FB Twitter

Barn Owls (HM8), Cotswolds

Barn Owls (HM8), Cotswolds

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.5


Click here to view full property description and more images
Barn Owls is one of only two, barn style proprieties to be built at Lower Mill and is a highly desirable letting property. Not only is it clad in timber nestling waterside on Howells Mere Lake once inside you appreciate the owners attention to detail, having a Oak Frame Structure complimented by oak flooring, wood burning stove and a large enclosed terrace commanding a south facing position on the Lake. 3 ground floor bedrooms & spacious double ensuite mezzanne bedroom. Highly recommended for wheel chair users
One allocated parking space, Wi-Fi & Spa use.

Beautiful, but...

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was our first time to the Cotswolds Water park, Habitat Escapes and our accommodation, Barn Owls.
Barn Owls is a lovely barn style property - light, airy and well furnished with a stunning outlook over Howell's Mere. All the estate lakes are scenic (and lovely for a swim) and we found some lovely walks with our dog.
We arrived to perfect weather and soon noticed there was no parasol on the south facing balcony. We notified the management office and a new one was delivered the next day - much to our relief as it was the hottest day of the year. Very good service.
The spa is lovely, but small, with only two treatment rooms, and there were only two available appointments for massages during our weeks' stay when there was very low occupancy of properties. In busy periods, I'd imagine you'd have to book well in advance of your holiday.
It was a shame that Barn Owls did not seem to have been aired before our arrival and was VERY hot. The underfloor heating in the downstairs bathrooms had been left on making them unusable for anything more than a very quick wee for 24 hours while they cooled down - not great when it was 30 degrees plus outside!
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, but have to say that the properties are all VERY close together... which is fine as long as your neighbours are quiet. Unfortunately, ours weren't - and I really didn't want to be listening to someone else's conversation about the merits of turkey twizzlers when I am trying to sleep at 12.30am! We could not avoid overhearing loud arguments, drunken screeching and some extremely offensive language all day and late into the night. All quite intimidating. Fortunately, they went home after two nights and we enjoyed some serenity for the rest of the week! If you like peace and quiet, I wouldn't imagine this is the place to come in the school holidays.
We had a few other niggles with the house - nothing major, but we expected better in a property at the luxury end of the market and it did cost us time and money as we had to go and buy some items (we talked to the management office at the time about this and offered to leave the items we bought in the house if the owner was willing to pay for them - they never came back to us):
- there were no sharp knives (one carving and one paring knife, both very blunt);
- no bread knife or bread board;
- no hairdryer;
- a rusty and unusable teapot;
- most of the crockery is scruffy and marked;
- the house needs a set of saucepans - there was only one small one and one larger steel pot which could be used as a second saucepan;
- no gin glasses or mid-sized tumblers (only pint or tiny water glasses);
- previous guests had obviously had a balck-haried dog with them;
- the vacuum cleaner bag was full and stinky - full of human and animal hair, confetti and still with Christmas tree needles in July, so clearly not emptied for a while!
- there is no full length mirror in the whole house;




The Habitat Escapes Team replied 93 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, we will pass you comments onto the homeowner and estate team so we can ensure the issues are addressed. We hope to welcome you back to Lower Mill in the near future.

Excellent location and accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed a weekend break with friends at Barn Owls. The accommodation was perfect for two families of four. The house is well equipped and very comfortable. The weather was amazing and we were able to enjoy the watersports and countryside.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied 104 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at Barn Owls and we hope to welcome you back to Lower Mill Estate in the near future.

Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an exceptional place to stay. It provided us with the ideal space, facilities and location for our circumstances. Loved it and will definitely be back again.



Habitat Escapes Team replied 106 days ago
Hello Jared, thank you for leaving a lovely review! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay, we hope to welcome you back soon!

A fantastic property for a family

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay at Barn Owls - we have a two year old and a three year old and the property was perfect for us with three bedrooms and the kitchen/living area on the ground floor. Close to the Spa and with fantastic views of Howells Mere, we really couldn't have asked for a better weekend away.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied 230 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to learn you had brilliant stay and enjoyed the views from this beautiful property. We hope to welcome you back to the estate in the near future.

