FB Twitter

Benmore Byre

Benmore Byre

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.9


Benmore Byre is a real jewel of a place. It’s a beautiful barn conversion set within the grounds of a working farm near Dunoon.
It’s just a short stroll to Benmore Botanical Gardens (you’re even provided with a free pass to the gardens for the duration of your stay)
and you have the wonderful Argyll Forest and Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Parks on your doorstep.

This cottage itself has been lovingly restored from the ruins of an old barn and retains some wonderful original features,
including thick stone walls and coombed ceiling. All the interior wood is Douglas Fir, harvested from the grounds of the farm itself.
The open-plan living space is cosy and comfy with a wood-burning stove. The kitchen is fully fitted and well equipped.
The bathroom has a shower over bath and under-floor heating. The two bedrooms upstairs are spacious and light with velux windows.
The cottage has its own small enclosed garden area to the front.

Happy New Year

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having returned to the cottage for our fourth visit, we have had another very relaxing holiday. The location is so peaceful, with lots of lovely locations to explore through walks. Our children love to explore the woodlands. The cottage has everything you require in terms of cooking utensils, bedding, towels, washing machine, microwave and dishwasher, making things so easy. It’s a great way to bring in the New Year with the family, a real home for home. We look forward to returning next year.



Wonderful!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing holiday at Benmore Byre. Lovely sunny patio to sit out and watch the hills, forests, birds and sheep. We saw red squirrels every day and even a pine marten! Beautifully clean accommodation and very comfortable beds. Spectacular forest walks nearby and plenty to do in Dunoon as well. WiFi was unavailable - not a problem for us, but maybe for some folks if they were expecting to have it. The Botanic Gardens Cafe (a beautiful 10 minute stroll away) does have WiFi though if you happen to need it, as well as lots of nice cakes.



Another very relaxing and enjoyable stay in great accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the third time we have been to the Benmore Farm accommodation and, once again, we had a fantastic stay. The accommodation is superb and well maintained. The surrounding location is great with many beautiful walks close by.

Very quiet and undisturbed. Highly recommended.




What more could you wish for?

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kayren and Neil were the perfect hosts. A friendly welcome greeting despite them having such busy lives. We were so impressed with Benmore Byre. The location was perfect for us...out the way, with plenty of space to feel free...very important with 3 small children. Fantastic views from the kitchen overlooking the cows and calves, a heron regularly dropping in. The trees and the hillside with all the wonderful colours reminding us all the time we were in Scotland. The rooms were spacious and the layout worked well, all the woodwork gave such a cosy quality feel to the place. Well located for many outdoor attractions and for Morrisons and Coop in Dunoon. Of all the holiday homes we have stayed in, this was the only one that really did feel like home. Thanks again to Kayren and Neil.



Excellent hideaway

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location, very comfortable and well equipped. Ideal for visiting the area or even having a quiet break from the hussle and bussle. Highly recommended.



Great place

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely and the setting superb. The owners are helpful and friendly. Great walks from the door - we had two dogs with us. Very dog friendly as fully fenced garden. Hope to stay there again in the future.



Great Time

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time, it was so peaceful. The Byre was great, everything as good as the web site. there was plenty of walks and superb countryside.



Great stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Benmore Byre; a very comfortable place with tasteful interior in a peaceful area. This was our third time here. Everything you wish for is available. The owners are very friendly and helpful.