FB Twitter

Bel House

Bel House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 40 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Bel House is a cosy and comfortable home with a wood burning stove, beautiful garden and parking for two cars. This luxurious gold four star-rated property provides the perfect place to escape to and enjoy the peace and quiet. The original lodge house for the Manor House at Brinkburn Priory, this stunning cosy Grade 2 listed property is part of the historic Brinkburn Estate.

Great cottage in a lovely setting

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Bel House was just what we needed for a great shortbreak. A small well equipped cottage that had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The setting was perfect and Brinkburn Priory made for an interesting visit. The land the priory sits in was wonderful to explore. The welcome hamper provided was a particularly nice touch and made arriving in the dark after a very long drive much easier. We will definitely be returning with friends once it is possible. [For the owners the only thing i would suggest is small shelf in the shower for shower gel /shampoo etc but this is a very small issue. ]



Short break in lovely comfortable & welcoming house

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotlessly clean
Superbly appointed kitchen
House warm and cosy
Peaceful location
Faultless & relaxing
Super communication with owners




Comfortable with everything we needed

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice well maintained cottage. Good quality fittings. Would like to have a bit more lighting in the sitting room.



Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staff very friendly. Cottage was spotlessly clean. Set in a beautiful location near the river and woodland walks. Plenty of towels. Every kitchen appliance you could ever need available. Welcome pack was a nice surprise too. We will be booking again next year.



Late summer week in Northumberland

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was comfortable and clean. Only one thing that was not to our liking was the lighting in the lounge, not enough and the sofa was a little uncomfortable, could have done with some cushions.



If Carlsberg did holiday cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. Fully equipped with everything you could possibly need including enough dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid and toilet roll to actually last the whole week! Washer dryer too which was very useful.
Very comfortable and immaculately clean. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Set in stunning, peaceful surroundings with granted access to the priory grounds once closed. Cannot fault Bel House and would recommend to all.




A historic property in one of my favourite parts of the country

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bel cottage at Brinkburn is a historic property in one of my favourite parts of the country. Welcome hamper is a wonderful touch. Very comfortable with the exception of the bed being a bit short for a tall man. Minor quibble as overall a lovely property. The priory and the surrounds are wonderful and tranquil. The garden out the back is well sheltered and gets some late sun. As a one if three terrace cottages you will get next door out in thier garden at same time. Not a problem but irritating if they play dirge music outside and expect you to just accept it.
Kate, the manager is very helpful in the run up to booking.
We were so lucky with the weather which helped enjoy the beauty of Northumberland




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bel House is such a lovely cottage in a beautiful setting. When making my holiday arrangements, the staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating - very impressive.
We had access to the grounds and the priory and manor house and enjoyed our evening walk through the woods to the river, exploring the national heritage site whilst there were no visitors. Thank you to the owners for allowing my husband to fly fish during our stay.
The cottage itself is a gorgeous building with a long history. I was a little surprised how close to the B road it was (basically right there on it bar the car parking for the cottages). Gladly, the road is quiet enough and the walls of the cottage thick enough that this did not bother us much.
The place was absolutely spotless on arrival, great in times of Covid!
There were a few small things missing to make the house as special as we had hoped - only four place settings of mugs, side and dinner plates which made it a real nuisance as you basically had to wash up every time you all had a cup of tea or a crumpet - this made the dishwasher rather redundant and we only managed to fill the washer up twice during our weeks stay, when cooking a full meal. All other times I had to wash up by hand every time we used anything so that it could be re-used. We also struggled with one smallish baking tray for a family of four.
There were no scatter cushions on the sofa and chair in the sitting room which made it a bit uncomfortable for cozying up to watch TV in the evening. It also made the sitting room look a little bleak and unloved.
Having said all that, there was some lovely touches too, such as the welcome hamper and the board of local things to see/do and enjoy. Most of which we did!
Thank you Brinkburn for a lovely week.




Cosy cottage on Priory estate

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bel house is a surprisingly warm and comfy end-terrace stone cottage with very helpful owners. There’s a lovely walk around the Priory but pretty much everything else is a drive away. Rothbury is the nearest town of interest. Cragside and Druridge beach are the best things less than half an hour away. A bonus is that Bel House has a slightly larger garden which was handy for the kids.



