FB Twitter

Buoy Cottage, East Wittering

Buoy Cottage, East Wittering

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
83% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
3.9
Condition
3.8
Location
4.5
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.6


At just 250 metres from the beach this detached chalet bungalow is ideal for sea and surf seekers. Buoy Cottage is neatly presented and unpretentious, with a sunny and bright conservatory and enclosed garden.

The converted eaves space is home to one ensuite bedroom, with the further two bedrooms arranged on the ground floor.

Buoy Cottage's beach access spots are off the regular route for day-visitors to the area and consequently the nearby beach is suprisingly quiet even in the busy summer months. Local shops and amenities in East Wittering are a quick ten minute walk away.

Sleeps 6.
Close to the beach.
No smoking.
No pets.
WiFi.

Lovely stay at Buoy Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Buoy Cottage. Very comfortable house within easy reach of good local shops - bakers, butchers, late opening Tesco. Also close proximity and nice walk to shingle beach. The house itself is bright and airy, fully equipped with lovely restful back garden. The driveway is on the narrow side, but soon get used to it. The only thing I might change would be to add blackout curtains/blinds. Overall very nice house.

Guest from Chiswick stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in September 2021


Baileys Holiday Lets replied 6 days ago
Thank you for the review on Buoy Cottage, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and took good use of the local area. We hope to see you again soon! Baileys

Had everything

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location. 5 minutes walk from the beach. 10 minutes walk from village shops. We were visiting family on a nearby campsite so brought our bikes and it is lovely and flat to ride. The house has everything you need and towels were supplied. Upstairs en-suite was gorgeous. We stayed in the main bedroom downstairs which was spacious. My only gripe was that the mattress was too hard, so will bring a mattress topper if I booked again. Lovely concervatory and the garden is lovely and tranquil. Kitchen is well equipped. Small fridge with a small icebox, no freezer. At the top of the stairs is a chest full of books, puzzles and DVDs if you need them. TV has freeview but remote is a bit hit and miss.

Lisa from Southampton stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in August 2021


Baileys Holiday Lets replied 12 days ago
Thank you for the review on Buoy Cottage, we are glad you loved the property and would consider coming back, we certainly agree it is perfectly situated, we hope to see you again next year. Baileys

Affordable

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An affordable property for a family stay with easy access to beach and town. Off road parking is a plus.

Samantha from Southend on Sea stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in August 2021


Baileys Holiday Lets replied 27 days ago
Thank you for the review on Buoy Cottage, it is an older style cottage but is perfectly situated to enjoy both the beach and lovely village community the area has to offer. We notice you marked down on cleanliness, if there were any issues with the cleaning we would've been more than happy to rectify any issues. Baileys

Holiday Accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The state of the front and rear garden a disgrace.
The main bedroom needed proper cupboards and drawers.


Paul from Epsom stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in July 2021


Baileys Holiday Lets replied 48 days ago
Thank you for the review on Buoy Cottage, we will take your comments use them to improve this property for future guests. Baileys

Comfortable stay & good location - but the WiFi & garden could be improved

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay - the cottage is well appointed, had a nice layout & keeps cool even on very hot days, which was lovely.

The two things I’d suggest improvement for are garden maintenance & tech upgrade (better TV & WiFi).

The front garden is rather messy & driveway entrance very tight (luckily we have a smallish car) & the back lawn was knee height when we arrived - although Bailey’s cut it the next day when we asked, which was great. No Netflix for a week & WiFi poor - but fine if you hope to get away from tech for a week or two!



Guest from Pinner stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in July 2021


Baileys Holiday Lets replied 55 days ago
Thank you for the review on Buoy Cottage, we are glad you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the bonus of lovely weather, we will use your comments to improve garden management but unfortunately no matter the provider we cant guarantee Wifi speed in this area, regardless we hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Baileys

A nice quiet location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Located in quiet residential area 5 mins walk to access to the stoney beach. (Access difficult down the sea - pebbles)

Reasonably comfortable settees in living room with tv. Chimney reqs. sealing - very noisy in windy weather. Heating & hot water good- fed from gas boiler.

Kichen area bright and spacious with most cooking aids & utensils.
Sharper knives would be good.

Property benefits from good conservatory suitable for 6 diners - but hot in summer?

