FB Twitter

Horseshoe Cottage, Bourton-on-the-Hill, Cotswolds

Horseshoe Cottage, Bourton-on-the-Hill, Cotswolds

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.4
Location
4.2
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
4.6


Horseshoe Cottage is a handsome, 4-bedroom, 2-bathroom, 3-story, period Cotswold stone property, located in the heart of the village of Bourton-on-the-Hill. Batsford Arboretum – home to one of the UK’s largest private tree collections (and where the Mitford sisters spent part of their childhood) – is a stone’s throw away from Horseshoe Cottage, as is the beautiful Norman Church of St Lawrence and the award-winning Horse and Groom pub.

An excellent birthday celebration weekend in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Horseshoe Cottage for a long weekend as a family party of 8 to celebrate our daughter's 30th birthday. The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable and the kitchen was very user-friendly. Although situated on the main road, parking was easy in the lane adjacent to the property and traffic noise was minimal at night.
It was lovely to have such wonderful walking country in the surrounding area and yet still be within very easy reach of Moreton-in-Marsh and its facilities.
All in all, a very welcoming place to stay.




Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay, photos and descriptions very accurate. Easy communication, would highly recommend. Many thanks.



Brilliant house!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I arranged a weekend with friends to walk, eat and hang out and we had a truly amazing time. Beds were super comfy. The downstairs was a great layout to cook, eat and relax. We had a fab stay and would recommend the house and location.



A lovely cottage but condition didn't meet expectations

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage which was organised so professionally. Fantastic welcome guide provided, which we found to be really useful.
Great location, pub just up the road and easy to get to local attractions.
Only reason we were slightly disappointed was by the standard of the property. We expected it to be left in clean condition (some plates still had bits left on them and floors weren't clean as examples) and also feel the cottage needs to be kept up to the standards presented in photos. Would recommend they didn't just rely on the council removing rubbish over busy Christmas period as there were piles of rubbish bags left outside, to the side of the front door which isn't very nice when your coming in and out of the cottage.
Just a shame as never leave reviews like this and wasn't going to say anything but when I asked for feedback i thought important to mention as we don't know if the owners would be aware of this unless we said, as everything seems to be so well thought out and organised it doesn't make sense why it wouldn't be presented as perfectly as it had been described.
Don't let this put anyone else staying here as maybe we just caught it at the end of a very busy season for the cottage.




Nice comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our stay at Horseshoe Cottage was overall very enjoyable.
The cottage itself is nice and has been nicely renovated...the open space lounge/kitchen is lovely and the underfloor heating was very much appreciated during our stay. The kitchen was modern and has a large number of equipment/utensils all in great conditions...the only slight drawback we had was with open plan layout which had large doorways which child safety gates would not fit which led to a lot of child watching!.

The one major drawback was with noise from the main road...it was incredibly noisy from the very early hours of the morning.
But over all good...oh please get the owners to sort out the book for guest comments...the first few pages have all been ripped out with nothing written in...not a good look.




Lovely weekend stay with Family

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with our daughters and partners for a 60th Birthday get together. Ideal place to stay. Very sociable as all open plan downstairs. Didn’t have much luck with weather so stayed in for a day but was nice being together and gathering around dining table. Not far from lovely places in Cotswolds even though you do have to drive. Such a cute place and very pretty. Would recommend



Cotswolds charm

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
To celebrate a family birthday we rented this delightfully charming cottage in the Cotswolds. Ideally located to visit the surrounding towns and villages this is an excellent base. This cottage is fully equipped with plenty of space for the family, four double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, patio area and parking nearby.



Horseshoe - Ellis - 27th/28th Dec

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall a very nice cottage - warm, nice bedrooms, comfortable living space. On the negatives, I think it’s pretty pricey for what it is and the layout/quality of the bathrooms could do with a re-vamp... both items I suspect you are aware of!

Mike Ellis




A weekend break with old friends - a lovely cottage with character and plenty of space.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has a great open plan downstairs area - perfect for a group of friends. The location is good for visiting the Cotswolds with a pub very close.



A good stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is quite beautiful and comfortable. The host Martin and his wife are friengdly and kind. Many thaks for the care during this period.We will recommend to our friends for this nice house.