FB Twitter

Gate Cottage

Gate Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 44 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Gate Cottage is a snug 100-year old cottage with good facilities and lovely views across parkland.

a quaint cottage in a tranquil setting

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I stayed in this cottage over the bank holiday weekend with my family and our bouncy dog. it was a really good place to stay for us, especially for the dog who had access to a large garden that was enclosed and safe. we really enjoyed walking around the grounds of the estate. the main house is beautiful and historic. there is also an enchanting walled garden. the swimming pool is lovely for playing and relaxing; it is very warm, enclosed and surrounded by hot house plants. there are areas of the estate and house that are a bit tired but this did not detract from the charm of the property nor the enjoyment of our stay.
we also went to have meals and drinks at the local pubs...and there were excellent (esp the Gun Inn)


from Bath stayed at Gate Cottage for 3 nights in August 2021


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Five family members stayed for the weekend, all adults. We were all very happy with the location and the accommodation. The cleanliness was excellent and the cottage had everything we needed. The cottage needs a bit of updating but this was not detrimental to our stay. The outside space is excellent, we sat watching a squirrel walking across the telegraph wire, a woodpecker tapping at a tree and endless butterflies.
I would recommend a stay here


Stella from Hornsea. stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in July 2021


Enjoyable short stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A review in 2 halves. The setting in the grounds of an old country Manor House was so peaceful it overcame the disappointment of the cottage we stayed in. The gate house has modern kitchen facilities but the rest is in urgent need of updating.

Ian from Derby stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in June 2021


Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 May 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cosy cottage well laid out could do with a bit of updating. Stairs were fine for us but might be steep and narrow for others.

Guest from Guildford stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in May 2021


The Perfect Place To Unwind

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Gate Cottage before and love it for the quiet location, beautiful view, easy access to walks, not to mention the (warm!) pool and kids play area. Hailsham is close by which was handy for takeaway pizza. Pevensey Castle is @20 minute drive, so wasn’t too far when we felt like a change of scene. If you are looking for a cosy, peaceful getaway where the family can unwind and hangout together then this is the perfect place.

Judith from Hove stayed at Gate Cottage for 5 nights in April 2021


Gate cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Dec 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gate Cottage is charming and the setting is beautiful. Pekes Manor is a stunning place and very peaceful. The staff are very helpful.
We have been going to Pekes for years and all the cottages are lovely. Gate House is best for is as we have 3 dogs who love it there too.


Jane from Worth stayed at Gate Cottage for 7 nights in December 2020


Perfect for us.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely getaway - for peace and quiet, the walks, the pool, the local pub. We’ve booked our next stay already.

Guest from Hove stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in October 2020


A lovely time

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for three nights at Gate Cottage and had a lovely time. The pool and play area are great, ditto the choice of walks from the estate and we enjoyed visiting local pubs. We have already booked for a return visit.

Guest from Hove stayed at Gate Cottage for 3 nights in September 2020


Relaxing stay at Pekes Gate Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We only had a couple of days at this lovely cottage but enjoyed it very much. The garden was enjoyed by our little dog who had lots of space to ‘explore’. It was just the relaxing break we needed and would definitely want to return in the future.

Carol from Sandhurst stayed at Gate Cottage for 3 nights in September 2020


A short but most needed stay away

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage although very tired looking inside was clean and very comfortable. The bed extremely so and we all slept very very well.
The location both in the grounds and surrounding area was fabulous.
Thank you.


Sarah from Selby stayed at Gate Cottage for 3 nights in July 2020


Staying at Gate Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was perfect for our stay. The location is absolutely stunning, and having a swimming pool so near by was perfect.
I would recommend, and hope to stay there again in the near future.


Louise from Bangor stayed at Gate Cottage for 4 nights in March 2020


Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Gate Cottage. It was very comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed the log fire and jigsaw puzzles and visited the Seven Sisters Cliffs nearby.

Julia from London stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in February 2020


Perfect weekend!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gate Cottage provides not only charm and heaps of character. It is incredibly comfortable and couldn't have been more cost for a winter weekend escape. Pekes is a very special place. Love it, will always keep coming back.

Thea from stayed at Gate Cottage for 3 nights in January 2020


A lovely winter stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had two nights in Gates Cottage at Pekes Manor. The house was comfortable, cosy and clean and was very well equipped kitchen wise. We were 2 adults and 3 children, it's not big but all we needed. We were able to make some lovely food and enjoyed dinner in the dining area and had log fires in the little loving room next door.Linen and towels all of good quality.Lovely view from the bathroom and the garden would be nice in summer.

