FB Twitter

Emma Dent; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

Emma Dent; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
91% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.2


Emma Dent is a spacious, detached, rambling rose-covered cottage set over two floors, which sleeps 4 guests across 1 king-size ensuite and 1 twin ensuite, plus a further two guests on a comfortable living room sofa bed. In addition to the two ensuite shower rooms there is a downstairs W.C. A travel cot and high chair are also provided. The cottage has a fully-equipped modern kitchen and a spacious living and dining area that leads out to a private courtyard with seating.

Guests staying at Emma Dent Cottage enjoy complimentary (other than separately ticketed events) day-time entrance to Sudeley Castle & Gardens during the open season.

Very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Dec 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have been to this cottage several times. We always find it very comfortable and warm. The location is excellent just down from the village and across the fields to the castle. Good showers. Nice towels. Nespresso machine. Good size fridge freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. Induction hob takes a bit of working out. Winchcombe is a lovely village.



Emma Dent cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely love staying at these cottages . They are in a wonderful location and are beautifully clean . We return regularly .



The Delightful Emma Dent Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spotlessly clean cottage with every amenity to a high standard and all that is required to enjoy a stress free, peaceful holiday. The location is perfect, it feels very safe and is within easy reach of all the Cotswold attractions. Situated within walking distance of the superb Sudeley Castle is a much valued bonus. Very well recommended



Beautiful location and cottage that didn’t meet the high standard

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The surrounding and the cottage is really very lovely.
Boltholt advertise of high standard, and partially it met this standard during our visit. However, the lights didn’t work properly. So an electrian had to be send in. The heating wasn’t working. We needed during the evenings blankets to keep us warm. And finally the WiFi was very very poor. Most of the time we couldn’t use our iPads to look up Gardens to visit, etc. And for a stay of almost £ 1,000 it is very disappointing.






Lovely!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pretty cottage surrounded by similar properties in a quit location. It almost feels like you are staying in a Cotswolds based film set!

Spotlessly clean and well equipped.

Only thing to bear in mind is that the outdoor space is minimal, albeit adequate for outdoor eating.

Also don't go into the first pub you come to on Castle Street for food...there are much, much better ones and cafes within a couple of minutes walk




Fantastic 5 star property

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fantastic property , we had a family wedding at Sudeley Castle, perfect location.
Emma Dent is furnished at a very high standard.




Another happy return.

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family has enjoyed many breaks at Sudeley in the last few years and although this was the first one since my husband died last year it was good to be back, Emma Dent has been very nicely brought up to date since we last stayed there and my grandchildren and I appreciated the new showers as well as the addition of a dishwasher etc. There were no facecloths, kitchen cloths or kitchen roll but I assume this was an oversight and didn't matter too much as our stay was shorter than we would have liked.



Our 4th holiday at Bolthole 1st stay at Emma Dent super cottage but bedrooms very small

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As above but found the bedrooms very small, and very little places to put clothes, but manged , lovely cottage,



Our stay at Emma Dent cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location for walking and for the steam train festival; lovely and quiet and all you need in Winchcombe very close by.



Comfortable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage has been updated since our last stay here and is much improved. The two bedrooms have en suites with showers. One of the settees can be converted to sleep two. Kitchen well kitted out including Nespresso machine. Induction hob. Plain white china. Small bottle of milk and some biscuits was appreciated. Cottage was lovely and warm and plenty of hot water. Outdoor area could be smartened up a bit.



Harley’s review

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay, need mirror in downstairs cloakroom, need socket for hairdryer under mirror in twin room. Welcome pack is a pleasant surprise. Very well equipped.



Our two night stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely two night stay in a great location which was very quiet ( apart from the Winchcombe night owl!) and very dark( take your torch).
Th house was very clean and parking was right next to the house.
A few niggles, although we turned the heating off earlier in the evening, it was very hot upstairs so we had to have the windows open even though it was very cold outside. We even turned the radiators off during our epsecond evening but it was still very hot upstairs.
The first night my friend who was in the twin bedroom was kept awake by what sounded like mice in the loft or on the roof and as the roof came right down to the window with the drain pipe level with the window she had to close the window in case the mice or whatever it was came through the window. This was reported to the company the following morning.
The shower in the main bedroom didn't work very well,and the water was very hot but intermittent even though the other shower was not being used at the same time. It even stopped at one stage for about 15 seconds.
The following night , no sound of mice but very hot again even though the radiators were still turned off upstairs .
The second morning the shower in the twin bedroom was intermittent, although the shower in the main bedroom worked ok?!! This was reported to the company.
The duvet in the main bedroom was very thin and the bedding was quite worn looking with small bobbles in the fabric. The pillows were quite thin too.
The kitchen was well equipped and over all a nice stay.
I can recommend a walk across the fields to Sudeley Castle. A beautiful castle which has been maintained very well indeed with a great gift shop too. Well worth a visit!





