FB Twitter

Craigiemichael Coach House

Craigiemichael Coach House

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
73% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
3.9
Condition
4.0
Location
4.5
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.1


Craigiemichael Coach House is an idyllic cottage set amid the coastal village of Innellan, peaceful and unspoiled with sea views across the Clyde Estuary. Recently restored with its original stonework this warm and welcoming holiday retreat is filled with character and rustic charm. Sleeping up to five guests, perfect for a family break or a romantic escape for two.

Warmly furnished, this ground floor apartment has an inviting and spacious living area, complete with comfortable sofas, a small sitting area for meals, freeeview television, CD player and Wi-fi access. This room features floor to ceiling windows with lovely garden views that open onto the outside front terrace. An ideal spot for sunny mornings.

A gem!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location for exploring the beautiful area of the Cowal Peninsular. Extremely well equipped kitchen with plenty utensils and pots and pans; great oven. It was great to have ample cleaning products and linen available too! Nice bottle of wine and shortbread as a welcome much appreciated.



Short break in Autumn

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was perfectly adequate but missing the cosy feel we would have preferred. People living upstairs could be heard moving around.



Damp

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Impressive from outside but open the door and you are assaulted by a strong smell of damp. On investigation, it appears to come from the middle bedroom.....mould on wall.
Apart from that ok.....light not working in lounge and key safe very fiddly.




Argyll Self Catering Holidays on behalf of the owner replied 269 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We only wish that this water leakage problem was reported on arrival or at least during your stay. We had to wait until the next clients reported the problem to react and remedy the water ingress. This has now been satisfactorily repaired with the smell and mould eradicated. We take pride in our cottage and are deeply annoyed this has had an impact on our guests and their stay with us. We will be privately contacting the client to apologise and discuss further. Best wishes

Escape to the sea side

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location to then go walking, spend time on beach, kids play in park. Shopping 10min lovely drive along coast, then back to the escape.

Yes bit dark, bit if a wobbly sofa bed, front door bit stiff BUT v low price so can’t complain and I would still go back again!




Why holiday abroad

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The situation of this property is excellent. Shoreline 50 meters away magnificent walks ,just relax and let the world go by.First came to Dunoon 55 years ago.It only gets better.



Comfortable Coach House but garden let the house down.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Coach House was clean and very comfortable. The kitchen was very well appointed and equipped. Lounge very comfortable with lovely views. What let the house down was the state of the overgrown garden and rusty mosaic patio furniture. Very disappointing and nothing like the photographs. The patio and BBQ areas are overgrown with weeds. This garden has not been maintained.
I would recommend this accommodation to others if the garden was maintained.




Iain Fleming replied more than 1 year ago
We have immediately addressed the garden issues: we replaced the furniture with rust with a plastic seating set and have removed the old items; the lawn has been mowed and beds weeded; we have planted new flowers in the planters and installed a new archway.

Really enjoyed our stay , great holiday home .

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very comfortable holiday home . with beach just over the road . large kitchen with everything you need . lovely bathroom and bedroom ensuite . living room with big settees and tv . nice dog friendly pub up road . dunoon has nice shops . benmore gardens which allows dogs in . we went to isle of bute for the day . ardentinny beautiful beach . lots to do in the area .



our short break in dunoon

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Nov 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
very nice place plenty of space lounge was always cold but rest of place was lovely maybe the stone floor we come to visit my aunt who lives in dunoon so good place for us to stay nice views too in all very nice



Damp smell to property

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As soon as you open the door the damp smell is there and it never went away fully the whole week we were there.
Having windows open and heating on did not help,nor did the air fresheners that were around the property.
Found several small (1") black worms in the kitchen and bathroom,one was even in the bath.Found it unpleasant.




Iain Fleming replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive review. We are very disappointedthat your stay did not live up to expectations and apologise sincerely. There was a leak in the shower adjacent to the bedroom and water ingress was located and fixed before your arrival. The carpet was industrial cleaned but after your complaint the carpet is now going to be replaced. We only wish that you could have brought this to our attention when staying. We would never have intentionally allowed anyone to stay thinking there would be a damp smell. We have also asked our housekeeping company to do a complete deep clean and be vigilant regarding insects, bugs etc. Please contact us again and we would love to offer a discount on a future break to help alleviate your disappointment and to prove our ability to solve the problems you encountered.

A short stay in Craig Michael coach cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I can't fault the location and the area around the property was lovely . The kitchen faculties was good and the cottage was warm. However the only downside that there was a strong smell of dampness in the cottage more prominent in the bedrooms.



Craigiemichael Coach House

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A good base for exploring the area and some good local eating places...the Villagers Royal especially good value and friendly staff.
The bedrooms are a little dark as little light gets to them at the back of the house. Great place for seal spotting as it overlooks the sea.
Good response from the owner when the hair dryer 'walked' replacing it very quickly. Also owner kindly provided a bottle of wine and some shortbread on arrival. Much appreciated and unexpected.




Comfortable, quiet with good views.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was comfortable with all facilities you would want including BBQ in the garden. Nice sea view, the water is shallow for some distance so it warms up easily in the summer. There is a pub that does great food within walking distance but I would book a table in advance as it gets busy. There are lots of places to visit near by and I would recommend Puchs Glen for really nice walk. The house only had one minor discomfort and that was the bedrooms felt slightly damp but that could be because we didn't have any heating on being the middle of summer. It was very quiet and peaceful with no disturbance from the surrounding neighbours. One day I accidentally lost the front door key but the owner was very kind and gave us a new one. I would stay here again and recommend this place to anyone.



