FB Twitter

Cider Cottage

Cider Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 56 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


A romantic 4 star quality graded cottage sleeps two people with en-suite wet room.
Children & dogs welcome.
Cider Cottage was converted from a 17C. cider mill and has been popular with couples who enjoy peace and quiet, privacy and seclusion.
There are a wealth of beams with comfortable underfloor heating, a modern quality kitchen with integral dining and sitting area.
Secure rear patio to relax in.
Accessible for those with moderate mobility issues and those with partial sight.
Dogs are most welcome and free to roam in over 12 acres of organic grassland.

Nice hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Dec 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a very enjoyable stay in the cottage. It is comfortable and nicely appointed, with good views over the fields. Lots to do in the area.

Monica from Ashford stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in December 2020


Edward & Marian replied 68 days ago
Dear Monica, Hope the house hunting went well ? Not easy in these strange times. Do stay safe and hope you get the puppy , Bella, our Cocker Spaniel has certainly made a difference to our lives. Beat wishes for Christmas and the New Year. Edward, Marian and Bella

Relaxing & Wonderful Views

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location and lots of nice walks my dog loved it. Lovely week away just what we needed. Symonds Yat is beautiful and so close. The cottage is lovely and would definitely recommend to others.
Thank you to Edward and Marian


Nancy from London stayed at Cider Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Edward and Marian replied 138 days ago
Good morning Nancy, You certainly made the most of your stay, pleased you took advantage of what the area has to offer. Your husband was away early each morning to enjoy the fishing. Bella asks if you could give a biscuit to your lovely dog. Thank for your review. Regards fro Edward , Marian and Bella.

Lovely break

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage, very spacious , good hosts. Ruby our golden doodle loved the freedom of running in the fields. Would recommend . Lovely area.

Catherine from Stoke On Trent stayed at Cider Cottage for 4 nights in September 2020


Edward and Marian replied 142 days ago
Dear Catherine, Thank you for your review. Bella out Cocker-Spaniel enjoyed Ruby's visit. Pleased you took advantage of the weather and visited our unspoilt countryside. Hope you returned home without incident. Regards from Edward and Marian

Quiet country retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thatch Cottages are in an idyllic location for those looking for a country retreat. The views are beautiful. Cider Cottage is spacious, well equipped, clean and welcoming. The hosts are very kind and their main aim is for their guests to have an enjoyable experience. The downside for me was that the nearest pub is not within easy walking distance as the roads are single track and not safe for pedestrians.

Guest from Clitheroe stayed at Cider Cottage for 4 nights in September 2020


Edward and Marian replied 158 days ago
Dear Ruth, We agree , the roads in the vicinity are medieval [ or earlier ] in in origin , but locals are aware and know the passing places. Apologies, we should have mentioned the footpath , which cuts out quite a section of the road and leads to the edge of the village. I will certainly point this out to guests in the future. Regards and thank you fro your observations. Edward

Great spot for Covid staycation.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable and well equipped cottage,extremely clean and a great shower.Lovely king size bed with quality bedding.Good location for visiting Wye Valley, and Forest of Dean.
We really enjoyed our stay at Cider Cottage,beautiful scenery.Edward and Marion had gone to a lot of effort to ensure all the Covid requirements were met.


Heather from Guildford stayed at Cider Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Edward & Marian replied 159 days ago
Dear Heather, I shall pass your comments onto Nick, our cleaner, she will be pleased. Hope you had a good journey home and so pleased you could share our wonderful un-spoilt Herefordshire countryside . Thank you for your review. Regards from Edward & Marian

Fantastic stay - thank you!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay in Cider Cottage, Edward and Marion the owners were very helpful, suggesting restaurants and even trying to contact them on our behalf.
The cottage is properly dog friendly. We were all made to feel very welcome with dog bowls, beds and towels available on arrival. Our dog loved exploring the surrounding fields, and there were beautiful views Over the fields from the front of the cottage.
Very well positioned for a relaxing break away, we felt completely away from it all but only a short drive to a range of walks, and local attractions.


Jenny from Bedale stayed at Cider Cottage for 4 nights in July 2020


Edward & Marian replied 197 days ago
Good morning Jenny, Please you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to share our wonderful unspoilt Herefordshire countryside. We are 'The Place that Time Forgot'. The Tandoori Mixed Grill is also a favourite of ours, glad it lived up to expectations . Bella loved playing with your dog , and sends her best wishes. Do hope your journey home was uneventful. Regards and thank yo for your review. Edward & Marian

A wonderful new year getaway!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage set in the most beautiful of locations. Perfectly placed to explore the area. Our hosts were faultless! Friendly and as helpful as could be. We would definitely recommend, and will be back in the future.

