FB Twitter

The Hayloft

The Hayloft

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 57 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Comfortable cottage with on site charging for our electric Kia

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We only managed 4 nights before deciding to come home for the second lock down, but we were very pleased with the Hayloft. It was well heated and we didn't need to light the log burner. All the Covid 19 precautions were well implemented and the property was immaculate. We visited Buckfast Abbey. Dartmouth, Salcombe, Slapton Sands, Brixham and Kingsbridge. We took the train from Totnes Station to Plymouth to give us a day off from driving down the twisty roads. We were very happy with the Rolec type 2 7 kilowatt charger to charge our car and there was no charge for this. The owners, Michael and Angela were on site and took us through the property when we checked in. Very hospitable and professional, they are clearly running a good operation here,. We will be back!



Dawn replied 118 days ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your very kind review. We do hope to see you again soon!

Ideal Devon retreat.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this excellent rural retreat. We could not have wished for a better welcome from Dawn and Michael who ensured that our every need or enquires for local information were met.
We will undoubtedly return.




Lovely place, lovely accommodation.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation, nice walk Into the village to visit the pubs, little more taxing walk back from the pubs to wear off the excess, lazy late summer afternoons in the orchard, BBQ evenings in the BBQ hut, and great hosts. What’s not to love?
Everything catered for at these lovely cottages. We loved our stay with friends. We will definitely come back. Thanks.




Michael replied 171 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you all again!

Great week

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was really pleased with the accommodation, the facilities and the location. The dog had great access to outside area too. Hosts were very friendly and offered good tips and advice. Will visit here again!



Dawn replied 199 days ago
Thank you for your review - we are so pleased your enjoyed your stay - we hope to see you again soon!

Beautiful & comfortable accommodation in a lovely location

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful comfortable cottage in a beautiful location - made to feel very welcome, great attention to detail. We loved the large orchard garden with comfortable seating and lovely views, the well equipped games room with pool table and the private garden with a bbq lodge!



A beautiful property with wondeful, caring owners. Finished to a high standard in lovely surrounding

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Apr 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I were here for a winter stretch. Aish is a lovely village, close to Stoke Gabriel which has 2 lovely pubs and a beautiful millpond.

The Hayloft cottage is super cosy with a lovely woodburner, dishwasher, jacuzzi bathtub and everything you'd need and expect in a normal home, smoothy maker, etc.

The garden is beautiful and you can always see pheasants, rabbits at night and even an occasional family of deer!

Would we stay here again? Hell yeah we would! As a couple who travel extensively this is by far one of the most beautiful places we've stayed, not just in the UK but around the world.




A lovely week in rural Devon near Totnes.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely rural location but close to facilities and things to do. Comfortable cosy cottage for 2 adults and a dog. Well equipped kitchen, which we used a lot. We didn’t need the second bedroom but it would be fine for 2 children. Plenty of space to walk the dog around but they do need to be on the leash.
Angela and Michael are great hosts unobtrusive but available if needed. All in all a great find and will definitely consider staying again.




Lovely cottage in a quiet part of Devon

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage in a lovely part of Devon. Dog friendly. The owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We highly recommend it.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review - we are pleased you all enjoyed your stay.

Sunny days at Aish Cross

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday at Aish Cross. There is everything you need for a relaxing and peaceful break with beautiful surrounding countryside. The cottage was a delight, some lovely touches and a welcome hamper which was great! The grounds offer a variety of choice from having a BBQ (provided) to bouncing on a trampoline or finding peace and quiet to settle down with a good book on one of the tree hammocks. A lot of thought and care has gone into the cottages at Aish Cross to make your time here special. You can walk to the village of Stoke Gabriel for a choice of excellent food if you don’t fancy cooking and Totnes is only a 10 min drive away where there is lots going on!
Thank you for a most wonderful time at Aish Cross, I’m sure we’ll be back soon!




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very lovely review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you both again!

Perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hayloft is a lovely cottage with everything you need provided ,
we had a weeks holiday in June , a good base to explore Devon not too far from the beach
We also made use of the new very posh barbecue hut great for wet or cooler nights .
The hamper was very generous with all local produce a real treat.
Michael and Angie have put a lot of thought into making the cottage very comfortable we would definitely book again




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

A COSY FEW DAYS

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a few cosy days in The Hayloft over New Year. There was plenty of heating on so we were nice and warm, something which has been a problem in other holiday lets at this time of year. The cottage was beautifully decorated for Xmas too. The cottage was well equipped and very clean - the owners had thought of pretty well everything. The welcome hamper was excellent. The cottage is well situated for going off in different directions so no shortage of things to do. The owners were very helpful too. As there were only two of us we had plenty of room but it would be a bit tight for four adults.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review- we are pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in the hayloft. Impressive welcome-basket. Ideal location for lots of beautiful towns and beaches.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the welcome basket. Hope to see you again soon!

Delightful week in Aish

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a marvellous week in the Hayloft. Very spacious for the three of us plus our dog and an ideal peaceful location for exploring the locality by foot or car. Angie and Mike were extremely welcoming upon arrival and even supplied us with a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our Wedding Annivesary. The cottage has been decorated to a high standard with a vast range of quality equipment, and our dog was well catered for too with bowls and a blanket. The orchard was delightful and well equipped with barbecues, croquet, and plenty of seating.. cushions and bbq coals all provided. The dog loved it too and enjoyed exploring several different routes to Stoke Gabriel along lanes or public footpaths. Totnes, Dartmoor, Torquay and Brixham all near by and worth a visit.



Super Cottage In Beautiful Country Setting

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In simple terms, nothing disappointed us on the contrary generally exceeded expectation. A brilliant week which also made for a memorable holiday with our first grandson.



Fabulous, relaxing, luxurious comfort.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was absolutely stunning, of an extremely high quality and full of character and ever so comfortable. It makes the most of its age and historic features having been refurbished and tastefully decorated to a very high standard including a spa bath. The garden/orangery is enormous and well stocked with chairs, tables and sun loungers to cater for all guests in order to relax in the sunshine or eat alfresco. Our little dog loved exploring the garden. The hosts, Mike and Angie, live on site and were always around for any queries and charming with it, It has to be the nicest holiday cottage we have stayed in by far and even the kids (10 and 12) felt easily at home and never got bored - chromecast allowed them to access Netfix and they loved the garden, particularly the swinging chairs.



Michael and Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your lovely review of The Hayloft cottage and orchard garden - we hope to see you again soon!

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful and well stocked. It has everything you could wish for. The location is great - the cottage is in a peaceful rural setting but still only a short drive away from many of Devon's attractions. Mike and Angie are great hosts and nothing it too much trouble. The welcome hamper and flowers was a really nice touch and very much appreciated.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon!

A SECOND VISIT

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having enjoyed our first visit a couple of years ago , we again spent a week at Aish Cottages.We were not disapponited ! Everything was first class from the time of our arrival until departure. The owners , Mike & Angie , were away on holiday during our visit , but the excellent service they provided on our first visit was maintained by Dawn for whom nothing was too much trouble.
All you need to klnow about the area including shopping , eating places & areas to visit is available in the cottage so even starngers to the area are well catered for.
We can recommend to all with full confidence you will not be disappointed !




Michael replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your second stay - and just sorry that we missed you both. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Mike and Angie

6 star accomodation

Review submitted on Sat, 19 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable and luxurious holiday cottage with every possible conceivable requirement thought of and provided.
Beautifully situated between Torbay and Brixham area to the East and Dartmouth to the south West.
Highly recommended.
Our only observation: The second bedroom is a bit of an obstacle course over furniture to get to the bed as the bed is more or less
the width of the room but the main bedroom is very spacious.




Michael replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very lovely review. We fully understand your comments regarding the smaller second bedroom, which was created principally for the occupation by up to two young children with a split and link bed. We are delighted with your 6 Star grading of The Hayloft and hope to see you again soon!!!

Super tranquil break

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Aish many times in the last decade, every time is ideal. The cottages are immaculate, the welcome warm. The location between the coast and the moor ideal for touring south Devon. I cannot recommend highly enough.



