FB Twitter

Tally Ho (BV19), Dorset

Tally Ho (BV19), Dorset

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 5 reviews
80% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.6
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
4.4


Please click here to view property descriptions and images
A charming red-brick contemporary cottage complete with three bedrooms, two bathrooms and open plan living and dining and benefiting from full access to the Activity Hub’s facilities (subject to prior booking and availability) included in the cost of the accommodation providing you with free access to bikes, canoes,kayaks and stand up paddle boards during your stay. Completed in early 2018 this property offers stylist accommodation over two floors and is flooded with natural light.

A great place for a relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a beautiful place. The house is gorgeous, to quote my daughter ‘this is my dream house’ There was a lovely letter and a welcome pack from the owners. Everything we needed was in the house and everything was top quality. The beds were really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The outdoor furniture and barbecue were a great addition and we enjoyed having meals al fresco.
The house comes with an activity package which was well used by our 23,21 and 19 year old. It was so nice to just go down to the lake whenever we wanted to get a paddle board or kayak. No booking,paying extra. There were always boards available. The same for bikes. The pool was lovely and the staff on reception were friendly.
Only slight negative was the noise from the new houses being built on the new site. Being woken at 7.30 by lorries reversing and building work interrupted the peace. However, there were so many pluses to this holiday I wouldn’t let it stop me going again.




Habitat Escapes Team replied 35 days ago
Hello Ruth, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed staying at Tally Ho! It's great to hear that you took advantage of the activity package and got everyone involved. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Excellent family break in Dorset

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tally Ho is situated in a great location, with easy access to the South Coast, including our favourite resort of Weymouth (20 mins) and Bournemouth (45 mins); Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door are also well worth a visit. Booking was straight forward, with simple instructions to access the property on arrival; complimentary coffee/tea, milk and a chocolate treat were also greatly appreciated. There is a small convenience store 5 mins away and a supermarket in Dorchester for a bigger shop if required, as well as a number of cafes for breakfast or lunch. The property has excellent facilities for cooking, with a wide range of utensils and a BBQ to enjoy the good weather. We were a family of 2 Adults and 3 Children (15, 14 and 10) and there was plenty of room across the 3 bedrooms to make the stay really enjoyable. The facilities on site were great for family outdoor activities; including heated swimming pool, tennis courts, mountain bikes and a range of equipment for use on the lake (Paddle Boards, Kayaks and Boats). The countryside around the village was beautiful, with easy access for walks or family rides and our favourite activity "Zip Wire". An excellent family holiday in the Dorset countryside, surrounded by wildlife.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied 41 days ago
Thank you for your review, it sounds like you enjoyed all Silverlake and the surrounding areas has to offer to our guests, we hope to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy another fun filled break.

An enjoyable stay at a developing nature based complex

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Tally-ho, which was a nicely decorated spacious house fitted out with everything that you need on a self catering holiday. We enjoyed walking around the lakes but it would be nice to return when the building on the other side of the site has been completed, as I think that this would encourage more wildlife to visit the area. The building work didn't impact on the half of the site that we were staying in though in other respects. We took advantage of the canoes, paddle boards and bikes, which was fun. My daughter & her boyfriend used the swimming pool, my daughter enjoyed a massage & her boyfriend used the gym and they both used the sauna & the tennis court. The gym equipment was obviously all brand new. Me & my husband enjoyed sitting in the roof top bar overlooking some of the lakes, where the staff were really friendly. We saw the wild ponies and also came across some deer on one of our evening walks around the lakes, there were also some cattle. There were also swans, heron & various breed of duck. Unfortunately, we didn't see the otters that were supposed to be around. We took advantage of the zip wire which was fun! There are a couple of things that do need to be improved - in the Tally-Ho, the extractor fan above the cooker was at a height that my husband kept catching his head on it, so something needs to be done about this ideally. We were very lucky that we had beautiful sunshine when we stayed in May but I wasn't sure how the bar & spa area would manage when there is wet or bad weather, as the majority of the bar was open air and the swimming pool had no cover. My daughter & her boyfriend said that there was a gap under the door of the sauna room, which meant that it wasn't quite as hot as it should be. There was a delivery service provided for breakfast, snacks & meals, although we didn't try this. It would have been nice to have a small convenience store on site.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied 77 days ago
Thank you for leaving your review, we have passed your comments on to the estate management and the homeowner. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Just perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous few days at Tally Ho at Silverlakes. So much to do and see and so very well placed for venturing further afield; we were spoilt for choice as to what to do!
The pool was warm - even on a cold windy day we had great fun splashing around! The spa was excellent too. Roaming the woods, biking, zip wire, rowing on the lakes and learning new skills - the children were happy and exhausted every day - this was all within Silverlakes itself! The property was cosy and so very well thought out and beautifully clean with great decor and everything we could need ( and lots more besides). Everyone was so helpful and kind - it was just such an easy, relaxing, delightful family holiday.
We did venture out to nearby Durdle Door- my son doubled in weight with all the pebbles stuffed in his pockets! Some great restaurants nearby too along with World Heritage sites on the doorstep. Definitely be back for longer next time. Thank you for a wonderful time! A real 10/10 x




Habitat Escapes Team replied 148 days ago
Hi Zofia, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Silverlake and all that is has to offer! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Tally Ho Oct 2018

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jan 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The Postives:
Great location. Easy access to the coast. Beautiful grounds with lovely views & walks through woodlands and lakes. Incredible starling murmurations in the evenings. Clean, well equipped house in a very quiet setting. Provision of kayaks and paddle boards for use on the lake
The Negatives:
Unfinished. Significant large scale building work still ongoing on adjacent site. Spa out of order. We chose to spend a little bit extra on this property because of the promised facilities. We have 2 older kids and a newborn baby and the promise of a heated outdoor pool that the older kids could play in was very appealing. However, we were all very disappointed to find that the pool heating was not working properly and the pool was too cold to stay in for more than 10 minutes. My wife was also very disappointed that there was no on site spa treatments as promised. We were told that we had to drive a fair distance off site to get any treatments.

Overall a lovely place but we didn’t feel that it offered value value for money because all the promised facilities were not available.




The Habitat Escapes Team replied 191 days ago
Thank you for your review, Tally Ho is a beautiful house and the location of the estate and the nature surrounding the house are stunning. We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed that the pool was not warm enough or your wife could not book any treatments, we have passed your feedback to the managers of the Spa. Since your stay all the building work on Beaumont Village has been completed, the spa pool heating has been repaired and the opening hours of the Spa have been extended. The owner has added comment that their family were swimming in the warm pool on New Year’s day so can personally confirm the issue is resolved! Habitat First Group continue to invest in the estate eco system – new swings, chicken coup, opening up Knighton Woods and a wildlife GPS tracking are all recent improvements made. We would like to offer you a discount on your return visit, please call us on 01285 869489 to book.