Margaret from Ilfracombe stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in January 2020


Edward & Marian replied 365 days ago
Good morning Margaret, Thank you for your review, it warmed us up. Your lovely Collie was so good with Bella our new dog. Please give her biscuit. Hope your journey home was without mishap. Regards from Edward & Marian

Our stay in January

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, clean, warm and spacious accommodation. Welcoming basket of goodies including home made bread.

Kristen from Wimborne stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in January 2020


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Kristen, You certainly got in some walking during your stay! Thanks for leaving the place so spick and span, comment from our cleaner: " guests like this will make me redundant." Lets hope the trip home was not hampered by the rain. Thank you for your review. Regards from Edward &Marian

A delightful super dog friendly home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to stay ideally located in an idyllic rural setting with views across the valley to die for.
Our super sized lab had full access to everywhere in the 5 acres of garden and loved every minute of his stay.
The accommodation was modern and very comfortable, we wanted for nothing, and will be returning again very soon.


Ken from Norfolk stayed at Cider Cottage for 7 nights in June 2019


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Ken & Kay, Glad you enjoyed your stay at Thatch Close. We did our best to convert a 17C building into accommodation blending the old with the modern. Many thanks for your review, we look forward to meeting your fabulous dog again in the near future. Edward & Marian

Cider Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Were made to feel very welcome by owners who had thought of everything. The cottage was spotless and beautifully furnished. Was a little more remote than we had originally thought but made up with the views overlooking the valley. Would definitely recommend a stay

Jayne from West Wickham stayed at Cider Cottage for 7 nights in June 2019


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Martin and Jayne, Being remote has advantages; quiet and private , which is what many want . The A40 is less than 2 miles distant, yet screened by two sets of hills. Thank you for your review, and your comments . You certainly made the most of your stay. Regards from Edward & Marian

Highly recommended

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful welcome. Lovely clean, warm, comfortable accommodation. Fabulous views.
Definitely highly recommend.


Sue from Heathfield stayed at Cider Cottage for 4 nights in March 2019


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Sue , Many thanks for your review, pleased that you, Jim and Millie had a good time. We arrived in Dubai to blue skies and warm breezes; however miss the green fields and quiet of S Herefordshire. Regards Edward & Marian

Fabulous

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed a peaceful stay in this dog friendly cottage. Arrived to welcome pack of fresh bread butter milk and cakes.
This is a little piece of heaven.


Loenie from stayed at Cider Cottage for 5 nights in February 2019


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Leonie, Sad to see you and your lovely dog go. Hector is a real character and enjoyed his stay, he seemed tireless. We enjoyed your visit. Hope your trip home was uneventful. Regards from Edward & Marian.

Perfect slice of countryside heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a long long drive, my partner and I were relieved to be greeted by such a lovely, inviting cottage. Warm, welcoming, brimming with fresh bread, jams, milk and other beverages, we settled in. Not only is it kitted out with modern appliances, plenty of utensils and other useful things for a stay, it is also bright and spacious and extremely clean.
The bed gave us one of the best sleeps we have ever had, and to wake up to birdsong outside, and a view of the gardens and countryside, you really do feel like you're in a different world.
Not to mention how refreshed one feels after using the incredible shower, which doesn't get too hot either so you're unable to scald yourself - something I often find myself doing with unfamiliar showers! Even though the cottage is ideal and you would feel relaxed staying there, the location of Cider Cottage is beyond fantastic. There are activities galore on your doorstep, with history in the shape of Goodrich castle, to canoeing down the River Wye and keeping an eye out for Peregrine Falcons, to bike rides in the Forest of Dean, or an mysterious experience in Puzzlewood. There is so much to do - something for everyone - and knowing you have a wonderful base in the shape of the cottage to return to, with hosts who are welcoming, kind and accommodating, it has been one of the best holidays I have had in a while.


ELIZABETH from stayed at Cider Cottage for 1 nights in August 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Elizabeth, You certainly packed a lot into your stay in our picturesque and unspoilt countryside. Many thanks for your quality review, it is appreciated. Kind regards from Edward & Marian.