We had a lovely time but I think it also has to do with expectations. If you expect country luxury, you will probably be disappointed, it's more about rustic country comfort. The grounds did look quite tired and all the buildings looked like they could do with some improved maintenance externally at least (although December isn't the most flattering month it has to be said). Right next to the Gate Cottage was a large dilapidated building which was a bit of an eye sore.

The indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna were fab features although here as well, all a bit tired and dated. In fact, both the sauna and jacuzzi stopped working while we were there which obviously was quite disappointing as this was one of the reasons why we had come here.The caretaker came promptly to have a look and managed to fix the jacuzzi but not the sauna.

We asked if we could have a late check out (12 instead of 10) as compensation which was fine which we appreciated.

All in all, we had a lovely time at Pekes and we would come back again


Helena from Staplehurst stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in December 2019


Kildare Bourke-Borrowes replied more than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading Helena's Review, and am so glad that overall she enjoyed her stay at Pekes and would come back again. We are continually confronting, fixing & upgrading numerous legacy issues at Pekes, some of which she mentions, and one of them is the electrics in the Jacuzzi/Sauna, which are being upgraded this month, so that problem will go away. Many other things are on the list and being attended to.

a superb stay during Christmans 2019!!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
couldn't be bettter
thank you very much
beautiful swimmingpool and tennis lawn and surroundings for making walks
thank you very much


Stephanie from Bunde stayed at Gate Cottage for 4 nights in December 2019


Lovely, relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed another lovely stay at The Gate House. It is such a cozy cottage, with a wonderful enclosed back garden for our dog to enjoy. Our children enjoyed swimming, and we played several games of tennis, in addition to enjoying lovely walks through the countryside. It's great to be able to walk right from the door. We walked to the Gun Pub and enjoyed some lovely food, and we also visited the pumpkin patch at the nearby Stonehills PYO farm. We look forward to another stay at Pekes.

Helen from Egham stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in October 2019


A Lovely Place, Really enjoyed the use of the facilities provided.

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really nice quite place, well priced considering we had shared use of pool, grounds and tennis court, The second bedroom could do with a little TLC maybe but this really didn't detract from the stay at all.
Staff all friendly and helpful, I was happy to be away from everybody and out on our own, wonderful sized enclosed garden dog friendly, secure and lots of trees so sun and shade at all times of day, Plenty to do around, Lovely walks locally and further afield.
Thankyou for a very well spent few days.


Dawn from Slough stayed at Gate Cottage for 4 nights in August 2019


Kildare Borrowes replied more than 1 year ago
So glad that Dawn enjoyed her stay at Gate Cottage. Yes indeed the cottage is due for some TLC, which it will get soon, we are just waiting for our Insurance company to complete some subsidence work, long overdue, and then we can do it!

Lovely little family break

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having previously stayed at Pekes Manor with a large group we decided to return as a family of 4 (1.5yr old and 3.5yr old) and chose Gate Cottage. Again it didn’t disappoint, from the offset the communication and booking process is excellent and stress free-it’s so handy being able to book extras such as high chairs, cots and even fresh eggs! The cottage itself is a quaint, two bed self contained house-securely surrounded by fences, it’s very peaceful and we appreciated the black out blinds in the kids bedroom. The only issue we had were the abundance of insets/bugs downstairs in the house (spiders, earwigs, flying ants and beetles), which should be expected in an older property as there are no pvc doors or windows. The grounds and facilities are beautiful, we can never get enough of the heated indoor pool-it’s amazingly warm and perfect to keep the little ones entertained, along with the mini playground-trampoline, slide/swings, mini kids house. There is so much to do in the local area, the document you are sent with booking is hugely useful for planning activities. We visited knockhatch which was a brilliant day out-it’s pretty much a park dedicated to children’s play areas with animals to see too, we spent a whole day here. The hailsham cinema was also brilliant for an afternoon activity when the rain came down. We will definitely be returning and will look to stay in Tudor view possibly or the wing. Thank you for having us and making it such a lovely stay!

Emma-clare from Ottershaw stayed at Gate Cottage for 4 nights in August 2019


Beautiful place!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Mounts View and the Gate Cottage for two nights for a hen do, and it was absolutely perfect! Gorgeous location, lots of space for us all to socialise with plenty of seating in the living room and on the patio, and we loved making the most of all the facilities - pool, jacuzzi, sauna and trampoline. I'm already thinking about when I can come back for a longer stay! Thanks very much!

