FB Twitter

Hilltop Barn

Hilltop Barn

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 39 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Hilltop Barn is a traditional Lincolnshire barn design where up to six of you can come and enjoy short stays of three nights or longer. Literally in a field of its own, this idyllic self catering barn and surrounds gives you fantastic vistas across the valley and field views in all directions; a very special location,where you can feel really relaxed in your own private estate. The gallery loft overlooks an old brick quarry reserve, ideal for wildlife viewing.

Isolated comfort

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great facilities. Comfortable, clean and cosy. Decent shower and living space. Kitchen well equipped with washing machine, separate tumble dryer and dishwasher. Good wi-fi that enabled me to work from home during my stay.





Charles Overton replied 69 days ago
Anna, Many thanks for your excellent review of Hilltop Barn. Glad you were comfortable during your stay and hope you are happily settled in Welbourn. Have a very Happy New Year.

A Week in not enough in Beautiful Lincolnshire

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn is situated in a field, with a line of fruit trees, away from everyone, yet close enough to drive to amenities as required, village about two miles, an hour and quarter to Skegness. It accommodates six people, whether families, extended families or six adults. The kitchen is well equipped (the best we have ever seen), washing machine, dryer, dishwasher and plenty of utensils. On warm sunny days there are seating for outside or under the canopy or on rainy days, a cosy upstairs lounge with TV, DVD player, selection of DVD's and books to read. We had a lovely relaxing stay. The Barn is a credit to the owners, who are friendly, helpful and very efficient. Our thanks to Peter and Marianne.



Charles Peter Overton replied 153 days ago
Many thanks for your positive review. Delighted you all enjoyed your stay and hopefully we can catch up again soon.

holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd time of staying at Hilltop Barn, its a great place for families with young children giving them lots of free space to run around safely. We are booking again for next year.



Bradwell family

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Feb 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A really comfortable cosy weekend. A precious family time in a beautiful secluded spot! Thank you and we would come back.



A cosy hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in the barn, and especially loved the cosy living room upstairs- perfect when it is cold and wintry outside. Communication with the owner was excellent.



Review

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location. Accommodation was really good, a very relaxing and peaceful week. Good size kitchen, lounge, bedrooms & bathroom etc.



A relaxing stay in great accommodation!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at Hilltop Barn, just what we and our two little cocker spaniels were hoping for and we were not disappointed. The Barn had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, and plenty of room besides. The location was both quiet and secluded but close to local villages and shops. The Barn was well fitted out and nicely decorated, and the sitting room and bedrooms were very comfortable. We felt right at home very quickly! Whilst we didn't use the ground floor bedroom, it was perfectly set up for disabled guests if required, and well thought out. We also enjoyed the surrounding area and the local villages were within easy reach and the people very welcoming. We would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to visiting again soon!



Charles Overton replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you excellent review. Hilltop Barn is open throughout the year and it is warm and cosy through the winter, with the low winter sunshine flooding the sheltered covered area so sitting out on a fine day is a pleasure.

Accommodation feedback

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable and relaxing stay. The accommodation was excellent. Comfortable beds. Plenty of cooking and eating items.The setting was beautiful and watched lots of birds and a large hare came to visit us. At night you could hear the owls and foxes. A wonderful holiday and the weather was a bonus. Definitely recommend Hilltop Farm Holiday Accommodation to my family and friends.






Family birthday break

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was superb - enough space for people to mingle and/or separate, and the covered veranda was the best bit: you can do so much in that space! Great cycling country and we had outings to Sleaford, Mablethorpe and Lincoln, of course.



Stunning Barn and stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The first thing that will hit you is the location. Stunning out the way. Perfect to get away from day to day life.
Will book again




Barn with a view

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed barn with everything you could need for a comfortable stay in the countryside. Sunsets were stunning and visiting wildlife was a bonus



Lovely stay with lots of wildlife

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Hilltop Barn. It was very well equipped and the area surrounding is beautiful, we enjoyed watching the deer and rabbits! Thanks for a great stay



Wonderful countryside retreat.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a peaceful relaxing holiday here. The barn is warm, comfortable and has everything you would need away from home.
The owners are very helpful and available if needed but do not intrude on your privacy.
The location of the barn is ideal, it’s far from the maddening crowds but within a short drive to nearby village shops who have excellent local produce.
We throughly recommend this barn for a enjoyable holiday, we will most definitely be returning.




A wonderful short break

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall, really lovely.
It’s clear that a lot of time, money and thought for comfort has gone in at Hill Top. We appreciated every aspect of that all the time we were there.
It was nobody’s fault that we discovered two clusters of ladybirds in the corners of the window frames or that a dozen or so flies were nestling in the frame of the velux until we opened it! All but a minor inconvenience for our teenage girls dashing to a safe room and great fun for a teenage boy with a Hoover and a stelthy
hand!! Only one minor point was that at the time of year we went it was cold and despite the preset temperatures for underfloor heating and radiators, it was the better part of our stay before the accommodation was propperly warmed up. We suggest putting the heating on prior to arrival or at least
earlier than may have been. That said, it did nothing to upset a lovely comfortable stay and we have no hesitation to return or to recommend.