The Hayloft .

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hayloft was a warm, welcoming place ! It is a beautiful, relaxing place to stay! We had everything you could wish for. Will be back! It was a home from home. The food hamper was a lovely thought. Nothing was too much trouble . Michael & Angela were so helpful & friendly.



Mike & Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed The Hayloft.

Hard to fault.

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was hard to fault. Spotless, airy & genuinely dog friendly, it was ideally situated for us to explore South Devon. It is a bit remote, which we like, but there is an excellent pub a 30 min walk away, and a Sainsbury's 2 miles. We have become wary of properties on owners land, but they were friendly and unintrusive. We would certainly return.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again soon!

A perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I start? From the initial contact with Michael, the pre visit call to confirm our requirements even down to the type of milk and bread that we prefer, to the very warm welcome from Dawn, we knew that this would be a very special place. And we weren't disappointed!
The facilities and cleanliness in The Hayloft were excellent. There was nothing that we could think of that was needing. The welcome basket and cream tea was more than welcome, such a good start. A lovely setting but unfortunately, due to the weather, we weren't able to make use of the facilities in the orchard.




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very lovely review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! p.s I hope you enjoyed your apples!

A great location and property to stay at.

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location from which to base a holiday in South Devon. Very close to Paignton Zoo and Brixham, and easy reach of Salcombe, Dartmouth, Dartmoor etc.

The property itself is very well fitted out and has all mod-cons including dishwasher. Though we don't normally look to be using it while on holiday, the internet connection (unusually for rural West Country) was good enough to drive the provided Chromecast to streaming services in the evening .....

Plentiful outside space (shared with 2 other cottages) with BBQ facilities (everything provided including fuel etc) and firepit etc. Brilliant! Kids loved using trampoline..

Also lovely to get a great welcome basket of local produce to get you going (milk, bread, butter, jams etc). The nearest supermarket is pretty close (Sainsbury's in Paignton I think).




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again soon!

A perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Looking for somewhere to stay for our first family holiday proved to be more difficult that I had first thought. We have an 11 month old and my self employed husband would need good internet speed/connection to work.
I spent hours searching and just as I was about to book a slightly cheaper cottage, which was ok, I came across the Hayloft.
The Owners are just lovely and we're so helpful, from getting us the information we needed regarding the internet to making sure we had everything we needed for our little girl.
The directions we were given were easy to follow and on arrival my husband and I smiled at each other like excited children.
Dawn the manger came to meet us, she was really helpful too.
The hayloft is just beautiful! The wood burner, the welcome hamper, a kitchen anybody would be jealous for, the comfy beds, the amazing bath and shower, the view....it's all just perfect.
As an animal lover, I particularly enjoyed the very warm welcome from the ginger cats...who would walk across the courtyard to say hello before going on his way.
Every little details feels like it has been thought over.
The internet has been great, reliable and a good speed for my husband to work in the evenings. I didn't have a phone signal in the cottage but did in the car park, this didn't bother me at all, I mostly chat with family via what's app which worked fine and actually didn't want lots of calls.
We have made some very special memories here and we could not recommend it highly enough!




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Hayloft at Aish Cottages. It is a very comfortable cottage, set in very beautiful surroundings, with a huge orchard which guests can relax in. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and have thought of everything you might need for your stay - even a full sewing kit! We had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to recommend it, and will return.



The Hayloft

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was absolutely lovely, extremely comfortable and well equipped. The jacuzzi bath was an added bonus and a real treat. We were also very impressed with the welcome hamper which was both generous and delicious. The cottage is also perfectly situated for all the local towns and beaches. A wonderful stay and holiday!



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you all again soon!

An amazing holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely relaxing stay at Aish Cottages. This is our second trip and it did not disappoint. Will definitely be back again.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - and hope to see you all again soon.

.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A nice place to stay in a very quiet location but close to beaches and other facilities. It was partly chosen as it is dog-friendly - even dog bowls were supplied. However I do not think it deserves a 5* rating. The bedrooms are small and the general living area would be very cramped for four people.



