FB Twitter

An Cala Bungalow

An Cala Bungalow

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


This contemporary and stylish glass-fronted bungalow boasts views over the beautiful Asgog Loch. Ideal for couples, families or a romantic retreat for an escape to peace and tranquillity.

The modern bungalow built in 2012, has three bedrooms, 2 double bedrooms, one with ensuite, and one twin bedded room and a modern spacious bathroom. Designed for open plan living with modern kitchen, an inviting open lounge area with lovely loch views, featuring a skylight for natural light. This room opens up onto a lovely deck with outdoor furniture, a perfect place to unwind with good friends, marvel at the views or seek solitude with a good book and a glass of wine. Sleeps 6.

Great, relaxing break - we loved it.

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay. We know the area, so it wasn't an issue for us, but the information folder could contain a lot more local information. The bungalows might benefit from compost bins - we live in Argyll and also have 3 weekly bin collections. A garden compost bin tucked away out of sight would hugely reduce what people have to put in the general waste bin. Glass bottle recycling would also be good - we took our glass bottles home so we could recycle them - but previous guests had put them in the general waste bin as they couldn't go in the blue recycle bin.





Winter stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent weekend away! An Cala was exactly as described and cosy in the wild weather! 5*! Would return



Always a favourite retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic cottage in a beautiful area. Well-equipped and very comfortable, well located for everything at Portavadie and beyond.
Will definitely be back.




Not many home comforts in this secluded spot

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
There were 5 of us in this cottage advertised for 6. However, the accommodation was clearly designed for 4 or less. So, only 6 mugs, plates etc meant washing up after every snack. Only 4 comfortable chairs. No wardrobes or drawers in the bedrooms, just a small hanging space, so in shared rooms, one person had to live out of a suitcase. The outside furniture was a couple of rough benches and a table, no cushions to put out on the chairs and very heavy to move. There is no garden.
The location was also misleading. It is loch side but there is no real access to the loch. It's down a really rough forestry road and surrounded by previous logging activity so not very scenic. It does have great access to Portavadie.
The accommodation was spotlessly clean and had nice bathrooms with lots of solar powered hot water. However, there were literally no home comforts or the added details that make self-catering cottages a treat to visit.




New Year Getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
You get an immediate WOW factor when you park up at this property as it overlooks a small loch with views to the trees and hills beyond. We hired both properties which meant plenty space for all including the dog. The properties are well equipped, warm and very pleasant to stay in with 3 sets of double doors in the living and kitchen area to enjoy the surroundings even when you are inside. The area is hidden away but not isolated as you are a short distance from Portavadie Marina and the villages of Kames and Tighnabruich which are all a nice walk or 5-10 mins in the car.
This place has got everything, peace and quiet, long walks, beautiful scenery but if you want to get a pint or go for a swim, or sit in the outside pool at Portavadie, its all on your doorstep.
We will be back in the summer




Winter Break

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An Cala Bungalow
Our stay was enjoyable in this remote bungalow, access road was poor for normal cars could cause damage,the bungalow was excellent well kept and clean, countryside views stunning, great location for walking / cycling.
I would definitely revisit probably during the summer months, weather plays a big part in this location.
Regards John




Wish we had stayed longer!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An Cala was absolutely stunning & beautiful surroundings! We wanted relaxation & that's what we got. It was great to have modern accommodation that would also accept our 4 legged friend.

Our future plan is to hire both bungalows with friends & family. :)





Great break in great place

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location matched by the lovely holiday cottage. Definitely an "away from it all" experience in a cottage that is well equipped with 2 good bathrooms and 3 bedrooms. Trip to Portavadie spa helps the tired legs after a long walk across the headland. Scenery in area is fantastic.



Another great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Definitely recommend both the area and the accommodation. Plenty to do - all the benefits of Portavadie alongside without the cost of their own chalets.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great wee find, perfect location u could hear a pin drop, the accomadation was lovely really clean with nice comfy beds, every mod con and nice and warm , great for walkers, night sky watchers, nature lovers and dogs, fantastic beach a few miles away with golden sands, would highly recommend a visit to this lodge and area.



2 day break .

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Feb 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed at An Cala because Cottages at Portavadie were full .
Some details could be improved . Sofa was really poor quality and in very bad condition.
TV too small . A welcome pack - tea,coffee,sugar etc would be a good idea.
Apart from that , a good quality cottage.




Weekend away

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to an Cala. It's lovely and remote. Got everything you need. Only downfall was that due to it being winter season not a lot was open in other towns. But the bungalow itself was brilliant. Thanks again for a great stay.



Comments

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time even though Storm Barbara tried her best to upset things

The lady who looks after the property is first rate and she made us feel very welcome.




stunning location view over loch excelent

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Place to be if you wish peace and tranquillity excellent base for walking and fishing hope to return in the near future a secret place on the secret coast Bruce & Suzanne



Fabulous Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I visited for the Kyle10 miles road run. The location was perfect. Close to the start and for a handy massage at Portavadie post race! Ideal for anyone enjoying the outdoors and seeking peace and quiet.



Fantastic!

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have nothing negative to stay about our stay at An Cala. We absolutely loved it. The location was perfect, the accommodation was clean, modern and had everything one needed.

We will definitely be back!




Beautiful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful idyllic location, providing peace and tranquility. We enjoyed sitting outside overlooking the loch, eating our meals, painting, reading and watching the stars.
Would have benefitted from better directions from Millhouse as the satnav only took us so far along the road, taking us to a nearby farm. We had to go back to Millhouse to knock on a door to ask for directions.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Argyll's Secret Coast, at the end of the week we wished we had booked to stay for two!




Peaceful painting holiday in An Cala, July 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Mum and I spent 4 peaceful, relaxing days in An Cala. The cottage is well equipped, very clean, and cosy. We were delighted to find the kitchen has a dishwasher. The lounge/dining area was a bit smaller than I expected, but was bright and airy with lovely views over the loch - wonderful for painting - always changing.
The bedrooms are bright and adequate size, with open hanging space and a couple of shelves. Beds very comfortable with good quality linen.
The cottage is a mile down a forestry road in a "working" forest, so some areas are being cleared, and others planted. The view was disconcerting when starting down the forestry road, but quickly improved on arrival at the cottage. Although the location seems isolated, it is surprisingly convenient for places on Loch Fyne and the Kyles of Bute. It is a wonderful base for walking, cycling, and fishing, and is on the Cowal Way long distance trail.