Short holiday stay at the Clyde

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A loveley, well equipped cottage! We found everything we needed for our short stay. The house is a good basis to explore the surroundings.



Bank Holiday Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
My 3 friends and I spent the bank holiday weekend at the Coach house and loved it. The coach house is very well equipped and we enjoyed cooking on the range. There are plenty of games to play if the weather turns back but we walked into Innellan and spent time in the local pubs which were both friendly and welcoming. We also ventured further afield to the Botanical Gardens which is worth a visit. The only downside was a couple of issues with the plumbing - the cistern in the en-suite started constantly refilling and the shower tray in the main bathroom didn't drain away. As it was a weekend there was no way to deal with it although I reported the cistern to the owner who was very apologetic.



Perfect base to explore the Cowal Peninsula, Argyll's Secret Coast and beyond.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay in a beautiful part of the country. A perfect base to explore the Cowal Peninsula, Argyll's Secret Coast and beyond.

Comfortable holiday home with great access to beach, 30 second walk from front door. Red wine and shortbread was a lovely touch.




Lovely location.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Feb 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Positives: Nice house in a beautiful location with seals seen regularly in the water in front of the house. Well equipped kitchen and recently redone bathrooms. House was warm.

Negatives: Floor was grubby (particularly from canine occupants), having used the vacuum cleaner this could do with being replaced. Clothes airer was broken. Some of the bedding (sheets, duvet cover and pillowcases) was a bit tired. All of these things would be easily and quickly fixed, if they were then I would recommend this property.




On behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
I am very disappointed that your recent stay at Craigiemichael Cottage near Dunoon was not as you would have liked. As the owner of the cottage, I take all complaints very seriously, and welcome all suggestions for improvement. I must apologise unreservedly for your principal complaint of dog hairs being found on the floor. We did try our best to resolve this issue by offering housekeeping to thoroughly clean the whole cottage for you during your stay. You refused this service. This should not have happened in the first place and steps have been taken to make sure a repeat will not happen again. New duvet covers and pillow cases have been purchased. The kitchen has also been repainted for a fresher feel. We hope this did not detract from your overall stay and would love for you to visit again in the future. Kind regards Iain Argyll Self Catering Holidays

loved it

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a lovely Christmas in this very comfortable coach house the owner had made sure I had extra chairs to enable me to host a Christmas dinner would recommend this cottage to anyone and I have



Perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely apartment, well equipped and very clean. Perfect location for visiting the forests and locks or just strolling along the waterfront. Seals can be seen on the rocks in front of the property at low tide out near the monument.



Excellent location well appointed good value

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay and found the property easily following the directions provided. The property was in an excellent location and well appointed. We appreciated the wine and shortbread and enjoyed the location especially the beach and seals, as did our dog.
Our only negative was the bed in the back bedroom which we used. It is in need of a new mattress. All instructions were there for the appliances except the washing machine.




Owner, Argyll Self Catering Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Craigiemichael Coach House. The owner thanks you for your comments and has taken your feedback on board and has purchased two brand new double bed mattresses for the double bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you all back to Craigiemichael in the near future.

Long weekend in Innellan

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location of the apartment was excellent and the layout of the property good. It was warm.
However, several lights didn't work - couldn't find spare bulbs but no way of getting to the ceiling light anyway. Made it hard to read in the main living room.
Dining chairs were more like picnic chairs, very uncomfortable and not acceptable as dining chairs
Opened the oven on Sunday to roast a chicken and discovered the roasting tin still there from the previous user - unwashed, disgusting! Why did the cleaner not pick this up? (Scrubbing someone elses pans on Sunday is not my idea of fun)
Gardens in mid October are not at their best but the weeds were high in the front garden - clearly not attended to for a long time.
The view from one of the two bedrooms was of a garden wall - with an overgrown pathway, decorated with a rusting hub-cap and set of tools left out in the elements. Not great.





Iain, Argyll Selef Catering Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We are very disappointed with the review Mrs Emery has published. We only wish she could have contacted us, as asked to do if any problems or faults were found, when staying in the cottage. Light bulbs and oven cleaning would have been dealt with straight away. House keeping have been censored and further checks have been implemented. We strongly disagree with 2/5 for value for money. £211 for 3 nights sleeping up to 6 persons during school holidays is GREAT value for money. Please read all the other fantastic reviews for this lovely cottage.

Almost perfect.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage-type ground floor flat. We had fantastic weather but did wonder what we would do with wet weather clothing - no obvious place to hang such gear if needed. Only other hiccup was with the range cooker - there did not appear to be automatic ignition for the one left front burner we used and no matches to help. Fortunately we had our own. Just nit-picking here. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would definitely recommend this for adult use - meals with children could be a challenge given the table and seating available.



Lovely weekend for our 25th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage, well equipped lovely Kitchen and bathrooms and having access to the internet was a bonus, unfortunately we found the mattresses on the beds very uncomfortable which resulted in back ache and restless nights sleep if the owner invested in better quality mattresses I'm sure our stay would have been more enjoyable.

Everything else in the cottage was fine, lovely area, lovely views and we enjoyed lovely walks we had a lovely relaxing time for our 25th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed a lovely Sunday lunch at the pub "The Villagers Royal" just along the road.

We would stay here again if the mattresses were changed.