Another fantasic stay at Aish Holiday Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 5th stay at Aish Holiday Cottages, but a first in the Hayloft (previously stayed at the Stable). Same excellent quality of accommodation, and a good price too. Unable to fault in any way. The trouble is it spoils us for bothering to look to stay anywhere else. I suppose we'll have to try somewhere different some day!



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again soon. P.s Kate and Pippa said to say hi!

Excellent facilities and welcome

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had probably the best and most memorable New year break ever staying in the Hayloft. Everything was just perfect from the booking to the welcome to the facilities and the accommodation. Nothing was too much bother every detail was dealt with effectively. The accommodation was superb and the extras such as the Christmas tree the hamper and the cake was first class. This is truly a real gem and we look forward to planning a return visit later in the year. We can not thank Angie and Michael enough.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very lovely review - we hope to see you again soon.

A relaxing weekend away

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hayloft was a lovely place to stay. Everything we needed to hand. In an ideal setting with lots to see and do. Can't wait to go back.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so please you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next year!

Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage, owners and staff were all wonderful. Access to Aish from the main roads was down very narrow, winding, hedged lanes. But other than that everything was great.



Dawn - Reservations replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again next year !

A Wonderful Spot In Devon

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in The Hayloft and found it to be clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The owners are very hospitable, and they provide a welcome basket of bread, wine, and homegrown apple juice, as well as eggs, butter, milk, and killer cupcakes. The location is pleasantly remote and tranquil, and is within easy driving distance of a number of coastal villages and other enjoyable destinations. All in all, The Hayloft is highly recommended. Thanks for a great week!




Dawn - Reservations replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Dawn - Reservations

The Hayloft - Aish Cross

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the Hayloft it was charming, comfortable and in excellent condition. We really appreciated the hamper of goodies the owners provided for us. Cup cakes, bread, wine, apple juice, jam and even our dog was provided with a chew.

The cottage has underfloor heating and a wood burner in the lounge, with a generous supply of logs. The bathroom has both a shower and jacuzzi bath.

It is about 2 miles to the main road and then your have Paignton and Torquay only 5 - 7 miles away and Totnes 3 - 5 miles in the other direction. The Hayloft is an ideal location for visiting South Devon.





A really wonderful, luxurious house in a nice garden. The house has everything you need for holidays

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's a pity, that there is only one bathroom on the first floor. But - to be honest - that is a first world problem... :-) On the other side there are a dishwasher, a washing machine and a dryer. The house is very clean, there is enough space for two people. Of course it is enough for a family. We liked it very much an recommend it to other guests.



A comfortable holiday cottage in an excellent quiet location

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed in The Hayloft, even though the invoice we received stated we were in The Stable. This did lead to a little confusion when we arrived, particularly as The Stable was already occupied..

Overall the cottage was comfortable and well equipped. The fridge was however on the small side and it was lucky we didn't do a weekly shop before arriving. The only things missing were a decent cork screw, decent dish cloth and hand soap in the kitchen.

The location was superb and our stay was made welcoming by the affection shown by the two adorable cats that made straight for us each time we opened the door to the cottage. Instructions for the cooker, whirlpool bath etc. were good, as was the information provided on places to visit in the area.

Wherever we go on holiday we try to eat food and drink wine beer produced from the places we visit. The welcome pack of some food, and a bottle of wine and apple juice was appreciated, particularly as the apple juice came from local Aish House apples and the strawberry jam was from Devon. It was a little disappointing that the butter in the pack came from Ireland and the wine from Argentina, but while we stayed in Devon we did drink much local Sharpham wine as well as local beers and ciders. It has to be said it was a surprise there was no local Devon cream to go with the scones and strawberry jam in the welcome pack!

Overall we had an enjoyable one week holiday in Devon.




Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for submitting a review of The Hayloft. We take on board the points you have made.

The Best

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Think this is the best cottage we've stayed in. Everything you need has been thoughtfully provided. Added bonus of delightful welcome goodies. Excellent.



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again next year!

