FB Twitter

Milliner's Barn, Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Milliner's Barn, Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

3.9
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
71% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.7
Comfort
4.1
Condition
3.9
Location
4.1
Value
3.6
Customer
Service
4.1


Milliner’s Barn is tucked away off a quiet country lane in the quaint village of Weston-sub-Edge, 2 miles from Chipping Campden. This is a single-story, L-shaped barn conversion in traditional Cotswold stone, offering a tranquil escape to the country for a family or two couples. With interiors that beautifully blend the traditional with the modern, this is a cottage with charm by the bucketful. Exposed beams, Cotswold stone walls and vaulted ceilings greet you as you enter, and a small but well-formed farmhouse kitchen, with feature AGA, gives the barn a distinctly warm and English-country feel. On a sunny day, there’s a lovely, sunny decked patio and walled lawn area, offering plenty of outdoor space to enjoy the gorgeous surroundings from. Sleeping up to four guests across two good-sized bedrooms, it’s a great choice for a family or two couples sharing. If your party is bigger than 4, the adjacent Field House Cottage (sleeps 6+2) can be booked together to accommodate your group. One small dog is welcome to stay at Milliner’s Barn.

Girls weekend away in the Cotswolds.

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cosy cosy cottage perfect for a cold weekend in February. Furnished to a high standard very well equipped kitchen. Loved to aga.
Lovely setting with patio in the back, fire in the lounge which made it lovely & warm.
Would highly recommend.
Only gripe I have is the shower door in main bathroom needs to be sorted as water leaked onto floor.




Short break in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we stayed at Milliner's Barn for 3 nights in September 2019. we were welcomed by the owner on arrival. The barn was very cosy with an Aga warming the kitchen all the time. The facilities were very good and very comfortable beds. Lovely walks nearby but unfortunately the weather wasn't very good..
Some areas looked a bit tired and could do with updating eg kitchen cupboards under the sink has a bit of water damage, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to staying next year.




Disappointing Luxury Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
First impressions were positive, a spacious cottage and a good layout. Unfortunately things started to unravel!

After arriving in the evening, we decided to sit on the decking to relax and sit in the sun. Very quickly we noticed a lot of broken glass between the slats of the decking but on deeper inspection there was a lot of glass shards on the decking top. Immediately we moved from the decking to the lawn and called the owner. She arrived within 30 mins and said that the patio table had been smashed the night before and offered to clear the decking. We suggested she did it the following day while we were out. The following evening will still noticed shards of glass!

Considering this was advertised as a luxury cottage on the BoltHoleRetreats website there were several issues which were of concern.

1. There were 3 adults staying in the property, 3 large towels were provided plus 1 hand towel in each bathroom. You would expect a large towel and a hand towel per person.
2. Most of the rooms had extensive cobwebs and live spiders, nothing that a regular dust wouldn't remove.
3. The shower in the main bathroom had a broken water control. The handle was a metal rod which required 2 hands to turn the control. Also the shower head needed cleaning/replacing.
4. Paint was flaking off the ceiling in the main bathroom.
5. The extractor in the main bathroom was virtually blocked and didn't look like it had been cleaned since installation.
6. No toiletries were provided in the bathroom. Other than hand soap there was no shampoo or shower gel.
7. No details were provided about the bins. Which should be used for general waste, recycling or glass.
8. Considering this was supposed to be a dog friendly cottage, we were told to keep our dog off the carpets and only allowed on the tiled floor.
9. Also, considering this was supposed to be a dog friendly cottage, there was no provision for dog waste which had been collected from the grass verge away from the property. The owner actually suggested we should take it down the street where there was a dog bin.

I've raised these points because we booked this cottage expecting a luxury cottage and the points above disprove that.





Bolthole Retreats replied 170 days ago
Dear Mr Allanson, we are very sorry to read about the cleaning and housekeeping issues you have raised. We have spoken to the owners and housekeeping and those issues have now been addressed. We have raised your point about your dog and dog mess and toiletries. For the foreseeable future, we anticipate that only hand soap will be provided, as per the cottage's information guide. Kind regards, Bolthole Retreats

A good place to spend time.

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was well looked after for four weeks in a comfortable place in a lovely location.
Would return if circumstances arose.




Nice property but tired in places

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Generally nice property but tired at the edges and needs a bit of an update. Minor gripes include central heating not on and music from next door as they left back door open. Enjoyed short stay nonetheless. Found some good pubs to eat at nearby and good walks from doorstep.



A comfortable home from home!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very well presented, equipped and comfortable converted barn situated in a quiet location within stunning Cotswalds countryside. A real home from home.



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My mother & I stayed for 8 days. It was a home from home. Very quiet and peaceful and very comfortable. We loved it all.