Fabulous Family Break

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in Bel House and we had a fabulous week again. The cottage was newly painted so very fresh and clean, and the welcome hamper was lovely! Our five year old loved exploring the Priory and with so many great things to do in Northumberland we had a fun packed week despite the two storms that the weather threw at us!



Cosy & well equipped

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Nov 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage had just about everything you needed, very well equipped for an enjoyable week. Our only disappointment was how close to the busy B road the cottages are situated as there was a noticeable noise from the steady stream of traffic, this could be lessened by double glazing (or secondary glazing) but other than than that the location is great for exploring this fabulous area.



Wonderful stay in Bel House

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage in a great location. The cottage was so comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Lovely welcome hamper was much appreciated. Mark and all of the staff were so friendly and helpful throughout our stay, with some great recommendations for days out and places to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and will hopefully be back soon.



Hi Quality Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Bel House
was very well finished to a high standard
it lacked a few home comforts to make it cosy.
and No Trays ,only one chopping board ,No coasters to put your drinks on the loverly furniture
Its the little things

Not to say we wouldn't stay there again

NIK




A true delight

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bel House is just gorgeous. So many things contributed to making our stay really enjoyable, the well equipped kitchen, the cosy lounge, great water pressure in the shower, the wifi, the wonderful garden where a goldcrest called in to visit, a welcome hamper that got us off to a good start! It's been a great delight staying here and so handy for visiting Rothbury, Simonside, Wallington and Cragside. Thank you!



Nicely situated with good views

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage situated between Longframlington and Rothbury, with a really nice garden for when the weather is good. Owners really friendly, welcoming and helpful. Facilities in the cottage very good and very comfortable. No restaurants within walking distance but several a short drive away. Many delightful days out within easy driving distance and I would particularly recommend a day at National Trust's Cragside.



Bel House

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We booked this cottage for a wedding at Brinkburn Priory for three nights,. A little disappointed with the housekeeping side of things, as we requested bedrooms to be made up for two king size beds, and we had three beds in one room and a Kingsize bed in the other. We were told the third bed would be taken away but this did not happen. On the last morning we didn't have enough hot water, There were no coasters only table mats, we did improvise as we didn't want to mark the lovely furniture. but apart from these comments we did enjoy our stay in such a beautiful setting.



Lovely Break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in great location. Beautiful kitchen and bathroom particularly.

Nice touches from hosts leaving fresh bread, brownies and wine in the fridge.

Would definitely recommend.




Hotel style luxury

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage ticked all my boxes. Top of the pops were the king size luxury bed, super size bathroom, large well equipped kitchen and lovely garden which got the sun from breakfast till supper. Slightly envied the comfy looking outdoor furniture at the next door cottage! ( owned by the Brinkburn company). A very comfortable stay.



Perfect stay for a beautiful wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location and setting of this cottage is beautiful. Perfect for those with kids and dogs. Comfortable and clean living areas. Perfect garden for alfresco dining.



Another beautiful Brinkburn cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth time we’ve stayed at Brinkburn but the first time in Bel House, it is as beautiful as the other properties, spotlessly clean, stylish and comfortable with a good size kitchen and bathroom. We wish we could move in!! There is also lots to see and do in the area, the location is great. Customer service is also amazing. The team are so kind and helpful. Thanks again for an awesome stay. We’ve already booked for our next visit.



Quiet weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic from start to finish, every need catered for. Cant wait to return. Have told all friends and family :)



New Years Eve Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much to Mark and co for such a lovely stay at Bel House.
The location and facilities are excellent perfect for 4 people and two doggies. The welcome basket was delicious (especially the brownies!) and the cottage was just perfect for some down time after Christmas. Thank you! We will definitely be back in the summer x




Beautiful cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay surpassed all our expectations. The cottage has been refurbished to such a high standard with all modern facilities you could possibly need, but also retains the charm of a Grade II listed building . The owners provided some lovely personal touches such as the fire already set, a wonderful welcome hamper and a sparkling Christmas tree. They provided lots of information with suggestions for places to visit and local pubs. The setting is so quiet and peaceful and we were able to enjoy some wonderful walks along the river and up through the woods. It was a fabulous Christmas stay and it is a great base to explore the Northumberland countryside. We will definitely be back and would recommend it highly. Thank you to Katie and Mark for helping to make it such a wonderful Christmas break.



