FB Twitter

Tighnaheaglais Cottage

Tighnaheaglais Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
91% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Tighnaheaglais is a charming cottage set in picturesque Kilfinan. The detached three bedroom cottage is nestled in this historic and peaceful location, perfect for families or friends looking for an escape. Sleeps six.

Recently refurbished the cottage is warm and welcoming, featuring an inviting living room, with comfortable leather lounges, lovely garden views and a cosy wood burning stove for cosy nights in after a day exploring this wonderful region.

The well equipped kitchen is bright and modern with cooker, fridge / freezer, wash machine, microwave, toaster, and kettle – all your modern cooking facilities. The kitchen leads to a conservatory and dining area. A cosy spot on sunny or rainy days.

Great get away

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great get away, place to get away from the world , has no internet or phone reception, but the pub does if you need it just down the way , will stay there again



Great

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Knew area well and where property was situated so ideal for our needs.
Wonderful relaxing stay. Property well equipped. Beds really comfortable. Hope to be back.




Relaxing getaway in a rural location

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I took our two young grandchildren to Tighnaheaglais Cottage for a short break and we all found it a wonderful place to stay, both indoors and out. The house has 3 bedrooms, all with comfortable beds. We made good use of the space in the living room (moved the coffee table out the way) and the conservatory at the back of the house, as well as the sizeable front garden. The kitchen is well equipped and allowed us to cook all our meals, and the central heating is efficient and easy to control.
The woodburning fire is a lovely touch in the evening and the kids loved to help me build it up and watch it light. And, of course, the lava lamp was mesmerising for them! There were games and books to use, and the TV worked well, although we did plug in a DVD player to provide more structured entertainment.
We took a walk from the house through the woods to the beach and it was a good adventure, and visited Otter Ferry and Tighnabruich to explore the beaches and acquire ie cream! There is also an interesting church right across the road with a display of ancient carved stones which are well presented and explained.
We did have an emergency (personal) situation during our stay and both Argyll Self Catering Holidays and the owner of the house both acted with great compassion and kindness and I was impressed with and touched by the quality of customer service provided by both parties.
For those anxious about the lack of phone or 3G signal, we found some 3G spots outside the house on the shared driveway, and phone signal a short distance away. In an emergency it is not ideal, but for a holiday, it is wonderful to relax away from beeps and tings and the need to engage with the outside world. Definitely something we should all do more often!
Overall, a great place to stay and connect with family and nature.




A comfortable getaway in beautiful countryside.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a very spacious, comfortable place and really well equipped. The surroundings were lovely - beautiful countryside and very quiet and peaceful. We had some lovely walks from the bungalow. It's quite remote so quite a drive to get to other places. However we went to Glasgow for a day via ferry and train and it was easy if a little long.



Very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Tighnaheaglais Cottage, from the moment we checked in we felt at home. The host had thoughtfully left some little things that would be helpful for us during our stay, the beds were very comfortable, and the entire house cleaned to a high standard. It's very remote, lacking in any cellphone reception or WiFi, but both of these can be found just across the road at the hotel. Definitely check it out if you want to stay in Kilfinan or explore the Cowal Peninsula!



Dog friendly cottage that does not forget the occupants

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage has lovely front garden looking on to an old church with only a few houses around it. Lovely location. Inside the bungalow it has three spotless bedrooms with plenty of space. Living room has log fire if cold with comfortable seating, books for reading and games, not much space though in this room mainly due to the large seats. If you have children however front garden is the place. Kitchen is well stocked even left us wine and milk which I appreciated. Ther is a nice bright porch to sit in.

I would advise to bring your food with you as there is no local shop but there is a lovely hotel to have coffee dinner etc, also dog friendly, Tighnabruaich is approx 6 miles away on a single track road. No mobile signal.

We enjoyed our stay lovely and peaceful with beautiful scenery. Would recommend.




Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautiful area and accommodation, would advise great hoiday. great base for travelling around the isles.



Perfect break

Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay. 3 large bedrooms, lovely sitting room with log burner,very well equipped kitchen and a lovely conservatory looking onto the garden. Handy for the local, hotel and scenery marvelous. Just wonderful.



Great accommodation for the perfect getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arriving at the property was easy to find, thanks to the owners accurate instructions on how to get there. The property was clean on arrival, nice bottle of wine was left and a nice packet of biscuits was a lovely touch and unexpected. The owner also left the basics which was unexpected and much appreciated, some washing up tablets, washing up liquid, bar of dove soap, hand wash and toilet rolls in the bathroom. The kitchen was perfect for cooking meals at night, everything was there to make a family meal. Straight away I felt at home. Lovely place to stay and nice walk through the the woodlands down to the sea front.



New year 2016

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and very clean inside the open fire and abundance of wood was fantastic as was the location



Lovely quiet week in Kilfinan

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we entered the property there was an awful smell and after investigation we found a dirty mop. The dinning area was not very clean with a pipe uncovered and dirty So before we could even make a cup of tea we had to wash the mop and air the cottage. Apart from that we had a lovely break with our family. We wanted somewhere quiet and the young adults loved that we had no internet access. It was funny to watch them from a distance when they found a spot with limited access to their phones as they were phoning each other and laughed loudly when they were connected if only for a few seconds.