This leads out to a garden with ramshackle sheds. At the time of writing the garden needed tidying, especially the knee high grass. This would spoil the al fresco dining in the warmer weather.

Washing line anchor point on its last legs ditto washing line (cheap)
Blocked rear downspout & gutter,- water cascading down walls- of which I rectified. (no charge).

Reasonably clean downstairs bathroom with stand in bath / shower curtain. WC flush needs attention/ renewal. Toilet door requires lubricating and bathroom window requires cleaning - soap.

Double bed mattress well passed its renewal. Weired spring noises in the night. Creaking floorboards.

2 singles are only for children ( putmeups)

Upstairs mattress very soft.
Room very light benefitting from 4 roof lights with blinds (not blackout) . The main one doesn't close properly (wind noise) the en suite is fine and reasonably clean (detected leak from shower rhs onto floor).
All linen and towels are clean, new & soft.
All net curtains require renewing.

On the whole a good property but requires a little TLC to bring it up to scratch which could command more rental than is already been charged.



Paul from Altrincham stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in May 2021


Baileys Holiday Lets replied 118 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy you enjoyed the property as a whole but we will pass your feedback to the owner and use it to improve our properties. Baileys

A great find

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Buoy Cottage was much better than anticipated. Spacious and spotless. Sun room and garden were a real bonus. And very close to the sea. I thoroughly recommend it. We were three friends but it would suit families too.

Guest from London stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 4 nights in April 2021


Baileys Holiday Lets replied 133 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review, Buoy Cottage is a delightful property and popular with returning guests. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again very soon

Don’t judge a book by it's cover

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Apr 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First impression was looks rundown but once inside pleasantly surprised. Lounge comfy sofas and chairs, kitchen well equipped
although would suggest a new set of cutlery some of the forks in particular were past their best and the oven was very slow (cooked breakfast for 6 and took ages).
Conservatory pleasant place to have meals. Back garden needs a tidy up and it could be lovely with a bit of work.Downstairs bedrooms both ok although the twin room really only suitable for children. Upstairs bedroom and ensuite lovely although we did have some issues with the toilet flushing and very slow to refill. We only just managed to park our SUV on the narrow drive and after the first day decided to park on the road outside.
Overall good value for money, great location within walking distance to the shops and the beach.


Linda from Malton stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 4 nights in April 2021


Baileys Holiday Lets replied 143 days ago
thank you for taking the time to leave a review. we are glad you enjoy your stay and liked the cottage, thank you also for the feedback regarding the kitchen area and the toilet, we will use this to improve our property and will pass over your comments to the owner.

A sea side home

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Apr 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We arrived for a peaceful few days and the cottage met our needs
Good sea side home.
Wi-Fi very poor


Glenn from Esher stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 5 nights in April 2021


Baileys Holiday Lets replied 143 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to any future bookings from you. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee the WiFi speed in any of our properties but we will pass on your comments to the owner.

Perfect accommodation for 2 families

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Apr 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb location, cottage has plenty room for entertainment, the conservatory is a huge bonus. Appliances are a little outdated with the grill smoking up snd the downstairs loo not taken care in terms of a broken handle, of but otherwise it was great.A little bit of attention needed.

Natalie from Woking stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 3 nights in April 2021


Baileys Holiday Lets replied 152 days ago
Thank you so much for choosing to stay in one of our properties and for leaving it so tidy, we will take your feedback into an account and use it to improve our properties and service, we look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Buoy cottage review

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Good location, good value. Close to sea. If I had to add a negative I’d say Garden could do with sprucing up

Guest from Lightwater stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in September 2020


Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely position perfect size. Just perhaps needs a good spring clean. Balieys staff were great. Good customer service.

Jill from Godalming stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in August 2020


Pamela replied 363 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review for Buoy Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed the property and your stay. One of the benefits of Baileys being so local is that we can always respond to any issues you may have so do not hesitate to let us know if you ever have a concern in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon. BAILEYS

Cleaning is poor.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic location, only 2 minutes walk to the beach in a lovely village. The cottage is warm with a good layout in a quiet neighbourhood. The main issue is the cleanliness - dirty windows, cobwebs, dust, our feet were black from the dirty floors. The downstairs bathroom is not great and smells of damp, limescale on the windows and the bath is stained. We reported some maintenance issues and the cleanliness (or rather lack of) to the property manager but declined to have these rectified during our stay due to the current Covid-19 situation. We suggested that the property manager visit the property to inspect and rectify the issues after we left. It's a shame that I have to write such a harsh review, as this property could be amazing with some tlc. I hope that the cleaning and maintenance issues are addressed so that future guests have a better experience.