Lovely doggie break at Thatch Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful long weekend, made very welcome by our hosts, Cider Cottage had every amenity and the dogs were very spoiled with their own throws, towels and treats! A lovely quiet location with great views, a short walk from Llangrove village where everyone was very friendly. Driving distance to Symond’s Yat and some great walks in the Forest of Dean.

Kerry from Malvern stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in August 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Kerry, Many thanks for your review, we are fortunate in living in such a lovely area, so much to do and see. The Royal Arms, our local, is an real country pub , which always welcomes dogs. Glad you all enjoyed your stay. Regards Edward & Marian

Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a great holiday including Maggie the dog who loved her freedom to roam and being made a fuss of by owners Edward and Marian plus other guests. Edward and Marian couldn't do enough for us.

Derek from Burton-upon-trent stayed at Cider Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Derek and Dorothy, Many thanks for a great review, also your assistance when our internet went down. Fortunate in that you were able to help sort it out. BT could uses your experience and expertise. Tilly waves a paw at Maggie, and wishes you would give her a biscuit. Also thanks for the glorious weather. Edward & Marian.

Weekend Break

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location for exploring the Wye valley, local Pub was good, the cottage was excellent, and no problems taking our dog, in fact positively encouraged.
Thanks for a great weekend.


John from Woking stayed at Cider Cottage for 2 nights in May 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning John, Your positive comments will be passed onto the pub [The Royal Arms, in Llangrove] . It has the added advantage of welcoming dogs. Our guests receive a 10% discount for food. The area is described as "The place time forgot" , plenty to do in the area. Thank you for your review. Edward & Marian

great dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the cottage at the last minute. We couldn't have asked for more, as the cottage suited our needs perfectly. Our two dogs loved it too. We were welcomed by Ed with a welcome pack of home made bread, scones, butter and milk together with treats for the dogs.
The cottage has been equipped to the highest level with special regard to disabilities and safety, but is equally suitable for able bodied guests.
The location is wonderfully peaceful with views over rolling countryside and lots of wildlife. Ross on Wye and Monmouth are about 5 miles away, and Thatch Close is right on the edge of the Wye Valley area of outstanding natural beauty, so there are plenty of places to walk and enjoy the area.
The local pub serves good food, with a 10% discount for Thatch Close customers, and is dog friendly too


Geoff from Mold stayed at Cider Cottage for 7 nights in May 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Mr & Mrs Critchley, Following the Foot & Mouth outbreak , we decided not to keep stock , we planted specimen trees and just cut the grass . Wildlife now abounds to the delight of visiting dogs and those interested in wildlife . We are fortunate to be able to share the area, largely unspoilt by progress . Glad you and the dogs enjoyed your stay. Regards Marian & Edward

Lovely break

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent two days at cider cottage and were greeted with a lovely welcome basket! It was a good break and only a short drive to Monmouth which is lovely and very dog friendly.

Guest from Stourbridge stayed at Cider Cottage for 2 nights in March 2018


Edward replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Kate, Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate how spotlessly clean and tidy the cottages was after your departure. Our cleaner went home early. Regards to your mother. We hope you had a good journey home. Edward & Marian

A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful break in Cider cottage and would highly recommend it. The cottage is well maintained, well stocked and comfortable. There are lovely places to visit in the surrounding area. The disabled facilities were very good.

Christine from London stayed at Cider Cottage for 5 nights in February 2018


Edward& Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Marian and Edward

A Relaxing Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although the cottage was quite remote it was perfect for what we expected and needed that week. The cottage we stayed in was perfect for my partners restricted mobility requirements. The cottage was extremley well equipped in all aspects, the kitchen clean and compact with a well recieved "Welcome Basket" which I thought was a really nice personal touch. There was a downstairs WC that made life easier for my partner and a wetroom off the main bedroom.
There was a small enclosed patio area at the rear which was ideal for the dogs in the evening. The dogs had access to all the gardens and fields around the cottage....they had a ball!!! The owners of the cottage were wonderful, madking sure that we had everything we needed without being too much. Whilst there I was given the opportunity to look at the other cottages and would have no hesitation in recommending any of them as a perfect get away!
I will definitely be visiting Thatch Close again.


Kathleen from Mossley stayed at Cider Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Kathleen, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to a return visit. Thank you for such a comprehensive and positive review. Regards from Edward & Marian.