Great time at Barn Owls

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The estate is fantastic, and the quality of the property excellent. The big comfortable sofas were great. The property was clean and tidy and equipped really really well. The stair gate was brilliant for the 17 month old we had with us (and the cocker spaniel) both of them loved roaming around the large kitchen/lounge area. The terrace is fabulous even though it was winter it was absolutely stunning!



Habitat Escapes Team replied 244 days ago
Hi Ann, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us, Barn Owls is a great property. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Second time with this property - thoroughy enjoyed it

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grateful to the Habitat Escape Team for their flexibility when Deb was ill at the Spa just as we were supposed to be checking out - thanks!! (Deb is fine now by the way).
One very small thing - the Kitchen could probably do with a decent set of saucepans.
Thanks for another wonderful week!
Chris, Deb and family.




The Habitat Escapes Team replied 328 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your stay - we are so pleased to hear that Deb is now ok! We will feedback your comments to the owner in regards to the saucepans. We look forward to welcoming you back to the estate next year!

A wonderful few days away

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited Low Mill Estate and stayed at Barn Owls in the October half term and had a really fantastic time. The house was absolutely perfect for what we wanted and had the added benefit that the children could launch their kayaks into Howells Mere right beside the house. We were lucky in that we had super weather for our stay but even if it had been raining, there was still plenty to do. A great stay and we'd definitely look at coming back.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied 352 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your stay - it sounds as if you have had a wonderful holiday! We hope to welcome you back in the future!

2 night stay at Barn Owls on the Lowermill Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely location to catch up with some University friends. Spacious detached 8 bedroom house overlooking one of the lakes on the Estate. Comfortable beds and lots of storage space. Great to have seat pads to put on the outside chairs! We liked the outside keypad for the front door key. This made it easier for us when we were coming and going to the fabulous on site spa and swimming pool.
Improvement for the estate would be to have some up lighting on the signs at night as lots of people were getting lost when they arrived in the dark. Only having 2 spa passes caused problems for us in a large group as we were all going to the spa at separate times for treatments. We were disappointed not to be offered a free Sunday night stay (as we had been offered the first time we had booked and then had to rearrange because of the snow).




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your stay at Barn Owls - it sounds as if you had a fantastic stay and we were so pleased to be able to move your booking for you due the snow at the start of the year. The additional night was offered to you during the snowy period to ensure you had a safe journey home as bad snow was on the forecast - we apologise that this was not something we were able to offer on a moved booking. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Weekend away for 40th Birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a fabulous weekend away at Barn Owl's for my wife's 40th Birthday. We have been to Lower Mill Estate and as always it delivers a great family weekend. The house is excellent for a family weekend with plenty of room to relax for the extended family. Would definitely recommend.



Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, glad to hear you had a fab weekend! We look forward to welcoming you back to Lower Mill Estate in the future.

Value for money

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great holiday, facilities would expect nothing less for the price paid. Have visited befor e, stayed in other properties, would definitely consider returning to this one.



June getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fifth time at lower mill ...we love the tranquility of the estate along with the nature walks, the spa and Balioo restaurant is a great addition. We have stayed in Barn Owls for the last 3 years...absolutely love the position on Howells Mere lake and the open plan just makes it great for spending family time all together. Love it all x we will be back! X



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the review of your stay and property. Barn Owls is a beautiful and unique property which allows for open plan downstairs living. We're delighted to know you had another wonderful stay and made the most of all the estate has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

4 days at Barn Owls

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay, very relaxed and comfortable, everything is just there, lovely little touches with fudge, coffee and bathroom toiletries, the dogs loved their decking watching the swans! plus enjoying lots of nature walks!



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with Habitat Escapes - we hope to welcome you back to Lower Mill in the near future!

Excellent - we have booked again for next year.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Please don't publish this! - but if I was the property owner I'd remove the built in fridge / cabinets and move the separate fridge / freezer into its place - would make the kitchen work better - and reduce the use of unnecessary electricity.

Also we really would have benefited from a manual for the Aga - as I am sure we weren't using it properly. When cooking a roast we could only use one of the ovens effectively - but was probably our fault - but couldn't find a manual online.

Great property - looking forward to next year.




Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your recent feedback and review. We really appreciate the time you have taken to provide this for us. Feedback from our guests is important to us. We can pass your comments onto the homeowner as they are always happy to accept suggestions and improvements. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Lower Mill Estate with Habitat Escapes and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards