FB Twitter

Prince Rupert; Dog Friendly, Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

Prince Rupert; Dog Friendly, Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.1


Prince Rupert is a dog-friendly apartment cottage, which sleeps 3 guests across one double and one single bedroom. The accommodation is arranged over two floors, with a living area, dining area and fully equipped kitchen downstairs and the two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs. Prince Rupert is in the converted Old Forge, and an end apartment of three, sharing a decking area with Charles I and George III, with each apartment having its own seating area with views across a lawn to a footpath and woodland.

Guests staying at Prince Rupert enjoy complimentary (other than separately ticketed events) day-time entrance to Sudeley Castle & Gardens during the open season.

Weekend in Feb

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Comfortable cottage, with all facilities that we needed..
Took a while to warm up as heating wasnt on and probably hadn't been for a while, heating set to come on too late when it's so cold. Luckily we had with us some WD40 as door look so stiff we couldn't shut door or open easily, the very wet weather hadn't helped.
Otherwise a good restful 2 days .




Great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a great place to stay and Castle experiences were super. Quirky place with everything you need for a short break away to enjoy the Cotswoldslds.



BOLTHOLE TREASURE

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable cottage for two people , plus dog. Free entry to Sudeley Castle appreciated. Room for improvement through :
.An acknowledgement of final payment would have been nice,
. Review additional charges as feel a charge for cleaning and a charge for a dog is excessive,
.not replacing carbon monoxide monitor before expiry date meant a disturbed nights sleep when battery alarm went off. Batteries in torch were also too low.




Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are french people who enjoy very much the English way of life and who like to come back at Suddeley cottages for many years. (perhaps one of the most regular Customer !)
See you certainly next year
Sincerly .





Great position

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Sudeley Castle is a must visit and lovely walks.
Beds would ideally be bigger. Otherwise very nice.




Excellent quality and location.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I wanted a cottage for my visiting family, that was also near enough to meet up without need of a car.
With me living in Winchcombe, the Sudeley cottage was ideal.

The Prince Rupert cottage was good/excellent in all aspects; a memorable w/end break.

I may also add, that the online description of this cottage was matched by the reality -- well done.




Cotswold break

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We very much enjoyed our stay in Prince Rupert cottage. One or two things needed attention but overall quite happy



Honeymoon with family!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked four of the Sudeley castle cottages to spend time with family who had traveled from New Zealand for our wedding. We have stayed in the cottages a number of times before, so we knew the location was perfect, but this was our first stay since the cottages have been refurbished and we were incredibly impressed. The bathrooms are now fantastic, previously I couldn't stand up in the shower, but that's not a problem now. The kitchen is very well equipped and the cottages are beautifully furnished throughout. Will definitely be returning.



Mini break

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with my 82 year old Father, very comfortable, home from home, well equipped.
Problem with heating when we arrived but I rang the office and engineer arrived within the hour to sort it out. A great base for exploring locally especially the steam railway.




Overall excellent - but a few pointers for improvements.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We very much enjoyed our stay - but had a few issues with the cottage.
The main problem was the heating - the instructions provided were poor and it seemed random whether it was on or off.
The lack of hand towels was unhelpful.
Also a large pan would have been useful.
We still had a lovely time - what a great location.




Perfect location to visit Sudeley Castle,Winchcome and other places of interest.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect a mix of olde worlds charm and modern comforts nothing on the place jarred, the attention to detail second to none, look forward to a return visit.



Meandering in North Gloucestershire.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great stay with the Prince Rupert accommodation first class, the staff where very helpful and the over view was highly recommended. We will go back to stay again because the whole area was very beautiful. The centre of many walks including the Cotswold Way. Amber dog enjoyed the stay too.



Great quirky place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our little getaway, our stay at Prince Rupert was excellent, and even better we were able to bring the dog along. Will definitely be back to stay.
Thank you.




An excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jan 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We needed a place to stay in the countryside and with a new baby, this was ideal. enough space, all the amenities and requirements available, the countryside on your doorstep, locally sourced foods, away from the hustle and bustle of big cities, but close enough if needed. Would definitely stay here again.



Break after New Year

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed a short break in Winchcombe after New Year, linking in with some local work commitments.
The Sudeley Castle cottages turned out to be an ideal and comfortable base for some good local walking.




Christmas at Prince Rupert

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic stay at Prince Rupert via Bolthole Retreats. We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful setting, amenities, comfort and cottage feel. We were able to take lovely walks through Winchcombe which is a lovely town and also visit the spectacular site of nearby Sudely Castle. We will definitely be booking a return visit. Thank you.



Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Always same satisfaction each year we use to come.

Perhaps, an other mean to get the key code for late arrival.




Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
These cottages are situated in a beautiful part of the Cotswolds, fantastic walks on your doorstep, Sudley Castle a short walk away, other Cotswolds towns a short drive away. The cottage was perfect for a 4 night break, clean and well equipped. Highly recommend, will be going back.



Perfect Cotswold homebase

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay at Sudeley was great: convenient check-in, clean facilities, perfect location, friendly staff. We had a great day visiting the castle and used the other days to visit the many surrounding villages. I’d highly recommend this location for a Cotswold stay!



A great dog friendly find

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely quiet property, walking distance to the town. Great walks around in beautiful countryside and very handy for the Postlip beer festival!



A lovely place, but....

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
A lovely place...just missing a few things. Only one tea towel is not sufficient. Also only 1/2 a roll of toilet paper. I understand it is self catering but for the high price we paid for our stay that was a little cheap. Salt and pepper would have been nice too. Visiting from Canada it isn’t feasible to bring from home and just would have pushed our stay from good to excellent all round.



Really lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A song-thrush was in full voice soon into our first evening. It is so peaceful with just the sounds of the country.
The cottage is very well equipped and spotlessly clean.
In particular the kitchen had everything we needed for self-catering.
The bed was comfortable, the water was hot. As you can hear, we liked it a lot




Ideal cottage and ideal situation but

Review submitted on Fri, 18 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were not given directions to the cottage, and not given the code for the front door key. We got in after using the emergency phone on site but it is not what you need after a 250 mile journey!



Disappointing as not as advertised nor booked. Mislead overpriced rude unhelpful host

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Arrived at the cottage to find a double bed and a single not what we had booked which was a double and a twin. We were a party of 4 adults and after a 4 hour journey on a hot day we found this very frustrating. After a conversation we were provided with a very basic camp bed!!!! Not acceptable. The property was not as described and was over priced. The whole week was an inconvenience only 3 chairs on the balcony only one two seater sofa and one armchair. No hand towel in the bathroom nor kitchen. Quite a basic cottage and to top it off there was no salt nor rinse aid in the dishwasher and the blind was broken in the bedroom. The toilet also had hair in it!!! A lovely period cottage that could be so lovely. Really disappointing especially when I had emailed to clarify that the cottage was indeed suitable for 4 adults.



We love Sudeley Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed here on each of our last 6 trips to England from the westcoast of Canada. And each time we have made Sudeley Castle Cottages our home base. It is perfectly situated in Winchcombe village which we also love.



A Great Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here in March 2018. Everything was perfect. Would highly recommend. Property was very clean and had everything we needed



A good place to stay in Winchcombe

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were using the cottage as overnight accommodation for a family celebration nearby. Recently refurbished and updated, it was a convenient and comfortable base - once we had mastered the heating control (the first night we overheated). The cottage was described as sleeping 3 but the second bedroom is, we discovered on arrival a twin and not a single. Access is via a number of steps and stairs.



Great Location - Recently Refurished

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here as base accommodation while working in the area.

The little hamlet the cottages are situated in is lovely and very 'quaint'; like a number of the cottages I have stayed in here they all seem to have little quirks in layout but this only adds to the overall charm.

Cottage was overall nice and clean and all staff were a pleasure to deal with (kept my lost property back and personally delivered it to my place of work).

The addition of dishwashers to the newly refurbished apartments is a real bonus but I wished I had looked around more to find the fact that they had provided a couple of tablets before going out and purchasing some.

Walking routes in the guide are good as well. Highly recommend going out to the roman mosaic the fact that it is so excellently persevered under a tarp in the middle of a wood is pretty amazing.

One minor thing with the cottage was the fact that the dressing area within the twin single room is optimistically sized at best. However, I imagine it would be perfect for young children who enjoy dressing up and such; I cannot see an adult fitting.





Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As former Customer (we came for first time in 1989 at Archer cottage) we appreciate very much our annual stay in Sudeley Castle cottages since 2006.
We intend to come again next year !




Weekend stay at Prince Rupert cottage Sudeley Castle

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Prince Rupert cottage for our Granddaughter's wedding who got married in Sudeley Castle and the cottage was so perfect it added to making our weekend a very joyous occasion. Will definitely stay there again. We were so pleased that we have told our friends and family about them.