Beautiful cottage lovely owners

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location in beautiful countryside. Very friendly couple that run it. Nothing is too much trouble and they allow dogs which for us makes the difference between being able to go away or not.

Robert from Worthing stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in August 2017


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Robert and Marion, So pleased you and the three little ones enjoyed your stay. Over 12 acres of organic grassland, with wildlife , ideal for dogs to run and play in, Dog's paradise [ minders like it too]. A pleasure to see you all again. Regards from Edward & Marian

August 3 night stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cider Cottage was a lovely property with some stunning views.
the cottage was comfortable and we would recommend the local pub for food


Beverley from Bromsgrove stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in August 2017


Edward& Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Beverly, Pleased you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated the views . Our countryside is unspoilt and has changed very little over the ages. The swallows, swift and fly catchers have gone south. Regards to you both . Edward & Marian

Great holiday @ Cider Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm and friendly welcome.Spotlessly clean,very comfortable and a most enjoyable welcome basket of essentials and delicious treats, both for me and the dog. It was great to be able to walk straight from the door and to explore the Forest of Dean,which was within a short drive from the cottage.
Goodrich Castle and its Visitor Centre and Cafe are well worth a visit.
Wood's store and cafe,just 2 miles, away had all we needed including ready made dishes and delicious cakes.
An extremely relaxing,happy and enjoyable holiday in a peaceful location,tucked away down a narrow country lane.


Jennifer from Worthing stayed at Cider Cottage for 6 nights in August 2017


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Jennifer, Many thanks for your review. The helpers will be delighted with your comments regarding cleanliness. They do work hard and fast to prepare the cottages for the next visitors. The Wye Valley and Forest of Dean , often not seen as a holiday location; however this replaced 'The Grand Tour,' between 1780 till 1850 or so. The area is essentially unchanged since those days, please you discovered it . Regards Edward & Marian

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage for 2 which met our needs well. Hosts very welcoming and a short walk cross country to the local pub. Big positive was staying in the countryside without being woken up early by farm animals! Great views too. We hired all three cottages and couldn't hear noise from other cottages. Would definitely recommend.

Katrina from Bromley stayed at Cider Cottage for 5 nights in August 2017


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Katrina, Thank you for your lovely review, the cottages are accessible internally via double fire doors, which are fairly sound proof. There are no farm animals as this would make it difficult for visitors with dogs. Thank you, Edward & Marian

Third stay at Thatch Close Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at Thatch Close Cottages, we have now stayed in all three properties.

If you have a dog, are disabled or want to get away from the hustle and bustle this is a perfect retreat.

Edward and Marion are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble. My wife is Gluten Free and the welcome basked of goodies reflects this with home made gluten free buns, gluten free bread and gluten free biscuits - though I was also well looked after too!

We will no doubt be back next year.


Martin from Exning Newmarket stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in August 2017


Edward replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Martin, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have now sampled all the cottages, what does Tinker think, does he have a favourite? Hope you had a good journey back. Regards from Edward , Marian and Tilly

A beautiful conversion with great attention to detail

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a family wedding in nearby Symonds Yat (2 members of our party stayed in Valley View). The cottage is lovely, with quality fittings and homely touches. The location is very rural, though only a short drive from the main Monmouth-M50 road. Edward and Marian are friendly and helpful hosts. The welcome basket was very generous ....and delicious!

Elizabeth from Burry Port stayed at Cider Cottage for 2 nights in August 2017


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Liz and John, Thank you for your review, we awe fortunate in having such professional craftsmen in to work on the cottages - one was an ex pupil The quality is largely own to their skill and dedication, and they will appreciate your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards from Edward & Marian

A welcome break

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I spent a weekend here with our dog and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and provided us with a basket of goodies including a wonderfully fragrant home made loaf. The cottage was well furnished with oak beams galore, big comfy sofas and a lovely soft bed.
And had the weather turned bad, there were lots of dvds, games and books available .Fortunately the weather was lovely and so we were able to enjoy the beautiful views from the front of the cottage and also take several pleasant strolls to the local village and its pub.
The cottage is ideally located for exploring the beautiful countryside of Herefordshire and the border country with Ross on Wye, Monmouth and Symonds Yat all nearby.
If I had to nitpick, the only downside if anything to the location is the narrow lanes you need to travel down to get to the cottage. For the most part we were ok but we did struggle once when a large coach came the other way! All in all though the cottage and location were ideal and we would recommend Thatch Close Cottages to anyone looking to stay in this area.