Jessica from Brighton stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in July 2019


Lovely little cottage with use of indoor pool.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked this character cottage for my daughter, her husband and their three children who were visiting from Australia. The children all love swimming so it was great to find a cottage with an indoor pool, which they took advantage of before going out for the day as well as on their return. The location was ideal with local attractions as well as easy access to the coast. A bonus was the nearby pub with good food, a nice sun terrace and children’s play area.

Christine from Haywards Heath, stayed at Gate Cottage for 4 nights in July 2019


Good location to attend a wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I cannot comment on any thing other than the house, we were in the area to attend a wedding so only used the house to sleep shower and change clothes. The beds were o.k. The shower pretty useless, such a poor water flow. In my option the cottage was in a sad state of decoration. Apart from a cup of tea or coffee never used anything in the kitchen, so cannot comment on useing kitchen facilities. I also found the stairs dangerous being a cottage this is quite normal but should be illuminated with a dimmed light at night.

Pauline from Crawley stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in June 2019


Kildare Bourke-Borrowes replied more than 1 year ago
Pauline is correct that Gate Cottage is currently suffering from neglect. We are unable at July 2019 to progress our plans for its upgrade as we are waiting for Insurance company work to the property which has suffered some subsidence due to tree roots and blocked drainage. 3 trees are having to be felled, new drainage systems installed, subsidence cracking is having to be made good. When all that is complete, there will be a substantial upgrade and make-good to all aspects of Gate Cottage.

Gate Cottage- The real life dolls house

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gate Cottage has been our home from home the last 6 year's we have visited Pekes. It's a lovely dolls house like building situated as you enter the grand gates and into the wonderful and magical land of Pekes. Gate Cottage is a quaint property and is home from home. We can't wait to return back soon. Thankyou Pekes, Kildare and the wondeful Pekes team that made my birthday weekend a truly unforgettable and memorable birthday.

Emma from Bristol stayed at Gate Cottage for 3 nights in March 2019


Party

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Actually hired several of the houses including the Manor. Everything was absolutely perfect to allow so many friends and family to stay over and enjoy the celebrations without needing to drive. Parking, sleeping, facilities and the grand old house itself were simply magnificent and allowed me to have many fond memories of the conversations over drinks and dancing all night - many friends are interested in hiring Peke's out in future!
Thank you :).


Gary from Ashford stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in March 2019


Fabulous Stay at Gates Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Feb 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just enjoyed a wonderful few days at Pekes Cottage. The location is fabulous. Our puppy enjoyed the enclosed, large back garden and we enjoyed many fabulous walks through the grounds at Pekes and on the adjoining footpaths and bridleways. The swimming pool is lovely, and we made great use of the tennis courts. We enjoyed days out at Lewes, beach walking at Cuckmere Haven and a lovely visit to Eastbourne.Aall are just a short drive (less than 30 minutes) from Pekes. The cottage itself is charming, and well equipped with washing machine and dishwasher in the lovely kitchen. The views from cottage across the grounds are delightful.

Helen from EGHAM stayed at Gate Cottage for 4 nights in February 2019


Short break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is superb. We were very pleasantly surprised by the whole deal, the sweet little cottage with it's charming small rooms, views over the fields from the kitchen and it's proximity to various forms of entertainment- walking, petting and a couple of good, child friendly pubs. We went primarily for the swimming pool but alas my son had an ear infection that weekend so that was off the menu but fortunately, as already mentioned, there was plenty else to do. The cottage was well equipped with a tv, board games and a ramshackle barn next door that turned out to be the hit of the weekend! It was very relaxing and Kildare was the perfect host, ready to help and even let us leave late on departure day. We'll definitely go back!

James from London stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in February 2019


Nice and confortable place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovelly place, peacefull and romantic. Typical British house in a nice Park, The place has a benfit for all seasons.

Pierre from Dijon stayed at Gate Cottage for 4 nights in December 2018


Our stay at Gate Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Dec 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Pekes Manor since 2009 with our dogs. It is a very special place for us due it’s unique charm, beauty and peace. We have stayed in 3 of the cottages over that time but Gate Cottage fits our needs the best especially with the dogs. It is a small but charming cottage with a perfect garden for the dogs. Like all old cottages it does require some updating which is slowly being done but even this doesn’t really detract from its character and the peace and tranquility of the surroundings more than makes up for this. We love it and so do the dogs!

