FB Twitter

Upper Ashwood South

Upper Ashwood South

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Upper Ashwood South is a charming cottage apartment located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Kames. Sleeps up to 4 guests, or perfect for two on a romantic hide-away escape.

Filled with nautical treasures your cosy retreat features a warm and welcoming living room with large picture windows offering stunning views over the West Kyles of Bute. Cosy up on winter nights by the open log fire and a bottle of wine.

Beautiful Views

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely time in Kames. The location of the appartment is amazing - beautiful views! Everything was mostly fine except for the bedroom which we found really cramped (bed against the wall and having to climb over partner to get in and out) and uncomfortable. Also, we thought the whole flat could do with a good scrub as we found hairs etc in the bathroom and in the bed when we removed the sheets we had used at the end of our stay. We wouldn't recommend until these problems were addressed.



Cracking weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great wee place been a few times to Tighnabruaich, Upper Ashwood South is an ideal place to settle down and has great views.



Loved it that much we stayed an extra night

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This flat has everything you could ask for. My husband and I stayed here and didn't want to leave so we emailed to see if we could stay longer, which we did.
The view was outstanding and plenty of walks to take our dog, the garden was big with a comfortable seating area.
P.S the bed was very comfy too




Stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had four nights here. The weather was perfect every day. The apartment was lovely and we sat with the windows open every morning soaking up the view over the loch



Upper Ashwood Experience

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week in Upper Ashwood South. The flat is spotlessly clean, well-equipped and comfortably furnished, and we had everything we needed. The views from the front windows are stunning and that from the dining area over the gardens and towards the woods beyond is also very pleasant. This is our third visit to Ashwood, and Kames never disappoints.



Lovely flat in a lovely village

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great flat with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Lovely view, log burner, peace and quiet. Love it!



???

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stairway at back a bit damp but not inside the house. Quirky layout with fantastic views. Friendly neighbours.



Upper Ashwood South-Beautiful Tighnabruaich Easter '18

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic flat, cosy, comfy, clean and very well equipped. Lovely location! I will definitely recommend this beautiful flat to family and friends.

Great service from ASC as we had left a jacket behind but they phoned to let me know.




Weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for such a beautiful place to stay!we went on a nostalgia tour around the area and the flat was a perfect base.
Views spectacular flat comfortable and clean . We will definitely return.Good value for money.




Upper Ashwood South

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here several times before and always find the property in an excellent condition on our arrival. The heating had been left on prior to our arrival making the property warm and cosy.
Upper Ashwood South is in a beautiful location with stunning views over Loch Fyne. We will definitely be staying here again in the near future.




Picture Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful time the view is spectacular from this property. We took advice and moved table and dined with a wonderful view. Bed comfy and good facilities.



Great stay in Tighnabruaich

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay in Upper Ashwood. The accommodation was very comfortable and was totally equipped with everything you could possibly need for your stay. Highly recommend.



Lovely, comfortable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I really enjoyed my stay at the apartment. Views were stunning and the flat was lovely and had everything I needed. The log burner was great and they way it was set up ready for my arrival made me feel so welcome and at home. The only constructive criticism I have is that a sign at the gate of the flat would be helpful as I could not find it without asking. The bed was a bit hard for my taste but this is objective as everyone has different taste regarding this.

Thank you for a lovely stay
Dawn Falconer




Excellent stay. Cosy.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice stay. The flat is really cosy. rooms with direct view on the water. It was a very pleasant stay with nights next to the stove.



Perfect wee hide away

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a wonderful relaxed time, bit fishing a lot of eating & drinking, walking the dog. Lady next door was lovely, traded fire wood for fish, all the locals were very friendly, some lovely meals in the Kames Hotel.



review of upper flat at Ashwood South, Kames

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this was a great wee flat with wonderful views over the water - would definitely go back again.
just a few suggestions ... you might want to forewarn folk about the unusually high bed! also, the kitchen chairs (the small folding chairs) were not very comfortable - but it wasn't a problem.




A short stay in Kames

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Upper Ashwood South is in a lovely spot over looking Loch Fyne. We have stayed here a few times before and always found the flat to be clean, tidy and with all the facilities available to ensure you have a pleasant stay. We will definitely be staying here again.



Wonderful Service for a Christmas Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Upper Ashwood South is a wonderful little property with stunning views over the Kyles of Bute and was the place my wife and I chose to spend our first Christmas as a married couple together - along with our dog. It is deceptively spacious, the sofa is quite comfortable however the bed is a little bit solid. The kitchen is fairly well equipped and there is a lovely dining area. It's clear that a lot of time, effort and money has went into the decor and the nautical theme is fascinating. The TV is linked with a basic Sky package, has an HDMI port of the likes of an Amazon Fire Stick and there is wifi - it isn't the fastest however does allow you to stream without too many issues.

Overall a wonderful place which allows access to the beautiful Cowal Penninusla and ferries to Kintyre and Bute only 10 and 20 minutes drive away respectively. A great place for getting away from the pace of life without cutting yourself off completely. I'm certainly considering booking for Christmas 2017.

Iain and the team are extremely friendly, quick to reply and couldn't be more helpful. From advice on places to eat on Christmas Day to helping us find passports, they are wonderful and made the experience all the more pleasant.