Excellent Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hayloft is certainly 5 star. Lovely cosy and warm cottage in amazing countryside. A very warm welcome from Angela with a well appreciated cream tea and lots of other little extras. Really enjoyed our week here. Would definitely recommend this cottage.



A relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A delightful cottage with everything we needed, lovely big bathroom with a great shower. Overall very comfortable accommodation and we found it totally relaxing. Having blue skies every day was a real bonus! Loads to see and do in the area and some fantastic coastal walks.



Wonderful stay at Hayloft

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to The Hayloft at Aish Cross. The reason we returned is that the owners have thought of every little thing that you could possibly need to be provided in a cottage holiday. From the wonderful welcome pack including clotted cream scones, jam and home made apple juice from the orchard to the coals for the barbecues provided. The cottage is extremely clean and spacious for our small family. The area is quiet but easily accessible, with a short drive taking you to the towns of Totnes or Paignton. The owners Angela and Michael and Dawn the Manager are extremely helpful and friendly. What more could you ask for?



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very generous review - we are so pleased that you all had an enjoyable stay. Hope to see you all again soon!

5 star cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a 4-night stay at The Hayloft. It by far exceeded our expectations with its level of comfort - bedroom furnishings were pure quality, and absolutely everything had been thought of. The welcome hamper was a very lovely addition too. The location is perfect for being away from it all but within minutes of good roads for sightseeing. The apple orchard for shared use of the cottages was also a lovely place to relax. Have to also mention the customer service pre - arrival was better than we'd ever experienced before, so would highly recommend the Hayloft to everyone. Just wish we could've stayed longer!



Dawn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you had a lovely stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Another lovely time was had by us and the dogs.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dawn phoned the day before we were due to go to the Hayloft to say the heating had broken down and would not be repaired until Monday so we in fact we're 'upgraded' into The Coach House. The Coach House was just as well equipped and as high a standard as The Hayloft - we have stayed previously- just larger. As usual we were given a lovely welcome pack and welcome by Michael and were soon settling down into the cosy warm atmosphere of the cottage even though it was cold outside. The cottage has everything you need to make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for Michael, Angie or Dawn. If you have a problem they will solve it for you. As usual I highly recommend the cottage but hopefully there will still be vacancies for us when we want to stay again because I can assure you you will want to visit again once you have stayed.



Aish Cross Holiday Cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Aish Accomodation was Five Star quality, lovely location, all amenities on hand,accomadation clan well planned and comfortable, especially the beds. Will hope to return in the future.



Another lovely stay at hayloft

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay at ash cross house cottages. No regrets in rebooking for this year. A wonderful cottage in a nice location. Looking forward to going again next year.



Our stay at The Hayloft

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful chilled week at The Hayloft. The property was immaculately presented and was the best equipped holiday cottage we have stayed in. A perfect week.



In the middle of no where

Review submitted on Sat, 24 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful find, in the middle of no where for peace and rest but only ten minutes from any where that you may choose to go on the main roads.
Every thing had been provided in the cottage for the comfort and ease of the clients, very warm and cosy, nothing that we could find fault with. We had two small dogs and even they had been considered with bowls, towels etc etc.
Welcome basket was much appreciated, we will certainly be going back.
The area is amazing too much to see and do in one week, after a lovely day of wandering it was good to come 'home' to a warm comfortable cottage.
We spent one afternoon on the orchard sitting with a picnic and watching the birds, enjoying the sun and beauty of the gardens and grounds........




PERFECTION

Review submitted on Fri, 02 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again - perfection.............and more ..............but only possible at Aish Croft Holiday Cottages. Draws you back again and again just like a magnet.



Another really great stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second stay at the Hayloft for my wife and I. We were so delighted last year, that we booked to return for my birthday at the end of March and again we were delighted with our stay. The cottage is superb! - there is everything you could possibly need, just like home from home. It would be difficult to improve on the cottages' location, and Mike and Angie could not be more welcoming - nothing is too much trouble (thank you again for the extremely generous welcome pack).
It's really hard to describe how lovely the cottage is or how comfortable we feel there, suffice to say we will be returning as soon as we can.