Christmas at Emma Dent cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival at Emma Dent on 22nd December we found a beautiful cottage, in lovely surroundings. Cottage was warm and clean, with tea, coffee and milk supplied for our first "cuppa". An added bonus was the Christmas tree, which immediately put us in the Christmas spirit. Kitchen was well stocked with equipment, although a potato peeler and another roasting tin would have been helpful, as we were cooking Christmas dinner at the house. Village was lovely to walk around and Budgens supermarket well stocked with lovely goodies as well as basic supplies. Surrounding countryside provided some lovely walks and local villages also worth a visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Emma Dent and would recommend for a visit at any time of the year.




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed there in December for my partner birthday with our two young children.
The rooms were nice and clean and the showers were brand new.
The fact that it is detached is very helpful as we have young children who can be noisy.

It was the perfect location and walking distance from the town and the castle. If it was not for the rain, we would have be out and about a lot more. Though it was lovely to stay and relax by the sofa in the cottage. It was so scenic, it felt like I was in the Victorian era.





A lovely house for the weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pretty location, well appointed kitchen, spotlessly clean, comfy beds. Shower pressure a bit weak, but otherwise a perfect holiday house. We really enjoyed visiting Sudebury castle - especially the tour with Clive!



Hot water and central heating problems

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hot water and central heating problems not properly fixed until Sunday night, although two previous attempts were made.That left us with just one full day before we left on Tuesday morning. We particularly wish to emphasise however that Gary was a 'star' and he did go to a lot of trouble to help.
We choose not to enter anything in the comment book because we felt it would be unkind to mention our negative experience. We only give a review now because you have asked us to.
We are in the hospitality booking industry ourselves. We deal almost exclusively in Florida accommodation. However, we may be able to assist Sudeley Castle with accommodation bookings if you wish? Just contact myself, Francis Proctor and we can discuss.
You have a wonderful product, which we feel sure is usually excellent and we wish you well.




Just wish it could have been longer.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly wonderful stay in The Emma Dent Cottage.
Excellent location and a magical wonderful stay in comfort and stunning surroundings.
An amazing stay - thank you.




A charming home away from home

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located in the pretty little town of Winchcombe, a few minutes from spectacular Sudeley Castle where you will get a free access if you stay at Emma Dent.
The house is spacious, modern and well-equipped inside, surrounded with similar "Cotswold-type" houses (rent-out apartments) in a charming courtyard.




Mágico Lugar!!!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Emma Dent está ubicado en un lugar mágico, con un entorno único y con todas las comodidades para que puedas disfrutar de la mejor zona de los Cotswolds!!! No lo dudes en ir al Castillo con su visita gratis (un ahorro de casi 20 Libras por adulto).



Perfect location delightful town.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We came the back way along lanes so we mIssed the sign for the cottages. Once found easy to access the key and settle in. We walked (and hiked) everywhere, did not need the car except for a trip into Cheltenham. All our needs could be satisfied within walking distance. Only negative was the mattress cover had a plastic underlay and made sleeping in warm weather so uncomfortable, and made me wonder who your guests were! Thank you for the attention to detail. Mrs. David H. Spence



A beautiful period cottage in a fabulous location.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect and beautiful.
An outstanding cottage in an outstanding location.
Family friendly and with every amenity.




5th stay at Emma Dent. Have always enjoyed it.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time with 3 friends from Minneapolis and they loved England especially the Cotswolds. Food great at local pubs and restaurants.



A perfect location

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
What a wonderful cottage in a grouping of cottages that makes you feel you're in a tiny village within the Village. The location puts you smack dab in the middle of the roads that take you in and out of Winchcombe in all directions. A five minute walk to the center of town, plus the walking path to Sudeley Castle is right there. Flash your key at the Visitor Center and you have complete access to the castle and its grounds for free.

I was surprised to find that everything is included in your stay at the cottage. So, dishwasher, washer/dryer, microwave, espresso machine, kitchen utensils, plates, glasses, and gizmos are all there. Plus, an ironing board, iron, and hairdryer.

We went in July and England was hot and dry. The HVAC system was turned off or not working, but the cottage remained cool and comfortable without it. At night, the upstairs bedrooms warm up a little, so just open the windows.

We stayed a full week in the Emma Dent Cottage, when most guests seem to stay a night or two. My one little issue was a certain lack of information as it applies to services. The only reason I graded Customer Service as OK. We did not know in advance about how housekeeping worked or how often. This is not mentioned in the Welcome Package. As it turns out, the cottage was cleaned only once, so prior to our stay. One other thing, towards the end of our stay we needed more toilet paper, so I asked one of the housekeepers for some. The response, was that they only provide what is allocated, so you need to purchase your own beyond that.

Lastly, make sure you have your code to the key box to retrieve your key. So, don't forget the PDF documents that Bolthole sends you. I discovered the Welcome Pack just before we left home, but we ran across guests who had no idea and were locked out.

