FB Twitter

Secret Coast Lodge

Secret Coast Lodge

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.5


Secret Coast Lodge is a stunning coastal holiday lodge set on the hillside in the picturesque village of Kames. The lodge commands spectacular sea views from every angle across the Kyles of Bute.

Chalet needs some TLC etc

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Shower room
The shower & towel rail need updated( mould & rust).
The power cords were too high ( i’m 5’ and couldn’t reach)
Sitting room
The side/folding tables in the sitting room need replaced, they are unsteady and bulky. A small nest of tables would be good.
My husband tidied your cds only to discover many were missing and cases were empty.
Kitchen
We all found it awkward to access the cutlery! There is no substitute for a drawer!
These are constructive criticisms and purely meant as a review to enhance the experience.
We all had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed the use of the chalet. Thank you.




The owner replied 3 days ago
I’m delighted you had a good stay in the lodge. Thank you for your constructive comments. We’re always aiming to improve the guest experience.

Great view

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent lodge. Well equipped. Comfortable. Absolutely gorgeous view.
It had everything we could need.




Great for some peace and quiet

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge was lovely enjoyed our stay just what we were looking for, log fire brought back memories.....



Outstanding holiday location

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tastefully furnished and wonderfully cosy base to explore a beautiful area with great places to eat and fantastic leisure facilities a few miles away at Portavadie



A break away in a peaceful setting with views to die for!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent chalet with most mod cons - no dishwasher though! comfortable beds and good neat kitchen and shower room. Unfortunately I fell and broke my wrist, and we discovered nearest A&E is in Dunoon - 25 miles away. That's the price you pay for being off the beaten track. We loved it and will be back.



Relaxing break at Secret Coast Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Fantastic location but a little disappointed by the lodge. Some items left in the lodge that I wouldn’t have expected such as hair clips on the floor, flip flops in a storage box and a mouldy glove under the sink.
Previous lodges at other locations have provided welcome packs but the Secret Coast Lodge did not provide any of this. We also felt more information could have been available on things to do and see in the area.
Saying all that the views were stunning and the Kames Hotel is a brilliant place for eating and drinking on your doorstep.




Iain Fleming replied more than 1 year ago
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive review. We have taken your points onboard and have spoken to housekeeping and added additional points to their check-list. Also included local website information to the key email for clients to peruse before arriving. Kind regards Iain Argyll Self Catering Holidays.

Kames with a view

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Secret Coast Lodge provided a much needed getaway in stunning Kames. The lodge was clean and had every facility needed for sleeping, laundry, entertainment and cooking. The view from the lodge was outstanding and only a short walk (although maybe steep for some on the way back) to the convenience store and hotel. The public bus to Potavadie provided a lovely trip to Tarbert.



Fantastic Views

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed tow nights in the secret coast lodge. The directions to find the lodge could have been made a clearer with a map as we arrived at the wrong lodge and tried to access, but then realised it wasnt the correct one. The timber decking in front and at the side lodge was very slippery when wet, so owners need to power wash it soon . also the floor coverings in the two bedrooms were of a sort of natural rush type matting ,and not very nice or easy to clean. There were plenty of DVD,s CD,s and Books and Games available, Better instrictions needed to switch satilite TV to DVD needed please.
on the whole a very enjoyable stay , and we would certainly return in the near future.




Smashing wee place.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place to stay for a chilled out weekend. Stunning drive en route to a cottage with stunning views.
Wifi to keep the kids entertained and a log burner to be enjoyed by all during the cosy nights in during the nasty weather.
The cottage was ready earlier than expected which was a bonus - many thanks!!




Staying away in January

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cabins are perfectly located with a fantastic view. Warm and comfortable even in January. Plenty of outdoor space too. The log burning stove was easy to light and very cheerful.



Fantastic lodge and location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a fabulous holiday in this lodge with incredible views. It was everything we could have wished for, well equipped and really cosy with the log burning stove. We will definitely book again.



Beautiful views from this comfortable chalet

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location. Everything we needed in the chalet and very comfortable stay. Several good places to eat out nearby. Glad we discovered The Secret Coast!



Great View

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again............................................................,...........................
..................................................................................
............




Short break with friends

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location and very comfortable lodge, especially wood burning stove.A little disappointed that there was no chimnea as advertised, however it was not required.

Very pleasant stay




An ideal weekend retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped lodge, with everything you could possibly need, and breathtaking views. Our stay was a winter weekend, and the lodge proved very cosey and comfortable. Equally, however, I think it would be great in the summer. Fantastic value for money and would love to go back.