FB Twitter

Monument Cottage

Monument Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 5 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.8


Monument Cottage is a charming, mid-terrace, Edwardian holiday cottage in the Cotswold village of Churchill, just 3 miles from Chipping Norton and Daylesford Organic Farm. The cottage sleeps 4 guests across 2 double bedrooms, with a family bathroom and has recently been refurbished in a beautiful, contemporary style that compliments the original Edwardian features. A fabulous kitchen-dining room, with a wood burner, opens to a sunny courtyard, while to the front is an elegant living room overlooking a pretty cottage garden. The cottage accepts one dog and has on-street parking and is a minute’s walk to The Chequers pub and restaurant.

Great Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (four female friends) had a great time staying at Monument Cottage for a weekend. The kitchen is really lovely, and well stocked with all stuff you need. There are even board games and a pack of cards available for use. We had dinner in the Kingham Plough which was easy to reach via the taxi numbers provided (so we could have some wine and not drive). The second night we ate at Chequers which is in the village (a minute walk away). We spent the whole day on Saturday walking via public paths through the neighbouring farms around the area and to Chipping Norton for some tea. Then spent Sunday morning pottering around Stow on the Wold. All round great weekend. I will be back.



Bolthole Retreats replied 193 days ago
Dear Elva, Thank you for your review of Monument Cottage. We're so pleased you enjoyed your weekend here with friends, it's a lovely spot. Hopefully, we can welcome you back to the beautiful Cotswolds again soon. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

An idyllic bank holiday birthday weekend!

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Monument cottage over the August bank holiday weekend. The entire process of booking and initial access to the property was so easy and stress-free, and the entire stay followed suit, allowing us to fully relax and switch-off in an idyllic location.
The property is gorgeously decorated, with all the home comforts you could ever want and more. The kitchen/diner in particular is fabulous. The house in general provides for both a cosy haven for colder evenings, and a fabulous, bright space for the warmer days. The beds are incredibly comfy, we all slept better than we had in a while!
The location would be very hard to beat - beautiful countryside all around, a quick minute's walk to a fantastic dog-friendly pub, and endless footpaths to take you to all the different surrounding villages. We especially took advantage of the lovely walk to Kingham, and then on to Daylesford.
I couldn't recommend this wonderful property enough. Nicole, the owner, was also easily reachable when we had a query during the stay & was very helpful. We felt incredibly lucky to be there & will definitely be returning.




Bolthole Retreats replied 262 days ago
Dear Jenni, Thank you for such a wonderful review of your time at Monument Cottage. We're so pleased your enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds again in the very near future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

A great few days in the beautiful village of Churchill

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Monument cottage in Churchill. The location of the house was lovely, very peaceful with beautiful walks on it’s doorstep and of course the excellent Chequers pub just a short stroll down the road.
The house itself has been tastefully decorated, is full of Edwardian character and charm but also has lovely modern touches.
The only recommendation we have to push the comfort rating to its full potential for its maximum occupancy of 4 people, would be to have some additional seating in the living room, as we did find it wasn’t that comfortable if all four it of us were sitting in the lounge in the evening. It’s a small space, so I can understand why it hasn’t been overloaded with furniture, but for a family with two adults and two kids we did find it was a bit of a tight squeeze if we were all in the lounge together.
Equally the kitchen would benefit from two comfier chairs either side of the log burner rather than the rattan style ones.
We were very impressed with the service we received from Bolthole retreats, so would definitely book through them again when we visit the Cotswolds in the future. Many Thanks







Bolthole Retreats replied 290 days ago
Hi Laura, Thank you for your review and feedback, it's always useful to know what the guest' experience of the cottage was like. We hope to welcome you back sometime. Kind regards BoltholeRetreats

Gorgeous stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Equipped beautifully. Perfect for a short stay with children. Very grateful for the laundry tablets and washing machine, dishwashers etc.
Made for a very easy break.
Style of the cottage is gorgeous. Spot on. Only thing I'd change to make it comfy for autumn and winter break is a bigger arm chair in the lounge.
Love the kids bubble bath and big touches like the incredible hydrangeas in kitchen.
Really stunning.
Will be returning.




BoltholeRetreats replied 345 days ago
Hi Rachel, Thank you so much for your review - we are glad you had a lovely stay and would be delighted to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, BoltholeRetreats

Monument Cottage short break

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent facilities, very clean. Looks as though there had been a very recent refurbishment. Everything needed was on hand and the kitchen doors opened fully to the small patio which let in the outside. Churchill is a good location - locally a park opposite for exercising the Labrador and also spending time with our daughter - the Chequers pub is 100 metres away and we had two fantastic meals there - highly recommended. Other activities and places to visit accessible, Chipping Norton close by for provisions etc. Good information pack from Bolthole and also milk etc. from Simon and Nicole.



Bolthole Retreats replied 348 days ago
Hi Liam, Thank you for your feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you again.