FB Twitter

Allt Beag House

Allt Beag House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


Just a hundred metres from the seafront, this Victorian villa has a wonderfully elevated position with fabulous views of the Kyles of Bute. It has been beautifully renovated and furnished, creating a comfortable, inviting holiday house that’s full of coastal charm. The flexible and spacious accommodation is perfect for families and friends looking to holiday together.

4 day stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spend four days at Allt Beag with some American family and unanimously agreed that everything about the house was first rate - the location, decor, provisions for entertaining both children and adults and cooking facilities. Would certainly recommend the house to anyone wanting to visit lovely Argyll.

Just one note - the local shops stock only basic groceries and fruit and veg. There is no butcher or fishmonger in the village so do take supplies with you if you plan to cook at home.




Fantastic Accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely week - even with the rain! House was beautiful, lovely decor, fantastic views and good to have a secure garden for the dog to enjoy. Plenty of room for 8 people. Places to walk to from the house, local pubs and well stocked small local shop. What more can you want?



Fantastic house on Argyll's secret coast

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Allt Beag. It is a fantastic house, beautifully decorated, in a wonderful location overlooking the Kyles of Bute. The garden is a delight. The owner was so helpful when we spoke to him, with lots of useful local information. We hope to visit this very special part of the country in the future and wouldn't hesitate to stay at Allt Beag once again.



Summer vacation

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another enjoyable stay at this house and again the weather was good. Only issue (as last time) was with the heating - we couldn't get it to come on when it was colder and then it came on the middle of the night when it was already very hot. Keith put it on remotely the first time. We never did get the hang of it though and just bought some logs for the fire when we needed heat. Otherwise, a very well equipped house.



July stay 2019

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with my mother and daughter for 6 nights.
The house is beautiful and comfortable and the views are fabulous.
There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, even on very rainy days.

I look forward to returning again soon.




Stunning views

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 10 days at the Alt Beag House and the pictures do not the property justice. The property has everything you require and the extra touches of books,games and large selection of dvd’s available to use.
The views from the property are stunning and there are lots of interesting things to do in the area. We where a group of six with age group ranging from 20 to 80 and our pet border collie, their property offered plenty of room.
Would highly recommend and will be returning again.




Beautiful setting for relaxing holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable house. Very well equipped kitchen. Fantastic big enclosed garden with wonderful views that you would never tire of. Very peaceful location but good facilities within easy walking distance. Weather was great during our stay and Tighnabruich is an amazing setting with beautiful scenery all around. A wonderful isolated sandy beach is very nearby.



Lovely Victorian villa

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay here. We had fantastic weather which helped. Beautiful accommodation for all the family. We had a couple of issues with the heating, but the owners were very responsive



Weekend at Allt Beag, Tighnabruaich

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Characterful property with a modern kitchen with all appliances. Well presented rooms and comfortable beds with quality bedding. Could have done with one or two more instructions on how to work central heating "nest" etc (never got our heads round how to set the hot plates or microwave). Garden well tended - only thing stopping instant curb appeal when arriving down the back steps is that the outside of the windows - especially the sills - at the back need a good clean. For the owner's attention I should like to point out that the guttering leaks over the front sitting room window. None of these small details spoiled our holiday of course.



Beautiful house in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is really beautiful and comfortable with lovely views down the Kyles of Bute. It's very well equipped and the owner was helpful and responsive to our needs. We didn't have great weather on our trip but with the log burner and open fire along with the many games provided we had a wonderful stay.



Hogmanay 17/18

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent family break.. the house is extremely comfortable and well equipped... we are already planning another stay for Hogmanay 18/19...



Lovely family home with lots of space.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautifully appointed house with lots of space and ideal for two families. 4 large bedrooms upstairs with a good bathroom and a double size lounge area downstairs.Very comfortable beds with quality bedlinen. Kitchen and utility room were spacious and well equipped. Just about everything we needed for xmas cooking was there (although we could not find weighing scales or a fine seive). We had a problem with the heating but the owner responded quickly and fixed it remotely so no problem there. And the showers were great.
Ideal location within the village, easy walk to the shop and hotel and stunning views down the west Kyle to Inchmarnock Island and Arran beyond.
We would recommend this house to anyone.




Beautiful house

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic house in a lovely location. Comfortable and special. Watching the sun come up an go down on the porch was great. The garden is so interesting. Close to pubs, restaurants and yet has that feeling of being removed, with a fantastic view. We will be back.



great place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very relaxing loved the choice of paint colours! kitchen equipment was good. pub nearby has great food as well.



Allt Beag house

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful house, comfortable and decorated to a very high standard. Everything you would need was available in the whole house, kitchen utensils, books and games etc. Fantastic view from the porch, well kept gardens I would recommend it to anyone.



