FB Twitter

The Top Flat

The Top Flat

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.3
Location
4.7
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.7


Once the servants's quarters of this grand house, the Top Flat now provides comfortable accommodation with a combined kitchen/dining area. The sitting room provides excellent views over the garden.

Scottish gem

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in the Top Flat in Ardtornish House. Fascinating glimpse of how the rich must have taken their holidays in the Highlands in the big house but we were in the servants quarters which were much more homely. Nice kitchen/sitting room with all that we needed in it. Comfortable beds and spotless linen. Good size bath towels for the enormous bath and loads of hot water. A good time was had

Debbie from London stayed at The Top Flat for 7 nights in August 2019


Friendly and stunningly beautiful location to escape to

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardtornish estate is beautiful. The gardens are simply stunning. The house is a mini hogwarts, perhaps the interior is not perfectly finished as it once might have been but it is clean and comfortable, full of character and there is a charm to its rickety stairways and old furnishings. The top floor flat has 3 size-able double rooms and a comfortable living room/kitchen. It is airy and light with lovely views.
The people who live and work there are very friendly and helpful. Kathryn was particularly kind.
There are beautiful walks around the estate and it is close to the ferry that takes you to Isle of Mull which is stunning with spectacular scenery and pretty towns. Isle of Iona with its impressive monastery and white sand beaches is also a very do-able day trip and is breath-taking.
I highly recommend going and very much hope to return.


Helen from London stayed at The Top Flat for 4 nights in July 2019


A wonderful wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation as part of the our daughter’s wedding package. All our guests had nothing but the highest praise for all the accommodations. Words used to describe the cottages were cosy, inviting, clean and comfortable, many with breathtaking views. The apartments in the house were absolutely fabulous. They were filled with Victorian charm and grandeur but at the same time were inviting and comfortable, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Everyone had one of the most memorable and enjoyable weekends ever, from the beautiful walks on the estate to the sumptuous wedding festivities that took place in the hall of Ardtornish House. It was perfection!

Rebecca from stayed at The Top Flat for 3 nights in March 2019


a wonderful week in a wonderful place

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was perfect in the topflat, that we rented together with the south wing. This is a great place that we would without any doubts recommend.

Francoise from 1200 Brussells stayed at The Top Flat for 7 nights in October 2018


Loved it

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location ,breathtaking scenery and beautiful house. Having travelled from London without a car (which as they say on their website “can be done but will involve many modes of transport -ie:train,two ferries a bus and a car ( many thanks to David who we met on the ferry who kindly drove us to the house from the ferry terminal in Lochaline) I cannot stress how important it is to have a car as without it you are limited and although there is a village shop(3 miles to walk on the main road or 2 hours walking there and back on foot via the scenic route but very muddy!) it is really only for essential items and as it is self catering it is advisable to bring your own supplies with you,meat can be purchased from the little shop on the estate and is Delicious as are their vegetables. Our little dog was made very welcome and she enjoyed the treats that were sold in the shop on the estate. The staff at the House were extremely helpful and I would not hesitate to recommend to others. And the cafe in the village sells the most wonderful cakes!!! (Particularly their Blueberry sponge)

Janice from London stayed at The Top Flat for 5 nights in October 2018


Great Place to Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Basic and functional flat, however great location and fantastic fishing. Very accommodating and helpful staff.

Guest from St Albans stayed at The Top Flat for 5 nights in September 2018


Great location, very nice garden

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wunderschönes Anwesen, sehr gepflegt. Großer Garten, Top gepflegt. Schöne Spazierweg. Tolle Gegend, nur 5 Minuten von der Fähre nach Mull entfernt. Ab-Estate-Verkauf von Gemüse, Fleisch... Ein Geheimtipp.

Alexandra from stayed at The Top Flat for 3 nights in August 2018


wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were part of a large group staying in three apartments in the house.The top flat was beautiful and comfortable. Everything we needed for a wonderful holiday.