Paul from Hyde stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in July 2017


Edward replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review, glad we seem to be getting it right.

Mr Peter Thrasher

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 5 day break at Cider Cottage in Herefordshire. I would highly recommend these cottages - Edward is a very friendly owner from the welcome basket to his recommendations of places to visit. The setting of the cottages overlooks a spectacular vista of the Herefordshire countryside providing us both with a relaxing and peaceful break.

Peter from Essex stayed at Cider Cottage for 5 nights in June 2017


Edward replied more than 1 year ago
We are fortunate in being able to share the views, peace and quiet with our guests. Thank you for your review. Edward [ Marian was baby sitting in Dubai ]

2 day stay

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superbly equipped cottage in lovely rural area.

Ideal for dogs

Very good customer care/service

Would highly recommend


George from Coventry stayed at Cider Cottage for 2 nights in April 2017


Lovely cottages, lovely area, lovely owners!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Cider Cottage at Thatch Close for 5 nights for my birthday. My husband and I wanted to do some walking with our dog in a bit of the country we'd not spent much time in. Found Thatch Close through Premiere Cottages and booked straight away because it looked absolutely lovely and it was a perfect area with easy access to lots of nice dog walks. Plus, if you go to their actual website, thatchclosecottages.co.uk, you can see a 3D tour of each cottage. This was great to really get a feel for the cottage, much more thorough than a few standard pictures like most sites. We were going to be arriving quite late, but Edward and Marian were very accommodating. Although it's listed as self-catering, when we arrived, we were greeted with a lovely basket of goodies, including fresh baked bread, oatbakes, biscuits, even tea, milk, and butter so we didn't have to worry about shopping straight away. They even gave us a basket of goodies for our dog, including a bed, blanket, and treats! The cottage was well-stocked and Edward and Marian made us feel very welcome, insisting that if we needed anything it wasn't a problem. Marian even brought over the newspaper because she'd seen a gorgeous walk in it for us to go on. We had an amazing week and really enjoyed ourselves. It was the perfect getaway. I can't speak highly enough about it and I'm sure we will be returning to stay at Thatch Close again soon. We've already discussed booking all three cottages together with some friends!

Sarah from Lincoln stayed at Cider Cottage for 5 nights in March 2017


Fantastic cottage in a great location. Warm welcoming hosts, will definitely be back!

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a couple of nights as a last minute weekend getaway, booking fairly blindly. Couldn't have made a better choice! Accommodation was fantastic, and in a great location. Out of the way enough to be peaceful, but still easy to drive to anywhere in the area. Facilities at the cottage were great, and everything was well presented and maintained. Hosts were super friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We'll definitely be back in future for a longer stay!

Adam from Peasedown St John stayed at Cider Cottage for 2 nights in March 2017


Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The service and dedication of the owners of the thatch cottages was astounding. I have stayed at a multiple of places but it has never been as pleasant a stay as it was in Cider cottage. The cottages was modern and clean, and it had all the comforts you would need for a relaxing week away. It was accommodating to both me, my partner and our dog. There was plenty of enclosed places for her to run around and the views were breathtaking. I will definitely be booking again!

Collina from Loughborough stayed at Cider Cottage for 4 nights in March 2017


Excellent stay at Cider Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for the weekend at Cider Cottage and it was perfect. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly and the cottage was lovely. Very clean and fitted with high quality appliances throughout. We were given a welcome pack that contained freshly baked bread, cakes, jam, cereal and milk, along with tea and coffee. All in all we couldn't have asked for more. Thank you so much for making our stay so nice!

Guest from Exeter stayed at Cider Cottage for 2 nights in February 2017


Lovely break away

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay in the cottage, which had fabulous views over the countryside. Clean, tidy, warm and comfortable place to return to after a day out. Freshly baked bread and wine to greet us and the owners were friendly. Friendly local pub in walking distance which, like the local restaurants were dog friendly. Locality fab for symonds yat, Hereford, Ross and Monmouth.

Linda from Newport stayed at Cider Cottage for 5 nights in November 2016


Perfect base

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful for those who wish to explore the area. There is so much to do.
Less than 1 hour from Gloucester, Chepstow, Abergavenny and Hereford.
The Wye valley is beautiful.
The local pub is very welcoming and their menu is good.
Our meals were very good.
We were made to feel very welcome at Cider Cottage.
Freshly baked bread on arrival was really good.
Thanks Edward.


