FB Twitter

The Coach House

The Coach House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 43 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


.

Early autumn break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, pretty cottage, spotlessly clean, nice real fire and comfy sofas. Well equipped kitchen. Lovely grounds and facilities - sun loungers, trampoline, games room, and great location based in the countryside (fab views and local walks) but near to lots of attractions a short drive away too. Very peaceful place, could hear an owl hooting at night!
Very warm, welcoming owners - by far the nicest most genuine welcome we've had at any place we've stayed at before. Same goes for the cats :-) Hamper of goodies provided on arrival too.
The only teensy thing we would probably change would be the pillows on the bed (a little lumpy), and bed maybe the bed needs a mattress topper as I could sometimes feel a spring on my back at night. But beds are always a bit subjective when it comes to comfort.
Other than that, it was spot on, given that we're in the middle of a pandemic we felt very safe and well looked after here and we will definitely be staying here again.





Dawn replied 150 days ago
Thank you for your very lovely review. We appreciate all feedback, and have taken your comments on board. We do hope to see you again.

Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a lovely setting, a relaxing holiday. From sitting in the orchard enjoying the sun, walking into Stoke Gabriel, we enjoyed barbecues in the Scandinavian lodge.
Dog friendly.
The owners were very helpful and friendly, we would definitely come again.




Mike replied 174 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - its appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

A comfortable well equipped cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very comfortable stay in this lovely cottage. It was very well equipped and had 2 very large bedrooms both with ensuites, ideal for couples. The owners were also extremely helpful and friendly.



We could not have asked for anything more from this magical break.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was wonderful, in the depths of the Devon countryside. Tucked away but still close enough to Stoke Gabriel and Totnes.




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - we hope to see you again soon!

Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From making the booking to arrival everything ran smoothly. Dawn supplied excellent directions and easy to contact by telephone. Personally met us upon our arrival, a fantastic Welcome Hamper and everything provided to meet your needs and comfort. Only my husband and I staying so lots of room. Both bedrooms giving lots of space, great size bed, bathroom, hanging space etc. All you could ever need for your stay provided. Lovely outside space although we were not around much to make the most of it. Stoke Gabriel village a real delight, great eating places particularly Emma's need to book though, Mill Pond a real joy as our the views. A walk from Aish cottages down into village a must as indeed around the village itself. Visit the church and its ancient yew tree. So many places to visit and enjoy both on the coast and inland. Particularly recommend Overbecks Salcombe if you love gardens and RHS Rosemoor Great Torrington over Dartmoor. River Cruise from Totnes a must for nature lovers. We were blessed with wall to wall sunshine during the day and star light night skies to enjoy. It was 40 years since we had visited this beautiful area but hopefully not too long before we book again with Aish Cottages still so much to see and do.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you both again soon!

The coach house.

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had everything supplied to our needs. One of the best Premier cottages that we have ever had.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - and hope to see you all again in the not too distant future.

A great spot to stay and as always a very warm welcome.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Aish Cross many times now and hope to return before too long as it is the ideal place to unwind plus being in a great spot to visit South Devon's many beautiful locations. Michael, Angela and Dawn always make us feel most welcome.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very lovely review - we do hope to see you both again soon!

Amazing week home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week in The Coach House which was a real home from home. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Michael and Angela or manager Dawn who were always available for help and advice. It was so lovely to stay in self catered accommodation and not have to take/buy things like dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, kitchen towels etc. The welcome hamper was also a lovely addition as was the cream tea on arrival.
The house is really well equipped, very comfortable and set in peaceful, beautiful countryside. There was a trampoline, swings and outdoor furniture in the grounds which all added to the ambience of the place. The surrounding countryside is second to none with lovely beaches, National Trust properties and interesting towns near by.
We loved our stay - thank you so much.




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the lovely review- so pleased you all enjoyed your stay.

Lovely holiday cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious cottage in peaceful and beautiful location. Everything you could need and welcoming and friendly owners.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again soon!

Lovley holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at the Coach House with every possible amenity there for our comfort. Everyone involved with the booking and management were friendly and very helpful. While the location was beautify with lovely orchard, outside seating and sun loungers, bar-b-q and gazebo, the only down side was the roads which were very narrow and quite tricky to pass other traffic. However, this did not spoil our stay in this very special place.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Coach House, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do hope to see you again!