Bel House

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in Priory cottage some years ago when we decided to revisit the area a stay at Brinkburn again was a must, but in a larger cottage this time as there were 3 of us. We were not disappointed, kitchen and bathroom superb, beds comfy, log burner made the cottage lovely and cosy. The welcome hamper was well received by all. Thanks for a great stay. Brilliant hosts.



Bel House

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved Bel House , had everything we needed , great location for dog walking and ate in some lovely nearby pubs , we will definately be back



Lovely getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a fab few days here, everything that was needed, and the dog loved it too! We will be back if the family near by don’t find out!!



Beautiful and clean property

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property, very clean, wonderful kitchen, comfortable bedding, feel like home. Can't find any fault. We really enjoyed staying here. We will definitely stay here again and longer next time. Met with Katie ( she very nice). Our stay through out UK, this is by far the best accommodation.




Perfect base

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully refurbished cottage...lovely walks on the estate down to the priory and the perfect base for exploring further afield.



David and Catherine Hawking

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely stay. We would 100% come back...... The cottage and the area were just what we wanted.
Thank you!!!




Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, lovely surroundings and an ideal location for attending recent family wedding. Accommodation was really comfortable and spacious. Hamper on arrival was a real treat!
I would definitely recommend Bel House to anyone looking for a charming place to stay while in Northumberland.




Beautiful, fully equipped, great wifi, bathroom amazing, quiet surroundings,

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
7 day break, plenty to do for family of 4 and dog. Very helpful owners gave recommendations. Loved the bathroom!!



Stay at Bel cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wish we could have stayed longer . A very nice cottage , beautifully decorated . The welcome pack was a lovely touch . We felt at home as soon as we arrived. A great spot for touring Northumberland . Visited Falconry days , Alnwick , Bamburgh and Lindisfarne . Cragside National Trust just up the road.
We look forward to returning to beautiful Northumberland.




Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Excellent.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quaint cottage in an excellent location. Welcome pack included fresh bread, croissants and brownies which were really good. Mark was very helpful and friendly on places to visit. Excellent parking outside the cottage.



A superb experience

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was all that we could wish for with comfortable beds and a great bathroom and very well equipped kitchen. The cost was very reasonable for the level of comfort provided. We were fortunate in the weather after a poor winter. The countryside is very beautiful in Northumberland and there ia plenty to see and do and Brinkburn was a wonderful location from which to venture out. In all four elderly people had a very happy break. Thanks to the team which made this possible.



Beautiful House and Location

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bel House was beautiful and in a beautiful and peaceful location in Northumbria. The house was spacious and spotless and we received a warm welcome. We were delighted to discover this gem of a house and would recommend it thoroughly. Thank you!



Lovely weekend, Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Bel House on a snowy March weekend. The cottage is lovely, warm, comfortable and very well equipped with everything you could need including a lovely welcome hamper. The owner was very welcoming and friendly. We managed to get out and see some of the local area in spite of the weather and the cottage is well situated for both coast and countryside. We also had a walk down to Brinkburn priory just down from the cottage and was surprised to find a beautiful complete building not a ruin as expected. Not open at the time of our visit but something to see on another visit. All in all a great weekend in a great place.



Cosy house - good for dog.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is very comfortable, tastefully decorated and welcoming and warm with loads of hot water. The kitchen is very well equipped apart from inadequate cutlery; it is a bit depressing to provide only 4 place settings and means you keep having to wash up. The pastries and wine were a good touch. Only gripe was that we had to clean the dishwasher filter(totally clogged up and unpleasant) that meant the first dishwasher run left everything gritty. Would have liked a bit more guidance about where we could walk in immediate vicinity. Thank you for a great stay.



Bel House

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Dec 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
.Really enjoyed short break. Welcome pack was .excellent. I would like to make two suggestions; 1 A small nest of tables that you could pull out to place drinks etc. on and 2 Somewhere to hang coats. Would . recommend it to anyone. Thank you
David Pascoe




Wedding

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for people attending a wedding at brinkburn.
10/10 for all aspects, thank you...!!




A fabulous retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the easiest review to write. Bel House has everything needed for a break away from home. Excellent in all categories. We just need to find an excuse for a return visit.