Zafar & Kalsoom from Bristol stayed at The Top Flat for 7 nights in August 2018


Brilliant location in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in the Top Flat and had the most amazing time. Gorgeous house in stunning surroundings, beautiful gardens and great hiking country. During our week we’ve climbed Ben Nevis, walked to the Ardtornish Castle, visited Iona, Tobermory and Glenfinnan, not to mention all the amazing local produce from the estate. What a week of amazing experiences! Thank you so much, I cannot recommend this place enough.

Rønnaug Rauk from Oslo stayed at The Top Flat for 7 nights in May 2018


Top flat

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I think Ardtornish is an extremely special place. The owners , the Raven family , are extremely responsible with regard to the environment and d**n good people. Recommended

Gerald from stayed at The Top Flat for 6 nights in October 2017


Family holiday in the Top Flat

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely place to visit & stay, we have been coming to Ardtornish for many years. This is our first stay in the Top Flat and we were delighted with the accommodation. Warm, comfortable & well equipped, it offered a cosy well appointed base for a family holiday with friends joining us as well.

Alastair from Garmouth stayed at The Top Flat for 7 nights in October 2017


Highland hideaway

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a wonderfully relaxing and tranquil break at the Ardtornish estate, staying in the top flat with my husband and three children. My girls absolutely adored the majesty and grandeur of the building and were desperate to explore other areas of the house.( A tour of the state rooms or a history lesson of the house would have been a real bonus).
They very much enjoyed toasting marshmallows on the log fire, luxuriating in the gigantic original Victorian bath and having their own rooms with beautiful period furniture. So much better than staying in a cramped hotel family room.
They all agreed it was a lovely place to stay and are desperate to stay in the nursery flat next.


Sarah from Edinburgh stayed at The Top Flat for 3 nights in April 2017


Enjoyable stay in unique location

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Please refer to our review of the Nursery Flat.
We found both the Top Flat and the Nursery Flat to be very well appointed and made for a most relaxing family holiday.
We would wish to return someday.


Barbara from Edinburgh stayed at The Top Flat for 5 nights in April 2017


Excellent & Friendly

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly, Excellent & Friendly,

Guest from Lausanne stayed at The Top Flat for 5 nights in November 2016


Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to be. Aim to come back. The staff are brilliant. A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a magical environment. We fished the River Aline which is a delightful river and walked miles over the estate which was a joy.

David from Reading stayed at The Top Flat for 7 nights in September 2016


Comfort in a Great Location

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good value for money, however would benefit from one or two items being addressed to make the stay even more comfortable, such as a shower. Great location for outdoor pursuits. Been coming to Ardtornish for years .. so they must be getting something right!

Matt from St. Albans stayed at The Top Flat for 7 nights in August 2016


Wonderful week as always!

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to Ardtornish for over 30 years now and always have an amazing time. We were part of a larger group, and our family had Top Flat and Nursery Flat this time. Top flat is great value and really good sized bedrooms. The living room / kitchen area isn't massive but we managed fine with four adults two kids and a toddler. The new smaller table and fewer chairs means there is more room but wouldn't have been ideal if we had wanted to eat all together every night. As it was, when needed there are chairs in the bedrooms and having a bit more space in the living area is much better.

Kitchen well kitted out but at least one large pot would be great. A few times we ended up splitting quantities and cooking in two pots.

Sheets and towels all clean. Travel cot was great, we brought our own bedding and an extra foam mattress.

Front left twin bedroom could do with some hanging space. Even a row of wall hooks like in the other front bedroom would be great. Would be really handy to have some wall hooks in the drying room too for jackets, etc. Having the drying rack is useful.

Heating was in even though we were there in a warm week in July. Made living room quite stuffy and try as we might we couldn't turn it off. Thankfully seemed to be few midges about so we had open windows front and back and a breeze right through the flat.

Great that the goods lift is working again so you can avoid carrying luggage and food up the stairs.