Superb accommodation in South hams

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage down quiet, narrow lane a mile or so from Stoke Gabriel.
Quality of cottage was exceptional as was cleanliness and equipment.
Very well organised from enquiry through to departure and on site owners had balance between support and privacy just right.
An excellent stay in a lovely area!




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Coach House. We do hope to see you again soon!

Superb cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely a wonderful find
Mike and Angie very welcoming
Cottages can not be faulted and lovely large orchard to relax in
Really can’t wait to come back




May holidays

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd stay at the coach house and still love it as much as the first time. The house is a great size, comfortable, clean, and well equipped. Chrome cast an excellent addition this year so we can stream movies from out iPads! The out door space is excellent for the kids to have freedom to play and many sitting areas for adults to sit and relax. Also bbq available for your own use. The shed is equipped with outdoor games (cricket, football) and crabbing gear for your use.
Stoke Gabriel is a short drive (or walk away) where we love to spend the end of our day crabbing and sitting drinking wine in the riverside cafe (just make sure you check tide times before you go down).
Aish is situated in a perfect location to other local tourist towns, and we enjoyed mackerel fishing from Torquay and letting the kids run and explore River dart country park.
We would definitely come back to this place




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to do such a lovely review - we are really pleased that you have enjoyed another stay with us here at Aish and we hope to see all of you again soon.

Lovely break

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Aish many times in the last decade, every time is ideal. The cottages are immaculate, the welcome warm. The location between the coast and the moor ideal for touring south Devon. I cannot recommend highly enough.



Home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot fault our stay at Aish Cross Cottages. After a warm welcome, we were shown our spacious yet cozy cottage. The Coach House is clean and well equipped. We were delighted to find so many extra touches such as the soaps and shampoo and even a sewing kit for emergency repairs. The cottage is in a great location on the outskirts of the pretty village of Stoke Gabriel with great access to the River Dart and the coast. If you are considering Aish Cross, stop deliberating and book: you won’t regret it. Thank you Mike and Angie . We hope to be back.



Mike and Angie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

First Class cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best holiday cottage we have stayed in. It offered home from home spacious accommodation and cleanliness for a relaxing holiday. We were amazed at the little things that welcomed us like a hamper full of essentials, toiletries in the ensuites and not to forget the cream tea laid out to enjoy on arrival. There was even a sewing box full of every cotton colour etc. Unfortunately we weren't able to take advantage of the lovely orchard with tables, chairs and BBQs due to late season weather.
The owners Angela and Mike are very friendly and helpful and we would like to thank them for all the thought they have put into this accommodation for people to enjoy.




Michael Pavey replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very lovely review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Short break

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful stay at Aish cross. The accommodation was excellent especially the little touches with the welcome pack and the delicious scones and cake. We would definitely come back if we were down that way again.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again in the not too distant future!

Well equipped and well maintained cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped and well maintained cottage with spacious bedrooms and friendly owners, in a lovely area.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you all again soon!

A perfect break

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although we booked at very short notice everything was done to ensure that our stay was as comfortable and stress free as possible.
The setting is idyllic, surrounded by well kept grounds with just the sound of birdsong in the mornings. We appreciated the welcome basket meaning that we did not have to make a hurried trip to a shop.
Peter, Angie and Dawn were excellent hosts, both attentive and friendly, immediately making us feel wecome.
We will definitely return.




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - and hope to see you again soon!

Just perfect!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful cottage. Immaculately clean throughout, very comfortable with everything you need. By far the best cottage we have ever stayed in! Every convenience has been provided as well as a fabulous local produce welcome hamper, scones and flowers! Would love to return in the summer months to enjoy the orchard more.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again soon.

Peaceful cottage set in beautiful suroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House was the perfect location for me while I attended a course in Dartington.

The cottage had everything that was needed, and was cosy and warm when I returned from the course each day.

