FB Twitter

Our Eclectic Castle View Apartment

Our Eclectic Castle View Apartment

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 42 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Sweeping castle views, a fabulous location and a cosy play of textures and light make Our Eclectic Castle View Apartment the perfect home base for your Edinburgh adventure.

Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great apartment, very nice furnished, very warm welcome, good location, we felt at home immediately!



Nice Haven in the City

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived we were relieved to know that the pictures online look just like the flat. The view of the castle is more stunning in person. The kitchen actually has a dishwasher and a washer dryer. And the little refrigerator was just the right size. We appreciated having milk and coffee and tea available for us upon arrival along with some fresh bread and jam. The coffee maker buy Nespresso was amazing and so good that when we returned to the states we bought our own! The actual building is not all that impressive but the interior was perfect and the location is very walkable to everything. You can walk to the castle in 15 minutes or to any of the tourist areas in town. There's also a great coffee and tea breakfast lunch spot directly across the street which is reasonably priced and very friendly. One thing to caution is that the kitchen cabinets are too low and it's very easy to bump your head when doing the dishes or working on the counter area. Ouch! The street noise is very noticeable when sitting in the living room especially at night when the partiers are walking to and from the bars, but back in the bedroom which faces away from the street, it was very quiet. We used the little portable stand up fan for white noise and it was all good. The bedroom has one double bed with a twin size bunk so the house is really meant for four people at most if one sleeps on the couch... but for the two of us it was just right. If we ever are fortunate enough to return to Edinborough we would definitely stay at this place again and I highly recommend it to you.



Perfect home away from home

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is not only located in the most perfect location for discovering the old town, it's also incredibly beautiful and cosy.
We found everything in the kitchen we needed, the beds are comfy and the bedroom even offers a castle view. The bathroom was absolutely clean, modern and featured a spacious shower. A small supermarket is located a few minutes walk away. Plenty of bars, cafes, pubs and restaurants close by. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and would book the apartment again if we come back to Edinburgh.






Our Eclectic Castle View

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at this air b and b. The location was great, the apartment was most comfortable and filled with little touches...like the fresh bread and butter waiting for us. Also, the view of the castle was not to be missed, and we loved the little coffee shops just across the street. Try the lattes and porridge.



A recommander sans réserve

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Très très satisfait de notre location. Au pied de Grassmarket. Le château et le Royal Mile sont à cinq minutes à pied. Propreté absolue et très bien équipé. Un supermarché à 200 mètres. Point d’attention au troisième étage sans ascenseur mais sublime vue sur le Castle depuis la chambre. Nous recommandons vivement cette location.



A Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment was the perfect place for my sister and I to stay on our trip to Edinburgh. Not only is it ideally located, Alexis has worked hard to make sure it is comfortable, functioning, and overall one of the best stays you will ever have. The apartment was clean and she made she we could have everything we would possibly need. She even included a tablet that allowed you to check in, order food, and even gave a list of recommendations of all her favourite shops, restaurants, sites and so on. If I ever come back to Edinburgh I will definitely be looking into staying at this flat again.



Always a treat

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always we had a wonderful stay at the Castle View apartment. Alexis is a marvelous host and makes us feel like we're staying with family. Tastefully appointed, comfortable, and roomy enough for long stays. The apartment is right in the heart of things, and the view of the castle is perfect. Extremely convenient for walking around the city,or popping out for groceries if your staying in. Even though it is right in the hustle and bustle, the but the bedroom is quiet as can be. We recommend it to all our friends.



Stunning Unit in Perfect Location

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We adored our stay in this cute, stylish little unit. Perfect location with amazing view of the castle. Felt like home.



Simplemente Inmejorable!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Todo perfecto, la comunicación, la ubicación, la calidad y el diseño interior, la climatización, la vista al Castillo.
Sólo haría explícito el tema del acceso al departamento, que son 3 pisos por escalera, que no hay elevador. No fue problema para nosotros, pero no lo recomendaría a personas mayores o con problemas de movilidad.




A wonderful experience

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic place to stay! Check in was so easy with the lock box option, there were lovely touches like bread and milk as well as the apartment being really well furnished and in a fantastic location. Thanks so much Alexis!



The complete review is down under this, read that if you must.

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Nov 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Neat n tidy n practical.
In a great location.

I dont need to add more characters.
Its you thar want more.
Dont like being pestered online to rate, review or comment on everything.




A wonderful place to stay in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful and stylish appartment very much. The location close to the castle and Royal Mile is unbeatable, the view is stunning. We enjoyed the styles from old to modern and even playful. The equipment in the kitchen and the bathroom were excellent. I appreciated e.g. the bright light in the bathroom and the rain shower whereas in all our 4 other appartments during our trip through Scotland we did not have anything comparable.
Our host Alexis was throughout all our communication very friendly and helpful. She answered all our questions quickly and gave us a lot helpful information. We would highly recommend the appartment to friends and family. And we do hope that we will return some day to enjoy again this perfect holiday home. Thanks a lot to Alexis.




