FB Twitter

Claypot Cottage

Claypot Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.5
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


Feel at home in the Cotswolds

We have lavished care on this Grade 2 listed Cotswold stone cottage and its award winning garden. 'Claypot Cottage' has been completely refurbished and remodelled to combine comfort and style with country living.

Thinking local and supporting the community. The cottage features artwork, which reflects the Cotswolds and much of the artwork, has been sourced within a 10-mile radius. We want to spoil our guests with carefully selected products when they arrive. In nearby Faringdon, they make the wonderful Little Goat Company Soaps, which are in the shower rooms and Cotswold Lavender products offer you a touch of local luxury for your body.

Faringdon is also the birth place of the fudge and Granola that you will find in the kitchen and we purchase Cotswold coffee and UWE tea which is also sourced within this wonderful area.

Wonderful Time!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super, well equipped comfy cottage in a very convenient location. Highly recommend! Gorgeous garden and altogether relaxing environment.



A perfect getaway cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and the garden are beautiful. Very cosy and unlike some cottages we have stayed in, it feels more like someone's home rather than a holiday let. Barnsley is a pretty village and excellently positioned for day trips - nothing seemed more than a half hour drive away.
Karen has added some very nice touches throughout along with a lovely welcome pack (excellent marmalade!)
Thoroughly recommended, we had a great time despite the unseasonably bad weather.




A pleasant stay in a period cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property certainly has been restored to a high standard.
The peaceful cottage garden is very interesting, with something new spotted on each walk-round and plenty of native fruit and shrubs/flowers.
Ample parking at rear and an excellent pub with outside space only 150 yards away.




A perfect cottage in a perfect location

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely cottage, beautifully furnished and equipped. Our host was prompt and efficient in all communication. The cottage had everything we needed and more. Nice touches like fresh flowers, board games and a welcome pack of goodies - Prosecco, snacks and treats, Nespresso capsules, ice creams in the freezer, milk and quality local soaps and lavender toiletries to name just a few items - made our stay really comfortable. We visited in February so the garden was not at its best but that was more than made up for by the lovely fireplace with wood and kindling ready for us. It is located in a quintessentially Cotswold village with a lovely pub five minutes walk away and lots to see and do within a few minutes drive. We will definitely be back.



A lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clay pot Cottage is a lovely place to stay. It is very cosy and lovingly created and decorated. The kitchen is very well equipped and the shower rooms up to date and comfortable. The log fire was a treat. Karen was super flexible with arrival and departure times which was appreciated. I would highly recommend the cottage



Autumn Break

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautiful and cosy. We enjoyed our stay and would revisit. The cottage is central of the Cotswolds and most places are reached in 45mins by car. Parking is also available at the back of the cottage.



Relaxing and comfortable

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was perfect for 3 adults and was everything we had hoped for. The facilites are good and the kitchen well equipped. The showers work well and we were warm. The pub less than 5 minutes walk away is an added bonus!



A Lovely Relaxing Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Claypot Cottage is a charming, warm, cosy cottage with lovely, quality furnishings. It has a well maintained garden garden with outside dining in the summer months and a parking area for two cars. Is in walking distance of the village pub.



good location pretty village friendly pub very comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
all the above a couple of small negatives - the cottage was difficult to find at night as there are no street lights it would benefit from a good clear sign on the door or gate (no latch on the front gate) well lit if possible as it is a busy road and traffic travels quickly so stopping to search for an address is not easy. the bedroom windows would benefit from stays so that the rooms could be aired at night (a little stuffy). well furnished and comfortable cottage. the village is very quiet the local pub is friendly with good food. no local shop so no papers or groceries etc



A well appointed sweet cottage in a desirable location recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and facilities were excellent, clean well appointed. the two double bedrooms (one en-suite) were great. Clean bedlinen and comfortable. The single room downstairs was great for my mother (94 years) as she had downstairs access to the second shower room. The general condition was excellent with a well equipped kitchen, although we did have slight issues with the microwave and the coffee machine.

The garden is magical and in the summer would be amazing, but November is not the best time to enjoy it.

Parking was great no problems.

This cottage is set in the picturesque Cotswold village of Barnsley and has easy ace to excellent restaurant facilities in the village pub and hotel.

The cottage was the icing on the cake for our grand-daughters wedding in the village church.




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Oct 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay at the cottage, 2 adults and a toddler. It is beautifully furnished and decorated and is cute and cosy. Karen was also super friendly and helpful through booking and our stay. The village is small with a great pub literally 2 mins walk which is super handy and there are lots of sights and attractions in the area, including famous Bibury which is the next village. It's worth knowing that the cottage is right on a fairly busy road and the windows are single glass in the bedrooms and don't close all the way so it was somewhat noisy for us. Sadly the garden was also looking quite tired and overgrown during our stay which was a shame as it didn't lure us to spend time out there. Overall though a good stay.