Charles Overton replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the trouble to add a review. It is only the kitchen that has underfloor heating and it does usually take an hour to raise the temperature 2 degrees from its preset minimum of 12 degrees. So since we always turn this on around midday when cleaning is complete it should be up to 22 degrees by late afternoon. The remainder of the property is heated by radiators and these heat up very quickly so we would expect the place to be fully warmed well before anyone arrives at 4 pm. The visitor manual explains how to adjust the heating if you feel that our standard temperature is not adequate for your needs. Most of the time we are heavily booked so the heating is never turned down but we did have a two day gap before you arrived so the property would have cooled down a little. Our ladybirds hibernate in the window recesses and only get active in mild conditions (which was the case on your day of arrival when the outside temperature was above 12 degrees). We do sweep them out if they have emerged on our cleaning day but they soon find their way back in again although they are usually invisible to the guests. We are pleased that our farm properties house wildlife and dread the day when you cannot find any since most of our guests choose a farm stay to see the wildlife and countryside! Thank you for visiting us and leaving the property in good order and also for being kind enough to leave two pairs of rubber boots for the use of others. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future. We will make sure that the heating is turned up earlier in the day next time. Charles Overton

Good location for Exploring Lincolnshire

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn has all the amenities one could wish for and is ideally located to explore Lincolnshire. Having spent a week in Wales and the Lake District each before coming to Welbourn it took a bit of time to get use to the scenery, Lincolnshire being flat in comparison.



A terrific place to stay in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Coming from Winchester and not knowing the area, The Barn at Hilltop Farm was ideal as our base for our son's wedding in a nearby village. All the rooms are spacious, well equipped and furnished to a high stand and Charles went out of his way to look after us so we had everything we needed to look after our guests. The setting is beautiful, with no near neighbours, and the location is handy for both Lincoln and Newark, with Navenby just a few minutes' drive away providing good local shops, including butcher and baker. We'd happily recommend without reservation.



A excellent holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at this beautiful accommodation in June it was superb.We had a disabled person with us that is wheelchair bound and we found that everything was there for him even the wet room.Charles the owner was a lovely man he introduced himself on the first day then he let us just get on with our holiday.We had 3 dogs with us and they loved it there was plenty of space for them to have a run around outside.I would definitely highly recommend this accomodation



Perfect holiday place

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed this holiday cottage. It suited our needs perfectly. It had all the amenities we could want and was in the perfect location. Far enough off the beaten track but close enough to the local town and shops.



Charles Overton replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for submitting a review to Supercontrol. I am delighted that you found Hilltop Barn a good place for you and your family to stay and your suggestions were very welcome.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hilltop Barn was perfect for our needs, with one room and shower room being downstairs, and the other bedrooms and shower being upstairs and separate to us.
The central 'patio' area was perfect for a large family barbecue.
The kitchen was well set up, the beds comfy, and the shower rooms clean.




Happy Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come here and meet up with family from all over the UK for a family BBQ then spend the rest of the week relaxing outside with the dogs. This year we watched Kestrels rabbits and a cheeky wee squirrel whilst reclining in the chairs. Never fail to thoroughly enjoy our week here.



A lovely weekend break.

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time that we have stayed at the cottage and we had as lovely a time as we did the first time. The weather was mixed but with the undercover area it meant that we were still able to spend the whole of our stay outside both cooking and playing. Our three boys loved the freedom of playing out from morning till night whether it was cricket, football or tig. The peaceful location means that even a weekend break feels like a feel holiday.



Second visit

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Hilltop barn. A lovely place for our family to get together and relax, and this time a perfect base for us for my daughter's wedding. We'll be back.



Charles Overton replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for submitting your review. Delighted that the wedding went off fine and you had a lovely stay with us. Look forward to your next visit.

Rural retreat ideal.for.birding trip

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi quality barn accommodation. Beats the motor home.
Met.the.owner on last eveming
Nice chap. Had.no.problems.Holiday was.perfect helped.by the lovely weather




We needed a last minute stop gap between moving house. It was truly a home away from home.

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were wonderfully cozy and very comfortable at the Barn. All the creature comforts included! The view during our morning shower was the highlight of our stay. Worth getting up for!



Peter Overton replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Gavin and Catherine, Many thanks for submitting a review through Supercontrol, our booking site. We hope you are getting settled in your new home at Peacocks Farm. We still have that bag of assorted small toys left from your stay. If you need them get in touch or else we will dispose of them by Easter.

Traveling swedes

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found this wonderful barn five years ago, and we have been there once a year since. We will probably keep on coming back in the autumn with friends and our dogs.



Charles Overton replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Kicki and friends, Many thanks for submitting a positive review. We are delighted that you appreciate Hilltop Barn and we will welcome you back when you are able to return. As always we do our very best to maintain a good standard for you and your dogs to enjoy.

A dog friendly accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A peaceful and comfortable cottage with a good location. Both us and our dogs enjoyed the surroundings and the big fields.



