FB Twitter

Woodend Cottage

Woodend Cottage

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
75% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
4.3
Condition
3.9
Location
4.1
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
4.1


3 bedroom cottage sleeping up to 6 adults
Woodend Cottage is the larger of the cottages at Hollytrees and sleeps up to six adults in three large comfortable double bedrooms. The original building, built in the 1880's, has been extended and modernized to the highest standard and now offers an excellent level of comfortable accommodation. Large and spacious kitchen with all modern appliances and equipment including; double electric oven with 4 induction hobs, separate fridge and freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, coffee maker, kettle and toaster. Extensive set of high quality crockery, cutlery, glasses and top quality cooking and food preparation equipment. Large sheesham wood table with 6 comfortable chairs and a selection of books, guides, maps, toys and games. Large and spacious living area with wood flooring and open fire. Large comfortable leather 3 seater sofa and leather armchair, bucket seat and two seater sofa. Wall mounted 32' flat screen TV with Sky satelli

Not clean enough

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage is great, but unfortunately not clean enough to make one really comfortable. Also on the day we arrived the boiler did not work so we had no heating or hot water to shower. Also there was a problem with the drain in one of the showers. The house is nice, location is good but could be much better if it was cleaner.



Nice holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice place to stay from where we made nice trips. Arboretum. Royal botanical gardens. Old church in Kilnun and so on.



A tired cottage in need of a lot of work to bring it up to an acceptable standard

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We had high hopes of this cottage. It looked good on the website, and the office responded very quickly to our query a few days before to confirm that there would be a travel cot in the house when we arrived.
We arrived late at night, so the very poor and vague directions didn't help. We eventually found the right place, situated on what is a fairly busy road. There are two properties on the site, Woodend cottage is the larger one. When we arrived the house had clearly recently been vacated, was warm but smelt very unpleasant and musty. There was no sign of the travel cot, only an outer case in a cupboard. The kitchen units were of poor quality, and had the most amateurish paint job I have ever seen! Much was made of the induction hob in the house book, only the hob wasn't an induction one! It was an ordinary radiant heat model. The "extensive range of high quality crockery" was in reality the standard IKEA tableware. Ordinary crockery and glasses, while the "coffee maker" was a cafetiere for one - just what was needed for 6 people! The freezer was extremely iced up. One of the bedrooms was extremely dirty behind and under the bed, and the bathroom fittings were in serious need of an update. The shower was OK.
We contacted the housekeeper in the morning about the travel cot. She was not aware that we needed this (despite the office confirming that it would be there only a few days before) and confessed that she didn't really know how to put it together. She said that she would get the handyman (who I think was living in the small cottage in the same grounds) to get it and sort it for us, but I asked where it was and said I would put it together. The cot was stored in the garage behind a locked door, in an area where a lot of volatile organic compounds were stored. Needless to say it needed a good airing and clean, but was adequate once this had been done.
The outlook was onto the road, scenery not stunning nearby. There are some nice walks within a few miles of the house though.
On the plus side this was a very warm cottage, but that was really the only thing in its favour. We have stayed in a lot of cottages at home and abroad, and this ranks as one of the worst! Avoid - you will almost certainly do better elsewhere.




Iain Fleming on behalf of the owner replied 284 days ago
We feel this is very harsh criticism of the property, informing us 6 weeks after their short break in November finished. We would like to answer a few points raised and apologise where neccessary. Vague directions: The cottage does not have a road number only the name so we advise the property is 6 houses along from the junction with a sign on the gate. We will address and try to be more precise. The hob was replaced as clients did not know how to operate the induction hob. Apologie's the manual will be amended to include new hob. The housekeeper was informed of the need for a high chair and apologise's need to be made, including the mention of dirt behind and under the bed. This will be raised with housekeeping. We take presentation and cleanliness very seriously. The scenery is stunning from and around the cottage but not at its best in the middle of winter. We address the decor of the apartment continuously and are making changes this year. We do appreciate the feedback and will do all we can to make clients feel at home when staying in the cottage.

The cottage was charming and had been very well renovated some years ago. Updates needed

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The binder of info was both helpful and in need of updating.
We were unable to clean as no vacuum or mop. We enjoyed the layout and the kitchen was well equipped. DW door needs adjusting. Twin beds need new mattresses. Lovely crib and high chair provided for us ❤️. Lovely grounds and outdoor dining table.
We would return.




Beautiful weather to enjoy beautiful garden

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. The information book could do with being updated, it is recommending places that are closed and has scribbled amended notes all over it.
A lovely bottle of wine on arrival. Thank you!




Rain, fog, wet snow, but perfect winterholiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We selected the cottage for two criteria; dogfriendly and fireplace and we were really pleased. It was a cosy home to snuggle up in while it was raining outside and a beautiful area to drive around for daytrips. When we came in for the first time we felt immediately at home.



Pleasant stay at cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a pleasant few days at Woodend Cottage. The cottage is based at the very beginning of Kilmun village and sits slightly back from the road. The cottage is very well equipped - the kitchen in particular was excellent. It was cold when we stayed but the heating and water worked well and we enjoyed the real fire (it was left for us to clean out but that was OK). You do share the grounds with persons renting Holly Cottage and therefore if they are using the front gardens or garage they will be in front of the cottage and beside your entrance door. The welcome book told us we would have a key for the garage but we did not get one. However someone else was using the garage as the light and radio was on almost all the time we were there.



Amazing cottage and great location!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable cottage which is well equipped. Clean and warm. Well kept gardens. Great location! Bottle of wine on arrival was a nice touch. Will definitely be returning for another visit!



peaceful, comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a very comfortable and spacious retreat on the edge of the Argyll forests and mountains. Thank you for your hospitality.



Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As soon as we opened door to spacious light kitchen with all mod cons to choosing our well decorated bedrooms, we knew we were going to have a good break. We were fortunate enough to have good weather so didn't get the chance to play the games or read the library of books. We would recommend this property to anyone either as a base for touring or just chilling. If you have children a walk up the steep steps to edge of woods reccomended



Amazing stay at Woodend

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is amazing! Lovely views, A lot of space and very comfortable. Great beds, clean and fresh linnens and al sorts of things to do near Kilmun. Walking, horse back riding, quads, swimming pool... I would highly recommend a stay here!



Short Break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very cosy and comfortable property in a good location within easy access to local attractions. Local forestry and hill walks within 10-15 mins easy drive. We had three nights and four days at the property and were fully occupied and out and about locally. Jo-Jo (our little Lhasa Apso dog) had a great time.

James, Christine, Mo and Jo-jo