Guest from Chester stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in November 2016


Great family weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Myself , my daughter and family and my sister in law and husband took all three cottages at Thatch Close from Saturday to Tuesday. I found all the people very helpful and the cottages were well equipped and very welcoming. The only negatives were that my daughter and husband found the bed in the big cottage was small and uncomfortable, I couldn't work the microwave in Cider and was surprised that all the seats were low and soft so getting out of them was hard, strange as so much effort had been made to make it disabled friendly.

Simon from Leeds stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in October 2016


Ticked all our boxes

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were looking for a short break in a rural location in a clean and cosy cottage with good facilities and where our two dogs would be welcome. Cider cottage met all our expectations it is a recently renovated property and had everything we needed to ensure we had a comfortable stay. The owners are very friendly and informative, the local pub although a decent walk is worth a visit (dogs are welcome). The cottage is more than big enough for two and has enclosure outside space where you can sit out or let the dogs out off lead.
Great value and well worth a visit.


Alison from Sheffield stayed at Cider Cottage for 4 nights in October 2016


short october break

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
thank you for a lovely cottage, warm and welcoming. Had everything you needed and more to be self catering. very dog friendly.:)



Carol from Leicestershire stayed at Cider Cottage for 5 nights in October 2016


My Review

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have given only an OK for comfort solely because of the stairs, both to get from the front door up to the living area and from the living area to the bedroom and shower room. For someone partially disabled these stairs were very difficult to negotiate. The property was well equipped and very comfortable in that sense, and the downstairs cloakroom and upstairs shower room were fitted out for a disabled person, it was just getting there was the problem.

We would recommend the property to others only but if they were fully able bodied.


Denise from Newbury stayed at Cider Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


The best dog friendly cottage......

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'm always a little cautious about returning to a place, as very often it's not as good as you remember, however, Cider Cottage lived up to our expectations.
Our dog, Harry, seemed to remember his first visit with fondness too as he immediately went to find the owners Edward and Marian!
If you want a week of peace and quiet, there is nowhere better. Don't expect a phone signal though!
A really well furnished and equipped cottage with a huge wet room , large bedroom and open planned kitchen/lounge .
Very dog friendly and safe for your dog to explore without having to worry too much as to where he is all the time!

hopefully we will be able to return again very soon.

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g2272114-d2272115-r420215076-Thatch_Close_Farm_B_B-Llangrove_Ross_on_Wye_Herefordshire_England.html#


Jane from Clutton, Chester stayed at Cider Cottage for 4 nights in September 2016


Beautiful

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marian and David are excellent hosts. They made us both feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Cider cottage is beautiful, well equipped for those with restricted mobility and the views were stunning. The homemade bread was delicious!

Anna from Cannock stayed at Cider Cottage for 2 nights in August 2016


Delightful

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful stay at Cider Cottage. Sympathetic and tasteful design of property. All you could ask for in a kitchen including dishwasher. Plenty of space for parking. Fairly remote but adds to the adventure!

Gillian from Upminster stayed at Cider Cottage for 2 nights in August 2016


Beautiful cottage, stunning views, and welcoming hosts.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Edward provided us with clear, written instructions to ensure we arrived at the cottage. When we did arrive, not a little late, we were cheerfully greeted and shown around.

Cider Cottage was beautiful and spacious. Ample seating was provided by two sofas and a dining table with chairs. Upstairs was the large bedroom with a very comfortable bed and lots of space to store clothes etc. The wet room was also large, and with good water pressure and lots of hot water made for very relaxing showers after long walks in the Brecon Beacons and Goodrich castle.
We also had a fun day canoeing on the Wye with Wye Canoes, recommended by our hosts, with our little Jack Russell - who enjoyed a few treats provided by Edward and Marian.

We had a lovely time staying in the Cider Cottage, enjoying the surrounding area and all it had to offer. Our hosts were friendly, as were the neighbours, and the cottage was one of the nicest we've ever stayed at. We'll definitely be visiting again.