Wonderful location, excellent property, lovely welcoming hosts!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I recently stayed at Hilltop Barn with our two dogs and couldn't have had a more perfect time. The property and location made for the easiest and most relaxing of stays and our lovely hosts made sure we had everything we needed. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.



Charles Overton replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your generous review. We are delighted that your stay was a success and hope that your lovely baby will be able enjoy it even more when you next come! Also thanks to your father for helping assemble the sun loungers for you to enjoy.

Fitted the bill splendidly

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The purpose of my stay was unusual and untypical. Any comment on my stay, therefore, in terms of the property as a potential holiday let would be inappropriate. That it fitted my purpose very effectively affords a positive reaction to its cleanliness, surroundings and the quality of the provision generally. All dealings with the owners were most cordial.



Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic property in a great location. We were all able to relax. My grandson enjoyed the wide open spaces to run around. Would definitely recommend this property and will be back.



Charles Overton replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for submitting an excellent review of Hilltop Barn. We appreciate you coming to enjoy our beautiful location and hope we shall see you on another occasion when you can find a slot. Best wishes

Wonderful Summer Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week here with our three boys. There are walks nearby and from the cottage, campfires can be built nd cooked on in the woods next door, places nearby to eat and drink and more importantly lots and lots of space to run and play which we did from (very) early in the morning till late at night! There was no risk of disturbing anyone else and the boys had hours and hours of fun with us not having to worry about anything. We had a wonderful holiday and highly recommend this cottage and location for a lovely week away.



Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third year at Hilltop Barn and we will be back next year. All our family including our 4 legged friends love it and our children, who are in their 20"s, love to visit. Can't fault anything even the weather was gorgeous:)



Charles Overton replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for posting a review. These are very helpful and much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you next time.

85

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place. My family had lovely time there. Definitely we will come back. It is great place for anyone



Charles Overton replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Wiola, Thank you for submitting a review for Hilltop Barn. We much appreciate you taking the time. It is nice to have a score of 5 for any item but we take most notice of any scores that do not reach this. We spotted that the cleanliness scored 3. Since you left we have replaced the silver cutlery which is subject to tarnishing and very difficult to keep looking good with good quality stainless steel. We have replaced the upstairs settee and chair, which we feel were starting to look tired, with a light coloured matching pair of settees for two and three people, giving extra seating and a clean modern feel to the lounge. We have photogaphed the barn again and the website will be updasted in the next couple of weeks. If you have any particular items that you could mention to assist us to get up to maximum score then please feel free to get in touch. Many thanks again for your support and custom. Charles Overton

Dog friendly accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House was in a very peaceful setting with no neighbours and a great open but covered space for outside dining. Large grassy area outside for the dogs to amble about in. The own entrance to separate room would work very well if more than four staying. Stayed for a long weekend and will certainly be back.



Charles Overton replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Helen, Thank you for submitting a review of Hilltop Barn. You will be welcome to return on any occasion that it fits in with your requirements. Please bear in mind that during the summer months we give priority to full week bookings and we make short breaks available at shorter notice (usually about a month before arrival) if the week is still free. The booking calendar always gives you up to date information about this. I hope we can welcome you and your friends and dogs in the future. Best wishes, Charles Overton

cosy barn in beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the minute we arrived, we were 'away from it all'. A comfortable well-equipped farmhouse kitchen and then upstairs a lovely cosy sitting room with room for 6 to sit round playing games etc. 2 lovely bedrooms with views and then a very nice separate bedroom in another entrance. Great covered area outside to sit in and then...just countryside. Lots of nice walks from the door including down to a 'camp fire' area (could do with a bbq on site too?) and lots of lovely places to visit. Walkable Welbourn a nice little village with nice pub and very well-stocked shop including DVD rentals. Also walked round Bloxham nature reserve which was lovely and obviously Lincoln/Newark etc. nearby. Southwell Races too though too cold for us! We'll definitely return!



Escape to the country

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hilltop Barn. Excellent location with plenty to do in the area. Accommodation was to a high standard. Very good for families and would highly recommend this property for dog lovers as plenty of outside space for your dog to exercise. Welbourn lovely village, highly recommend a visit to the pub Joiners Arms food excellent.



hilltop heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
once again our stay at hilltop barn was idyllic. great weather, our own resident owl and wonderful for our dogs. our daughters stayed with us the 1st week and although they are in their mid twenties they loved it. Mr Overton was on hand to make sure we had everything we needed and only a phone call away. Already planning on returning if we can.



Ideal holiday accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal family accommodation with facilities for wheelchair user on ground floor. Plenty of space for children of all ages where they can play in safety



Lovely cottage in beautiful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful cottage in a lovely setting. Several evenings spent sitting in very comfy outdoor furniture watching the lovely Barn owl hunting and the sun setting. Plenty of places to go for walk and some lovely local foods available.
We look forward to returning next year, which will make it 3 years in a row. Our 3 Children, all in their 20's, also enjoy the weeks holiday with us.




Comfortable accommodation that was perfect for the children, parents and grand parents.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was comfortable, clean and well equipped. We were particularly pleased with the covered decking area, which was well used by our children.
We really enjoyed our holiday, exploring a part of the country that none of us have spent much time in before.