A really fantastic stay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at Alexis' place. It's wonderfully designed and very comfortable. Our son stayed on the top bunk and my husband and I slept on the bottom. Alexis has designed the place with a sharp eye and provided everything we would need. She really is an amazing host who deserves all of her high ratings. The location is perfect. Thank you!

I recommend the place to anyone, the only drawback would be the three flights of stairs you need to climb to access it. I loved the workout for my legs but if anyone has issues with stairs this would be something to consider.





This apartment is a Winner!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You can't beat the location or the castle view from the bedroom. It's right down from Grassmarket and an easy walk to New Town.
The apartment is very clean and beautifully decorated! The galley kitchen with washing machine and all the fittings was a surprise. The bathroom is modern and had plenty of steady hot water, which we appreciated.
Our host was wonderful - Quick with responses and easy to communicate with. She has thought of everything with smart touches throughout the space. There was even a hair dryer and a flat iron provided... I can't tell you how much I appreciated seeing those appliances. This apartment is a wonderful home-away from home!




Great flat

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very cute and comfortable flat. Location is perfect. Everything was clean and tidy. The only downside was the city was doing major construction work and the loud noisy work started pretty early. We weren’t able to use the washer as previous guest broke it and left their wet clothing in it which no one informed us about. There were no major issues and I dealt with a friend of owner of flat who was very nice. Overall I would stay again, great place.



Beautiful place and amazing location

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alexis was great at communicating with us and managed to get the place ready early for our check in. The flat is beautifully decorated and the bed was super comfy. Views of the castle from the bedroom window were impressive as was the location, we could walk to everything from there so saved loads of money on taxis. Would happily stay there again.



Nice place to stay a while.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cozy appartment where you can take time to rest and even cook for you family casually. Comfortable bedroom, good heating system and showering water.



A great Christmassy weekend getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alexis' place was a real find, and Alexis herself a very warm and inviting host. Excellent location, super cosy and all the amenities you would need for a weekend getaway. Edinburgh as a city was really impressive and it was nice curling up on the sofa after a long day of exploring.



Great location with a stellar design!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I truly can't say enough good things about this flat. It is the perfect location for exploring Edinburgh. Easy to get to from the airport. You are a short walk to new town, old town, royal mile, and Grassmarket is right outside your door. Stroll a little further and you can be in Stockbridge and Dean Village in no time. The view of the castle from the bedroom is spectacular. The bedroom is surprisingly quiet and peaceful for being in the city. Alexis has a keen eye for design and the place is incredibly well thought out and tastefully decorated. It is the perfect place to relax after a long day exploring. Our only regret is not staying longer!



A great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this place. Alexis thought of everything to make our stay feel cosy and relaxed. A great location. I'd happily stay again.



A trip to Edinburgh

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect apartment for a stay in Edinburgh. You can reach everything by foot. The apartment is perfectly equiped and very clean.



Lovely Flat in super location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh very much, the flat was very cozy and had all amenities that you'd wish for, so enabled us to shape our stay there completely to our tastes, without any hurrying for breakfast times etc.
The location is absolutely great, no need to say more!!!
Thanks to Alexis for the very nice welcome and the goodies you provided for us to taste Scotland (Haggis,... ) ((c;




Amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay! Amazing accommodations! Amazing service! Highly recommend!! Great cafe across the street!



Gem of a flat with easy access to everything

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alexis was a wonderful host and has done an amazing job cleverly renovating and decorating this gem. It's a mini-museum itself with an unbelievable view of the castle. All modern conveniences and comforts were provided from excellent wifi to a relaxing hot shower with great water pressure at the end of the day. The location was just perfect, in walking distance to everything. We felt like we were able to step back in time being surrounded by historic Edinburgh then in moments able to return back to our cozy eclectic and comfortable sanctuary. Unforgettable! We will be back!



Beautiful Apartment with a beautiful view of the castle!

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky enough to be able to stay at this beautiful apartment in early April. Alexis met us at the apartment to give us a tour and she couldn't have been nicer. She provided tips for our stay and took time to show us around the apartment and how everything worked. We loved the guide on the IPAD. It contained your how-to directions, restaurant recommendations, and allowed you to book a taxi. This was a nice touch.
The apartment itself is gorgeous and was perfect for the two of us. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. We were very comfortable here and the view of Edinburgh Castle from the bedroom was stunning! We really liked the location in the Grassmarket and could easily walk everywhere. Just be prepared for a lot of hills and steps:)
Edinburgh is such a great city. We loved everything about it and if we are lucky enough to return here someday we will happily stay at this apartment again.




