lovely stay at Shepherds Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for a week at the end of September - lovely welcome hamper and the breakfast hamper was a really nice surprise. Nice to have items for our four legged friend, particularly the dog blanket.
The cottage was lovely and clean and most things that you would need in the kitchen (although could have had a few more pots for the oven). The hot tub was a nice touch and we used every day - was very nice after we had walked up Snowdon!!
All in all a lovely stay and we would hope to return.




It was a lovely week

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Oct 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our week at Rivercatcher, the place is very peaceful and overall the facilities were good. Personally, I wouldn't book Shepherds Cottage again though for 4 adults (and two dogs) as it was too small, I would book one of the bigger cottages. (Double bed for two adults and the en-suite shower were both too small for us) The lounge was not big enough for everyone to stretch out and the sofa was uncomfortable. It's a shame that the big window in the kitchen was not built as french doors, leading out to the patio, as you felt a bit hemmed in. All the windows in the place are low down and you can't really appreciate the views from the property, although i appreciate most cottage windows are like this.
I didn't realise how much I would miss a downstairs toilet, having to keep running up the stairs was getting on my nerves by the end of the week.
Dogs not allowed upstairs was frustrating to learn on arrival and there were not enough walks from the property for us, we spent the week getting in the car and driving out to places.
Lastly, and this may have just been us, but access to the river is limited and we couldn't find a way down to the edge. I think only one of the cottages has access.
However, the underfloor heating, the log burner and hot tub were fantastic and exactly what we like when coming back from a long walk.
Overall the place is lovely and I would return to a larger property.




Jen & Andy replied 38 days ago
Thank you for taking the time out to review Shepherd's Cottage. I'm please you had a lovely week. I wanted to address the points you have made if I may. I appreciate that the living area is not one to stretch out on the sofas as we have a 2 seater sofa as well as 2 individual arm chairs which is enough for 4 people but without stretching out too much - as shown in the images on our website. Our 2 bedrooms comprise of a Superking size bed and a Kingsize bed with a family bathroom with separate bath and shower and also one en suite, which is not a large size shower, I agree, but still the average size shower most of us have at home. Our Doggy rules are to protect our 5 star cottages which is why we don't allow dogs upstairs and in beds. This is so that we can keep our high standards for all of our guests to enjoy time again. We really welcome dogs and like to make a fuss of them with their own welcome pack. Our rules are available online and attached to your booking confirmation at the time of booking. I'm sorry you missed this and only found our polite note on arrival. I was disappointed to know that you decided not to follow this rule for your stay. I'm also sorry that you also didn't get chance to go down by the River. All of the cottage have access to the River bank and we have signs to guide you there. Aled our daily maintenance man would have gladly taken you down had you asked him on the many times you chatted with him. He would have also shown you the many walks we have listed in the cottage which start from the village which means you would have been able to start form your cottage. I must mention the low down windows you mentioned? There are a couple of these but in the main our windows are at the average height. There is also an extra large floor to ceiling kitchen window which shows the view out towards the Berwyn Mountains. I don't want to sound defensive as you are completely entitled to you option however I must put right some of the misinformation so that future guests don't get the wrong picture. I'm genuinely pleased that you had enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Jen & Andy

A Lovely Stay at Rivercatcher

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super location and a comfortable well equipped cottage. Unfortunately the weather was not conducive to using the spa but it did not spoil anything for us.



Jen & Andy replied 47 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review. Glad you had a lovely stay. Thank you also for taking such lovely photos around Rivercatcher and to your wife for her beautiful painting.

2. stay in this beautiful place

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been for the second time at river catcher and really enjoyed our stay.
Everything is perfect and it is really a good place to make holiday from home.
Andy and Jane are very nice and always helpful.

We will come back!!!









Super Welsh break

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week here and it proved to be a very comfortable base to explore North Wales. Everything we needed and more besides! Hot tub and Netflix, high quality fixtures and fittings, helpful tips on the area.... all much welcomed. Thank you!



Rivercatcher captured us!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very lovely cottage in a beautiful setting. Owners were friendly and welcoming. Great place to stay with four legged friends as the gardens are enclosed and quite private. Wonderful private hot tub and thoughtful welcome basket as well as some basic items provided e.g. cling film, dishwasher tablets. Modern and clean bathrooms (with bathrobes), comfy beds, well designed and equipped kitchen. Walks by the river, on-site fishing and games room. Couple of extremely good restaurants close by and a farm shop that provides high quality products just right for the barbecue or other self catering. Overall our stay at Rivercatcher was faultless and a perfect place to relax. Would not hesitate to recommend to others or return to this idyllic spot.



Superb cottage in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first visit to Rivercatcher, and North Wales. The customer service was excellent, all queries were dealt with promptly and efficiently. The cottage was very clean and comfortable , and it was reassuring to see Aled everyday, in case there were any problems, - not that there were any. Our only minor concerns were the lack of bowls for the preparation of food, only one baking tray suitable for use in the oven, and no toast rack; but these really were minor points.
We particularly liked the flexibility regarding booking. So many holiday cottages can only be rented for whole weeks, we were able to add an extra day which was most beneficial. The location in the Dee Valley meant that we were able to visit many varied areas in the region, not just the tourist hotspots around Snowdonia. These are superb 5 star cottages in a wonderful location.
We will certainly return to Shepherd's Cottage in the near future.




Home from home.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay in Shepherds Cottage, arrived drained and as previously did not want to leave. Relaxation, stunning views and attentive staff. Now just trying to recapture some of the feeling at home. Just book it !



We wish we could do it all again!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in Rivercatcher for a long weekend to try and beat the January blues - and boy did it do just that! The process of booking was super easy, and we had plenty of pre-arrival emails with full instructions on how to get there, how to get in and things we could do once we arrived.

The cottage itself is beautiful inside and finished to a really high standard. Plenty of glassware and kitchen utensils which was great as you often just find 4 of most items in accommodation with 2 bedrooms.

The hot tub was also really well looked after, with Aled visiting daily to top up the water. There is also a wood store outside which houses unlimited woods - what a great extra bonus.

The cottage is situation down a long lane/road which means if you're after dark nights with a night sky full of stars, this is definitely the one for you.

The only tiny thing we would comment on was the towels - it was a shame there weren't separate ones for the hot tub (although there are dressing gowns) and the main bathroom towels could do with being larger.

We can't wait to come back again!




wonderful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful self catering, clean, comfortable, warm, beautifully furnished and great environment. Very Happy indeed



Beautiful cottage with excellent amenities

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed in many cottages and this cottage surpassed expectations.it is immaculate! Very comfortable, great log burner with unlimited supply of logs, lovely welcome basket and local and great hot tub to soothe achey legs after mountain walk!



Brilliant

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay and we would defiantly come back. Lovely property and lots to do in the area



1 Week summer holiday in August 2016

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at rivercatcher in August 2016, everything was just perfect we will definitively come back !!!