Paignton, Totnes, Dartington and Buckfast are all nearby, and I can't wait to come back for another visit.




smashing place

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the coach house is a great place to stay very friendly people our second visit was as good as the first ,but alas the stairs were a bit much for two of our party so it would have to be a one level place next year



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review - we are going to be really sorry not to see you next year! Best wishes Mike, Angie and Dawn

Great place for a peaceful break

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House was the best equipped holiday accommodation I have stayed in! We cooked for ourselves and there was everything we needed in the kitchen, even two butter dishes! The rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. We were thrilled to even find a welcome gift for the two dogs with us as well as a water bowl and towel. The separate conservatory meant there was a suitable place for the dogs to sleep or stay when they were wet. The orchard was a good place for exercising the dogs but the resident cats meant that off-lead exercising would not be appropriate!
The information in the hand,book provided was very thorough, but we would have benefitted from more information about seasonal rules on the beaches for dogs and also information about dog-friendly pubs etc.
The owners were very friendly and approachable. This was a really pleasant break and we enjoyed our stay.




Dawn- Reservations replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We have taken your comments on board regarding the dog friendly beaches and pubs,cafes and will be updating our handbook in due course. Best wishes Dawn - Reservations

A second visit to The Coach House

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second visit to The Coach House and it was just as clean and comfortable as we remember. The cottage is spacious and equipt with everything you might want. The location is quiet and peaceful with no immediate facilities but it's an easy drive into Totnes and Stoke Gabriel, both of which offer restaurants etc.

There's plenty of information about places to visit, a large shared garden to sit in and even barbeque and several pleasant walks from the door. We had lovely weather fortunately which made our stay more enjoyable but the cottage is comfortable and warm in case the weather is less kind. Our only reservation is that the heating controlls are shared with the adjoining cottage which could possibly cause a problem in some circumstances.

All in all we enjoyed our stay in this lovely part of the country and The Coach house is an excellent base.




Extremely comfortable and airy cottage, just perfecy

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was first class we were 2 couples on walking holiday was lovely coming back to a comfortable and airy property, both of the bedrooms were lovely, to have full bathrooms with showers to both bedrooms was a rare find. I can honestly say there was nothing we found wanting, well equipped in every way. The gardens are also beautiful and well equipped, BBQ's, seating, padded sun loungers, croquet, trampoline if you feel so inclined. What we really loved was that is was so peaceful so stress free. We would definitely look to return we feel as a walking area we haven't even scratched the surface.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for submitting a review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

A first class cottage for all the family.

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A first class cottage for all the family. Marvellously located with a beautiful garden which is great for children. The cottage itself has everything you need for the week. The furnishings and decor are lovely. A pleasure to return to - as we have done. This is the best cottage we have stayed in. Highly recommended.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review - it was great to see you all again! Hope to see you again next year!

A fantastic long weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect long weekend at the coach house - spotlessly clean, very well equipped cottage and extremely comfortable set amongst the orchards. We will be back again!



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again soon!

A very pleasant comfortable house

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with the attention to detail in the house. Spotlessly clean, good quality linen and comfortable beds.
A very warm welcome from Dawn and a lovely welcome pack on arrival.
When the owners returned from holiday, they were keen to make sure that that everything was going well.
There were so many extra touches to ensure that guests enjoyed their stay, e.g. umbrellas, well equipped kitchen.
Efficient service from the moment of booking the holiday.




Amazing!!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed in plenty of rented holiday cottages over the years and this one has to be one of the best. Absolutely everything was thought of. We loved it!



What a Holiday ought to be.

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House at Aish Cross is a very good standard of accommodation and will not leave you disappointed in any way. I stayed with my children (ages 10, 14 and 16) and had the additional room which was ideal and of the same standard as the other bedrooms, whilst being a little quirky going through another 'on suite' to get to, but perfect for us.
In terms of setting and location it is an ideal get-away, quiet and peaceful. Easy reach of nice beaches and restaurants, although there is more cooking utensils than I would ever need in the well equipped kitchen. Also there is plenty for teenage children to do in the area if you can travel up to half an hour with go-segway at Haldon Forest and quad biking all within easy reach.
A very comfortable and relaxing break in between keeping the kids active.