Jane from Worth stayed at Gate Cottage for 7 nights in December 2018


Out time at Gate Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we had a lovely stay in the charm of Gate Cottage in the grounds of the beautiful Pekes Manor. The peace and beauty of the whole estate is unique with a wonderful olde world charm that’s hard to find.
Having the dogs with us makes it complete as they love it there too, so many lovely walks.

However our only problem on this last occasion was the weak wire fencing round the part of the garden which has been there many years and has become very frail and relatively easy for bigger dogs to jump and I imagine smaller dogs could easily push either through or under the wire fencing in a few areas which is obviously a big concern and a shame, when it’s such a lovely dog friendly garden and area and they love to be out there so at this point in time I would not describe the garden as totally secure and would not recommend taking larger higher, more active breeds like my GSD who found it much too easy to jump over after the squirrels!
Thank you
J & S Monks from Kent.


Jane from Worth stayed at Gate Cottage for 10 nights in September 2018


Kildare replied more than 1 year ago
Jane and Simon are long-standing friends of Pekes, come regularly and we love having them there with their doggie friends having a little county holiday. Now that we are aware of the fence situation, we are taking immediate steps to make it entirely dog and child escape proof, and so that problem will no longer exist as of late September 2018.

Beautiful views and people

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Being our second stay at Pekes cottage we were very excited to be returning. This cottage sits in beautiful grounds of a manor house along with other houses, gardens, a pool, tennis court and jacuzzi.
With fresh cut flowers upon arrival, fluffy white towels and plump duvets and pillows this really is a home from home retreat.
The downside of our visit was my father being taken to hospital by ambulance. In a distressing time the team at Pekes Manor, along with Kildare himself, offered their support and double checked if there was anything we needed for which we can't thank them enough.
This is a beautiful location with a truly caring team, which I can't recommend enough.


Julie from Waltham Cross stayed at Gate Cottage for 3 nights in August 2018


Perfect short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days staying in Gate Cottage, everything was provided so it was nice to go away without the need for towels and bedding etc. Although the cottage is a little tired, the surrounding area and the use of the pool and tennis courts certainly made up for this. The property was clean and a really friendly environment. Lovely dog walks and a really nice way to spend a few days relaxing.

Natasha from Herne Bay stayed at Gate Cottage for 4 nights in August 2018


Sofa bed in Gate House

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The sofa bed is only suitable for one very short person or a child. I’m 5’1” tall and my legs hung off the end! My partner who is 6’2” tall had to sleep on the floor as the bed was too small and too uncomfortable.

Simon from East Molesey stayed at Gate Cottage for 3 nights in July 2018


Gate Cottage at Pekes

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very pleasant cottage. Had an enjoyable & relaxing stay. Great location, very tranquil & rural. Great views.

Neil from Forest Row, stayed at Gate Cottage for 6 nights in June 2018


Our short notice short stay at Pekes

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found Pekes online after searching for cottages in East Sussex. What an absolute gem in the heart of the countryside yet no distance at all from stunning East Sussex villages and the South Downs.
From the moment that I made an enquiry right through to our stay, service was first class. Kildare and all the staff we met were incredibly helpful and kind. What an amazing place to work and the obvious enjoyment of the staff was apparent from talking to them- and borne out by the fact that many have worked there for years (and no wonder!).
Great location, great accommodation and great customer service, including the wild flowers on the dining table- there is nothing else that we could have wished for. All that alone would have scored 10 out of 10, but the score well exceeded 10 when it came to us being able to enjoy the indoor swimming pool and topped by the fact that our dog Stanley absolutely loved walking around Pekes with us.(and he didn't have to be on his lead!!). Such freedom- thanks so very much- we will definitely be back!


Jannine from stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in June 2018


A date with history

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful stay here at Gate Cottage which is part of the Pekes Houses. I travelled with my elderly parents and young dog.
The only reason I have not given excellent to all of the above is that the property is old and full of character therefore it is not sparkly with all mod cons but it is utterly delightful. Both bedrooms are spacious with nice fresh bed linen. Towels are provided. The kitchen is clean with all of the essentials that you need. There is WIFI and a nice sized TV in the lounge.
The grounds of the main house are lovely and well kept with a children's play area, swimming pool and tennis courts.