Joanne from Wisbech stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in August 2020


A lovely seaside chalet bungalow

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, being a very short walk to the sea and an easy walk to East Wittering shops. Nice private back garden area and three good size bedrooms, one with en-suite facilities. Comfortably furnished throughout.

Diana from Croydon stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in July 2020


Baileys Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!

A family stay to visit Great Grandma

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at this property before for the same purpose so this review is something of a comparison. The lounge furniture has been replaced and is now very comfortable. The heating and hot water are as good and efficient as before, keeping us warm and cosy in some very windy weather. The beds arrangement has not changed and while they are good the twin bedroom has a smaller single which is getting tired and only adequate for a small child. The dining area in the conservatory is pleasant but you will need to keep the heating on for meal times when its cold. Overall there are a few small issues which should be addressed, like the letterbox that falls out and the en-suite shower drainage, but we enjoyed our stay and will be coming to Buoy Cottage again. PS, maybe its time to get rid of whats left of the dinghy in the front garden, we don't think it does anything for the house!

Bruce from Stockport stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in October 2019


Baileys Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and I know you mentioned the letter box and drain when you checked out. These are now being fixed. Thank you for the feedback regarding the dingy, we will send you comments to the owner. We are delighted you found the changes regarding lounge furniture an improvement and we look forward to having you stay with us again when you are next in the area!

BuoyCottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely Cottage with topfloor comfy ensuite conversion, plus roomy downstairs accomm for familyof 4 with own bathroom. Spacious and comfy lounge. Really good dining extension, easily seat 8 to 10, with door out to secluded garden. Need a few more utensils in kitchen, esp cutlery. Ideal for grandparents (elderly) like us, with visiting grandson and two small children.

Doris from Caterham stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 13 nights in June 2019


Baileys Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Buoy Cottage is such a lovely property and we are pleased to hear the layout was perfect for you as guests. We do hope you will visit us again!

Comfortable but lacks attention.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beds very comfortable, lounge very comfortable. Bathrooms very good.
Not enough cutlery to fill up dishwasher.
All black handled kitchen knives were terribly blunt. We had to use own.
Sun lounge - great extra dining space but needs blinds or a few parasols (we had brought our own. I had spotted the lack of blinds on the photos) to eat in hot summer weather.
Central heating - an absolute pain to use, if trying to set timer. Timer does not seem to work at all over the weekend.Yes, we had read instructions, which were also a pain. The weather was particularly unseasonable during our stay there.
Please put all instruction booklets in a folder in view. Could not be found initially. Some instructions lost eg those to oven.
We arrived Friday, but had to do with out TV till Monday. A brand new aerial was needed. Not impressed.
Would still recommend, as it was comfortable and convenient, but would warn future guests about above.





Philip from Kenilworth stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 14 nights in May 2019


Baileys replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and your practical comments. We try and ensure that all the property information is in one place and easily found. Occasionally the information gets moved around and we will check that it is gathered together again. Kitchens are equipped with sufficient cutlery to comfortably cater for the maximum amount of guests. If this was not the case then please accept our apologies. We will ensure the knives are sharpened. Unfortunately technology does occasionally let us down. I hope the lack of aerial while we sourced a fix and replacement over Sunday didn't detract from your stay. Buoy Cottage is very popular with guests for its comfy interior, garden, and brilliant location so close to the beach. We do hope to see you again in the Witterings very soon.

Cosy and comfortable.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Buoy cottage is a lovely holiday cottage with all the amenities you require. Close to the village and beach. Tastefully decorated and furnished. We truly loved our stay here. Look forward to returning next year. Thank you.

Jennifer from Maidenhead stayed at Buoy Cottage, East Wittering for 7 nights in May 2019


Pamela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your glowing review on Buoy Cottage. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Baileys