Excellent stay in a smartly presented property

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was large, nicely decorated and furnished, with games, books, DVD's. TV and internet for our entertainment. The kitchen was fully equipped, even down to a food processor - so preparing meals was easy. Through the weather was not so good while there, on the few occasions the sun shone we were able to make use of the sun loungers and relax in the large orchard. Angela was an excellent host and was very approachable and friendly.



wonderful retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect place to relax ,peaceful and quite in luxury accommodation, the beds are so comfortable with first class bedding.perfect nights sleep. The kitchen had all the appliances and utensils you could need. . A lovely big sofa to sink in to and unwind and enjoy a drink of there own apple juice from apples in there orchard lovely. Lovely hideaway.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very generous review. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay.

Wonderful restful holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a lovely week at the Coach House. The most important thing if you wish to chill out and relax on holiday are comfortable beds and these were superb. The kitchen was supplied with everything we needed - even a set of garden crockery to use outside when barbecuing. This cottage fully deserves the 5 star Gold Award Accolade which it has.



A return visit says it all!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Apr 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We found the cottage clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen was well equipped. The cottage slept 6 persons, and all three bedrooms were very spacious and light, with plenty of hanging space. The whole cottage was very cosy, and had constant hot water. The owners were friendly.



A wonderful cottage in Aish

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage had everything you need and more. Dawn was very helpful and made sure that the heating was on at all times. The log burner was brilliant and we were very cosy. The complimentary toiletries were a nice touch. We would definitely consider staying at the Coach House again.



Cozy atmosphere

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jan 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The holiday cottage was very nice, we loved to stay there. The cottage is very comfortable and well furnished. The kitchen is well equipped so that self-catering is easy. All in all this is a really cozy cottage, where you can relax very well.



Perfect spot near to Totnes South Devon

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and every thing associated with it is of the highest standard. Its location provides the perfect jumping off point for
the South Hams. It is conveniently close to three major supermarkets.




Our stay in The Coach House in Aish

Review submitted on Sat, 24 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent holiday at the Coach House and were very happy with the accommodation. It was clean, comfortable and well equipt and the owners were helpful and friendly. The welcome hamper was much appreciated and very useful. I loved the apple juice.

The cottage is spacious and the location quiet, pretty and central for exploring the immediate area. We enjoyed the Alpaca in the field opposite! We were lucky to have good weather which allowed us to take full advantage of lovely walks in the area, National Trust properties and gardens, ferry trips on the river and exploring local towns and villages.

The property provided pretty comprehensive information about places to eat, how things worked etc. The only thing we would have liked more specific information about was ferries - where from, how often, parking facilities etc.

We would happily return to the property at some point. Our only reservation is that we didn't have independent control over the central heating. We were surprised about this as we have normally been able to operate the heating to suit ourselves in other holiday properties we have stayed in. This would discourage us from returning in cooler weather. Other than this The Coach House is a little gem!




What a great place to stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 09 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great hosts, a fantastic place to stay. Just about perfect in every way; a hidden gem! We would definitely recommend The Coach House to anyone wanting to stay in this area of Devon.



Excellent in all respects!

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful owners, who were friendly, welcoming and gracious. Also, the lovely manager was a pleasure to deal with. My family and i were very happy with everything, we all had a very comfortable stay in a gorgeous property (The Coach House) with amazing grounds and beautiful surroundings. Thank you so much!



Hotel luxury but breakfast when you want it

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Luxury, that is the one word to describe our stay at the Coach House. From the quality of the bath towels to the contents of the welcome basket it was sheer hotel luxury .... along with comfort, and warmth, and modernity, and friendliness, and all mod cons. Altogether a wonderful place to stay with the added bonus of being able to breakfast in our own time and not to a timetable. Absolutely loved it.



A real taste of Devon in Stoke Gabriel

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful holiday accommodation; clean well equipped and comfortable. The apple orchard is a lovely place to relax and enjoy the cream tea in your welcome hamper. Stoke Gabriel is a delight, the family loved the pub and the crabbing!



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Aish Cross House is a lovely cottage - full of character and beautifully decorated - in a peaceful location. The accommodation is spotless and the welcome pack is particularly good. The two main bedrooms are light and spacious, each with a very nice en suite bathroom. The kitchen is well-equipped with good quality cookware and crockery, and it was very useful to have access to the laundry room next door. Our only minor issue was with seating in the sitting room - with two tall teenage sons we felt slightly squashed if we wanted to sit together but the overall feel of the cottage is spacious and roomy.




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comment on the seating arrangements and are looking into ways of improving this.