Summerholiday

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved it and we recommend the house to everyone ............................................................



Iain Fleming property manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are slightly confused with your scoring, especially condition, location and value for money only receiving 3 stars. We consistently receive higher scores and with your title saying 'We loved it and we recommend the house to everyone' seems to be a contradiction. Kind regards Iain

a very special holiday house

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well situated- back from shore but near centre of Tighnabruaich- terrific view, great secure garden. Access is from rear of house, down narrowish path which makes getting cases and stuff in, a little bit of a chore. That minor criticism is more than compensated for by everything else - the house is very comfortable and very well equipped. There are interesting interior design touches throughout. The kitchen is beautiful with smart appliances and all the cooking equipment you could possibly want. A very special holiday house.




Perfect relaxing break.

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Tighnabruaich and Allt Beag House, and although the weather wasn't as good as last year , the accommodation was just perfect. Allt Beag is a beautiful home , spotlessly clean and comfortable with a wonderful 'home from home' feel to it...., Everything about it is relaxing, We will certainly be back, .....thank you Keith& Bridget....



A comfortable family house with a very large garden overlooking the sea.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Well equipped with all mod-cons. The garden was completely enclosed which was excellent for the dog, as long as the gates were shut. Care would be needed with small children due to the stream running through. The location was peaceful with glorious views over to Bute. The village was about 10 minutes walk with a few shops and cafés. Nice walks from the house and the Cowal peninsula has excellent scenery, with access by ferry to several islands.
The house felt very homely . We did find the lack of information a bit of a problem, but managed to contact the owner who was very helpful and responded quickly.




A real Home

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a pleasure to spend five days in a real home. It makes a massive difference when find a place which is someone's home and not just a place for rent.
The owners have obviously decided to leave all of their own beautiful and tasteful art lovely furniture and objects precious to them in the house and trust people they don't know to enjoy them for a few days.
Excellent accommodation truly fully equipped with all you could possibly need for your stay.

The view location and area simply spectacular. What an amazing few days. Thank you
Cameron and Magy




A wonderful short break

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thankyou
We enjoyed our stay
The house was beautiful
Be it a little cold until we got the heating on
The view from the house is magnificent
Thankyou again.




Allt Beag - small stream, big house

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Allt Beag is set up just like a home from home.
The kitchen is stocked with just about every utensil, pot and pan you could ever wish to use.
The gardens are immaculate and a great place to sit out and relax. The views are simply stunning, with sailing boats regularly making for that perfect photograph.
Our party was a group of 8 away on a weeks golfing/fishing/sporting break. Allt Beag was perfect for this.
A supermarket and post office within walking distance, as are a handful of restaurants and a couple of bars.
The housemaid is at the end of the phone should you need her, and the owner is very receptive to new ideas.

All in all, a great place to stay, in a beautiful location. We will definitely be re-booking for next year




Overall good, if a few minor deficiencies were addressed it would be excellent.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Because we arrived late in rain and wind, poor instructions about where to locate access to the house (from main road front gate or rear road?) and where to park.

Internet metered so although OK for email etc, not usueable for streaming e.g. iPlayer on a wet evening. Booking details should always indicate if Internet is metered and limited.

Good service from Argyll agent to replace door key as original was temperamental fit in lock.

No instructions for heating to reduce when too hot one night, or turn up for a cold evening.

Some light bulbs dead or missing from centre lights !

Tighnabruiach is excellent base to stay. Royal Hotel great food. Local people friendly and helpful. Food shopping limited so go prepared.






Great house, wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house had everything you could possibly need. We booked for two weeks, Ireane came in at the end of the first week and changed all the sheets and towels. The location is fantastic wonderful views. My dogs loved the extensive garden, my elder daughter appreciated the DVDs and my younger daughter you couldn't get off the trampoline. If you didn't feel like cooking then go to The Royal Hotel, A two minute walk from the house the owners and the staff there were great as was the food in both their restaurant and bar. Used the spa in Tighnabruaich the owner there Jo is marvellous recommend the massage and the facial. You can even order a Indian take away on a Saturday afternoon for delivery on the Sunday from the Spar shop. Donald will take you on a lovely boat trip to see the seals. Portavadie has a great swimming pool, the water is a perfect temperature. Pucks Glen is great for a walk. There was so much to do and see cant fit it in this review!! Would defiantly recommend and no doubt we will return.



Highly recommend.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house, beautiful gardens, great views - all in all fab!! Lovely house but not uncomfortably so - you could liive in it like home and not worry about everything. Found the hob a bit tricky to use but sure you would get used to it after time!

The house was spotless on arrival with lovely fresh towels and bedding.

Have no complaints whatsoever - even the weather was good to us!!

Jane




Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent location with stunning views, a great base in order to travel and discover the area. The house was very well equipped and we would definitely return in the future!