Overall the estate is looking better than ever. Clearly been a lot of work done over the last couple of years. The new gates and tidied path down to Achranich/Eatate office is good.

We had some fantastic food from the estate shop. Next time we come I will put in an order in advance and eat nothing but your produce!


Katie from Winchester stayed at The Top Flat for 7 nights in July 2016


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were spending most of our days exploring the Highlands and only stayed in the flat in the evenings, but we still very much enjoyed the place. Too bad it wasn't cold enough to use the fire place!

We particularly enjoyed wandering around the estate and imagining we are high borns living there 100 years ago.

The kitchen is well equipped and you can get fresh local meat in the Information Center nearby - perfect for preparing your own Scottish feast.


Jacek from Cambridge stayed at The Top Flat for 5 nights in June 2016


Munda's Men!

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Four of us were walking from Iona to Glencoe in the footsteps of St Munda, a contemporary of St Columba. This was a spnsored enterprise to raise money for Christian Aid. Ardtornish kindly offered us accommodation during our walk. The rooms and facilities were magnificent, as were the staff we met. We were driven to a local restaurant for dinner and brought back again later in the evening. I would definitely recommend Ardtornish House for a relaxing holiday........you will not be disappointed!


Bill from stayed at The Top Flat for 1 nights in May 2016


Wonderful stay in a gorgeous place

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thank you for a lovely stay at Ardtornish House, we had a fantastic time. As well as pretending we were extras in Downton Abbey (the children loved the original servants bells and the moose's head) we enjoyed soaking up the history, exploring the gardens and being woken up by the polite chiming of the clock tower bell.

The interior design of the bedrooms in particular and the humongous original Victorian bath were a treat. There were no worries about Victorian plumbing - we were toasty warm and always had plenty of hot water.

The Top Flat was spacious enough for our needs and the stone floors meant we didn't have to worry about disturbing anyone below with noisy footsteps.

The only downside was having to leave. But we'll be back! Thank you again.


Janet from stayed at The Top Flat for 4 nights in March 2016


Six go exploring

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Weekend started well, we managed to lock ourselves out, but a member of staff was in hand to solve the problem. After a relaxed start on Friday we walked out to Ardtornish Castle, then returned to the apartment for coffee. Some of our party then had a game of pool using the full sized pool table on the ground floor, while others walked out to the wild life hide. Saturday, we cycled to Drimnin and stopped off at the wishing stone. On the return journey we had cake and coffee in the Lochaline Dive Centre cafe. Back at base we lit the fire and had a most convivial evening. Sunday we explored the estate, rhododendrons were starting to bloom, lots of bird life especially herons. On Monday, our day of departure, we cycled round Loch Teacuis, great traffic free route on good Tarmac surface. Ardtornish Estate is an ideal base, it was nice to be able to explore the countryside without ever having to get into the car.

Veronica from Glasgow stayed at The Top Flat for 4 nights in March 2016


Ardtornish is a delight.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An enjoyable week in a stunning location, with good weather and local amenities of a high standard. Ardtornish is a delight and the Top Flat was cosy and comfortable.

Suzanne from Castle Douglas stayed at The Top Flat for 7 nights in September 2015


A lovely stay on a grand estate

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You need to be adequately fit to reach Top Flat but the luggage goes up by lift. As you reach the top of the stairs the row of bells reminds you that this used to be the servants quarters!
There is comfortable, cosy reading by the live fire that draws immediately; after a long walk there is the huge bath that fills like Niagara with hot water; the uncluttered period furnished rooms feel special and individual. If 6 people were using the flat an extra chair in the living room would be useful. One of the pleasures is being able to walk in the wonderful gardens and go on numerous walks without getting into the car.
Also there is plenty of crockery and cutlery, efficient modern equipment. Lochaline stores is much better than might be expected for such a remote place. The White House restaurant is excellent. The ferry to Mull and Oban is frequent.
We loved staying here.


Guest from Norwich stayed at The Top Flat for 7 nights in May 2015