FB Twitter

Brock Cottage; Kingham, Cotswolds

Brock Cottage; Kingham, Cotswolds

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.4
Location
3.6
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.4


Tucked away down a long and winding private country track, just outside the peaceful hamlet of Foscot, 2 miles from Kingham, is this seriously cool property sleeping up to 14 guests in 7 bedrooms (plus 2 infants in cots), with 4 bathrooms – 2 ensuite. An eclectic haven with dramatic interior décor and beautiful gardens, complete with trampoline and swings, and lots of separate indoor spaces to explore and find some privacy. This stunning home is perfect for large families or friends with children, with two bedrooms specifically set up for little ones. There’s even an uber-stylish annex with its own log burner and loft sleeping area that would be great for teens or a bit of seclusion.

Gorgeous house

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning space, beautifully decorates and so homely. Amazing huge cooking and eating space and rooms for large family or friends or kids to expand into.

A little hard to find - better signage would help when arriving in the dark. But that was our only complaint - it’s a lush house.

Great customer service from Adam.








Wonderful getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this house. Perfect place to bring friends together for a wonderful weekend away. The house had everything we needed and was fully equipped for all the guests it can house. Would recommend this to anyone and some of our friends have even recommended it to others already.

The only small difficulty is finding the house when you arrive and getting taxi drivers who were happy to fetch us. However, it was lovely being secluded and having our own space in the countryside.

Sainsbury’s deliver though - which is great for all your grocery needs!




Family getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a great property for a large group with plenty of room for the kids to run around, even if the weather isn’t great.
It has everything you need for a comfortable stay (although a few extra tea towels and kitchen cloths would have been useful).
The information provided ahead of our stay was well thought through and very useful. We hadn’t been expecting to find so many personal items or family photographs belonging to the owners, but it didn’t detract from our experience.
What was disappointing was the level of cleanliness - the linen was clean and comfortable, but the rugs and couches all needed vacuuming.
Overall a great property that we would recommend.




Ideal for a family celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brock Cottage was ideal for our family celebration, bringing together three generations to mark the 80th birthdays of the two eldest of the gathering of ten members.
Each bedroom was very distinctive; the communal rooms provided ample opportunity for socialising. The cottage was spacious, so that it never felt crowded.
Excellent cooking facilities. For our main celebratory meal, we lunched at the Plough in Kingham, which was excellent.

The days were cool for June and we would have welcomed more information about how to operate the central heating , to take off the morning chill.




Birthday get away

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a stunning property! The standard of cleanliness was great. Very spacious property, more than enough of our group of 10 adults. A quirky, creative, spacious space that is just so special. Adam, the owner, was very lovely too. Highly recommend, look no further!



A lovely space to share with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Feb 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a great house with a great entertaining space but unfortunately lacked a few basic items.
Not enough toilet roll. Not enough wine glasses, no tea towel or kitchen roll. No ice and only a tiny tray to make ice.
The other issue was finding the house which was a little remote and down a dirt track.
Also we had issues with coming in cars that were unsuitable for the road up to the house.
You need to drive very slowly and strictly follow the directions provided.
Also coming in daylight for the first time was a must.
The clear directions on heating the house worked well.




Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was perfect for our group, 7 adults & 4 children. It has everything that we need.. big space, full kitchen (but no microwave), washing machine & dryer, backyard with trampoline, etc. Location was little hard to find. Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend this house for other travelers.



A fantastic, homely weekend with friends

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 12 friends came together for a weekend, and Brock Cottage turned out to be the perfect venue, for a relaxed and happy time. The cottage is very homely and welcoming - there are lots of belongings there, rather than it being the more common style of blank holiday cottage. It is like walking into someone's home, but that makes it all the more welcoming. We were a party of adults, but the house is brilliantly set up if you are travelling with children (fancy dress costumes, space hoppers, and some quirky sleeping spaces!).

The house is decorated in a very individual way, with some interesting art choices, which provided many a talking point. The bedrooms and bathrooms were all comfortable, spacious and welcoming.

However, the heart of the house is the fantastic kitchen / diner / lounge. It never felt cramped with all 12 of us there at once, was beautifully equipped and really cosy with the wood burner on. In summer, I imagine it would be an especially lovely space with the huge patio doors opening onto the garden.

The directions in the welcome pack were well written and much needed (easy to get lost without them), and the track to the house is worth taking slowly (as our Ocado driver found out!).

We had brilliant help from Bolthole Retreats with a couple of queries before we arrived, and help in finding some lost belongings after we had left.

As we were only there for a short time, we didn't explore the local area much, although we did have a lovely lunch at the King's Head in Bledlington.

All in all, a wonderful weekend. Highly recommended.




Spacious family accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Heating and hot water systems - owner controlled remotely, consequently cold water on first morning and had to call to ask for heating on Sunday early evening.
No iron.
Though 2 x high chairs and cots were agreed, only one of each was present - tricky with 1 year old twins, fortunately the one cot supplied was large enough to accommodate 2.
Very thin feather pillows, one per bed space, mentioned by everyone in the family group
Kitchen/diner/living - great family space with direct access to lawns with swings and trampoline enjoyed by all