James from London stayed at Cider Cottage for 4 nights in July 2016


First UK Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This year was our first UK holiday as we normally go abroad. Due to us now having a dog we decided to do a cottage holiday where the dog would be accepted. Cider Cottage was a perfect place to stay Ed and Marion were perfect hosts along with Tilly their dog who got on really well with Bailey. The welcome basket, information pack and doggy pack were most appreciated the home made bread is to die for.

The views were lovely and it was so peaceful we were both relaxed by the time we had to leave. Attractions are close by and people were really friendly wherever we went.

The village pub was also welcoming and accepted dogs. We are looking forward to rebooking for either later this year or early next.


Martin from Thetford stayed at Cider Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Birthday break at Cider cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Cider cottage for a long weekend, with the dog. It was excellent, the cottage has everything you could possibly need and the owners are more than helpful.
Cider cottage has been done to a really high standard, lovely decor and amazing views there is plenty to see and do in the area, I wish we could have stayed for longer we had a great time.


Lorraine from London stayed at Cider Cottage for 2 nights in June 2016


A good base from which to explore the Wye Valley and into Wales

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is indeed a secluded location, but one with great views and ideally placed to explore the nearby countryside. A little tricky to find, initially, but worth it. good parking. The cottage itself was fresh, bright and immaculate and had a welcome basket with home-baked bread, milk, wine and other basics. The upstairs bedroom was spacious with a comfortable and roomy bed; it had sufficient hanging and shelf space for a week's stay. The water was always hot and plentiful in the spacious shower room, but would caution that the sink is rather low. Never did we feel cold, because of the underfloor heating, thermostatically controlled. :) The kitchen was well-equipped and it was comfortable to cook in. We did not sit outside , but there is a small private patio with a BBQ available on request, I understand. We had some difficulty accessing wifi regularly, but the owner was very helpful in trying to resolve this and is aware that it needs to be sorted. As you might expect in the country, the mobile signal is variable, but obtainable. Lovely, helpful owners.
The nearest local shop is about 2 miles away, down the lanes-Woods of Whitchurch-on the A40. Supermarkets are about 10-15 minutes by car.
This is our second time visiting this beautiful and interesting area. This time, we visited the Forest of Dean (great cycling there), Old Tintern station into the hills to the Devil's Pulpit and down to Tintern Abbey, the Peregrine trail to Monmouth (walking and cycling) Chepstow, Ross-On-Wye, cycling on the national cycle path 423 (watch them hills!). Great local pub-Royal Court Hotel- in Symonds Yat, with fabulous history, plus a friendly local pub within walking distance of cottage on Llangrove. We took the hand-pulled ferry from Ye Old Ferry Inn in Symonds Yat across the Wye (for £1.20 each) to the famous Schooner Inn. Many more things to do, including revisiting Goodrich Castle and Brecon Hills, all easily reachable.
We would definitely recommend Thatch Close and this cottage too.


Mark from Welwyn Garden City stayed at Cider Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Would highly recommend Cider Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cider Cottage was furnished tastefully throughout with high quality appliances and utensils. Myself, my wife and our five month old puppy stayed midweek at the end of April and had a really lovely relaxing time, despite the surprising weather of snow, sleet and hail! There are three cottages which are set in twelve acres of land which was ideal for walking our dog and Edward said that there were no restrictions on where we could go.

There is a pub in walking distance and a shop for essentials a short drive away. We visited Goodrich Castle, Ross on Wye, Symonds Yat, Forest of Dean and St Briavels village and these were all easy travelling distance from the cottage. There were a number of leaflets in the cottage giving details of places of interest in the area.

Upon arrival we were presented with a welcome pack which contained essentials like tea, coffee, sugar, butter and milk and also other things such a biscuits and wine and our personal favourites of home made bread and four big slices of different types of cake - amazing choice.

Edward and Marian could not have been more helpful or welcoming. We were left to our own devises but had the comfort of knowing that Edward and Marian were on hand to help us with anything we needed - we only had to ask. I mentioned that the break was for my wife's birthday and on the day when we returned to the cottage we found a bag on the front door containing a card and box of chocolate for my wife - really kind.

If we were to visit the Ross on Wye area again we would not hesitate to stay at Cider Cottage again and thank you Edward and Marian for making our stay so memorable.

Kind regards Steve and Jo


Steve from Chessington stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in April 2016


“Fantastic family and dog-friendly cottages”

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked an Easter break for extended family + dog in 2 adjoining cottages. Cleanliness, space and facilities were first class. The cottages were beautifully equipped and had everything we could possibly need for a relaxing break.

The welcome basket and gifts were a lovely surprise (as was the Easter cake, which our teenagers devoured!!). The owners were friendly and helpful without being intrusive and we had a thoroughly enjoyable long weekend.

These cottages are secluded and wonderfully peaceful, with beautiful views and lovely walks nearby. Thank you for a lovely break - would definitely recommend.



Justin from Nantwich stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in March 2016


Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent 3 nights in this clean, comfortable and cosy cottage in March and it was excellent.
Welcome pack was more than expected essentials plus extras very much appreciated.


Eric from Rochdale stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in March 2016


Well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent an enjoyable and extremely comfortable stay in Cider Cottage. The owners could not have been more helpful and the welcome basket was one of the best we have experienced. Our springer spaniel enjoyed the walks straight from the door. Thank you

Lynne from Lancaster stayed at Cider Cottage for 7 nights in February 2016


Edward replied more than 1 year ago
Loved the dogs, Our dog Tilly loved you. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Good to be appreciated. Thanks for the lovely review.

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was very comfortable and a lovely place to stay especially if you want an out of the way place , but near to places to visit ,Ross on Wye & Monmouth being a short drive away, a,img with the Forest of Dean.
The owners Marion & Edward are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble .
It's definitely a place I would like to go to again, which to us means special as with one exception we never go back to a places .


Janet from Kingston Upon Hull stayed at Cider Cottage for 4 nights in December 2015


A beautiful cottage in the beautiful countryside

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really enjoyable stay at Cider Cottage. It is a beautiful, cosy cottage which combines the old with the new. The amenities are superb, and the cottage has been tastefully restored with high quality fixtures and fittings throughout.
We were warmly welcomed by Edward and a lovely picnic hamper, and we were so happy at how welcoming and relaxed he was towards our dog Binky.
The location is great with stunning views of the 3 counties, and the local pub is highly recommended!
We have stayed in quite a few cottages in and around Monmouthshire, Ross-On-Wye and the Brecon Beacons and this is by far the best yet - we will most certainly return to Cider Cottage and are already planning our return visit in the Summer!
Thank you!


Rebecca from Rugby stayed at Cider Cottage for 2 nights in December 2015


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
I shall pass your comments onto the Royal Arms- it's pub food and relaxed atmoshere is appreciated by many of our visitors. We are very fortunate in living in such a spot and love to share it with others. Best wishes for the New Year Edwar & Marian

Our lovely stay at Cider Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our recent stay in Cider Cottage, and would highly recommend it to others. The cottage was very spacious, light and of an extremely high standard. The welcome basket of homemade bread, cakes and jam etc was a lovely touch. We would have loved to live there.

Julian from Spalding stayed at Cider Cottage for 4 nights in September 2015


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Julian, Marian will be please that her cooking is apreciated. Not for sale at the moment, but you never know. Yor comments are appreciated byboth of us. Regards Edward & Marian

Weekend break in a fabulous place

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place! Faultless! Furnished to a high standard the owners couldn't do enough for us providing us with a welcome basket that nearly lasted the 3 days! The place is so peacefully idyllic but you need a torch to walk the mile to the village pub! Which was also friendly and provided good food. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

SAHARON from DERBY stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in September 2015


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Sharon, Many thanks for such a glowing review. With Kind regards; Edward & Marian

Peace

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and peaceful stay.lovely area great places to eat and lovely people.enjoyed the freedom to relax or go explore the area with plenty of activities if so inclined

Kim from Southampton stayed at Cider Cottage for 2 nights in October 2015


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. I shall pass your comments onto the Royal Arms, very traditional- no pretensions, good food at a fair price. Regards Edward & Marian

Amazing place, well worth a visit

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for my birthday in September with out puppy. We arrived early but this was not a problem and Cider Cottage is just gorgeous. We even got a basket of goodies that included homemade cake and flapjack, delicious :o)
Harry the puppy was made to feel very welcome and had such fun running around as we knew he was safe in the grounds of the big farm house. Excellent hosts just added to our perfect stay. When we got home we booked to return next year it was so good. 10/10 from us :o)


Beverly Jane from Clutton, Chester stayed at Cider Cottage for 3 nights in September 2015


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dera Harry - & minders, Lovely to have such a bouncy happy dog, we wished you had left Harry behind, I know he liked it here. Regards and thanks for your kind comments. Edward & Marian