Regardless, we had a fantastic time, and our cottage stay simply desolved all tension and stress, taking us to an imaginary place from centuries past. Highly recommended.
KS




A charming English cottage experience

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and i are traveling with my mom and my 12 yr. niece. Everyone was surprised by how charming the cottage looks. A real English cottage feel, yet the inside is full of modern amenities. The only recommendation i have is to stock the kitchen with basic cooking spices, like salt and pepper and maybe cooking oil. We can't make simple meal without them.

Oh, and the castle is just amazing. Overall, Emma Dent is an excellent stay. Thank you




Family roadtrip

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Upon short notice my family told me they were coming to visit me in the Uk. I am glad I found this place available for two nights. Lovely village with great food, and surrounding area. Great location for visiting the Cotswolds and follow our trip to the southwest.





Lovely cottage and location spoilt by infestation of flies

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We spent Xmas at the cottage with our two daughter and arrived on 23 December. The cottage is in an idealic location in a very pretty courtyard. We brought all our food with us for us to eat in the cottage on 24 and 25 December including the turkey and all the trimmings (we ate in the White Hart on the first night). Unfortunately on arrival we found that the cottage was infested with flies on the ground floor in the kitchen dining area and lounge - mostly dead or dying and quite large flies - about 60 -70 of them. We immediately called the number on the information sheet and maintenance then arrived. All they were able to do was hoover up the flies and put some fly killer in the kitchen. However after they left more flies kept appearing and this carried on for all of our stay. We could not find the source of how they got into the cottage but they seemed to be entering through the kitchen. When we called maintenance again on the 23rd they said they would come back on the 24th but didn't do so. In the end we found that we got less flies if we kept the heating low and we kept it off completed in the kitchen and kept the lights off for most of the time. This made cooking our meals very difficult as we were constantly cleaning surface tops and had to prepare the food in the dining area away from the kitchen. When my wife was cooking the food we all had to hover around the cooker to keep the flies away.
So this did spoil our break. I should add that the cottage did itself appear clean but clearly there was something that was attracting the flies. We enquired of other cottages and they did not have this problem. We had been told that the cottage had been cleaned just before we arrived but this could not have been the case since there was a large build up of flies when we got there.
If it hadn't been for the flies it would have been lovely. The cottage is very comfortable with all amenities and equipment. There was a Xmas tree in the lounge lit up when we arrived which was nice but this didn't make up for the problems we encountered




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a perfect stay in English countryside. Beautiful house & very spacious. Value for money. Wish you had a washing machine in the house and somebody manning the office (if any) to ask about anything we need.



Warm and Sweet December Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Emma Dent Cottage was cozy and in a beautiful setting as promised for our December trip to the Cotswolds. The kitchen had everything you need to make your own meals, and there is a co-op grocery store within walking distance.

The mattresses were a bit uncomfortable and the sheets were dusty, consider changing the sheets again if nobody has rented the cottage in a while. The provided hair dryers in the bedrooms was a nice bonus. The towels were fluffy and big, but no wash clothes were provided.

We could not get the television to work, and there was no number to call for assistance. But the wifi was great and we were able to easily use it for work and to plan out our excersions.




Visit arranged to attend the wedding of my granddaughter in the castle chapel

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was wonderful. Several members of our Family stayed close by in the other cottages. Lovely to be so close but independent, and to get together for a chat in the quiet moments. We were all very impressed with the general organisation and quality of the cottages and castle wedding organisation. Thank you for everything.



We loved staying in Emma Dent cottage and were very confortable

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottages were walking distance from the beautiful village of Winchcombe. Good shopping, and places to eat.

We came to attend the wedding of our granddaughter in the castle chapel, followed by the reception in the castle.
Everything was made perfect by all the staff who couldn't have done more for us all.
Members of our families came from Wales, England, Spain and Australia, we were all occupying cottages very close to each other. Wonderful !!!




good location but poor interior

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is great and the cottages look very picturesque from the outside. The inside is really tired though and needs complete redecoration, an updated kitchen and a new bathroom as the current one resembles what you might expect from a travel lodge. Really disappointing. Clean however and as mentioned on a good spot. Although it is a walk to get to the castle facilities.



Beautiful, quaint cottage in attractive village

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very close to Sudeley Castle - we could not take advantage of the free entry due to staying in December, so cannot comment on that, but it is just down the road.
The cottage accommodated the party comfortably - there was enough room for 5 people to stay without getting in each other's way.
Self - catering facilities were good.
TV and WiFi both functioned well.
Is very pretty. Christmas decorations were a nice touch.




Cosy comfort in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage is snug and comfortable in a great location. Although the facilities were clean, we did notice an unpleasant odour in the kitchen - probably not drains, possibly a dead mouse?!
We felt a more personal touch would provide a better welcome as we had no contact with anyone. The tea tray set out was a nice touch, but the addition of fresh milk and a few biscuits would enhance it!
This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and obviously enjoy it, but do feel it is in need of a little tlc eg tiles need fixing to the wall below the boiler, curtains are missing hooks




Very special place

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage location. There is so much to do between hiking, shopping and exploring the castle, Winchcombe pottery, other towns, pubs. We could have stayed much longer. The cottage was a perfect center. Very quiet and private. Lovely stay.