Lovely Stay at The Hayloft

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely week at the Hayloft. Cottage in a really good position for loads of exploring in this beautiful part of Devon, our favourite place as always is Salcombe. The cottage is very well set out, not short of anything, lovely comfortable beds and beautiful bedding, the bathroom is immaculate. Kitchen has lovely crockery, home from home really, my only criticism has got to be the sofa and arm chair in the lounge, it is very worn, I would expect better for a five star cottage. The orchard is delightful, what a bonus to be able to let the dogs have a wonder round. The owners could not have been more helpful, we would defiantly go again.



Aish Cross Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your complimentary review of The Hayloft. We are just a bit mystified by your comments regarding the sofa and arm chair, they were both brand new two years ago, we have looked very closely and we can find no sign of them being worn. Please do call us if we have missed something obvious. Kind regards

Lovely quite stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jan 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage was clean and comfortable,but found that not being able to regulate under floor heating ourselves,found it to be too warm,although the owners did offer to turn it down,some days we would not want it on at all,so a little electric heater would have been handy for days we didnot want heating on.It was good to beable to regulate floor heating in bathroom.
Could have done with small mirror in downstairs room.

Fridge needed defrosting,as milk froze.

But overall clean comfortable,and owners very pleasent and accommodating.






Excellence without a doubt

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I were met on arrival by the owner and, from then on, he did everything to make our stay comfortable. Heating was adjusted to our requirements, endless supplies of firewood was delivered and we even had the pleasure of a Carol Service in his home with his friends and family.

We are returning to The Hayloft in February and will recommend the rental cottages Aish Cross in glowing colours.




A relaxing week in the Hayloft

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Dec 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with the accommodation and would certainly recommend it to friends. The information and equipment were excellent. We will certainly return.



The best find in many years!

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was without doubt the very best self catering accommodation we have stayed in bar none. The owners extended the warmest of welcomes, and the cottage was absolutely beautiful. Everything was provided to make our stay the most enjoyable it could possibly be. The view from every window of the cottage is superb, and the location was excellent for whatever you might wish to do (I could go on!). You would be really hard pushed to find fault with the cottage - we couldn't. Even the weather was kind to us (considering it was late November). We will definitely be back in the New Year and can hardly wait. A big thank you to Mike, Angela and Dawn.



A fantastic cottage in a great location.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic, well equipped cottage in a great location close to some wonderful beaches and interesting places to visit. Children loved the play equipment in the garden and having the freedom of the orchard to run around in.



Happy Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a couple of slight problems with equipment .These were put right promptly by on site manager.
We will certainly consider another visit as two weeks were not long enough to see the many varied attractions in this area .




Totally relaxing stay as ever!

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth visit to aish and as ever we had a thoroughly relaxing time. The accommodation was clean, comfy and everything has been thought of. We loved the bath and the kids loved the TV in their bedroom! The kitchen was so well equipped that I think we only used about 10% of it!. The orchard was fab and made for relaxing evenings together with the BBQ, the trampoline and a football!




Thexton Family Visit

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Hay Loft at the last minute as we had no decided what to do in the final week of the school holidays. We stayed from Wednesday to Monday. On arrival we were greeted by the owen and shown around the cottage. We were really pleasantly surprised at how well equipped and spacious the cottage was and the how nice the orchard was. Everything we could wish for was in the cottage, including a selection of herbs and spices and differnet pots, pans, baking trays, etc. The orchard has a number of picnic tables and bar b ques, coal provided, so all the cottages could have been outside at once if they wanted to be.

Welcome pack was great - best we have experienced at the cottages we have stayed in. The dog quickly settled down stairs and our daughter lover her bedroom, especially the fact she had her own TV. The jacuzzi bath went down a treat as well!

Lots of games, videos, books and literature a really nice touch. We tried a couple of the recommended pubs for meals and found them to be really good.

Really good location, close to many attactions in south Devon with easy access to the beaches, towns and countryside. We will deifnatley look to return to the Hayloft at Aish Cross House and would recommend this to anyone else.