FB Twitter

Ash Lodge

Ash Lodge

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.6


Ash Lodge is a lovely, cosy log cabin set in the most picturesque location in Whistlefield by Loch Eck. With stunning mountain views this inviting lodge is perfect for a romantic escape offering opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing or simply relaxing in this beautiful location. Sleeps 2.

Great stay at Ash Lodge!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Ash Lodge! Very clean, cosy and quick responses from the owners. It was great value for money. The surrounding area is absolutely beautiful! And we enjoyed a great dinner at the Whistleford pub just up the road. Highly recommended and thanks for our stay.

To be aware, it's not completely secluded, with similar lodges neighbouring but it's at the bottom so you don't look out onto anyone.





Lovely Cosy Cabin in a Peaceful Location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jan 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cabin was lovely, comfortable and warm. The shower was good, the bed very comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed including a dishwasher. There is a good selection of books and DVDs. Parking is a little further away from the cabin but close enough not to be inconvenient.

There is a large covered veranda overlooking the garden, with furniture. If you love birds, take plenty of seed. There are bird feeders which we filled with seed and we saw a lot of birds visiting. There are also red squirrels in the area.

A beautiful area and a good location for cycling/walking in the forestry.

We would definitely return.




Amazing location and very nice lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We’ve had an amazing time. The lodge is located in a very nice and quiet area with a lot to explore around.




Away from it all

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's in a lovely quiet and scenic area. Great for a get away from it all holiday. Facilities in the lodge are excellent, everything you need is there. There is plentyto see and do around the area.so mean ideal base. We loved our stay.



Perfect for a short getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved staying here, the lodge is perfect for a few nights away and our dog loved running about the garden space.
The lodge itself was spotless and absolutely big enough for me, my partner and our dog. The location is about 15 mins drive from the port, our satnav struggled to find the actual plot where the lodges were but we called Chris who was really helpful in directing us. The lodge is a 5 min drive to Benmore Botanic Gardens (which is worth a visit) but as we only had one full day there we didn’t get to explore anywhere else.
Would recommend here and would stay again!




Loch Eck

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love area, love the cabin, dry, warm, clean, comfortable and cosy, little traffic, so easy to get to



Beautiful accommodation in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge was extremely clean on arrival. We found the location of the lodges very easily although because it was pitch black we struggled to find our lodge. We phoned and we're explained and then found it very easily. Customer service was very good and didn't mind us phoning so late at night. Cabin was so comfortable and cosy. We had an amazing time and there was so much to see and do in the area. Would definitely stay again and would definitely recommend.



ASH

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean well equiped lodge.
Bed super comfortable.
Everything we expected.
Towels fluffy and smelled of comfort.




Ash lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place just 20 minutes from Dunoon. Cozy at night time. Brilliant fun for the dog, would come back again



Good location for Cowal

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Location in the Argyll Forest Park is good but the lodge is close (30 metres) to a main road which means there is often traffic noise.

The property was clean and well equiped, but there was a stale smell always present - probably due to the fact they allow pets, so as none pet owners we shouldn't have choosen this one.

A good point is that the decking area was covered which many of the other lodges here were not, but this meant the interior was dark.




Great stay at Ash Lodge!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We recommend both this location and specific accomodation to explore the Scottish Highlands. Had a great stay in this clean, well maintained lodge in very good condition. Nothing too fancy, but not looking for that if you rent a lodge for hiking: value for money. Friendly neighbours around and happy about the support and customer service.



Honeymoon at Ash Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing and peaceful break ideal for a couple to stay. The lodge is situated on the lower level of the slope, so outlooking onto trees and the mountains (not looking out onto another lodge!). Very helpful owners. The only negative thing we found was that we had to wash some kitchen utensils as they had grease/remainders of food on them from previous users.
Lots of lovely walks to do around the the lodge in the Argyll area.




The lodg had lovely soundings and nice little pub to eat in very friendly people great views

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we got there the man that owned the lodge was there he was a very friendly man welcomed us the area was beautiful it was the lovelyest little cabin love our time there and would book again



Hassle free, great place with stunning views

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great weekend here with my partner,if your looking for a quiet getaway from everything and everybody this place is a must, the cabin was brilliant,spotless clean,cosy and equiped with everything you'll need. The scenery and views are breathtaking,the whistlefield inn serves amazing food and the people are so welcoming. I will definitely be back.



Cosy lodge near Loch Eck

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Ash Lodge, very good value for money. Kitchen is a good size, worth noting there is no freezer shelf in the fridge (wasn't an issue for us).
The location is good, there is no direct view of Loch Eck and there is a main road between the lodge and loch. The lodge is part of Whistlefield lodges that are really quite on top of each other, if you are looking for seclusion this might not be for you. The lodge is however on the bottom row of lodges and the view from the lounge/diner is of trees.
The wifi is great. The bed is extremely comfortable. The shower gets really nice and hot. There is also a good selection of DVDs and books at the property, perfect for a winter getaway.
The lodge is in an area of very low light pollution so great for star gazing. Also, the Whistlefield Inn is about a 3 minute walk and highly recommend - they even cater for vegans! Yay!
All in all, very good value for money and in a beautiful part of the world, Dunoon only 20 mins away and Inveraray about 45 mins.




Lovely cosy cabin

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equiped and cosy cabin with everything you would need for a lovely stay. The cabin was warm and clean with a very comfy bed and duvet. A beautiful place for a relaxing break with lots of walks within easy reach. Loch Eck is stunning. Whistlefield Inn was very handy when you don't feel like cooking and also dog-friendly and welcoming.



Away from the grind

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Excellent location and fabulous scenary.
Kicked back and relaxed, with excellent local interests to visit and explore.
Would highly recommend Pucks Glen and the amazing Benmore Botanical Gardens for a visit.

Our only negatives would be signposting to the lodge and other lodges, as it took a while to find it.
There are door numbers, but you need to go down steps to individual lodges to find out.
It would be advantageous to have a site plan at the entrance to the private road.

Would highly recommend the location to anybody who wants to just get away from the rat race for a while at least




Fantastic short break

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in this lovely cottage for a few days to get away from it all...it was remote yet easy access to dunoon for some shopping.fantasric walks right on ur doorstep and the whistlefield inn served excellent food!the cabin was lovely clean warm and homely with everything you could possibly need for your stay.would definately recommend it



Ideal getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely lodge for a couple. lodge was clean and bed was really comfortable and had everything we needed nice and quiet for a relaxing break there are seating areas outside it catches the afternoon sun and we were lucky enough to be able to sit out as weather was good you are within walking distance to the whistlefield inn which is nice and serves meals it is a good base for exploring the area we met Chris the owner when we arrived as we arrived earlier than expected which wasn't a problem he was very nice and helpful and filled us in on the area we really enjoyed our stay here as did our wee dog Rosie and wouldn't hesitate to recommend ash lodge to anyone wanting a relaxing break