Booking was easy and contact with the owner very easy, there was a lovely touch of fresh flowers in a vase when we arrived which is a lovely touch


Julie from Waltham Cross stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in June 2018


Our stay at Gate Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We are old hands at staying at Pekes Manor now and we just love it. For us it a very special place, a haven of peace in the most beautiful setting and crucial to us it’s dog friendly too.
Gate Cottage is a charming little place and we have many happy memories from over the years that we have visited. Renovations to update certain areas are taking place all around Pekes but we hope it never loses its magical atmosphere that is one of its main attributes.


Jane from Worth stayed at Gate Cottage for 7 nights in April 2018


Relaxing week at Pekes!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage
Beautiful estate
Big swimmingpool
Hot jacuzzi
Great Pekes team
Nice pubs
Scenic area


Marjolein from 2910 Essen stayed at Gate Cottage for 7 nights in April 2018


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cosy, clean and well equipped cottage in a very lovely setting, amazing grounds. Very highly recommended for a relaxing getaway.

Dermot from Waterlooville stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in February 2018


Short break with family

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay here. The house is cosy, very warm and great linen. Although the furnishings are not modern, the house was well equipped with all we needed, there was plenty of hot water and the heating worked. The internet did not work but we were given access to another cottage so we managed. It was great that our dog was welcome and we enjoyed the country walks nearby. The kids loved being able to swim in the pool too. Having just studied the Victorian era at school, our 8 year old was intrigued to stay in a Victorian cottage. Thanks.

Rachel from Bruxelles stayed at Gate Cottage for 4 nights in November 2017


Kildare replied more than 1 year ago
What a nice review; thank you. The BT engineer arrived the day you left, replaced the phone line into the house which the squirrels had nibbled, and Broadband is now working fine again. Sorry he didn't get there sooner for you! Very glad that otherwise the children and your dog were pleased with their stay.

Great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 5 nights and had a fabulous time! Really cute cottage with everything you need! Recommended

Louise from London stayed at Gate Cottage for 5 nights in October 2017


Quiet peaceful quaint cottage on beautiful estate with lots of amenities

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting, quiet & rural. The cottage was charming & quaint. The furnishings were dated however once we got over the shock of time travel to the 1970s we found it was extremely clean. The estate that the cottage is part of is idyllic & had everything we needed for a weekend away. We enjoyed walking the dog in the adjacent fields, playing tennis & subsequently retrieving the balls from the walled garden (we scrumpped a few raspberries, sorry) and swimming. The housekeeper popped over on Saturday morning to find out if we needed anything, and told us we could make use of a jacuzzi. We had an issue with the washing machine and the handyman was sent over within the hour to sort it out. We walked to a great real pub, the Six Bells in Chiddingly for a pub meal on Saturday night. It was a thoroughly lovely weekend & we'd love to come back.

Rebecca from Leigh-on-Sea stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in September 2017


Weekend break at Gate cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gate cottage was very homely and comfortable with a lovely garden. The location was stunning and nearby walks were lovely.
A really enjoyable stay for us and the dogs, we hope to return again soon.


Fiona from Frant stayed at Gate Cottage for 2 nights in September 2017


Brilliant time in beautiful countryside

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Pekes for over 16 years. We always have a wonderful stay and this year was no exception. Always warm and welcoming the Gate cottage is well equipped and a great addition is the inclusion of all the linens and towels that are of great quality.
The grounds is Pekes were alive with rabbits and squirrels and birds. The location is great for Glyndebourne and a trip to Drusillas. If you are going soon we'd recommend the Quentin Blake exhibition in Hastings too.


Charlotte from London stayed at Gate Cottage for 4 nights in August 2017


Gate Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to Pekes Manor since 2009 and we absolutely love it! It has a unique atmosphere, very beautiful and peaceful. Gate cottage is perfect for us as we have dogs and it has a special charm all it's own. It is now being updated which will help enhance this little haven and our dogs love it as much as us!

Jane from Worth stayed at Gate Cottage for 11 nights in July 2017


wonderful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hosted a wedding for approximately 130 people with a marquee in the gardens and around 55 staying in various of the houses. It was a huge success. Everyone fell in love with Pekes. The organisation was made so easy and when we arrived all the staff both for the houses and the gardens were incredibly helpful and welcoming.

Fiona from Lagos stayed at Gate Cottage for 3 nights in June 2017