Amazing place to stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at this property! It was clean, beautifully decorated, great location, great shower and helpful, wonderful hosts



Amazing stay in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Sat, 06 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply amazing! Best location, super clean and everything you need. Will definitely be back sometime soon and will recommend to friends!



Great stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't fault the apartment it was simply stunning. Alexis was fantastic. Great communication and very welcoming. Only slight issue was that we drove up and parking is close by but quite expensive. Recommend that you park and ride if you need your car xx



A perfect home-from-home!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely lovely apartment in a prime location, we couldn't have asked for more! The apartment was clean and stylish, we felt at home immediately. Would definitely stay there again!



We loved our stay and would gladly go back again.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time during our stay. The apartment met every one of our needs. We hardly ever heard any outside noise from the street or from the neighbors. Coming back to the apartment at the end of the day felt very much like coming home.



Cosy home from home.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy apartment, a real home from home. Excellent location. Nice selection treats as well as bread and milk on arrival which was fab. Very comfy beds. Quirky but classy decor. Alexis was super friendly and helpful and really had thought of everything you could possibly need. Will definitely be staying again!



Lovely home and excellent location

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alexis met with us for early check in and showed us around the apartment. It was beautifully furnished and had all the needed amenities. All was in working order. The apartment itself was quiet and the neighbors were friendly.

An extra plus was a tablet programmed for any recommendations the city had to offer and operational questions for anything inside the apartment.

You can't get any better with location. We were a hop, skip, and a step to EVERYTHING.

Thank you Alexis for being sweet and accommodating.





Lovely apartment in the heart of Edinburgh!

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Choosing Alexis' apartment was one of the best decisions we made for our trip to the UK. Conveniently located close to the Grass Market, you can easily walk to most of the major sights in town from this lovely decorated and fully furnished apartment. It's also perfect sized for a couple or a family of 3-4.
Alexis got everything ready for us, even native Scottish snacks, which definitely warmed up our winter days. The guides she wrote for guests also proved to be greatly helpful!
Thank you Alexis!




wonderful apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place to stay if you want self contained accomodation. The apartment has everything you need, very comfortable. Layout is ideal, facilities fantastic. Alexis could not have been more helpful and helped to make our stay in edinburgh very special.



Haggis - the icing on the cake

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a perfect base for our three nights in Edinburgh. We could walk to most places we wanted to visit. The apartment is comfortable, cosy and well-appointed. It was good to have breakfast overlooking the castle! We even found a portion of delicious haggis provided for us to try, and we have now became haggis eaters. Although the lively Grassmarket area is only a few paces away, the apartment itself is quiet and we slept well. The only reservation - several flights of steps to reach the front door - but not too bad. It might be hard to find a better apartment for two in this part of the city.



lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place to stay, very comfortable, perfect location, and all amenities are there. We would love to stay again! Thanks, Alexis!



Great Location in a beautiful flat!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It is in the middle of everything. Now I know Edinburgh by heart. Grassmarket, Victoria Street, Royal Mile and Princess Streeet is 2-10 mins by walk. Inside you are at comfort and the view from bedroom is amazing. All kitchen stuff is available. Tv is fun, bathroom is new and good. Up to 4 you can stay.



Cosy Edinburgh

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very cosy and homely in the winter month ease access to sites and shops. Tiring carrying bags and baby up the 4 floors.lovely personal touches with hamper pack on arrival. Shower AMAZING !!! STUNNING VIEW DAY AND NIGHT. would love to come back.




Lovely days in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many thanks to Alexis for renting us this really unique place. Well equiped, quiet and in the heart of Edinburgh. There is nothing to say than five stars.



Spacious airy apartment with amazing views

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are not staying in one of Unique Chick Lets rentals while on vacation in Edinburgh you are missing out!

First time staying in this particular flat, and we were delighted by how spacious and bright it was. The stairs are truly worth it for the stunning view of the castle.

The two flats Unique Chick Lets have in this building are in a fantastic location, with stunning views of the castle and access to the Grassmarket's restaurants/shops/lovely farmers market on Saturday. Well appointed, stylish decor, everything needed for a fun and relaxing stay.

Alexis is a wonderful host, gave us great recommendations, always available for questions and concerns. We always stay at one of her rentals when visiting Edinburgh.




Short stay in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect bolt-hole! Central enough to enjoy the shopping, trams, buses and the sites - including waking up with a view of Edinburgh Castle from your bed! The apartment is warm, cosy and offers home from home luxuries. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!



Alexis replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's very much appreciated :) Hope to see you again soon!

Wonderful Apartment

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was wonderful, clean and had a great location. There were great restaurants and shopping within walking distance.